Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deposit query

Options
  • 29-04-2016 9:34pm
    Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭

I am looking for some advice as I'm new to the renting market. I am due to move in to a new house, sharing with two other girls who have a lease since August. I spoke to the landlords secretary and she said I need to give a months notice if I wish to move (fair enough) and since the over all lease is up in August, if all three of us go then we get our deposits back straight off but if one leaves and they don't they have to find someone to fill the room before they get the deposit back. Does this sound right and can the landlord legally do this?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,622 ✭✭✭Baby01032012

I am looking for some advice as I'm new to the renting market. I am due to move in to a new house, sharing with two other girls who have a lease since August. I spoke to the landlords secretary and she said I need to give a months notice if I wish to move (fair enough) and since the over all lease is up in August, if all three of us go then we get our deposits back straight off but if one leaves and they don't they have to find someone to fill the room before they get the deposit back. Does this sound right and can the landlord legally do this?
    Do you have a copy of your lease, have you signed it? Sounds like you have taken over from one of the tenants in a fixed term tenancy agreement. Rather than have a separate tenancy.