Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Albums you have and think "why did I buy it"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Jaqen Hghar

Limp Bizkit - Chocolate Starfish and the Hotdog Flavored Water. 'Nu Metal', what an abomination it was!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 142 ✭✭BlondeMoment

Glico Man wrote: »
    Still a part of my collection for simply unknown reasons, S Club 7...

I'll see your S Club 7 and raise you S Club Juniors!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,484 ✭✭✭Chain Smoker

kfallon wrote: »
    Travis - The Man Who
    And that one from The Strokes that everyone bought round the start of the Millenium
    Bah! Travis are about as good as ultrabland late 90s/early 00s pop rock can get! Very nice and harmless.
    https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zzUdJ-5fscA
    That was a great single alright, they were a bit cocky though, afair they went drinking and failed to turn up for Top of the Pops and shrugged their shoulders as they thought they had a lifetime of hits ahead!
    I think he was actually a struggling singer/songwriter for a decade and the second he got fame he realised he hated it. The songs that were supposed to go onto his next album were pretty much sold off to a variety of other acts (including life is a rollercoaster).
    • Mansun - Attack of the Grey Lantern.
    Of all the deluded post-britpop groups who were trying to be far more ambitious than their limited skill could achieve, Mansun were the only one who seemed to have some semblance of talent behind them.
    Albums are a total f*cking mess but there's something charming about it all. Draper was a bit of an idiot savant imo, if one of the other members had an ounce of talent, or even someone to just keep him away from writing the lyrics, they could've put together something really good.
    Totofan99 wrote: »
    Metallica - St. Anger.

Jesus. What the hell were they thinking?
    The only album I downloaded a FLAC of to get a clear idea of just how awful the production was. Jesus christ, those drums are shocking
    Plain White Ts - Big Bad World.

I went to see them when I was 16 because I was a big fan of the support act. The albums (there were 2) that Hey There Delilah was on weren't bad, but they followed it with this seriously awful album that I only listened to twice. Still have it though. No idea why.
    Hey There Delilah was produced by a dude who went on to become a pretty damn great pop songwriter/producer (Climax by Usher and that last Vampire Weekend album are among his credits). Part of me strongly suspects he rewrote that song a lot to make it as lovely as it is (it is a lovely song, everyone!)

For me it's probably one of the few albums I bought on a total uncalculated whim like the 2003 Throwing Muses album. For whatever reason, I'm more embarrassed by Urban Hymns being the second album I bought, this is in spite of Chocolate Starfish being the first...

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 35,731 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

I bought a Bentley Rhythm Ace album on the strength of one song which wasn't even on it. Utter garbage.

You know what, I think the reason I'm embarrassed by Urban Hymns is because the Verve were f*cking class in the early 90s https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=AjKWmyBxvkw

I'm not even hugely into shoegaze type stuff

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 17,425 ✭✭✭✭Conor Bourke

ANThology by Alien Ant Farm. Just cos I'd be ashamed for anyone to see it in my collection (which is actually in a wardrobe in my parents house) doesn't mean I wouldn't sing along with unbridled glee to Smooth Criminal or Movies if I heard either of them right now :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,909 ✭✭✭Gwynplaine

brevity wrote: »
    The Thrills...

"Just don't go back to big Sur..."

Why why why did I open this thread. That song will be stuck in my head for the day. An awful band. Atrocious stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

Imagine a collection with Coldplay, Travis AND Keane? You'd just feel...pity.
    Ah Jaysus, I'm getting my coat.

Huey Lewis and The News - Fore! ("Sports" gets a mention too)

Whitney Houston - Whitney Houston

Phil Collins - No Jacket Required (Genesis' "Duke" gets a mention in the same monologue)

Patrick is listening to Robert Palmer's "Simply Irresistible" as he and Reese Witherspoon travel in a taxi, from the album "Heavy Nova". He doesn't mention the title, just describes it as "the new Robert Palmer tape".

New Order's "True Faith" can be heard in the nightclub scene, as can Coldcut's Seven Minutes of Madness Remix of Eric B. & Rakim's "Paid in Full" as they are seated in a restaurant, whilst "Pump up the Volume" by MARRS also features. I could go on.....

Do I get extra points? biggrin.png

One of my fave movies....and I'm also banned from pub quizzes....

6 points.

You would have got a bonus point for Talking Heads. Not in the film, but in the book.

Great and all as the film is, the book is even more graphic and violent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,938 ✭✭✭galljga1

The Thrills...

Anyone else think Conor Deasy sounds like the shrimp from Shark Tale?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

6 points.

You would have got a bonus point for Talking Heads. Not in the film, but in the book.

Great and all as the film is, the book is even more graphic and violent.

