Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Streets of Galway 8k 2016

• 03-05-2016 7:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭

Entries are now open for this years race.

As a new user I am unable to post the link for entries, it is available on the Facebook facebook.com/StreetsOfGalway/ & Twitter page: @streetsofgalway

• Registered Users Posts: 62 ✭✭Windywanderer

The race is 6th August 7pm.

PM if you have any queries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 435 ✭✭Coffee Fulled Runner

Have you a GPS map of the route?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,083 ✭✭✭BeepBeep67

Have you a GPS map of the route?

Don't believe the course has changed: https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/210087399

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

BeepBeep67 wrote: »
    Don't believe the course has changed: https://connect.garmin.com/modern/activity/210087399

A few minor changes the last couple of years. Mostly to do with the start area.

http://www.mapmyrun.com/routes/view/1061734008

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 752 ✭✭✭TheBigGreen

youngrun wrote: »

Just signed up for it :)

• Registered Users Posts: 24 mylesforsmiles

Just signed up for it :)

Me too, cracking race in a beautiful city. Looking forward to it.

Folks

Early bird entry of €20 closes on 6th July 23:59.
    7th July to close of entries is €25.

If anyone wants to put in a club entry, unable to complete their entry, or looking for further information, please let me know.

Reminder about early closing at 23.59 tonight.

€20 until then, €25 tomorrow.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭Volvoair

http://www.active.com/galway-city-connacht/running/distance-running-races/radisson-blu-streets-of-galway-8km-2016?int=
    http://galwaycityharriers.com/
    https://www.facebook.com/StreetsOfGalway/
    2016 sees the 31st edition of the famous Streets of Galway 8km road race. Since its inception in 1986 the event has grown into one of the most prestigious road races in the country , yet remains true to its original motto of Sport for All, as many locals and visitors take on the event year in year out. Galway City Harriers AC as race organisers hope to attract 3,000 participants onto the streets of our city and suburbs.

The race route takes in many of the sights of Galway city. In the first km the route passes the Spanish Arch, Quay St. and the Druid Theatre. Eyre Square makes for a distinctive 1km marker and the 2km marker is at the landmark Galway Cathedral.

The course then takes you out towards Salthill, past Pearse Stadium and then back in on the 'Prom' along Galway Bay for the last 2.5 km. With the wind ( usually) at your back this is a very fast section, before a final sprint into the South Park finish line.
    Go on lads and ladies give it a lash....free t-shirt for every participant.
    Register before 12 tonight and save yourself a fiver.
    Nearly 1500 registered already.....limited to 3000 so register now!

Online registration for Galway's favourite race closes next Wednesday 2nd August.

Weather forecast for raceday is a warm day with a few showers.

Great prize money too, with €5,000 spread over the categories.

There are runners from all over Ireland entered, so a high standard of racing is assured.

This is a great race for people moving up from 5k, those who like a night out after a race (Monroe's for after party), and those who just love a weekend away in Galway. Many clubs use it as an away day for members.

Still 50/50 as to whether it sells out, as less than 400 spaces left now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,688 ✭✭✭BrokenMan

Great race. Looking forward to it.

Weather forecast for raceday is a warm day with a few showers.

You're brave giving a weather forecast for Galway 11 days out :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Spirogyra

Is it acceptable to go to Monroe's without a shower? Where is number collection on the day?ðŸ˜႒

Many people do go to Monroes after without a shower.
    However, showers are provided beside race HQ, as the Fr Griffin Gaa club dressing rooms are used as changing rooms. Seperate rooms for men and women.

Race number pick up is Claddagh Hall. Go west across Wolfe Tone Bridge, turn left onto Claddagh Quay, after 300m turn left again for race HQ.

Many people do go to Monroes after without a shower.
    However, showers are provided beside race HQ (Claddagh Hall), as the Fr Griffin Gaa club dressing rooms are used as changing rooms. Seperate rooms for men and women.

Race number pick up is Claddagh Hall. Go west across Wolfe Tone Bridge, turn left onto Claddagh Quay, after 300m turn left again for race HQ.

• Registered Users Posts: 133 ✭✭Volvoair

nearly full ....last chance to register!
    go on...go on...go on...
    free Technical t-shirt for all :D

http://www.runireland.com/events/radisson-blu-streets-galway-8k

Folks

Online registration closes at 23:59 tomorrow night.

If any spots are available after, manual registration takes place on Friday in race HQ, Claddagh Hall for €25.

Registration on Friday is 2-8pm, Saturday 9-4pm.

PM if any difficulties.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭sootie

Hi, are dogs allowed on a lead to do the 8k ?

No, no dogs are allowed on course during the race, on a lead or otherwise.

Runners are not allowed wear headphones either.

Is number collection on Saturday in Claddagh?as for the marathon in October? Can one leave baggage at the start /finish line?

Yes, number collection is in Claddagh Hall both days, Friday 2-8pm, Saturday 9am-4pm.

There is no official baggage drop at the start. Anything left behind after race start will be collected up. We have to return the start area to pre race condition within 30 minutes.

Items can be left at race HQ at owners risk during the race.

Online registration has now closed and the race is a sellout! 3000 entrants are about to sample the delights of the best race in the west.

Thank you to all who have registered, and we hope ye all enjoy the race.

Race FAQ is available here: galwaycityharriers. com/faq-page

PM if question fall outside of FAQ.

The bes bus from Eyre Square to Claddagh is 401? Thanks

Yes, but probably quicker to walk, as traffic will be busy around the city on Saturday.

Come join us for our post-race party upstairs in Monroes live where you can brag about your latest PB, compare times with your running buddies and rid your legs of any stiffness by hitting the dance floor with the live band on the main stage or the DJ in the backstage.

It's a great way to celebrate a fabulous race and entry is free to all participants before 11pm.

So I'd go to Claddagh via shop street,down over the Quays?....

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Spirogyra wrote: »
    So I'd go to Claddagh via shop street,down over the Quays?....
    Down through shop street, through pedestrian zone veer left when you come to a V just past McDonald's and easons..
    Down past the quays pub and over the bridge after jury's. Turn right after the bridge, hall is just past the church across the road out on its own...

Registration is now open!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,292 ✭✭✭jfh

Any good place to park near the finish?

Parking will be very limited around the start and finish line. There are lots of parking spaces around the city within walking distance of the start & finish.