Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Children's hospital finally gets the go-ahead

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

smash wrote: »
    Or you could drive to Maynooth and get the train to Houston... It's that easy. :pac:
    Ah there's a helicopter pad, i'll just fly my chopper there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,061 ✭✭✭Uriel.

Boom_Bap wrote: »
    Ah there's a helicopter pad, i'll just fly my chopper there.

Sounds to me like you want a children's hospital across the road from you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭heebusjeebus

OK, so if my child breaks thier arm, I get them into a car, cant park at the hospital are anywhere near it so get to the nearest Luas Par N Ride or train station that has a connection to Hueston.
    Grand, I'll make sure to keep note of where these are and the relevant charges.
    Then I get the child onto the Luas, fumble for change and all that, probably miss the Luas because the ticket machine has a queue or is out of order.
    Then I'll deal with the wonderful general public on the Luas who will just adore my screaming child.

Easy.

How about you go to your closest A&E?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 221 ✭✭khamilto

OK, so if my child breaks thier arm, I get them into a car, cant park at the hospital are anywhere near it so get to the nearest Luas Par N Ride or train station that has a connection to Hueston.
    Grand, I'll make sure to keep note of where these are and the relevant charges.
    Then I get the child onto the Luas, fumble for change and all that, probably miss the Luas because the ticket machine has a queue or is out of order.
    Then I'll deal with the wonderful general public on the Luas who will just adore my screaming child.

Easy.

No, you go to the new paediatric emergency care centre in Connolly. Or if you'd prefer stay on the south side, Tallaght.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,734 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

Dodge wrote: »
    Where do you live? If it's an arm break, it won't have to go to the national children's hospital. Tallaght has kids A&E for example (I went with my own daughter's broken arm)

I'm north-side, my girl broke her elbow before and went to Temple Street.

I'm laying out potential scenarios not necessarily for me. Getting new and modern facilities is excellent, but putting them in a place that is not easily accesible is nutz.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

khamilto wrote: »
    It has one partial 1 way street around it. I named it. That is it. I stated why traffic is no more of an issue than any other proposed site, and I pointed out that it has 400% the parking of Crumlin.

You haven't countered any of those things, only repeated your statement without any evidence to back it up, or without countering anything others have posted.
    The surrounding areas are full of one way streets. The entire journey as a whole is awkward. My 'evidence' has been gained through my experience.
    That isn't what you stated. You said a lot of emergency cases travel by car. Now you are modifying that to 'some emergency cases may travel by car'.
    It is what I stated. You dismissed the majority of my statement: "A lot of them do actually. Especially in situations such as cancer care or cystic fibrosis where a common cold can be an emergency."

What you're suggesting is that the majority of A&E entries arrive via ambulance. That's absolute nonsense.
    Incorrect. Admittedly, sometimes they don't, but unless it's a transfer from another hospital it's generally triaged in A&E.
    No it's not in A&E, I know this from personal experience. Patients in the wards I mentioned don't need to enter A&E. They call the ward and when they arrive at the hospital they walk straight to the ward.
    Your point is poor access and bad traffic. In both these cases, an ambulance will get an emergency case to a hospital quicker than car.

Now you're stating that they wouldn't wait for an ambulance (even though it's quicker), because the emergency is so dire that they must leave straight away and arrive...later.
    This isn't true. I can easily be 75% in to my journey before an ambulance will even arrive at my house.
    That's a silly statement.
    You think it's silly to say that a parent's priority when their child needs medical care is that they need to easily access treatment?
    Instead of posting a rebuttal (which you still haven't done so, 4? posts later) you blustered about how my pointing out that your self interest in a shorter commute shouldn't inconvenience critical car, patient outcomes or standards = despicable.

You are being thoroughly disingenuous.
    I think you're starting to make up this conversation in your head now.
    Uriel. wrote: »
    And as I said, if costs overspill, it wouldn't be unique to the proposed location.
    I thought we were arguing the location of the hospital? Are you now arguing regarding the new hospital as a whole, i.e. not simply its location?

No, just simply pointing out that the costs have already gone well over in relation to your post which suggested they hadn't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,317 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

I'm north-side, my girl broke her elbow before and went to Temple Street.

I'm laying out potential scenarios not necessarily for me. Getting new and modern facilities is excellent, but putting them in a place that is not easily accesible is nutz.

It is easily accessible, and it only adds to the existing facilities elsewhere. So no one will be put out by this and thousands and thousands will be helped by this.

