Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

NARGC

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,070 ✭✭✭cavan shooter

It's gas the same could be said of the previous regime. Anything said on the top table was "The word " and wow be tie anyone who went against it.

There are no nodding dogs in the GB, thereally are people that are delighted that the NARGC is finally turning a corner. I am very confident if the NE or Chairman steps out of line they will be pulled in, I am very confident that the GB are very astute people.

It's good to be able to chat like this Happy Christmas to all even our National Chairman is full of Christmas cheer.

https://nargc.ie/a-christmas-message-from-the-chairman/

• Registered Users Posts: 88 ✭✭Perfectstorm

It's gas the same could be said of the previous regime. Anything said on the top table was "The word " and wow be tie anyone who went against it.

Yes, one set of absolute rulers traded for another set..considetable bit of Animal Farm going

There are no nodding dogs in the GB, thereally are people that are delighted that the NARGC is finally turning a corner. I am very confident if the NE or Chairman steps out of line they will be pulled in, I am very confident that the GB are very astute people.

Given that "woe be tied anyone who" steps out if line is alive healthy and being implementer by the exec who exactly is going to do the pulling in...recent history of severe kicking for those who step out of line be the future for any delegates who stop nodding or refuse to nod

Is it becuase the association is heading towards its 50th that some counties want an egm to crown the current chair for a 4th term...he is a hard worker but is he that special to change the rules that that worked for 49 years....association need's to move past the current personalities to allow fresh faces not involved in the ongoing row do the healing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 678 ✭✭✭wirehairmax

The thing is though, it hadn’t worked for 49 years had it!! Before the current executive stepped up, it was a cozy club for a certain few and their entourage. Now there’s been a purge and the bullies are not happy about it. No more freebies into the NARGC tent at the fairs, no more being wined and dined at the NARGC expense, annual clay shoot expenses drastically reduced, credit cards chopped up etc.
    as for walking into a bear trap they didn’t see, that would make sense as the idiots are being fed lies and used as pawns by some people who have a vendetta against the current executive. Hard to follow your grammar but the severe kicking was well deserved and the facts and figures presented on the day backed that up. By all accounts, the questions from those delegates at that meeting bordered on idiotic and dumb to put it mildly. Knowing when to shut up would be a lesson well received if they had half a brain in their head.
    Now as someone who was on the receiving end of a very nasty phone call from a prominent person during the previous regime and being told to “shut my mouth or I’d find myself in a lot of trouble” to quote exactly what was said to me, I’m glad those days are over. Knowing the current chairman and treasurer, I know I can ask questions and receive courteous replies and not veiled threats which is major progress in my book.

• Registered Users Posts: 156 ✭✭Backbarrel

it was a colourful rant that i was on the receiving end of...the cleaned up version would be

love to be known as the big men at a county level probably hen pecked at home

not contibuting at meetings as in can some of these people actually speak..like nodding dogs on your dashboard at gb meetings

followed the last pied piper and now the latest cause it sounds good

couldnt run a sweet shop

spending less money does of course mean you will have more money in the bank

walked straight into a bear trap recently that they didnt even see....

so yes i am sure of what i was told........

What Bear trap are you talking about?

They are volunteers and cannot be expected to be across everything.

The thing is they are working hard and doing their best and very open to new ideas.

The thing is though, it hadn’t worked for 49 years had it!! Before the current executive stepped up, it was a cozy club for a certain few and their entourage. Now there’s been a purge and the bullies are not happy about it. No more freebies into the NARGC tent at the fairs, no more being wined and dined at the NARGC expense, annual clay shoot expenses drastically reduced, credit cards chopped up etc.
    as for walking into a bear trap they didn’t see, that would make sense as the idiots are being fed lies and used as pawns by some people who have a vendetta against the current executive. Hard to follow your grammar but the severe kicking was well deserved and the facts and figures presented on the day backed that up. By all accounts, the questions from those delegates at that meeting bordered on idiotic and dumb to put it mildly. Knowing when to shut up would be a lesson well received if they had half a brain in their head.
    Now as someone who was on the receiving end of a very nasty phone call from a prominent person during the previous regime and being told to “shut my mouth or I’d find myself in a lot of trouble” to quote exactly what was said to me, I’m glad those days are over. Knowing the current chairman and treasurer, I know I can ask questions and receive courteous replies and not veiled threats which is major progress in my book.

