Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Every Arsehole in Ireland Tonight...

• Registered Users Posts: 112 ✭✭Amfyoyo

I'd suggest that this thread is not about 'sport' in general or 'football' in particular...rather the 'Jump on the bandwagon' brigade and taking a well deserved pot shot at them??

As with ALL threads, U'll have those who'll attempt to link 2 utterly & mutually exclusive 'strands ' together,(eg. Will Football cup manufacture be threatened by TTIP and the disappearance of the lesser spotted Elephant gerbil from the polar icecap.....due to Global warming....or something) but I delight in the humourous content of this thread & it's comments.........Jeez, things are depressing enough without trying to 'divide/subdivide comments by 'word content' and banish them elsewhere....

As for Cheddarshire winning the cup/mug/goblet/drinking utensil & those claiming to have supported them all their lives/changing their names by deed poll etc etc,I say 'Ban the whale, Save the bomb', I'm taking my goldfish for a walk in a minute

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,931 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

zerks wrote: »
    Wait 'til Mayo win Sam.:p

Pretty sure that's one of the signs of the apocalypse, so there'll be no thread anyway.

Amfyoyo wrote: »
    I'd suggest that this thread is not about 'sport' in general or 'football' in particular...rather the 'Jump on the bandwagon' brigade and taking a well deserved pot shot at them??

As with ALL threads, U'll have those who'll attempt to link 2 utterly & mutually exclusive 'strands ' together,(eg. Will Football cup manufacture be threatened by TTIP and the disappearance of the lesser spotted Elephant gerbil from the polar icecap.....due to Global warming....or something) but I delight in the humourous content of this thread & it's comments.........Jeez, things are depressing enough without trying to 'divide/subdivide comments by 'word content' and banish them elsewhere....

As for Cheddarshire winning the cup/mug/goblet/drinking utensil & those claiming to have supported them all their lives/changing their names by deed poll etc etc,I say 'Ban the whale, Save the bomb', I'm taking my goldfish for a walk in a minute

What?

• Registered Users Posts: 784 ✭✭✭kirk buttercup

dont understand why anyone would care who someone else supports, I love loads of different sports. I support
    Canterbury bulldogs - rugby league( I grew up in sydney)
    Giants- afl (see above)
    Man Utd - all my uncles supported them
    Boston Red sox - just like them and the history that goes with them
    Patriots- NFl ( just like them)
    Leinster-(where im from)
    and......
    Bray wanderers have been a season ticket holder for years (and im not a hipster)

Support who you want if it makes you happy isnt that what sport is supposed to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

maudgonner wrote: »
    Assuming you're talking about the senior men's GAA team, if you're not from Mayo you really wouldn't understand. It's the endless rollercoaster of emotion that comes from being a Mayo supporter. The swearing 'never again' after each crushing disappointment, only for May to roll around again and the old optimism to kick in. The building feeling of 'this could be the year', the knowledge that when it finally happens, as it surely will, it's going to be the sweetest of victories - a feeling that the Kerrys and Dublins will never really understand.

For all the bad days, there's great pleasure in being a Mayo supporter. You might pity us, but we pity you right back :p

Bit like following Liverpool then! Some European glory at least.

As somebody said the LoI used to get big crowds, even up to the 70's. TV, greater media exposure and the invention of football in 1992 didn't help. Plus GAA gets more attention than then.

Big one is rugby, you might have got a couple of thousand at inter-provincials in the eighties so that support is mostly new.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

It's RTEs fault the 'sports mad' Irish public are too lazy to attend games at their doorstep and instead support teams from towns and cities they've absolutely no connection with?

There used to be more Italian football on the TV during the nineties than English football. So that excuse doesn't really wash.

See the thing is, nobody needs an excuse. It's none of your business.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Think you may have missed his point which was really about the claims made by people to justify why they select an English team.

When I came of drinking age I tried a few different beers before settling on one I really liked. I wasn't from the country where this beer is brewed nor had I any connection to it. Should I have drank the swill churned out from the nearest brewery to my family home instead?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

By the way it is pronounced Lesster not LEEKester. I think I got away with it by saying that the club is pronounced differently. Thanks OP for the tip re the color. I have drawn on my face with blue biro in celebration. Earlier I thought that Leicester played in the same colour as Arsenal (boy was my face red!)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

K-9 wrote: »
    maudgonner wrote: »
    Assuming you're talking about the senior men's GAA team, if you're not from Mayo you really wouldn't understand. It's the endless rollercoaster of emotion that comes from being a Mayo supporter. The swearing 'never again' after each crushing disappointment, only for May to roll around again and the old optimism to kick in. The building feeling of 'this could be the year', the knowledge that when it finally happens, as it surely will, it's going to be the sweetest of victories - a feeling that the Kerrys and Dublins will never really understand.

For all the bad days, there's great pleasure in being a Mayo supporter. You might pity us, but we pity you right back :p

Bit like following Liverpool then! Some European glory at least.

As somebody said the LoI used to get big crowds, even up to the 70's. TV, greater media exposure and the invention of football in 1992 didn't help. Plus GAA gets more attention than then.

Big one is rugby, you might have got a couple of thousand at inter-provincials in the eighties so that support is mostly new.
    Yup, never again last year after that loss to Dublin. It's all over now. Not going to happen. Then the under 21's go and win the All-Ireland again and bam....... Where's me "Mayo4Sam" numberplate now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,622 ✭✭✭Ruu

I love them Gooners, well done Leicester.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,969 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

And what.. Not talk about stuff a bit too specific that people are interested in?

This happened years ago with the Henry handball. "Oh it's sports.. Close the thread." Complete bull.

Threads die when they die.
    Fuck it, I'll go start a thread in the soccer forum about any auld shite so, wonder how long it will last? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,542 ✭✭✭marcbrophy

The most popular league in the world, that has a following all around the globe and people can't understand why people on the island right next to where it's played might have an interest in it!

Bunch of fcuking bores :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,815 ✭✭✭irelandrover

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Fuck it, I'll go start a thread in the soccer forum about any auld shite so, wonder how long it will last? :rolleyes:

But that is the soccer forum for talking about soccer. This is the forum to talk about stuff in general.

Why do you care so much? You click into a thread you knew was about soccer, you contributed to said thread keeping it alive.

What would you say is the remit of After Hours? I mean, the soccer forum is for threads about soccer, but what would you limit After Hours to? Shouty racists complaining about the fictional PC brigade?

Social & fun?

So why would a casual thread about soccer fandom (not a detailed discussion about the ins and outs of the teams or their tactics or anything) not be included?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

The soccer thread is a specific issue forum, After Hours isn't. If the topic doesn't interest you, don't post in it. It's simple. It's like the people going on to the RIP threads to whine about the fact that they're not fans of the deceased and other people die all the time and no one cares. Pure nonsense.

Who died & made you mod kunt nugget?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,375 ✭✭✭✭kunst nugget

Who died & made you mod kunt nugget?

Nobody. Who died and made you a pain in the hole?

One of my dogs!

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I always find it gas when people are called barstoolers for not supporting your local team when I'm in my case we actually dont have a local team...

Here in Tipperary when your talking to people about the League of Ireland you may as well be talking about the Russian league people have no connection to the league whatsoever and have no clue about it your brought up on the Premier League and SPL instead

St Michaels AFC are a good Junior side, give them a go.

Who knows with support they may become an LOI side one day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 534 ✭✭✭eezipc

I always find it gas when people are called barstoolers for not supporting your local team when I'm in my case we actually dont have a local team...

Here in Tipperary when your talking to people about the League of Ireland you may as well be talking about the Russian league people have no connection to the league whatsoever and have no clue about it your brought up on the Premier League and SPL instead

St Michaels AFC are a good Junior side, give them a go.

