Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Man City v Real Madrid CL SF 1st Leg, tuesday 26th @ 7.45pm

• 26-04-2016 11:35am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭

It's the biggest game of the week. In the blue corner, the citizens of england, the pride of Manchester...Mannnn Ciiiiity. In the white corner, the galeticos of spain, the top dogs of Madrid... Reaaaaal Maaaadrid.

Massive game. Both teams are not reknown for their defensive strengths. This is a game of one thing and one thing only, G.O.A.L.S. With KDB, Aguero, Ronaldo, Bale... How can it be anything else?? I will be watching this from behind the couch...

Prediction. 0-0 draw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

I'd consider Atletico top dogs of Madrid but whatever :pac:

I'm hoping for Atletico to win the competition and to get revenge on Real in the final but both games are very hard to call, City have a huge chance to make history though so good luck to them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,688 ✭✭✭Nailz

My prediction is a 1-1 draw. Will be interesting match, I'm thoroughly looking forward to it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,831 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

1-2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,225 ✭✭✭Chardee MacDennis

3-2 City

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Ronaldo has failed a fitness and won't start.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,922 ✭✭✭suffering golfer

Ronaldo has failed a fitness and won't start.

Awesome. Still very tough as Bale and Benzema will be tough to contain.

City team:

>>>>>>>>Hart

Sagna, Kompany, Otamendi, Clichy

Silva, Fernando, Fernandinho, Navas

>>>>>> KDB
    >>>>>>>> Aguero

Happy with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Good news

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,161 ✭✭✭Cypher_sounds

Real-

Navas

Carvajal - Pepe - Ramos - Marcelo

Kroos - Casemiro - Modric

Bale - Benzema - Lucas

Prediction 2-2

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

3-2 City

ditto.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Come on man city!! I wont be able to listen to the **** off the spanish media if real win.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,113 ✭✭✭the whole year inn

3-1 city Otemendi with a header.

Stadium looks superb

Boo the sh1t out of that anthem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,393 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Plastic flag manufacturers making a killing tonight.

what did the champs league anthem ever do to anyone?

Sick of this ref already

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

How is the fella behind the goal not calling that as a corner? Pointless having them there.

Already looks like City are playing against 12.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

A decent cross from navas...I've seen it all now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,084 ✭✭✭✭Kirby

I hate refs like this. "I'm in charge! look at me showing how in charge I am!" Complete poser. ughhh.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

Already looks like City are playing against 12.

GreNoLi wrote: »
    what did the champs league anthem ever do to anyone?

It a old complaint City has against UEFA over its treatment of the club. They boo it for all CL games.

And then they got fined for booing it. So they continue to boo it. As it should be. UEFA handled it terribly. You cant make people respect you or your anthem. Respect is earned.

ERG89 wrote: »

Like the post above, busy bee.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Navas is useless!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

Modric having a good game so far but Madrid look poor. City pressing them really well.

Ronaldo hasn't been in the game at all.

Kirby wrote: »
    I hate refs like this. "I'm in charge! look at me showing how in charge I am!" Complete poser. ughhh.

Well he is in charge after all. Would you prefer a ref who lets everything go and comes across as soft and eventually lose the run of the game? like so many do.

So far to me this ref has shown that diving won't work on him. Reacted quickly and aggressily when one of the city players mouthed off to him! That sort of behaviour shouldn't be tolerated ala rugby.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

How can the ref not give a card there to Ramos? Awful ref.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

That_Guy wrote: »
    How can the ref not give a card there to Ramos? Awful ref.

Awful decision altogether

Gas by Sagna there

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Toobz

Real Madrid not attacking their set pieces at all!

City could run riot tonight

Well he is in charge after all. Would you prefer a ref who lets everything go and comes across as soft and eventually lose the run of the game? like so many do.

So far to me this ref has shown that diving won't work on him. Reacted quickly and aggressily when one of the city players mouthed off to him! That sort of behaviour shouldn't be tolerated ala rugby.

Id rather he act like a ref and not an actor portraying a ref. Sprinting over dramatically at every incident with his exaggerated gestures purely for tv.

This guy fancies himself something rotten and refs like that are more interested in being noticed than reffing the game well.

2 last ditch tackles in the box by Real there, strange to see so early. Wonder if City have puffed themselves out for the half.

Id rather he act like a ref and not an actor portraying a ref. Sprinting over dramatically at every incident with his exaggerated gestures purely for tv.

This guy fancies himself something rotten and refs like that are more interested in being noticed than reffing the game well.

Tiny bits of LOI I've seen and been to shows that they're the one who do well unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Poor enough game so far, Real have been awful.

Well I think he's doing reasonably well so far and looks like a ref too:confused:

Get up out of that ffs

Vasquez has looked lively.

When a referee does that I can see why Americans don't like this sport.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Ronaldo anonymous again tonight.

Pure waster of a player never does anything unless he's tapping the ball into the net.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Ronaldo anonymous again tonight.

Pure waster of a player never does anything unless he's tapping the ball into the net.

He's a wannabe. A pretender.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

I thought refs usually favour the home team?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,001 ✭✭✭recylingbin

I thought the ref only stopped play for a head injury?
    Granted, if I was a player that hot one in the knackers, I'd Appreciate immediately attention, but that was in his mid riff.

Big blow for city though this guy coming on has something about him that could get them going.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

I thought refs usually favour the home team?

This ref also sent Nani off (wrongly) a few years back at OT and strangely that was also against Real Madrid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Youll never win anything with collars.

His time to shine

The Ronaldo jokes just keep getting funnier, good job lads!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,526 ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

Thrilled for Iheanacho getting a run!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,156 ✭✭✭DubDani

As I neutral I have to say that this is a pretty poor game for a CL Semi Final. You see more quality in the Championship. :o