There is one 1way street around it. Despite naming it, you still keep talking about it being 'surrounded' by 1 way streets and have failed to actually name any of them.

You have at least twice changed what you have said, and misleadingly replied to what you wished you had posted, instead of what you had actually posted - and then argued that I am incorrect.

Etcetera, etcetera, etcetera.

In essence, you're making it up as you go along.

I am not interested in continuing a back and forward with someone so disingenuous and deliberately misleading. One who refuses to respond to what I actually write, and instead simply repeats himself ad nauseum while changing the goalposts. My points stand, yours do not.

E.g. you stated that 'most emergency cases arrive by car'. I pointed out that they don't, and you changed your argument to 'most a&e vists arrive by car'.

Emergency case /=/ a&e visit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,843 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Sounds to me like you want a children's hospital across the road from you.

So a concerned parent questions the implications of putting the hospital in an over-crowded space results in a stupid post from you.
    Shock.Horror.

There is one 1way street around it. Despite naming it, you still keep talking about it being 'surrounded' by 1 way streets and have failed to actually name any of them.
    Would you like me to name all the streets in the city centre?
    You have at least twice changed what you have said, and misleadingly replied to what you wished you had posted, instead of what you had actually posted.
    No, you've misinterpreted my posts. I quoted my posts again for you because you seem to be finding it difficult to read them the first time.
    Etcetera, etcetera, etcetera.
    Again. Very mature.
    In essence, you're making it up as you go along.
    I haven't changed my stance

Again. Very mature.
    Repeatedly calling me immature simply because I disagree with you is not portraying me as being immature, just for future reference. It is however, not a glowing endorsement of how you approach a disagreement.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,767 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

What an unimaginably ridiculous location for a children's hospital!
    Why not a greenfield site on the edge of the M50 thats easily accessapbe to all? How about next to Connolly hospital, or Lucan?

What about parents/kids coming from the country? 1/2 hours to get to Dublin, another 1/2 hours to get from the outskirts of Dublin through the gridlock into the hospital.

God forbid any of our children get sick from 7am-10am & 4pm - 7pm!!

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,489 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Would you like me to name all the streets in the city centre?

I'd love to know what is so relevant about Westmoreland St being one-way to this conversation. Actually I'd love to know what there being one-way streets in general has to do with anything. You can, in fact, still drive around Dublin and get to the hospital.

And again, the ideal best practice for standard of care is to co-locate with a large, adult, university hospital. Why is getting there slightly quicker (for those with the benefit of access to a car) of more concern than the standard of care received when there?

Ok, so you added this bit after I replied.
    I am not interested in continuing a back and forward with someone so disingenuous and deliberately misleading. One who refuses to respond to what I actually write, and instead simply repeats himself ad nauseum while changing the goalposts. My points stand, yours do not.
    I've stated quite clearly now that I have personal experience dealing with the hospitals and the wards I mentioned, and traffic issues in the city centre etc. So please take your fingers out of your ears and tell me how am I being disingenuous.
    E.g. you stated that 'most emergency cases arrive by car'. I pointed out that they don't, and you changed your argument to 'most a&e vists arrive by car'.

Emergency case /=/ a&e visit.

Oh, does A&E not stand for accident & emergency any more?
    Repeatedly calling me immature simply because I disagree with you is not portraying me as being immature, just for future reference. It is however, not a glowing endorsement of how you approach a disagreement.

I called you immature not in regards to your disagreement, but in regards to your onle line replies along the lines of "Etcetera, etcetera, etcetera." or "Whatever."

What about parents/kids coming from the country? 1/2 hours to get to Dublin, another 1/2 hours to get from the outskirts of Dublin through the gridlock into the hospital.

It does not take 1 or 2 hours to get the 7km from the M50 to James. Ever.

Dodge wrote: »
    It is easily accessible, and it only adds to the existing facilities elsewhere. So no one will be put out by this and thousands and thousands will be helped by this.

I'm not disagreeing of the benefits of the additional services being offered, that is brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.
    But it's a heavily congested area at peak times. Throw the addition of patients and staff into that is going to make things worse. I believe the staff at James St already have enough trouble with parking in the area without adding to that.

I would love for it to all work out perfectly, but I don't forsee that.

• Registered Users Posts: 299 ✭✭cardinal tetra

Ill ask again because it has been lost in the parking pedantry.

What will happen to the crumlin hospital now that this is being put into motion.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭Wood

Why not a greenfield site on the edge of the M50 thats easily accessapbe to all? How about next to Connolly hospital, or Lucan?

