Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Logical thinking about County Boundaries

• 03-05-2016 1:52pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭

It is time for some logical thinking about County boundaries.
    Gaway -- should end at the Eastern Border of Galway City all to the west of Galway airport should be moved into Mayo.
    Leitrim -- needs to be split between Roscommon and Longford and abolished
    Meath and Westmeath -- should be reintegrated into one county of Meath capital at Mullingar.

Should Leitrim be abolished 39 votes

Yes
    0% 0 votes
    No
    100% 39 votes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

Any reason for this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

kidneyfan wrote: »
    Gaway -- should end at the Eastern Border of Galway City all to the west of Galway airport should be moved into Mayo.

Well this makes no sense for a start. Galway airport is to the east of the city, so you've eliminated all of Galway? Unless you mean that only East Galway remains Galway, and everything else, including the city, gets moved into Mayo - which seems like a very strange idea.

And that's not to say your other ideas aren't strange :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,825 ✭✭✭✭bear1

Meath and Westmeath -- should be reintegrated into one county of Meath capital at Mullingar.

So you are suggesting the most populous county in Connacht and largest city also by completely shrunk down and most of it given to Mayo?
    You do realise Galway airport is located to the East of Galway right?
    Cause the way you phrased it makes no sense at all, to the East of Galway Airport should be Mayo and Galway county should end at the east of Galway..
    HUH??? :confused:

I think you need to logically re-think your opening post.

Abolish Mayo - give it to Galway and Sligo.

Is there a prize for most ironic thread title? 'Cause this should win :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,220 ✭✭✭✭biko

Extend Louth down to the Liffey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭mahoganygas

Fun fact: You can't drive from North Leitrim to South Leitrim without driving through another county.

biko wrote: »

{Shudder}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,307 ✭✭✭✭VinLieger

Sure they only have 1 set of traffic lights in the entire county, thats how pointless they are

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,089 ✭✭✭✭LizT

Why would you want to keep Longford?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,809 ✭✭✭✭smash

Well that was an unexpected poll. A welcomed one all the same!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭CrabRevolution

We in Meath are happy to leave Westmeath well alone, ye can keep it.

If nothing else it serves to make Cork people jealous that we have a county Westmeath but they have no county Westcork.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,279 ✭✭✭kidneyfan

As regards the Airport in Galway -- this is an opening gambit. I will later compromise by agreeing that Galway city should remain in County Galway.
    Any reason for this?
    Logic and reorganising the county boundaries. Occurred to me yesterday when driving through Leitrim, Roscommon, Sligo and then Leitrim again WTF? Then it turns out that there's only 30,000 people in Leitrim.

We need some logic here!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

Dublin should be abolished and given to Northern Ireland along with Louth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,657 ✭✭✭somefeen

All of Munster should be given over to Cork as a peace offering

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,822 ✭✭✭stimpson

Galway should be seceded back to the Indians.

And Snickers should be changed back to Marathon.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,504 ✭✭✭NiallBoo

I like the idea of different boundaries but Not as you describe.

It would make a lot more sense to redefine boundaries around cities/large towns and other areas.

Eg. Athlone should be one county, extending throughout the region to include most of roscommon, west westmeath and south Longford.

Cavan/north longford/east leitrim/northwest meath another.

Say 10 regions in all

NiallBoo wrote: »
    I like the idea of different boundaries but Not as you describe.

It would make a lot more sense to redefine boundaries around cities/large towns and other areas.

Eg. Athlone should be one county, extending throughout the region to include most of roscommon, west westmeath and south Longford.

Cavan/north longford/east leitrim/northwest meath another.

Say 10-15 regions in all

For the craic, can we name it Westwestmeath? And Northwestmeath could be the other one.

Kanye West would want to move there...actually maybe it's a bad idea.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

Have the county boundaries ever been changed (since say independence) or are they effectively regarded as being fixed forever?
    Kind of ironic seeing as they were a British idea and the British don't have a big problem changing their county boundaries every so often.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,462 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Make them all square.

The real problem is lakes and rivers. Could we do something about them?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,880 ✭✭✭✭klose

somefeen wrote: »
    All of Munster should be given over to Cork as a peace offering

Feck off.

I for one would like to see north and south tipp separated, pretty much cause that shower voted Lowry back in is all. Odd bunch them northerners.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

I bags the lucrative job of printing all the newly required headed notepaper

klose wrote: »
    Feck off.

I for one would like to see north and south tipp separated, pretty much cause that shower voted Lowry back in is all. Odd bunch them northerners.

