Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards is becoming a Ghost Town

• Registered Users Posts: 36,350 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

What's a benny? :confused:

Very little on the internet bothers me. I think using a private forum on boards to bitch about other users is nasty playground-type stuff. I'm not personally offended but I find it pathetic.

People are frequently pathetic. Once they don't move from pathetic to dangerous then who cares.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

It's a shame that it's not as busy as it was 2 years ago when i joined. Even a year ago it was pretty busy.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

You're surprised that someone is unimpressed with one of the founders of the site telling people to go ahead and bitch about other users in a private forum? I'm sure I'm not the only one.

They can go and bitch about you (or actually your pseudonym) in a public blog, or on medium. There is an ex soccer forum member who does exactly that.

On a private hidden forum what's the issue?

That is different from doxxing. That is an invasion of privacy.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,253 ✭✭✭jackofalltrades

Boggles wrote: »
    I'd suggest leave the internet immediately or stop being such a hyperbolic benny and grow up.
    And here's another reason why Boards.ie is turning into a ghost town.
    Could you not have made your point without getting a dig in?

• Registered Users Posts: 58,456 ✭✭✭✭ibarelycare

And cold.

Oooh rolleyes, on top of personal abuse! Why are you so affected by my opinion?

• Registered Users Posts: 36,350 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

La.de.da wrote: »
    I can tell you that bitching of other users in private forums is completely not allowed to go on.

Such a statement reeks of bull****. Primarily because - as is clear from Admin statements on these matters and the lengthy feedback thread on the subject from two years ago - nobody is monitoring these forums closely enough to enforce that.

And how would you personally know to be able to express the above in such a declarative manner? Are you a member of all Private forums on the site? Do you have read access to all Private forums on the site?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

Why the duck does anybody care about private hidden forums possibly bitching about a pseudonym? Such paranoia.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,482 ✭✭✭Hollister11

Why the duck does anybody care about private hidden forums possibly bitching about a pseudonym? Such paranoia.

They seem to think that boards are plotting against them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭La.de.da

Jeeze.... ok the private forums I contribute too (not all of them, yes I should have mentioned that) no mention of other posters at all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    People are going to talk about you behind your back all the time. Get used to it. In this case, DeV was - imo - being pragmatic about how enclaves work and basically saying 'keep it clean and amongst yourselves when you must vent about whoever or whatever'. And I say that as someone who may have come up negatively in said private forum over the years.

Because the alternative is so very simple - go elsewhere and say whatever the feck you want with your own space on one tab and boards on the other.

In any case, the shock and horror expressed over this topic in the original feedback thread and today always struck me as a bit put on tbh. Thinking that Private Forums wouldn't occasionally mention happenings on public forums seems an outrageous expectation to me. Once they weren't used as platforms for bullying, etc who gives a flying **** tbh.

There is 2 standards of private forums as far as I can see.

One which goes against site rules which the owners know is happening. Posting nsfw gifs such as porn etc etc.

Then another where none of that is allowed where Dav himself has told that forum to stop posting nsfw links in a thread dedicated to nsfw links. Which is fair enough as we all may know each other is over 18 but we cannot prove a new member is over 18. No biggie to posting boobs if that's the sites rules.

Another incident is naming nonmembers positively or negatively. It shouldn't happen and as far as I have experienced it's a boards wide rule.
    There was an `incident` last year where someone mentioned they saw Johnny and his kids in the park becuase they had just moved to the area on thread and no one took any notice of the post until a few days later Dav brought the post back up and gave us a warning.
    So Dav is very against the idea of naming boards members and posting nsfw links. Or should be, but it seems to be on a forum per forum basis if all this is true.

It's pointless for me to start bitching about what you said in the Soccer forum. The Mods should just say stop, this isn't the place. Go to the Soccer forum to bitch about him.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,162 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

And here's another reason why Boards.ie is turning into a ghost town.
    Could you not have made your point without getting a dig in?

No, I don't think I could have TBH.

It was IMO a perfectly well refined response to hyper emotive nonsense.

I imagine if I said what I truly thought there would be one more heading for the Ghost Town exit. Sure maybe I will in one of the private forums I'm a member of, or maybe I won't.

TBH, I Barely Care.

I imagine if I said what I truly thought there would be one more heading for the Ghost Town exit. Sure maybe I will in one of the private forums I'm a member of, or maybe I won't.

TBH, I Barely Care.

You think if what you posted what you truly thought of my opinion (or me? I've never come across you before today so I wouldn't have thought it was personal but your strong reaction to my post makes me think perhaps otherwise) would make me leave the site?!!