This is spot on . I needed some help a few years ago with some queries that came up at a meeting and I rang HQ and I was effectively told to Eff off. Go away if you know what is good for you.:eek:

3 months ago I rang looking for some info and a bit of advice and you would not believe the help I got. There was complete transparency.

Things have changed for the better I think.

Now as someone who was on the receiving end of a very nasty phone call from a prominent person during the previous regime and being told to “shut my mouth or I’d find myself in a lot of trouble” to quote exactly what was said to me, I’m glad those days are over. Knowing the current chairman and treasurer, I know I can ask questions and receive courteous replies and not veiled threats which is major progress in my

The associated has not worked at all in 49 years ??

Really. I agree a change was needed but I don't think the association was that bad over all its life.

What vendetta?

You suggest that people should shut up while giving out that you were told to shut up by someone!!!!!!

Does your head get sore from nodding?

• Registered Users Posts: 3 DUTCH MAC

I think you may want to look out your window and check the strom clouds in Cork and indeed across the road.

• Registered Users Posts: 553 ✭✭✭berettaman

If you think the storm clouds are gathering then make sure you have the correct weather forecast. :D

There is a lot of hot air coming from some directions but when the facts are established a lot of the warm front moves on..;)

DUTCH MAC wrote: »
    I think you may want to look out your window and check the strom clouds in Cork and indeed across the road.
    Let me guess....it's nearly time for an GB meeting of the NARGC.....you can read it like a book...

Hells damnation including brimstone falling upon us.....what's the bet there will be annonomous letter's in the post.......give me a break...
    Now cut out the sore looser bickering and just get on and tackle the Sports Coalition of vested interests attempt at commercialising our sport for the select view. The Lorded gentry in the deer set trying to stop us from shooting unless were in the special club and the ECA trying in to stuff us on lead and make our old guns worthless.
    The existing Chairman and executive has done more and said more to protect ordinary shooters in the last year than most....

Let me guess....it's nearly time for an GB meeting of the NARGC along with an EGM to change a decade old rule.....you can read it like a book...

Hells damnation including brimstone falling upon anyone who does not tow the line of the majority of the GB, no debate tolerated.
    what's the bet there will be no annonomous letter's in the post.......give me a break...

Now cut out the superiority complex bickering and just get on and tackle running the association for all members not just the ones who agree with your views

What sports coalition orLorded gentry in the deer are set trying to stop us from shooting unless were in the special club ???

did the ECA wake up one day and say we must tryi to stuff us on lead and make our old guns worthless?????

The existing Chairman and executive have talked more about protecting ordinary shooters in the last year than most but what have they actually done other than lose members to other groups....that eca submission says 2 out of 3 shooters are not in the nargc....

Where do I start with this?

Let me guess....it's nearly time for an GB meeting of the NARGC along with an EGM to change a decade old rule.....you can read it like a book...

We, as an Association, vote to change our rules and constitution all the time. It is called democracy. How long the original rule is there is irrelevant.

Hells damnation including brimstone falling upon anyone who does not tow the line of the majority of the GB, no debate tolerated.

Well that is just not true. We have had plenty of debates and discussions. Just because your view does not tie in with others does not stop you getting the right to speak. Everyone is listened to..

I remember a proposal from the floor that was held up and a vote not allowed to go ahead, by a former Chairman for nearly 2 hours..

I remember when people were afraid to talk at meetings and it wasn't that long ago and it wasn't under this Chairman. So as you say, Give me a break..

The existing Chairman and executive have talked more about protecting ordinary shooters in the last year than most but what have they actually done other than lose members to other groups....that eca submission says 2 out of 3 shooters are not in the nargc....