Ah you should have said! I assumed the movie - my bad. I've read the book a couple of times. What differentiates the book from the film for me is the film is presented almost as a dark comedy, whereas the violence and shall we say other pursuits Patrick engages in make an actual word for word film adaptation impossible - no studio would touch it with a barge pole. Have read all of Ellis' work. It's a bit out there at times (to put it mildly), but American Psycho and Glamorama are both enjoyable reads for very different reasons. I love the fact that Glamorama served as a kind of inspiration for Zoolander (there was a court case which was settled in Ellis' favour). Would love to see a Glamorama movie though...

• Moderators, Regional North East Moderators Posts: 12,739 Mod ✭✭✭✭cournioni

HensVassal wrote: »
    Couple of duds during my metal years

Nothingface by Voivod -crap
    7th son of a 7th son by Iron Maiden -crap

Save Your Prayers by Waysted -more crap

What?! Have a word with yourself man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Limp Bizkit - Chocolate Starfish and the Hotdog Flavored Water. 'Nu Metal', what an abomination it was!

This for me. I wasn't even big into them to begin with (was anybody?) but at the time I liked the odd song from them.

The other week for the craíc I decided to relisten to them and, holy shít, the lyrics in their songs are goddawful. Nu-metal music aged hard and really screams the year 2000, a lot of bands never made it out alive.

Also recently found a Staind album I had, don't know why I even had an album from those miserable bastards.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,534 ✭✭✭sioda

Both 2 Unlimited albums. So sad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,028 ✭✭✭✭ButtersSuki

sioda wrote: »
    Both 2 Unlimited albums. So sad

Wow. They had a second album? Genuinely shocked they released a second one.........

Were you ready for it? :pac:

On the 2 Unlimited vibe, I go to NBA Basketball games a few times a year in the states. They still play "Get Ready For This" in most major arenas in the states. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I'm ashamed to admit it, but I once purchased a copy of So Much for the City by The Thrills. It was recommended to me by some classmates who described it as the 'soundtrack' to their J1 summer in San Diego. I listened to it once, removed it from the CD player, put it back in the case and donated it to the local charity shop.

In hindsight I should have known better than to follow the advice of those classmates. The type to describe a concert as a 'gig', to carry their guitar bags everywhere on campus, and who were always on about 'laying down a few tracks for a demo'. Wouldn't surprise me if some of them work in Zhivago, Xtravision or a computer game shop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

In hindsight I should have known better than to follow the advice of those classmates. The type to describe a concert as a 'gig', to carry their guitar bags everywhere on campus, and who were always on about 'laying down a few tracks for a demo'. Wouldn't surprise me if some of them work in Zhivago, Xtravision or a computer game shop.

What sort of a course did you do that required your classmates to carry a guitar bag with them everywhere? :confused:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

Music performance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Hard-Fi-Stars of CCTV
    Razorlight-Razorlight
    That band the enemy who were absolute ****, also had a cribs album I think.

My God, it's like a soundtrack to Saturday mornings years ago with Soccer AM bands of the week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,706 ✭✭✭✭Mr. CooL ICE

I got a cd from Crazy Town still knocking around somewhere. That was atrocious.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,070 ✭✭✭✭pq0n1ct4ve8zf5

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Razorllght believed in recording their albums live, with few tune ups or overdubs. I think the sound suffered as a result.
    The one song I cannot stand is "America"

"All my life, watching America. All my life, there's panic in America. Oh oh oh. There's trouble in America. Oh oh oh oh".

What DREADFUL lyrics

Oh gawd that song 'I met a girl, she asked me my name, so I told her what it waaaaaas'. For jesus' sake. That little scrote spent every bit of oxygen people gave him insisting he was the new Dylan as well, rat faced little sh1t

Edit: I have the first Razorlight album somewhere and I played it to death :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,333 ✭✭✭HalloweenJack

Ja Rule - The Last Temptation

I'm really into hip-hop but when I was younger, I used to get drawn in by commercial hip hop, guys who put one or two party jams as singles and people would buy their albums because of that. I learnt my lesson from this travesty of an album. I'm massively ashamed to say it's in my record collection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34 rhabarbarum

I have a fair share of bought-on-the-whim albums. Mostly obscure or indie pieces that I listened to once and then threw into a farthest corner of my house, like Sound in Spirit by Chanticleer and something by Papercranes and Haushka.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

HensVassal wrote: »
    Couple of duds during my metal years

Nothingface by Voivod -crap
    7th son of a 7th son by Iron Maiden -crap
    Save Your Prayers by Waysted -more crap

Nothingface? Crap? I hope ye die roaring.:mad:

Seventh son is class too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

'The Great Rock 'n' Roll Swindle' appropriately named, it was no 'Never Mind The Bollocks'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭peckerhead

Amen to that. The BDSM lady midget was kinda cool, though... :D

Oh gawd that song 'I met a girl, she asked me my name, so I told her what it waaaaaas'. For jesus' sake. That little scrote spent every bit of oxygen people gave him insisting he was the new Dylan as well, rat faced little sh1t

Edit: I have the first Razorlight album somewhere and I played it to death :o
    Was that Oxegen 2007? You could feel the tide turn against those pricks over the weekend.