Could Cork be moved to England? We'd all be happier.
    (Irish , English and Corkish)

Have the county boundaries ever been changed (since say independence) or are they effectively regarded as being fixed forever?
    Kind of ironic seeing as they were a British idea and the British don't have a big problem changing their county boundaries every so often.

Bar splitting Dublin and merging Tipp, no major changes no. A few boundaries near towns changed but that's it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Did you not get the score in Carrick on Shannon at the weekend?

The real problem is lakes and rivers. Could we do something about them?

You just want to get rid of Cavan then?

Cool_CM wrote: »
    Did you not get the score in Carrick on Shannon at the weekend?
    Carrick is lovely and would even nicer in Roscommon!

You just want to get rid of Cavan then?
    They mess up county boundaries.

Carrick is lovely and would even nicer in Roscommon!

Controversial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

VinLieger wrote: »
    Sure they only have 1 set of traffic lights in the entire county, thats how pointless they are
    Actually, we got rid of those :o

Too complicated.

Actually, we got rid of those :o

Too complicated.

I hear they're being replaced by a roundabout though?

maudgonner wrote: »

Fancy!

maudgonner wrote: »
    Yes this is it:

this is the roundabout

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,956 ✭✭✭✭Omackeral

There's a worrying amount of people who think that County Belfast is a thing.

The weird thing is that peoples biggest objections to this would mostly be to do with the GAA

Omackeral wrote: »
    There's a worrying amount of people who think that County Belfast is a thing.
    Where?

Where?
    Belfast obvs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

biko wrote: »
    Louth is already part of Armagh.. yous just haven't realised it ;)

The county as an administrative unit was abolished in NI decades ago. If it had have been maintained, Armagh, Derry, Tyrone and Fermanagh; along with Belfast and Derry CCs would all be Nationalist controlled, thus giving nationalists control of NI overall on a local basis :p

Instead, they were all divided to up to create District and Borough Councils, 26 in number which were merged last year to create 11 "supercouncils". Supposedly this will save money although some of the new councils are already millions in debt. The phrase "if it's not broke don't fix it" comes to mind...

armaghlad wrote: »
    The county as an administrative unit was abolished in NI decades ago. If it had have been maintained, Armagh, Derry, Tyrone and Fermanagh; along with Belfast and Derry CCs would all be Nationalist controlled, thus giving nationalists control of NI overall on a local basis :p

Instead, they were all divided to up to create District and Borough Councils, 26 in number which were merged last year to create 11 "supercouncils". Supposedly this will save money although some of the new councils are already millions in debt. The phrase "if it's not broke don't fix it" comes to mind...

I remember reading an article last year about the new councils. The Newry and Mourne district was being merged with the Down district. Naturally enough they needed some consultants and experts to think up a new name.

After spending £30'000, the council covering Newry and Mourne and Down was given the spanking new name of.....Newry and Mourne and Down!

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

The weird thing is that peoples biggest objections to this would mostly be to do with the GAA

Eh not really. See the objections to stuff like this in political constituencies "We need a Leitrim TD!" etc.

Sorry Leitrim people.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Leitrim is a beautiful county. I don't know why they're the butt of so many jokes around here.

Not just here, Leitrim is generally the butt of jokes. I blame Dustin on The Den.

It's just an easy target really, for no good reason. Leitrim is a lovely county, it even says so on the signs :)

Beara should be in Kerry. It's in the Kerry Diocese.

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

armaghlad wrote: »

Damn right too, wouldn't want to be associated with the yokels from south Armagh. ;)

In all seriousness I don't think county councils would make sense in NI any more. There is no way local issues in the very rural south Armagh are similar to the local issues in the much more urban north Armagh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,022 ✭✭✭jamesbere

No it shouldn't, we'll never bow to kerry rule.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭duchalla

As is much of the Milstreet Pastoral Area, so we should have that too....

http://www.dioceseofkerry.ie/parish-map/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,408 ✭✭✭fergiesfolly

Mayo renamed NorthGalway and annexed into its superior southern neighbour.
    Half of them live here.
    The other half work here.
    Makes sense.

I remember reading an article last year about the new councils. The Newry and Mourne district was being merged with the Down district. Naturally enough they needed some consultants and experts to think up a new name.

After spending £30'000, the council covering Newry and Mourne and Down was given the spanking new name of.....Newry and Mourne and Down!
    Shame on them! They refuse to acknowledge the Armagh territory that blesses their council area!