What has he done? What has the NARGC done you mean? Come to the Gov Body meeting on the 17th Feb and sure we will find out..

Looks like we are heading west for the NARGC inter county shoots this year.

"Hi everyone, heres a date for your diary.
    The N.A.R.G.C. is happy to announce that the Association’s 2018 National Clayshoot Championships will be held in Ballinasloe Shooting Grounds on July 7th and 8th next.

Our RGC’s will be further notified about this event next month.

The NARGC is delighted to be taking this event west of the Shannon in 2018 and looks forward to working with Pat Loughnane and his team in Ballinasloe CTC during the coming months. "

Good shooting to all.

• Registered Users Posts: 25 Resistance is futile

Oh how I've missed you all

berettaman wrote: »
    What has he done? What has the NARGC done you mean? Come to the Gov Body meeting on the 17th Feb and sure we will find out

Is there going to be a particular announcement at the meeting?

Not that I have heard.
    There is the EGM to debate the proposal that the serving chairman be giving the opportunity to run again for another year so he can bring to a conclusion the outstanding issues floating about or as it was said to me " No point changing the pilot as your coming into land"

I also hear some Cork lads are very pissed off over some feking Gob****e who complained about activities at a charity shoot. My mate in Cork says whoever the fella was he was a wanker and gave an earful to a garda off duty at the shoot.

Heard about this yesterday, the individual you refer is one of the Sports Coalition and drove from Wexford to cork specifically to cause trouble. He is supposed to have kicked up a fuss at a “have-a-go” stand which is hypocritical considering he used to run these himself at local flapper shoots around here until he disappeared off the scene thankfully. And the fact he lets every Tom Dick and Harry pay into his range to fire rifles and pistols including stags and hens who more than likely have alcohol on board.

That sounds very vindictive and small minded looks like he has it in for anything NARGC. Looks like the campaign to destroy the SC of vested interests must be having an affect.

Don't know if it's nargc related but it might well end up being . Apparently all firearms dealers in the country have been given 12 months to fit time locks to their premises . It's a proposal from a sub committee of the FCP and minister Stanton is supposed to have pushed some or signed a statutory instrument on it last night . ? Rumor or fact . I'd be afraid the rest of us might be next

Of course it is. Looks like the Sports Coalition are busy looking after there Firearm dealers. This will put the squeeze on the smaller dealer. They are some shower

I heard something about this. The shoot was for charity for a sick kid and this prick rocks up and complains. And there were seemingly guards there shooting and observing on duty.

We are trying to get people into the sport FFS.

Shows that the sports coalition of vested interests don't give a toss about shooters..

It's not like they were walking around a spar shop with a gun on their hip..

Backbarrel wrote: »
    I heard something about this. The shoot was for charity for a sick kid and this prick rocks up and complains. And there were seemingly guards there shooting and observing on duty.

Shows that the sports coalition of vested interests don't give a toss about shooters..

Now what kind of an idiot would do that??? 🀔🀔

Backbarrel wrote: »

Now what kind of an idiot would do that??? 🀔🀔
    Your ****ing kidding me......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,025 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

The Irish Shooting fraternity, everyone is against us and we are all against each other....
    Never a truer word said.

The Problem is once these people achieve a position of power or influence in these organizations they seem to try and influence the system so they can personally profit from it . It's maybe just human nature . Look after yourself and yours ,but thankfully the tide seems to be turning

Never a truer word said.

NARGC is a failed organisation, its come full circle now. From where there were no organisations and chaos, but everyone got on with each other. To where there is now the NARGC and a few smaller organisations and now nobody gets on with each other.

FFS for someone to travel halfway accross the country to try and **** up a charity clay shoot for a sick child..... the sport is rotten and everyone participating in it would want to have a good long look at themselves.

The Problem is once these people achieve a position of power or influence in these organizations they seem to try and influence the system so they can personally profit from it . It's maybe just human nature . Look after yourself and yours ,but thankfully the tide seems to be turning

Its not human nature, its Irish nature. Its Irish culture, how do you think the British controlled us so well for so long.