Not that I was ever into them, I was too busy at the very front of the smallest tent watching the National :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,597 ✭✭✭Totofan99

satguy wrote: »
    I could also add "In Through the Out Door" ..

No wonder they put it in brown paper bag,,,

I remember thinking, " did Jimmy Page misplace his guitar somewhere " ..What the hell..?
    A week later I bought The Clash's London Calling,, one still gets played, the other is in the attic with Van Halen's 1984.
    Not one of their finest, but it had its moments. 'In the Evening' and 'All My Love' stand out, as does Bonzo's half-time shuffle on 'Fool in the Rain'. But you can definitely see that Page's heroin problem had become an issue.

I don't own this album anymore but...

Lostprophets - Start Something

Just like Linkin Park they were basically a crap nu-metal boyband. I think I bought this album on the strength of the single 'Burn Burn' and then discovered that the rest of the album wasn't really that good. I was only 16 at the time.

This album was still lurking somewhere in my music collection, gathering dust, until certain relevations about you know what came out about you know who. The CD met a gruesome death there and then.

As Frankie Boyle said, at least he made sure the welsh won't be associated with sheep shaggin anymore.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8 Jaqen Hghar

Duggy747 wrote: »
    This for me. I wasn't even big into them to begin with (was anybody?) but at the time I liked the odd song from them.

The other week for the craíc I decided to relisten to them and, holy shít, the lyrics in their songs are goddawful. Nu-metal music aged hard and really screams the year 2000, a lot of bands never made it out alive.

Also recently found a Staind album I had, don't know why I even had an album from those miserable bastards.

I agree, Duggy, it has aged horribly. It was certainly an odd fusion of genres in retrospect, rap and metal. I actually got into them originally because I was a big fan of the WWF at the time. They used a lot of Bizkit's tracks in their events and advertising and that's when I first heard of them. From the perspective of an eighteen year old male at the turn of the millennium, they were new and innovative. From the perspective of a thirty four year old male today, I can see it was uninspired tripe with a generous dollop of piss and vinegar :-D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,580 ✭✭✭✭Riesen_Meal

Ugly Kid Joe - America's Least Wanted

(Shudders)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 114 ✭✭heathledgerlove

The Thrills...

:) Got a postcard because I bought it the day it came out in Zivago! My friend got a Dandy Worhols album they stamped because it was the release date too

cournioni wrote: »
    What?! Have a word with yourself man.

I know! This Kid! No respect!

A cousin dragged me along to see Staind years ago, that turgid muck echoing around a half empty point depot had to have been one of the lowlights of my gig going.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

galljga1 wrote: »
    Anyone else think Conor Deasy sounds like the shrimp from Shark Tale?

Back when they were big they seemed to be popping up everywhere on TV and Radio, giving live performances. I have never heard a band before or since with such a ropey live singer; he was atrocious!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,858 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Duggy747 wrote: »

Limp Bizkit rocked my thirteen year old world, but even back then I knew the lyrics were stooopid. Fred Durst is an embarrassment. But, to be fair, the actual musicians in the band were pretty talented. If you could surgically remove Fred from the tunes there's be still stuff there to enjoy.

Also, Break Stuff. It's as dumb as a bag of rocks, but as a musical articulation of mindless teenage rage, it takes some beating:

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭The Sidewards Man

Adele albums, its time to move on now like.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

Back in our day, you had no choice. You had to part with your hard earned money from a part time job worth tuppence an hour to head to HMV on a Saturday morning to "invest" in what you hoped would be great album.
    No other way of knowing. And...having spent so much, you'd give it lots of chances...hoping to get your money's worth out of it before finally admitting defeat. Better luck next time.
    Kids these days will never understand the gamble we had to have to find our favourite sounds.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭blue note

God people are a lot harsher on bands than I am. Some albums I have I think some people expect me to be embarrassed by - kool and the gang, Fleetwood mac, Coldplay. But I still like them all and will listen to them all on occasion.

The one that is regrettable though - James blunt. I heard him in jules holland one night and everyone was gushing in their praise of him and I liked goodbye my lover, so I bought it. I tried to convince myself I like it, but alas, it was ****.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 824 ✭✭✭sheep?