Lol your pathetic little threat of maybe or maybe not discussing me in your private forum is really going to cause me sleepless nights :rolleyes: You're the one who needs to grow up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 21,296 ✭✭✭✭gimmick

You think if what you posted what you truly thought of my opinion (or me? I've never come across you before today so I wouldn't have thought it was personal but your strong reaction to my post makes me think perhaps otherwise) would make me leave the site?!!

Lol your pathetic little threat of maybe or maybe not discussing me in your private forum is really going to cause me sleepless nights :rolleyes: You're the one who needs to grow up.

I thought the very thought of it left you cold??

TBH, I Barely Care.

You should do it here. But don't cut yourself on that edgy opinion of yours.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,987 ✭✭✭Tilly

Jesus guys

What's the need for sniping? People can have an opinion without being told to leave the internet surely?

I thought this was a thread for feedback, not to tell posters who don't feel about things exactly they way you do to take the exit ramp.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

I've seen 1970s Italian vampire orgy films with less people at each other's throats.

I'm going back to me turf.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

It leaves me cold knowing there's a thread on a private forum where people are allowed bitch and whinge about other users. It's pretty pathetic and not much different to those on the site-which-must-not-be-named.

You can warm yourself back up and rest assured that the private forum that the Admin nosied around is no longer active, so no, that particular private forum is not a place where people bitch and whinge about other users.

We left, and most of the posters were 10k+ posters 2 years ago, they went and took the majority of their content creation on this website with them - now outside of some smalltime name calling in the private forum most of those people were decent contributers to boards (yes, yes, Boards is "better off" without them, of course, of course rolleyes).

But you should see the thousand post long thread on our new forum called "Look at them Boards.ie ****", it's a veritible trove of vicious and uncalled-for rantings about the people here. That Vote place is in the haypenny place compared to it.

No. Not really.

gimmick wrote: »
    I thought the very thought of it left you cold??

You're a relentless little gang aren't you?

Yes the thought of such a thread being allowed on the site does leave me cold. Someone "threatening" to discuss me in a private forum? I really don't give a sh1t.

The reaction from 2 or 3 of you (who I don't think I've ever even conversed with before) to me expressing an opinion you don't agree with is excessive and bizarre.

Why such vitriolic reaction to a poster saying she/he is left cold at the thought of posters being bitched about and discussed in private forums where they have no chance to defend themselves/reply?

Conversely, who would think it's an acceptable way to spend your time to snipe about people, possibly lie or spread rumours, hidden away where they can't be challenged?

I'm a member of a private forum, and if there wasn't a rule about talking about non-members, I'd leave.

Yes the thought of such a thread being allowed on the site does leave me cold. Someone "threatening" to discuss me in a private forum? I really don't give a sh1t.

Hmmm. Perfect example of a Paradox.

Well done.

Hmmm. Perfect example of a Paradox.

Well done.

No, it's really not.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,221 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

I really don't think we need to rehash the rights and wrongs of that particular private forum again. It's no longer active and not relevant to the thread.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

There is 2 standards of private forums as far as I can see.

One which goes against site rules which the owners know is happening. Posting nsfw gifs such as porn etc etc.

Then another where none of that is allowed where Dav himself has told that forum to stop posting nsfw links in a thread dedicated to nsfw links. Which is fair enough as we all may know each other is over 18 but we cannot prove a new member is over 18. No biggie to posting boobs if that's the sites rules.

Another incident is naming nonmembers positively or negatively. It shouldn't happen and as far as I have experienced it's a boards wide rule.
    There was an `incident` last year where someone mentioned they saw Johnny and his kids in the park becuase they had just moved to the area on thread and no one took any notice of the post until a few days later Dav brought the post back up and gave us a warning.
    So Dav is very against the idea of naming boards members and posting nsfw links. Or should be, but it seems to be on a forum per forum basis if all this is true.

It's pointless for me to start bitching about what you said in the Soccer forum. The Mods should just say stop, this isn't the place. Go to the Soccer forum to bitch about him.

I think NSFW posts are allowed as long as they aren't of actual posters.

Nope. Course not. There is a zero tolerance from my experience. Except for 1 forum.

That would be a stupid rule regardless. Who is to say I'm not in a porn and someone links to my video.

Not according to Dav. Well not in some forums anyway. Different for others apparently!

Is that so? Perhaps you're right.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,748 ✭✭✭✭Lovely Bloke

It's not strange that two different private forums would have two different rules of operation.

I'm not sure what has happened to this thread but Jaysus.