Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United vs Leicester City 01/05/16 k/o 14.05 Sky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,561 ✭✭✭✭CSF

glued wrote: »
    It's pure faux outrage and it's embarrassing. Somebody grabs your hair you're going to do what you can to get out of that situation.

It's particularly embrassing as Fellaini was defending himself and trying to get himself free. But that doesn't fit in with your agenda here.

No you're right, Fellaini isn't the type and that has to be taken into consideration here. If this was Suarez or Costa you'd have to view it differently.

^ ^

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

monkey9 wrote: »
    You're the only one who's outraged. Everyone else is just commenting on Fellaini's elbow to Huth's head and his second attempted elbow.

Now watch, at half time it will also be mentioned because it's an incident that happened in this football match.

Of course it will be mentioned at half time. That's their job, you know? We'll have 21,590 angles of the incident and eventually they'll decide that Fellaini is a thug becuase they guy isn't allowed defend himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Nervy times for my beloved Leicester City. Off now for a half time packet of Walker Crisps.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

Lord TSC wrote: »
    In the context of a football match (not just a random meeting on the street), push him away. Tell him to **** off, tell the ref if you want and get on with it.

There is no justification for elbowing someone in the face. That sort of attack can seriously injure people. Pulling hair is childish and dirty, but not dangerous.

I would get if people were using the "but he is our dirty player..." Argue,net, but trying to put hair pulling and elbowing someone in the face twice is crazy, and showing off some incredible rose tinted glasses.

Easy to say that from the armchair isn't it? Next time your playing a competitive sport, try pulling your opponents hair and see what reaction you get. I play a bit of hurling, if someone grabs your hurley then you let them know all about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

duffman13 wrote: »
    Forget the peno appeal, Rojo has been absolutely awful, put about 8 crosses in that have gone nowhere, left Morgan free twice in the box and struggles to make basic passes. He's very poor today.

Agree 100%. I'd give him another 15 mins and then put Darmian or Mensah

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,831 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Leicester wont want to risk losing and are hard to break down, United tend to struggle against teams that sit back and let them recycle possession.

So you bored? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

Hococop wrote: »
    Rojo has been awful

He is not a good footballer.

On the decisions, it was a pen for Leicester, just about, a sending off for Fellaini, and a sending off for Simpson.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

CSF wrote: »
    Towards the ball?

Watch the replay in real time and use a bit of common sense. That's what the ref did and that's why he made the right call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

On the decisions, it was a pen for Leicester, just about, a sending off for Fellaini, and a sending off for Simpson.

And at least a booking for Huth for the incident? Possible peno?

No doubt a red for Fellaini. The other two I'm not so sure. Need another look at them.

Watch the replay in real time and use a bit of common sense. That's what the ref did and that's why he made the right call.

Sorry, there's no actual point in this post. How can I refute an argument that hasn't even been made?

If someone has a fist of your hair you deserve a smack for it. If you want to play dirty then expect something back. Stop being pretending to be outraged by it.

Well said mate. It's typical.

Nalz wrote: »
    Well said mate. It's typical.

Whether Huth deserved a smack or not is irrelevant. It's still a red card and a 3 game ban.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

OK we have all seen it again a few times everyone agrees it's a penalty he clearly sticks his left leg out, you still gonna deny it?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,987 ✭✭✭Kerrigooney

Feisty in here today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,371 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Simpson wasn't close to a foul, Lingard made it easy for him.

Grabbing Fellaini's hair with both hands and yanking back was fishing for a reaction in a cowardly way but nobody has called Huth a scumbag. What was Fellaini supposed to think was happening as his head was yanked back from behind?

Mahrez peno is a tough one but Rojo could not have gotten out of the way so no peno.

Had another look at the replay and it wasn't a foul by Simpson IMO.

Rojo one is still hard to call.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,337 ✭✭✭✭monkey9

Of course it will be mentioned at half time. That's their job, you know? We'll have 21,590 angles of the incident and eventually they'll decide that Fellaini is a thug becuase they guy isn't allowed defend himself.

Yep and it's being mentioned on here because it happened during the game that this match thread relates to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,906 ✭✭✭✭PhlegmyMoses

adox wrote: »
    And at least a booking for Huth for the incident? Possible peno?

No doubt a red for Fellaini. The other two I'm not so sure. Need another look at them.