It's human nature. There are people who just don't want to let go and want to **** it up for everyone else so no-one gets on regardless.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

Apparently all firearms dealers in the country have been given 12 months to fit time locks to their premises . It's a proposal from a sub committee of the FCP and minister Stanton is supposed to have pushed some or signed a statutory instrument on it last night . ? Rumor or fact .

SI 646 of 2017:
    http://www.irishstatutebook.ie/eli/2017/si/646/made/en/pdf

Looks like standards for security ranging from strong walls and doors to burglar alarms with personal security alarms (with duress codes), CCTV with records of one month duration and night vision from the way it's worded, fire detection, the ammunition storage has to be fire resistant for one hour, steel doors with timelocks on the strongroom and minimum wall thicknesses of 200-300mm depending on material, BS7778 standard display cabinets or racks for nonrestricted firearms in the shop, limits on ammunition on display (10,000 rounds), the explosives acts get dragged in in a scarily general way, ammunition cannot be on display in the same room as firearms without grills or other partitions keeping them apart, and there are various records to be maintained.

That's only for dealers selling firearms; those only selling ammunition have lower standards to meet - a monitored alarm, secure storage, keeping records for the Gardai, a timelocked safe or cabinet for the ammunition, never more than 1,000 rounds of ammo on display and standards for the display cabinets and so on.

There's also a divide in the standards for ammunition-only dealers between those who keep more than 5,000 rounds in stock at any time and those who keep fewer.

Note: Signed December 21, 2017; they do not come into force until February 1, 2019.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,080 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

(h) outside of normal opening hours the time-lock shall be engaged;
    TBH how, outside of a ridiculous cost and now over paranoia on security and CCTV and with a monitored alarm is this a very bad thing for a dealer?

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

(k) the CCTV system shall, as a minimum, be capable of covering all of
    the entry and exit points to the premises, the interior of the premises
    (including the sales area) and the interior of the strong room. Such a
    system shall be capable of recording images in all light conditions;

Emphasis mine. "All light conditions" obviously includes "no light because the power's out" and now you're into night vision/weird infrared tech areas.

If they're okay with illumination, that's almost standard on some webcams, but it's not clear those would be accepted.

To be honest, half this reads like it was written after someone spent too much time watching Mission: Impossible.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 DUTCH MAC

The establishment dont want it.

They tried to keep it quiet and were selective with their notifications so your hearing it here now, an EGM of the Cork Federation of gun clubs will take place in the Oriel House Hotel on Thursday 15th February at 8.30 pm.

Get the message out to all.

Your in sport

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    (h) outside of normal opening hours the time-lock shall be engaged;
    TBH how, outside of a ridiculous cost and now over paranoia on security and CCTV and with a monitored alarm is this a very bad thing for a dealer?

I don't believe that decent alarm systems are mad money anymore. I think it will depend how modern the premises are for some dealers in terms of staying in business. I can think of 1 dealer who may need to spend a good bit on his premises to meet wall thickness and fire standards.

DUTCH MAC wrote: »
    The establishment dont want it.

They tried to keep it quiet and were selective with their notifications so your hearing it here now, an EGM of the Cork Federation of gun clubs will take place in the Oriel House Hotel on Thursday 15th February at 8.30 pm.

Get the message out to all.

Your in sport

That egm has been a while coming. Is it to vote in a new chairman?

NARGC is a failed organisation, its come full circle now. From where there were no organisations and chaos, but everyone got on with each other. To where there is now the NARGC and a few smaller organisations and now nobody gets on with each other.

FFS for someone to travel halfway accross the country to try and **** up a charity clay shoot for a sick child..... the sport is rotten and everyone participating in it would want to have a good long look at themselves.

People are like that when they have righteous indignation in their head...

The nargc is paralysed with in fighting that the majority don't accept is happening...the main event is yet to come

People are like that when they have righteous indignation in their head...