You do realise that James' is only 2km from Crumlin hospital right? So what do the parents/kids do now?

Most of your points have already been discussed during the thread.

As for children getting sick outside Dublin, sick children go to their local hospital. They are assessed there with the local Doctors contacting the Doctors in Crumlin for information/advice, and if necessary are transferred by ambulance or helicopter to Crumlin. They are not told 'Yerra, it's grand. You need specialist emergency care in Dublin so hop in your car and head up'.

I'm not disagreeing of the benefits of the additional services being offered, that is brilliant. Absolutely brilliant.
    But it's a heavily congested area at peak times. Throw the addition of patients and staff into that is going to make things worse. I believe the staff at James St already have enough trouble with parking in the area without adding to that.

I would love for it to all work out perfectly, but I don't forsee that.

But what is your alternative?

Podge_irl wrote: »

Not being a d*ck here, but try that when there is a match on in the Aviva or a concert and it can take up to an hour to get from say Kilmaighnam down to Hueston which is a short stretch. I've been stuck in it a few times on my way home from work when some event is on.
    Even without an event there are days when it is mysteriously blocked up that would take a good 30 minutes to get through.

I'd love to know what is so relevant about Westmoreland St being one-way to this conversation. Actually I'd love to know what there being one-way streets in general has to do with anything. You can, in fact, still drive around Dublin and get to the hospital.
    The journey to the hospital is tedious. Just as it can be a tedious journey to get to Temple St from certain directions.
    And again, the ideal best practice for standard of care is to co-locate with a large, adult, university hospital. Why is getting there slightly quicker (for those with the benefit of access to a car) of more concern than the standard of care received when there?

Nobody has suggested that the standard of care should be discounted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

UHG is exactly thirty miles further away from me than St James with no motorway.

If I need somebody in UHG for 9 I leave at 4.45. If I need somebody in St James for 9 I leave at 4.15. All grand if you're fit and at yourself but in the majority of cases I'm not talking people to either because they're mad for a day out.

bear1 wrote: »
    So a concerned parent questions the implications of putting the hospital in an over-crowded space results in a stupid post from you.
    Shock.Horror.

The real question is, does the proposed location provide the opportunity to deliver the best clinical outcomes.

Wood wrote: »

You do realise that James' is only 2km from Crumlin hospital right? So what do the parents/kids do now?
    3 things.
    Crumlin hospital is technically in Drimnagh
    Crumlin shopping centre is also technically in Drimnagh (Drimnagh disowns this though)
    Both Crumlin and St. James Hospital are both on the one stretch of straight road.

The journey to the hospital is tedious. Just as it can be a tedious journey to get to Temple St from certain directions.

It appears to me nobody is suggesting anything other than it's a "bad location" because traffic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,767 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Wood wrote: »

They still have to go through Dublin suburbs to get there.

How about building a big f**k-off childrens hospital in the middle(ish) of the country, provide reasonable access to it from all corners of the island, build a 2,000 space car park thats free for all. provide lots of local employment in the area the hospital is built (outside Dublin).

for any parents of chronically ill children (especially those from our other large cities), I'd say it would be an absolute nightmare having to travel into central Dublin to see their kid.

The real question is, does the proposed location provide the opportunity to deliver the best clinical outcomes.

Well... does it?

So part of your argument for moving a hospital is tedium?

Well that's why the hospital is being put where it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

I'm sure that will be of great consolation to parents of sick children traveling from Donegal, or Cavan or Monaghan as they get up at some ungodly hour of the morning to catch the non-existent train.

They will only travel to the satellites like blanchardstown , and be admitted there

And I'm sorry you have to deal with the capitals traffic , rural people should never have to deal with road conjestion, but be swept on a green wave to any destination , the rest of us can just sit in queues in dublin of course

By the way if you do get up at an ungodly hour ( which is what exactly is this 24/7 culture ) you will find the roads of the capital as free as any booreen

But what is your alternative?

I don't have an alternative, I'm reacting to what has been decided already and looking at holes.
    I'm not going to try to come up with an alternative either because my knowledge of all areas, all traffic systems and road layouts is not perfect.

But I do have knowledge about the area that has been decided upon and can point out the flaws.

Not being a d*ck here, but try that when there is a match on in the Aviva or a concert and it can take up to an hour to get from say Kilmaighnam down to Hueston which is a short stretch. I've been stuck in it a few times on my way home from work when some event is on.
    Even without an event there are days when it is mysteriously blocked up that would take a good 30 minutes to get through.

