Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

SERIOUS suggestions.....

• 23-04-2016 6:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭

Can ANYONE OFFER A SERIOUS REASON or suggestion (Without incurring the wrath of the Admins!) as to just WHY dame Edna is so frantically & determinedly clinging onto Irish Water , like a life jacket in the middle of the Atlantic Ocean?

I can only think of 3 reasons...first, that he's been promised a 'heavy weight' job in the EU if he insists on it's enforcement or

There is a 'limit' on Political donations from Companies or Individuals.
    Each year in January,each party receives a €40,000 'research allowance PER TD,payable to the Party. This is their 'war chest' and would suggest why Dame Edna decided to run an election in 2016 rather than late last year, which 'cleaned them out' financially.

Malta Obrien has 'told' Kenny than unless he sticks with IW, then FG will lose Maltese's own €50k donation,but also €50k from Topaz,€50k from Irish Water, €50k from Siteserv,€50k from Rowancabin,€50k from the Crash barrier Company along with God alone knows how many others, each legally 'separate' yet all controlled from Malta, and without those donations,FG are sunk if there's another election this year...

Those 2, or that Dame Edna has been promised some 'rewarding Directorships' PROVIDED he keep IW , no matter what...

Anyone have any comments/suggestions or ideas ...and please try to keep them serious!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,808 ✭✭✭✭Water John

Simply EGO.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,430 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

How can we offer the serious suggestions that you demand if you are not making a serious contribution yourself ?

Who is Dame Enda ?

Who is Malta O'Brien ?

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

When you back away from the emotional attachment to the idea that, solely in Ireland, it's unjust to be asked to pay a water bill, you start to realise that having a utility company to provide a utility actually makes sense.

Totally agree with paying for water. Problem is, Hogan made such a complete bollix of it, its politically toxic.

Get it off the agenda for now.
    It should always have been geared up in a structured way over 5/8 years.
    All meters in before pay on volume.
    The years are now wasted and whilst a lot of meters are in, the whole thing is politically compromised.
    FG fashioned the noose that is now around their own neck.
    Noonan being smart alec the other day din't help their cause.

• Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 28,822 Mod ✭✭✭✭oscarBravo

Water John wrote: »
    Totally agree with paying for water. Problem is, Hogan made such a complete bollix of it, its politically toxic.

Get it off the agenda for now.
    It should always have been geared up in a structured way over 5/8 years.
    All meters in before pay on volume.
    The years are now wasted and whilst a lot of meters are in, the whole thing is politically compromised.
    FG fashioned the noose that is now around their own neck.
    Noonan being smart alec the other day din't help their cause.

It's notable that you aren't advancing any rational basis for abolition: all the arguments are either for party political advantage, or emotive.

Neither FG nor FF are advocates of abolition of charges.
    FF say, suspend charges for 5 years.
    FF advocate the abolition of IW. They accept that a national entity similar to NRA is required.
    We know where FG stand.
    Now, compromise the two positions. The reality being that if FG want to form a Gov't, they need FF to abstain. Hence their need for compromise is much greater than FF's.
    That's simple logic.

I never advocated getting rid of water charges. No time what so ever for that. Utilities have to be paid for and broadening of the tax base, two good reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭Amfyoyo

Dear oh Dear, U really DO need it literally 'spelt out'......
    Firstly, I'm not DEMANDING anything, just asking for possible logical & actual suggestions and this is not a discussion about Irish Water, it's need or otherwise,for dissolution and/or replacement...it's dead on it's feet , meters are being removed twice as fast as they're being installed!!

Dame Edna Kenny, aka Angele Merkel's lapdog & someone who insists on offering himself as 'National Leader' ,yet with 25% of the vote...

What are U? A FG member attempting to get me to name the individual referred to ,leaving myself, and the site ,open to possible legal attack by 'Mr Anonymously delivered Memory Stick' and owner of the Companies concerned?

Apologies, I'm so used to referring to them as Dame Edna and Malta obrien/Penis obrien on other sites, where literally thousands of members are used to those names..and a lot other 'less flattering' also ...I'm only new here, so one forgets that members aren't used to them being referred to as that

So Fr Tod, having clarified that, do U have any rational/logical reason for such fanatical loyalty to a Company owned by Party funder & Golfing chum? It looks like we are heading into another General election if he DOESN'T shift, one which will see FG be hammered, and the distinct possibility of him not alone lose leadership of the Party, but his seat also......

I think there might be a bit too much conspiracy theory going on in your head.