Yeah, Huth probably should have given away a pen. On the Simpson incident, that gets given in the middle of the park and a yellow all day and nobody bats an eyelid. If Simpson's arm doesn't go across, he's won the foot race and through on goal.

Rojos leg is what swings the Leicester decision towards a pen imo. Mahrez is looking for it and runs into him but Rojo is making sure he doesn't get past.

Liam O wrote: »
    Simpson wasn't close to a foul, Lingard made it easy for him.

Grabbing Fellaini's hair with both hands and yanking back was fishing for a reaction in a cowardly way but nobody has called Huth a scumbag. What was Fellaini supposed to think was happening as his head was yanked back from behind?

Mahrez peno is a tough one but Rojo could not have gotten out of the way so no peno.

On the Mahrez/Rojo collision, no way it was a peno for the collision itself, there was nowhere for Rojo to go. It's the lifting of Rojos left leg that raises the question of it being a peno. Is there contact? It's very hard to tell from the replays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,305 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Seen the incidents at HT

Fellaini and Huth should have been sent off for violent play
    The Lingarde incident was not a foul - Ref got it right
    The Mahrez incident should have been a penalty - Ref got it wrong

CSF wrote: »
    Whether Huth deserved a smack or not is irrelevant. It's still a red card and a 3 game ban.

Huth should get the same. Are they equal things? No. Was Fellaini provoked? Yes. Does that matter in terms of the rules and the match? No. Does Fellaini deserve a ban? Yes. Did Huth deserve a smack? Hell yes.

Oh yeah Suarez, mention him for the craic there.

Suarez. Suarez. SUAREZ!!!

Seen the incidents at HT

Fellaini and Huth should have been sent off for violent play
    The Lingarde incident was not a foul - Ref got it right
    The Mahrez incident should have been a penalty - Ref got it wrong

100% agree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,123 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

How does Rojo get in the team, he's simply not good enough

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users Posts: 5,737 ✭✭✭Hococop

Tyson Fury wrote: »

Can't wait for shaw to be back next season

Tyson Fury wrote: »

Apart from showing some strength and will down the flank he's been very bad today. He was decent v Everton. That was the first time I've seen him play well in an United Jersey.

We look so bad at set pieces.

Our passing has been pathetic the last half an hour.

• Lovely flick my mahrez tbf

I can see it being 2-1 Leicester in the 92nd minute...

Nalz wrote: »
    Huth should get the same. Are they equal things? No. Was Fellaini provoked? Yes. Does that matter in terms of the rules and the match? No. Does Fellaini deserve a ban? Yes. Did Huth deserve a smack? Hell yes.

Oh yeah Suarez, mention him for the craic there.

Suarez. Suarez. SUAREZ!!!

I don't know if a pull of the hair is a red card. If caught you'd probably only see a yellow for it. What Fellaini did is an obvious red. Arguments of Huth deserving it are a bit juvenile.

United gone to sleep.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

United gone to sleep.

Whatever was said at half time seems to have taken them down a gear :(

Van Gaals half time team talk has put a stop to that attacking pacey football.

Lord TSC wrote: »
    Whatever was said at half time seems to have taken them down a gear :(

Same as the fa cup game, allowing the opposition all the room

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

Lingard nearly never makes the right decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

adox wrote: »
    Van Gaals half time team talk has put a stop to that attacking pacey football.

The excitement was too much for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Drinkwater is vile.

Getting trigger happy with the cards now

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

Moving Martial to the right wing is a terrible decision every single time, I don't know why he persists with it.

Hococop wrote: »
    Getting trigger happy with the cards now

We're now inside those randomly allocated minutes within a game where Premier Leagues are allowed referee games normally. Bizarro land.

Mata coming on. Get one of those fast lads off Louis so you can slow the game down completely.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Why did Rooney take that extra touch?!

• What's this, a positive sub from LVG??

Mats on the right wing.

Well done LVG

• Registered Users Posts: 9,609 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Sideshow Bob isn't much of a footballer is he

Getting very sloppy now

• TheCitizen wrote: »
    Sideshow Bob isn't much of a footballer is he

Lol k

• Registered Users Posts: 9,609 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

Leicester really dangerous at set pieces

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Why is Rooney particularly angry today?

• Such a soft yellow

Terrible from the ref

Has Rojo completed a pass in the final third? Awful footballer.