Fair enough, I've never driven it under those conditions. I have driven it when it has taken 30 minutes, which is incredibly frustrating and inconvenient, but equally it's taken me that long to crawl along the M50 at times.

How about building a big f**k-off childrens hospital in the middle(ish) of the country, provide reasonable access to it from all corners of the island, build a 2,000 space car park thats free for all. provide lots of local employment in the area the hospital is built (outside Dublin).

for any parents of chronically ill children (especially those from our other large cities), I'd say it would be an absolute nightmare having to travel into central Dublin to see their kid.

Where are you planning on staffing this hospital from?

If you are in that much of an emergency, you would dial 999 (or 112 on a mobile) and ask for AMBULANCE.
    If they are unavailable, you would ask for a Garda Escort. For this, it would be pertinent to ask for GARDAI.
    The service at Kilmainham will be close by and able to assist you to the hospital. If you are heading down to Hueston, you are also heading the wrong way to the hospital, so i would suggest a Sat-NAV. They can be quite helpful in both redirecting you to your destination or also showing you where traffic blackspots are and helping to avoid them.

Ok, so you added this bit after I replied.

I've stated quite clearly now that I have personal experience dealing with the hospitals and the wards I mentioned, and traffic issues in the city centre etc. So please take your fingers out of your ears and tell me how am I being disingenuous.
    You stated your experience with one ward - which had nothing to do with your initial four points. Traffic issues can be empirically assessed by referring to google traffic. I have done so, you have not.

Oh, does A&E not stand for accident & emergency any more?
    You stated emergency cases, including emergency cases that bypass a&e. Not all A&E cases are emergency cases. The vast majority are not. You changed the goalpost mid argument from emergency cases (including those that bypass a&e) to just a&e attendances, including non emergency cases.

I also don't know how you could have the breathtaking ignorance to imply that all A&E attendees are emergency cases by pointing out that one of the words in A&E is 'emergency'. The other word is 'Accident', which immediately renders your point moot.

I called you immature not in regards to your disagreement, but in regards to your onle line replies along the lines of "Etcetera, etcetera, etcetera." or "Whatever."
    I'm not sure why I am now required to be your English teacher.
    Etcetera: used at the end of a list to indicate that further, similar items are included.

Stating that many parents have different priorities for a proposed Hospital, including several examples and concluding with whatever is immature?
    They have different priorities. 'I want the hospital on the Northside' 'I want it in Limerick' 'Well, Clare doesn't have any Hospitals' 'I want easy access for outpatients and don't care about emergency care' 'My child isn't likely to require surgery so it doesn't matter to me about the standard of care'.

Whatever.

You are moving from disingenuous into dishonest. I really am done, not only must I correct your every post because of obvious logical/factual errors, I am now required to correct your English.

It appears to me nobody is suggesting anything other than it's a "bad location" because traffic.
    So part of your argument for moving a hospital is tedium?

Well that's why the hospital is being put where it is.

Ok, if you disregard the associated university hospital and forget about the locations of existing hospitals. If this was just an empty spot of land in the already over crowded city centre, do you think it is actually a good location?

If you are in that much of an emergency, you would dial 999 (or 112 on a mobile) and ask for AMBULANCE.
    If they are unavailable, you would ask for a Garda Escort. For this, it would be pertinent to ask for GARDAI.
    The service at Kilmainham will be close by and able to assist you to the hospital. If you are heading down to Hueston, you are also heading the wrong way to the hospital, so i would suggest a Sat-NAV. They can be quite helpful in both redirecting you to your destination or also showing you where traffic blackspots are and helping to avoid them.

That's a good point, but would everyone think of that if they are driving with an ill child with them in the car that they are also trying to sooth.

We can come up with thousands of ways to improve the journey, or get assistance......but why is the hospital being put in such a place where these scenarios have to be created?

Dublin is already a very congested place.

Well... does it?

Well I am not medical or healthcare planning expert but all of the reviews carried out have pointed to the Mater and St. James' being the best all round options for children's health (note: not perfect).
    Having assessed all the potential locations against the assessment criteria, the Joint Task Group concluded that there were two hospitals that offered the greatest advantages, namely the Mater Misericordiae Hospital and St. James’s Hospital.
    (Report of the Joint Health Service Executive / Department of Health and
    Children Task Group to advise on the optimum location of the new national paediatric hospital, May 2006)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

UHG is exactly thirty miles further away from me than St James with no motorway.