Ok John, YOU please tell me why he risks losing so much ...............or a reason for his behaviour?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,823 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Amfyoyo wrote:
    Ok John, YOU please tell me why he risks losing so much ...............or a reason for his behaviour?

Ah grow up.

I agree 100% First up, Kenny SHOULD grow up,but when U've claimed €1.2 million in tax free expenses,in addition to Ur salary, it must be difficult NOT to cling on.......

I'd love to be attending the Renua AGM/Ard Fheis!!

• Registered Users Posts: 9,463 ✭✭✭marienbad

Amfyoyo wrote: »

Maybe he thinks paying for a utility is a good idea , you know like lots of the grown up countries .

using that 'rationale' Marienbad, we should have Abortion, Atomic Power,NATO membership,a CREDIBLE armed forces,No Toll roads, Armed Police,No Social Welfare or Healthcare (we're close to those!!), Gun Ownership, you know, like lots of the grown up countries...

btw...what do the 'stars' under Ur icon signify...and their colour? Does it relate to number of posts/membership/number of friends??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,785 ✭✭✭piuswal

Water John wrote: »
    Neither FG nor FF are advocates of abolition of charges.
    FF say, suspend charges for 5 years.
    FF advocate the abolition of IW. They accept that a national entity similar to NRA is required.
    We know where FG stand.
    Now, compromise the two positions. The reality being that if FG want to form a Gov't, they need FF to abstain. Hence their need for compromise is much greater than FF's.
    That's simple logic.

I never advocated getting rid of water charges. No time what so ever for that. Utilities have to be paid for and broadening of the tax base, two good reasons.

I totally agree with all of your points.

Just a thought; would FF support a minority Govt for the 5 years of suspended water charges that they are so wedded to?

Certainly can't speak for FF!!!. I voted against them in 2007 and 2011.

Would hardly tie 5 years Gov't support to simply having water charges suspended. That would be silly. But lets say no water charges until the metering programme is complete and there is a full review (in parallel) on charges and their place in the broader taxation system. Set 3 years on that.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 40,436 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Amfyoyo wrote: »
    I agree 100% First up, Kenny SHOULD grow up,but when U've claimed €1.2 million in tax free expenses,in addition to Ur salary, it must be difficult NOT to cling on.......

For what it's worth, Paul Murphy, as an example, also is good at costing the taxpayers plenty of money...
    as an unelected MEP (Paul got the seat when his boss Joe Higgins was elected to the Dáil in 2011) Paul claimed a total of €1,343,117 in salary, expenses, staff costs and various other outgoings.
    http://www.sundayworld.com/news/columnists/paddy-murray/paul-murphy-td-an-apology

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/elections/revealed-the-24m-in-salaries-and-expenses-we-pay-to-our-12-meps-30291108.html

Perhaps kbannon, WHERE the relevance of Paul is in a conversation about frantic determination to hang onto Irish Water or cost the Country another General Election is?

If U're somehow implying that I'm a sticky/Socialist/AAA fan or member,quite the opposite in fact....and it's a lot easier to sit in opposition NEVER knowing U'll have to propose anything for consideration, just slag everything off that is put forward...bit like slagging of people who attempt to form new parties!!

If U think he's cost the Country money, just WAIT til he insists of having his 'false imprisonment' trial heard by jury.....he didn't attend Clongowes and 'read law' in Trinners to sit back & look pretty......the very thought of a Government minister being falsely imprisoned in an armoured Garda vehicle, with a Garda driver, surrounded by 20 Gardai in public, on camera, is preposterous....but it will cost the State a lot for that backfired attempt at propaganda!! He may even seek damages.....false arrest.....the list is endless...,yet the case was brought by Elizabeth HOWLIN Director of Operations in the DPP's office, niece of Brendan Howlin, Minister for Spending, who like the 'injured party , is also a member of the Labour Party.

U'll also NEVER hear of Dame Edna 'giving' a FRACTION of his salary back to the Party..and don't forget the sweeping gesture of generosity when Dame Edna was elected as Teeshock (real, not as he is now, 'Acting'), when offered not to take his €5,00 annual payrise...why would U, when U've to pay TAX on it...far better claiming an extra few €'s tax free into Ur hand....and for every €1 in receipts U have, U can claim another €2!

A fact of my own.....the expression 'freeze the balls out of a brass monkey' came from the storage of cannon balls on ships in 'pyramids' which were held in place by a brass square,called a brass monkey. Brass contracts in cold weather, causing the balls to 'pop out', hence the expression!!

Tubbs

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 14,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭johnnyskeleton

Mod note:

Oki doke. We'll leave it there so.