The nargc is paralysed with in fighting that the majority don't accept is happening...the main event is yet to come
    What do you mean by righteous indignation? That trip was made out of pure malice.

There we are the world is ending again, hellfire and brimstone is about to rain down on us, wow betide anyone who is on the wrong side. Lads we have moved on....what is the main event that's coming when is this rapture meant to be coming I really can't help thinking that people just can't move on. We have enough to be getting on with when you consider that :
    1. The ECHA are attacking lead,
    2. Woodcock shooting is under pressure
    3. There is a step g rumour that DOJ is looking to cull Firearm ownership by introducing new security measures.
    4. New requirements on Firearm dealers will put smaller lads out of business.
    5. Night time shooting under pressure
    6. HCAP pressure.

And we now have to worry about the horsemen of the apocylapse riding out of the West to Smite us down. I know we're my priorities are..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭blackpearl

Have to agree scare mongering just get on with your sport and enjoy it there people out their fighting our coner in all these issues dont worry about it ,3/4s of wont happen .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,524 ✭✭✭grassroot1

Quiet enough meeting today EGM scrapped on legal advice. Good work being done to fight the lead ammo issues. Lots of good work and no shouting matches.
    Does anyone know what the Kildare delegates issue with boards.ie was?

grassroot1 wrote: »
    Quiet enough meeting today EGM scrapped on legal advice. Good work being done to fight the lead ammo issues. Lots of good work and no shouting matches.
    Could it be we say it as it is there is a shoot on tomorrow and I'll see if any of our lads has information about it

Right two of our delegates were shooting today at a club open shoot one of them said something was mentioned by the Kildare delegate but he thought it was Boars he was on about.......I explained what Boards was about, he gets the feeling lads feel our comments are hurtful and unfair or as i said too close to the bone, he said it was more a grumbling under breath kind of comments not directed at anyone specifically.......I take it therefore we are doing a good job. Some smart arse comments made about if any strangers turn up that they were to be ran.

They scrapped the egm! How can we hope to make progress on real issues when the association is run like that

Why was it scrapped?

I thought at the AGM clubs wanted to give the existing Chairman another year??

I also hear that S42 for Pine Martin and Buzzards was discussed. I fear that this wlli be a waste of time. I hear the argument that we need to be applying and I understand the strategy but to be honest the last couple of times I applied for them for the Martin I was refused. Actually refused is a bit strong......theoreticly I am still waiting for the response.

Did you want it to go ahead? Would a fourth year for the Chairman be a good idea.

I heard something about him dealing with some issues for the association and one more year would wrap it up..

A bold move but we were in strange times..

I also hear that S42 for Pine Martin and Buzzards was discussed. I fear that this wlli be a waste of time. I hear the argument that we need to be applying and I understand the strategy but to be honest the last couple of times I applied for them for the Martin I was refused. Actually refused is a bit strong......theoreticly I am still waiting for the response.

We need to apply more. glad it was discussed.. buzzards every where...

Why was it scrapped?

I thought at the AGM clubs wanted to give the existing Chairman another year??

Legal advise.

Am sure it would have been passed had it been voted on.

Whether you agree or disagree with the current chairman he does seem to put a lot of effort in.

Agreed. Very little chance of getting the permit. The bar is set so high in terms of identifying the exact animal how could anyone get the permit.

I wonder if there complaints section is similar to carlsbergs?

I hear it was a good meeting and that there was no fighting. Some good information and all asked to look at using the following to record sightings of animals wanted and unwanted.

http://www.biodiversityireland.ie/

I had a go on the app which I downloaded and recorded a buzzard which I share an area with.

It's very user friendly and would be a great benefit for all hunting men. I've said it before we are the future for conservation.

I am however annoyed with an over emphasis on game crop. Cavan struggles to grow anything other than rushes.

What upsets me furthermore is we seem to accept game crop as a substitute to the wanton clearance of the best habitat some Sallie corners and winze that are 100 yrs old being cleared most farmers I know of a similar generation aren't happy with it but need there land to be 100% workable to get the subsidy