If I need somebody in UHG for 9 I leave at 4.45. If I need somebody in St James for 9 I leave at 4.15. All grand if you're fit and at yourself but in the majority of cases I'm not talking people to either because they're mad for a day out.

There's nothing about this post that isn't depressing. :(

Jesus, I sound like an auld wan but I'm glad to have my health.

Ok, if you disregard the associated university hospital and forget about the locations of existing hospitals. If this was just an empty spot of land in the already over crowded city centre, do you think it is actually a good location?

No. But that's massively changing the goal posts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,229 ✭✭✭LeinsterDub

As is any place with a University Hospital

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,702 ✭✭✭✭BoatMad

First , the experts all say you need to co-locate with a major adult hospital for immediate access to specialist staff that cannot be justifed in the children's hospital in itself. Preferably this should be a teaching hospital. That eliminates most other locations and green field sites

Secondly , given the huge proportional concentration of population, a dubin centric location is the only thing that makes sense

Thirdly, staff shortages and attracting staff is more difficult outside a large vibrant population centre that is Dublin, young people want to live and walk to work , not own cars etc.

Finally to put the needs of rural travellers , above expert recommendations on clinical needs of sick children , and merely to access " free " parking etc , is bizarre in the extreme

There will be satellite locations , like blanchardstown where children from that direction west for example will be admitted there , removing the need for their poor bewildered parents to stress themselves finding James hospital , or have you chosen to Ignore that bit of the news

That's a good point, but would everyone think of that if they are driving with an ill child with them in the car that they are also trying to sooth.

We can come up with thousands of ways to improve the journey, or get assistance......but why is the hospital being put in such a place where these scenarios have to be created?

It is being put in the location because of the options available it provides the best outcome for children

I will ask again, just because it seems to repeatedly be overlooked.

What will happen to Crumlin hospital once this project comes to fruition.

You stated your experience with one ward - which had nothing to do with your initial four points. Traffic issues can be empirically assessed by referring to google traffic. I have done so, you have not.
    Two wards. Do you not know the hospital you supposedly work in? And my point was in relation to emergency needs, which my 4 original points cause an issue for. Accessing traffic reports through google doesn't really mean much to someone who's destination is in a heavily dense area.
    You stated emergency cases, including emergency cases that bypass a&e. Not all A&E cases are emergency cases.
    I never suggest all a&e cases are emergency cases. The majority of them are medical card holders who have no issues wasting time because they're not paying for it.
    The vast majority are not. You changed the goalpost mid argument from emergency cases (including those that bypass a&e) to just a&e attendances, including non emergency cases.

I also don't know how you could have the breathtaking ignorance to imply that all A&E attendees are emergency cases by pointing out that one of the words in A&E is 'emergency'. The other word is 'Accident', which immediately renders your point moot.
    Actually my original argument was based around non a&e emergency cases. You brought a&e in to the argument.
    I'm not sure why I am now required to be your English teacher.
    You're not.
    Stating that many parents have different priorities for a proposed Hospital, including several examples and concluding with whatever is immature?
    You didn't provide examples, you listed a few points which would equate to nothing more than whinging.
    You are moving from disingenuous into dishonest.
    I really am done, not only must I correct your every post because of obvious logical/factual errors, I am now required to correct your English.
    Oh f*uk, sorry... there was a single typo in my last reply. I accidentally typed "onle" instead of "one" therefore all my posts are factually and logical wrong and you are now having to continually correct my English. :rolleyes:

Well I am not medical or healthcare planning expert but all of the reviews carried out have pointed to the Mater and St. James' being the best all round options for children's health (note: not perfect).

(Report of the Joint Health Service Executive / Department of Health and
    Children Task Group to advise on the optimum location of the new national paediatric hospital, May 2006)

Why aren't you providing your own opinion?
    You are very quick to downplay or criticize others but you don't put forth any valid argument from your own words as to why this hospital in that location is a good idea.

Why aren't you providing your own opinion?
    You are very quick to downplay or criticize others but you don't put forth any valid argument from your own words as to why this hospital in that location is a good idea.

I already did.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

it should be converted into housing for homeless families but it will probably be bulldozed

I already did.

Where? You are quoting articles or saying "from what review are saying".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,706 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/new-national-children-s-hospital-at-st-james-s-granted-planning-1.2627710
    Construction work for the project will start shortly and the hospital is expected to become fully operational by 2020 following its completion in 2019.
    This will lead to the eventual closure of Our Lady’s Children’s Hospital in Crumlin as well as the existing National Children’s Hospital in Tallaght, and the consolidation of paediatric services at the St James’ site.