Who knows with support they may become an LOI side one day.
    That is a good point. Soccer is very tribal. I would say more so than GAA. I'm from Mayo and Mayo does not have a LoI team. There is Westport/Castlebar etc in the Junior league but again, that's not where I am from so I would find it hard to follow them. I've lived in Galway for over 10 years and I have never been to a Galway Utd game. I go to most Mayo GAA and Connacht rugby games but i have no gra at all for the LoI.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,750 ✭✭✭Avatar MIA

So... What are the odds of Leicester being relegated next year? :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

Is it wrong for someone to watch Wimbledon and have a favourite player, and not support local tennis?

Of course it's not. Anyone is free to like who and what they want obviously, regardless of locality. I know plenty of people who watch football from Spain, England etc and don't watcg Irish football. Their prerogative. But when they go on as if they are Mancs or Scousers despite probably never even been to those places, that's when I find it a bit irksome and ridiculous.

Again, why you're bringing tennis into it I don't know. Nobody watches Federer and says ''We're gonna win'' or that Nadal is scum. It's apples and oranges stuff.

• Registered Users Posts: 745 ✭✭✭Breaston Plants

Well I'm a Leicester City fan for 20 years plus, I'm glad WE did it, Claus Raineri OUR greatest manager, Tommy Vardy OUR greatest striker, can't wait to see US lift the trophy in our own patch, The Queen Power stadium next week against Barcelona.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

I cannot and never could understand the affinity some supporters build up for teams in places they don't know or have ever been to.
    I enjoy watching premiership soccer but I could never honestly form more than a passing interest in one team. Hypocritically I do admit I was probably in the anyone but united camp for a good while.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,576 ✭✭✭deaddonkey15

catbear wrote: »
    I cannot and never could understand the affinity some supporters build up for teams in places they don't know or have ever been to.
    I enjoy watching premiership soccer but I could never honestly form more than a passing interest in one team. Hypocritically I do admit I was probably in the anyone but united camp for a good while.

Because it's not the place that fans here are connected to it's the club and the team they more than likely grew up supporting. And that's ok.

I often wonder if an Irish based Liverpool fan cares anymore about a match against Everton than he does about a Chelsea match. That's the type of thing people over here miss out on, a good city derby. Bantering back and forth for bragging rights in the lead up to the game, the days after it and actually at the match too. I find it hard to believe an Irish Arsenal fan hates Spurs and vice versa in the sense a Londoner would. That's something they're missing out on for sure IMO.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Omackeral wrote: »
    I often wonder if an Irish based Liverpool fan cares anymore about a match against Everton than he does about a Chelsea match. That's the type of thing people over here miss out on, a good city derby. Bantering back and forth for bragging rights in the lead up to the game, the days after it and actually at the match too. I find it hard to believe an Irish Arsenal fan hates Spurs and vice versa in the sense a Londoner would. That's something they're missing out on for sure IMO.

Any Irish fan who isn't a resident of that area and takes part in the Manc scum, scouse bin dippers bollox is guaranteed to be an absolute gowl bag.

At the most it's for the bantz in work the next day which only cements them as the ultimate gowl bag

catbear wrote: »

Different people are different. Shocking isn't it?

Well I'll be heading down to Leicester Square to celebrate with my kinsman

I support Manchester United. Manchester City are just another Premier League team to me but I have to work with, socialise with and listen to Liverpool fans all the time so that's where all the "bantering and bragging rights" lie.
    They are basically the same reasons for local rivalries.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,926 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

kfallon wrote: »
    Is it just me or does anyone else find these kind of posts cringey?

Very cringeworthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,711 ✭✭✭✭Princess Consuela Bananahammock

ClovenHoof wrote: »
    Eh, amazing as this sounds. I am a Sligo Rovers supporter, because, eh, I come from Sligo.

*Reaches for map*

Everything I don't like is either woke or fascist - possibly both - pick one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,250 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

I think this thread is a social experiment created by the OP.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,525 ✭✭✭valoren

The merits for inclusion of a black swan event in any particular field (in this case Football) in After Hours is irrelevant.
    It's the central hub for Boards and any breakout event is worthy of discussion.

I support Manchester United. Manchester City are just another Premier League team to me but I have to work with, socialise with and listen to Liverpool fans all the time so that's where all the "bantering and bragging rights" lie.
    They are basically the same reasons for local rivalries.

It's basically the same, you're right. Now that you say it, I remember all the Cockney geezers down the docks at Canary Wharf bantering over the Munster Final a couple years back. ''Oi Andy you Rebel filth, us Kerry boys are gonna do you propa good mate. Up the Kingdom!''

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Personally I haven't seen any Leicester City jerseys around. I sure many of the big sports chains will be stocking them.

I've a memory of being in Primary School when Blackburn Rovers won it and that was the jersey everybody wanted. Loads of the boys had one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Any Irish fan who isn't a resident of that area and takes part in the Manc scum, scouse bin dippers bollox is guaranteed to be an absolute gowl bag.

At the most it's for the bantz in work the next day which only cements them as the ultimate gowl bag

Yeah, I've taken the piss out of those sorts before.

Or people sneering at Dortmund, Barca etc. fans as hipsters or band wagon jumpers, this from Irish Liverpool and United fans..

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

HensVassal wrote: »
    When I came of drinking age I tried a few different beers before settling on one I really liked. I wasn't from the country where this beer is brewed nor had I any connection to it. Should I have drank the swill churned out from the nearest brewery to my family home instead?

For many reasons, not really the same thing, is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I'm going to buy Leicester Square in Monopoly by way of celebration.

It's basically the same, you're right. Now that you say it, I remember all the Cockney geezers down the docks at Canary Wharf bantering over the Munster Final a couple years back. ''Oi Andy you Rebel filth, us Kerry boys are gonna do you propa good mate. Up the Kingdom!''

Tell me the story about the lads you seen in the pub again. You know the one with every "barstooler" stereotype that's definitely not made up...

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭JoseWasntReady

I wonder what the UK locals make of Irish fans going on how you described. Some lad shot another lad outside a pub in south Dublin after a row about the Manchester derby on the TV. Crazy.

Can you imagine watching a Dublin derby in the UK and hearing a load of Cockneys or whatever calling each other northside knackers or homeless bastards?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,744 ✭✭✭diomed

I'm a Spurs fan and has small bets at 170 and 50 on Spurs. I cashed out about two months ago. Well played Leicester.
    The only downside for me is people know I like a bet, and I'm expecting people to ask me "did you bet on Leicester, lots of people did, they were 5000/1, I thought you would have".
    The bookies made a fortune on that result, and will in future years as others back the outsiders.

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

Just want to say that I've always liked Lester Piggot, if that's any help?

• Registered Users Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

It's nice to go watch your local team, but if your neighours' children play in their garden or a school team you should prioritise them as you live closer to them.

I think you could get into quite serious trouble for this, stick to the oul' soccerball if you're wise!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

The most amazing thing about this thread is that the Op got 36 likes. 36 people fecking agreed with that.

Tell me the story about the lads you seen in the pub again. You know the one with every "barstooler" stereotype that's definitely not made up...

You seem to take that one very personally. Remind me again, were you the one in the green and gold Man United protest scarf squaring up to the ref (really the TV in the pub) or were you one of the chaps chanting "you Scouse b*stard" in a strong Mancunian brogue? There's some amount of embarrassing freaks over here, including the dopes at an Ireland vs Denmark game who booed Peter Marsden, thinking he was former Rangers player Peter Lovenkrands. No shortage of fools over here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,250 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Jayop wrote: »
    The most amazing thing about this thread is that the Op got 36 likes. 36 people fecking agreed with that.

37. I'm just about to like it.

You seem to take that one very personally. Remind me again, were you the one in the green and gold Man United protest scarf squaring up to the ref (really the TV in the pub) or were you one of the chaps chanting "you Scouse b*stard" in a strong Mancunian brogue? There's some amount of embarrassing freaks over here, including the dopes at an Ireland vs Denmark game who booed Peter Marsden, thinking he was former Rangers player Peter Lovenkrands. No shortage of fools over here.

I don't take it personally at all. Just don't believe it.