People think you should be embarrassed by Fleetwood Mac? :-O

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,620 ✭✭✭blue note

fatknacker wrote: »
    Back in our day, you had no choice. You had to part with your hard earned money from a part time job worth tuppence an hour to head to HMV on a Saturday morning to "invest" in what you hoped would be great album.
    No other way of knowing. And...having spent so much, you'd give it lots of chances...hoping to get your money's worth out of it before finally admitting defeat. Better luck next time.
    Kids these days will never understand the gamble we had to have to find our favourite sounds.

I think that's a great shame. I used to buy albums based on recommendations. Fair enough there were a few that were a bit disappointing, but the joy when you buy something like marquee moon and take it home and find out it's simply brilliant is something that the modern generation won't get. They'll get to hear them for the first time. But not with that satisfaction of taking a gamble with £10 and it coming off perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,073 ✭✭✭✭bnt

Ultravox were basically dead on their feet before Midge Ure came along in 1981, and with him they produced several great albums including Vienna and Rage in Eden. His last 80s album with them, U-Vox, got panned for its less electronic style, though I think it has several very good songs. After Midge left, keyboardist Billy Currie made a couple of albums under the Ultravox name with anonymous session types, and I bought one of them, Ingenuity. I think it was in the bargain bin, but I still paid too much for it. :o

You are the type of what the age is searching for, and what it is afraid it has found. I am so glad that you have never done anything, never carved a statue, or painted a picture, or produced anything outside of yourself! Life has been your art. You have set yourself to music. Your days are your sonnets.

―Oscar Wilde predicting Social Media, in The Picture of Dorian Gray

blue note wrote: »
    I think that's a great shame. I used to buy albums based on recommendations. Fair enough there were a few that were a bit disappointing, but the joy when you buy something like marquee moon and take it home and find out it's simply brilliant is something that the modern generation won't get. They'll get to hear them for the first time. But not with that satisfaction of taking a gamble with £10 and it coming off perfectly.
    Haha! Really funny you picked Marquee Moon as your example, bought that when I was 13 just a little bit before I got the internet. Knew nothing about it other than it being mentioned briefly in a review of the second Strokes album (I wasn't even a Strokes fan) and I only got up to Dublin about once a year, so it was a huge risk.

First listen I was completely baffled, didn't listen to it for a few days again.
    Second listen it was f*cking jawdropping.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 214 ✭✭edbrez

bnt wrote: »
    Ultravox were basically dead on their feet before Midge Ure came along in 1981, and with him they produced several great albums including Vienna and Rage in Eden. His last 80s album with them, U-Vox, got panned for its less electronic style, though I think it has several very good songs. After Midge left, keyboardist Billy Currie made a couple of albums under the Ultravox name with anonymous session types, and I bought one of them, Ingenuity. I think it was in the bargain bin, but I still paid too much for it. :o
    Their problem was being too good musicians for that kind of music.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,430 ✭✭✭RWCNT

Ive been going through this thread and rediscovering old bangers, particularly the mid 2000s indie. Keep 'em coming, lads.

edbrez wrote: »
    Their problem was being too good musicians for that kind of music.

Would say the opposite, that Midge Ure was at his best in albums like Vienna and in genuinely original tracks like Mr. X, whereas his later solo career was typified by appalling dirge like "Cold Cold Heart".

And now I've gone and reminded myself of that song.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

Albums by Clannad, Anastasia, The Spin Doctors and Bob Sinclair come to mind. They were all bought because I liked one or two songs off them. I ended up never listening to them, as the rest of the songs were desperate. And yet I still hang onto them :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 214 ✭✭edbrez

Would say the opposite, that Midge Ure was at his best in albums like Vienna and in genuinely original tracks like Mr. X, whereas his later solo career was typified by appalling dirge like "Cold Cold Heart".
    New technology ruined a lot of the 1980s electronic artists. They all switched to digital and FM keyboards and it sounded sh-t.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Conall Cernach

Supernatural by Santana. Please don't judge me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭Anesthetize

edbrez wrote: »
    New technology ruined a lot of the 1980s electronic artists. They all switched to digital and FM keyboards and it sounded sh-t.
    Yes and no. When commercial pop bands jumped on the electronic bandwagon they did so in the most tasteless manner, with horrible-sounding synths.

On the other hand you had artists like Kate Bush who made innovative use of the Fairlight sampler, and the Roland TR-808 drum machine which formed the backbone for dance music and hip-hop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 580 ✭✭✭waffleman

The Big Lebowski Soundtrack

3 good songs and the rest was bollocks

Worst track I remember is this monstrosity: