Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards Society Outing: New Forest 21st of May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 747 ✭✭✭athlone99

My plans have changed and football is over earlier than expected so going to the Irish Open Friday and Sunday instead! Looking forward to it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,577 ✭✭✭dak

Going to do the time sheet today, so if you have any requests please let me know before 6pm.

Dont forget their is some room early at 8.20 and 8.30

J

Hi John

Is there a time sheet issued yet ?

David

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,835 ✭✭✭Golfgraffix

Sorry guys got held up on something else, will get it done in the morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35 ThecHamp26

Is there any chance I can jump on an early slot 8:20 / 8:30 I'm easy , if not can I be in the first tee off at 11:30

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭Barnaboy

I joined New Forest just before Christmas. Course is in great nick. Greens have been awful though in the last few weeks. They were hollow cored three weeks ago and they have been very slow to come good. Haven't been there since last Thursday so hopefully they have improved. I'll be there again tomorrow evening so I can report back. Can't make Saturday myself. Enjoy folks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Barnaboy wrote: »
    I joined New Forest just before Christmas. Course is in great nick. Greens have been awful though in the last few weeks. They were hollow cored three weeks ago and they have been very slow to come good. Haven't been there since last Thursday so hopefully they have improved. I'll be there again tomorrow evening so I can report back. Can't make Saturday myself. Enjoy folks!

Name change on the cards?
    Forestboy :D

Seve OB wrote: »
    Name change on the cards?
    Forestboy :D

Think I need to figure out how to play the bloody course first! It has been chewing me up and spitting me out from day 1.

Forgot to mention in last post, I will try to put a course guide up before the weekend. I know others have obliged in the past.

Time sheet

08.20 Golfgraffix Spacecoyote The Chanp
    08.30 AlanM DWD 3 Putt
    11.30 Athlone99 Tigerwood1 DAK
    11.40 Road Runner Fixdepitchmark A Post Punk
    11.50 Ben1977 Scubapro Rikand
    12.00 CharlieIRL Macker1 Brendan141
    12.10 Keano DamienM swingking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

Playing from white or yellow tees?

I think we will play off the yellows, the club have reccomended the 9th for the nearest the pin and the 18th for the long drive.

J

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

RoadRunner wrote: »
    Playing from white or yellow tees?

How hard do you want it? Very or extremely?!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,979 ✭✭✭RoadRunner

charlieIRL wrote: »
    How hard do you want it? Very or extremely?!!!!

26 points for the win!
    If it's tough for me then it's tough for everyone else too, incl. you!
    Sooo extremely :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,886 ✭✭✭Macker1

Play off the yellows as recommended earlier in the thread by a member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,512 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

I think we will play off the yellows, the club have reccomended the 9th for the nearest the pin and the 18th for the long drive.

J

The last time I played there (which was about 3 years ago) the 18th used to be a bit of a dogleg. They might have changed the tees though since I was last there

Rikand wrote: »
    The last time I played there (which was about 3 years ago) the 18th used to be a bit of a dogleg. They might have changed the tees though since I was last there

It is still a bit of a dog leg across a bit of valley but is a great hole to have the longest drive on IMHO

J

9th is just 100 yards long in a walled garden.. quaint hole!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,175 ✭✭✭kieran.

dak wrote: »
    9th is just 100 yards long in a walled garden.. quaint hole!

Note the wind direction before you go into the garden as the tee box and green is fully sheltered !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,711 ✭✭✭spacecoyote

dak wrote: »

Will have it packed alright, but looking at it, if it stays as it is, it'll be after 2pm before the worst kicks in.

I know that Fix calls a low scoring win every time, but from all the talk on this thread, it could really be the first one in a while where anything in the low to mid 30s will be in the mix

Played 9 holes in New Forest this evening. Place is looking well. Greens have improved a lot. Think they will be fantastic in a week or two. But decent enough.

I can attest to the difficulty of the course! Playing off the yellows is a good idea. Played off the blues tonight as we have a scratch cup on Sunday. Bloody tough going.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,268 Mod ✭✭✭✭charlieIRL

Even though I've played there a good few times I can't remember half of the holes!!

Is the rough up again?

Really looking forward to getting out, having been at the KClub watching the golf I am really in the mood.

Normally play well on new courses so I am backing myself on this one.

Enjoy

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 486 ✭✭a post punk

Just cleaned the clubs myself ,ready for action !!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,185 ✭✭✭✭FixdePitchmark

Yes great to hear you are looking forward to the alternative outing J (JOKING)

I may regret this . Is the weather sort of improving. ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,118 ✭✭✭✭Seve OB

Glad im not playing tomorrow. Took a right slice of skin off the top of my thumb earlier this evening. If I was due to play I would have to cancel as its pretty damn painful and there is no chance I could hold a golf club.

Enjoy tomorrow lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 292 ✭✭princess poppy

Looks like you'll be getting the traditional sunshine for a boards outing.
    Would love to be going but playing in bray in an interclub match.
    Have a great day. Will be watching for results

One faller today, the last group is now a two ball.

Handicaps for today are

8.20 Golfgraffix 12 Spacecoyote 12 The Chanp 15
    8.30 AlanM 14 DWD 9 3 Putt 22
    11.30 Athlone99 24 Tigerwood1 20 DAK 25
    11.40 Road Runner 15 Fixdepitchmark 6 A Post Punk 28
    11.50 Ben1977 11 Scubapro 18 Rikand 4
    12.00 CharlieIRL 20 Macker1 15 Brendan141 23
    12.10 Keano A Legend 16 DamienM 22

Morning golfers definitely going to get the best of it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,512 ✭✭✭OffalyMedic

Enjoy today lads sorry I can't make it@

Morning golfers definitely going to get the best of it!

Yes should be different css and points for goty.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 892 ✭✭✭Ben1977

Yes great to hear you are looking forward to the alternative outing J (JOKING)

We'll get rain but hopefully nothing like yesterday

Ben1977 wrote: »
    We'll get rain but hopefully nothing like yesterday

Looks grand now to be honest.

Pissed tai the 1st three holes but clearing up now.

Playing nicely, a bit wet but green are rolling well

Good laugh today - well you had to laugh as the golf was so bad.

Great course - one daft hole the road hole.

Is a course you must have played before or be with someone who had played it.

Incredible amount of trouble and blind trouble. Great course - too hard for me.

Amazing score - not sure if Alan M knows place ? We were calling him Macker part 2 after.

Really happy J got to golf as I was walking around looking for him and my 2s money from last outing.
    Lads, best joke of the year was 18 for L.D. - just for the power faders like Mick (lol)

Great course, would love to play again - well, not sure I ever want to play like that again.

I'm on the way up, don't have 44s in me anymore.

Thanks to all. Want an ESU.

Glad you enjoyed it. Presume you are talking about the 10th?

Would have expected people to moan about the 12th...

Barnaboy wrote: »
    Glad you enjoyed it. Presume you are talking about the 10th?

Would have expected people to moan about the 12th...

Ah Barnaboy, simple hole really. You've just added fuel to the fire.

Well looking at the Irish open and speaking to my better half, we were blessed again with the weather. Only had the umbrella up for about 5 minutes. Thunder and lightning in Kildare.
    Barnaboy, that is a beautiful course, each hole has its own character. Would imagine the greens are close to not playable in a dry spell.
    Anyway to the golf, had the great company of Rikand and Brendan141. Most enjoyable round I've had in a long time. I've played with Brendan141 over the last year and a half, and it's great to see his hard work paying off and the HC dropping. Both Rikand and Brendan141 played really well. Rikand showed some beautiful touches around the green, and it's a joy to watch him play golf.
    Sorry lads but I robbed every bit of luck that was out there. I hit balls that went OOB but hit a tree and fell in bounds, hit a ball through the 5th that hit a tree trunk and rolled back to the front of the green. Hit one into the hazard on 12 that just stayed up and walked away with a par.
    I had a blast today even if my golf wasn't up to it. 30pts was a great score.
    The food and the banter was even better in the club after.
    Congrats to Alanm with a super score and Rikand for gross :)

Have to say that I loved the course, no where near as hard as I was expecting. Had a very comfortable 21 on the front with two birdies but two shanks on the back made me tighten up and I fell away.

Sorry about the LD on18, it was a poor choice but it was they recommended. 10 was an odd hole, I had to take a drop off the road. For me 16 was a very unfair green for a par 5.

Really enjoyed the company of Spacecand Champ, two lovely golfers, I am guessing champs drive held on to win ?

I went to the only atm in the village on the way in to take out the two's money from last month but it was not working. Will have it for you next outing.

Well done to AlanM in another huge score. Don't forget to hand that card to your handicap sec at Citywest, I see single figures for you soon.

J

J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 335 ✭✭Alanm

I really really enjoyed my day out today (I guess that's kinda obvious). Absolutely everything came off - chip in for a 2 on 16, 1 really bad drive which should've been in a red hazard but ended up sitting in GUR (par 5 6th I think that was). Ball about a foot below my feet on 18 and I still knocked it to with 10 feet. Once of those days that everything just seemed easy and flowed. First time to break 80 (78 gross) with my previous best ever round being 81 in citywest which is par 69. I've been threatening a good score for a while, but never expected one this good.

Enjoyed the company of 3putt and dwd, sorry I had to leg it off so quick; herself wanted me back home to get a break from the kids. Thanks for organising everything J, super price and tee time on a great course.

10th hole is fine, 12th hole is a joke. It's the one hole that stops me going back to play the course again and again. you literally have a 10 yard x 10 yard pocket of fairway that you have to hit your tee shot into or you can forget about thinking about going for the green in 2. Pull your teeshot and you end up being in the diagonal drain or OOB. Cut your tee shot and you're out of town. Even laying back and playing the hole is a 3-shotter is no gimme as again, you have the drain in front of the tee to contend with and still that stupid tree in the middle of the fairway.

But I digress.

Had a wonderful day out with Ben and Brendan. We had great craic the whole way around and myself and Brendan ripped the piss out of Ben the whole way which made it even better!

Brendan is a super golfer off his handicap and only for a handful of quick swings around the back 9, he could have comfortably shot 40 points. He said he got cut 4 shots on one comp already this year. He's got a few more 4 shot cuts in him. Lovely striker of the ball, can move it both ways and a brilliant short game.

Ben..... well he's Ben. ;)

And myself, very happy with how I played. Anytime you play to around your handicap in New Forest, you're doing very well for yourself. I struck the ball well off the tee and played some nice recovery shots. Very disappointed to bogey the 2 par 5's on the front 9, literally from nowhere both times, but those are the breaks.

I know we can only cut him 2.5 shots at a time, but we need to give serious consideration to Macker 2.0 aka, Alanm and cut him a lot more. :) 2 comfortable wins in a row on 2 very tough golf courses. Shooting +6 out there playing off a 16 handicap is some going. Kudos to you sir.

btw, I hope thats the last time we have early starters in the society. Really takes from it when half the guys are already gone home before the rest of us have really started our round. The banter in the bar when everyone is in is what it's all about. I'd love to have been ripping GolfGraffix after the front 9 he had or to be ripping AlanM for that score. ;)

Thanks Rikand for the mention :)

btw, I hope thats the last time we have early starters in the society. Really takes from it when half the guys are already gone home before the rest of us have really started our round. The banter in the bar when everyone is in is what it's all about. I'd love to have been ripping GolfGraffix after the front 9 he had or to be ripping AlanM for that score. ;)

I agree, it does take away from the atmosphere afterwards.

It will be the last time. Unfortunately for me work gets in the way sometimes and the last two events I couldn't be there in the afternoon but still had to bring the prizes down.

J

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 12,808 Mod ✭✭✭✭Keano

Had a lot of fun on the course yesterday. I'm slowly getting used to enjoying a round even when my golf was off. Had a good front 9 but a terrible start to the back done the damage!

Course was in good shape, it was handy having Charlie in the group to guide us around.

Can I have a tee time before everyone nexto time.

Hate the "banter" after.

Can I have a tee time before everyone nexto time.

Hate the "banter" after.

Anytime, anywhere ;)

10 and 12 are idiotic holes .

On 12 you can hit the best shot ever roll on road / smash a car window / never find your ball.

12 is the hardest hole I ever played on a parkland.

Back 9 not as good as front.
    Weak holes like 10 ,12 , 14 , 15, 16, 17.

Still a great course. As lads said even a links feel to some of it.

Some of the rough is way too long and real jcb feel to it.

In fairness macker/athlone were right saying it was very short from yellows. I agree with playing short, lovely fast round .

But on that course it changes your tee options to that mid 200 to 230 range. A very hard distance to manage for us hackers . Well if you played course a few times you would know all that . 13 for example. A decent 3 wood still too long . But just lack of course knowledge .

Incredible amount of harsh ob and ugly hidden swamps and drainage areas. Comes to a wooden post ridden head at 11/12.

But still a great course.

Alanm to break 80 there for first time is an incredible achievement. You genuinely waisted that one at a boards outing. Maybe not, a great round is never waisted, as it is for your inner self too.

You'll be off 9 very soon. Fair play. Our society rules can't handle someone improving that quickly.

And if anyone improves that quickly they win all around for a year or so. Enjoy it . It only happens once or twice in a golfers life.

We need a few new parkland gross chasers for Rikand. We found another one.

Anytime, anywhere ;)

Yes amazing how there is only gross prizes when Rikand plays well.

All about the inner inner circle.

Agree 100% with your assessment of the back 9 Fdp. Actually the 11th is a tougher hole off the yellows than the whites as from the yellows that tree on the right is much more in play. From the whites you can hit over it.

The marshland on the left of 14 should be a hazard. 15 all uphill and then an exceptionally hard green. 16 must be the toughest green in the country if not Europe. Did anyone else look over at the left side of the green ? ;)

By the way lads . Well done on the pace of play. We have improved a lot as a society.

I know we are not changing the world ,golf or society (lol)

But as a golf society from a golf forum we should be targeting 4hrs 15mins
    I want to say 4 . But know that causes stress for some.

I think we were 415 . But that was because I was useless and it is a very hard course.