Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

He didn't control what cars the first team players drove (Giggs changed from a Ferrari cause it was found the seat position was contributing to his hamstring issues).

He did stop the youth players from being given company cars (sporty audi's or chevrolets) but once they made the first team they could have what they wanted.

Or can you provide evidence to the contrary?

he banned players under 23 from driving powerful sports cars

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,370 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

bangkok wrote: »
    he banned players under 23 from driving powerful sports cars

Proof please - first team players banned from these cars? Just saying it is not proof.

I know youth team players were denied the sports cars - can't imagine already mutimillionaire Ronaldo or Rooney at 22 were being stopped. But go on, bit of proof please.

fergie also made Beckham shave off his mohawk in the dressing room before a match at wembley..

In 2006 (age 21) Ronaldo had a BMW M6.
    In 2007 (age 22) Ronaldo had a Bently Continental.

But sure, he was banned from powerful sporty cars til he turned 23. :rollies:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

zerks wrote: »
    MagicIRL wrote: »
    Bolo, Bolo Bolo, Bolo Bolo, Breel Embolo! Bolo, Bolo Bolo... :cool:

We'll need a Bailly chant.

"Bailly,Bailly Baby,Baby Bailly Bailly" (Remember the 2 L's are silent lads)
    zerks wrote: »
    MagicIRL wrote: »
    Bolo, Bolo Bolo, Bolo Bolo, Breel Embolo! Bolo, Bolo Bolo... :cool:

We'll need a Bailly chant.

6 Feet Tall On the Ball
    He's our By-e
    Son of a gun he can run
    Eric By-e

To the tune of On the Bayou

(This of course relies on me pronouncing his name right - have probably gotten it completely wrong)

at 23 he got his first ferrari and duly crashed it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Was that the year he won the grand slam of players player, player, writers player, young player of the years awards.

Yeah for some reason I'm fine with him driving a Bentley after that

at 23 he got his first ferrari and duly crashed it

So you are saying the Bentley Continental GT is not a powerful sporty car. Right. Neither was the Porche Cayanne or however it is spelt, he had at the same time. Could barely tow a leaf that yoke. :rolleyes:

Wayne Rooney - age 20 - Aston Martin Vanquish. Guess it was on stilts in the drive til he turned 23. FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Anyway anything football wise happening today? Hopefully martial gets some game time tonig...

So you are saying the Bentley Continental GT is not a powerful sporty car. Right. Neither was the Porche Cayanne or however it is spelt, he had at the same time. Could barely tow a leaf that yoke. :rolleyes:

Wayne Rooney - age 20 - Aston Martin Vanquish. Guess it was on stilts in the drive til he turned 23. FFS.

http://www.manchestereveningnews.co.uk/news/greater-manchester-news/sir-alex-ferguson-bans-manchester-694758

Mars Bar wrote: »

lol

"She says that later on, De Gea also tried to arrange another encounter with 5 Man Utd players but there's no proof this ever happened"

a non story

• Registered Users Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭domrush

lol

"She says that later on, De Gea also tried to arrange another encounter with 5 Man Utd players but there's no proof this ever happened"

a non story

He's being reported as sent home from the Euros according to the usual rags.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Mars Bar wrote: »

Anonymous stories about footballers should always be taken with a pinch of salt. If someone gets taken in for questioning by the police, then you can start thinking there's some substance behind it. Until then, it's pure gossip and hearsay.

My own opinion, de Gea doesn't strike me as having the personality for that kind of thing.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭TheTownie

Anonymous stories about footballers should always be taken with a pinch of salt. If someone gets taken in for questioning by the police, then you can start thinking there's some substance behind it. Until then, it's pure gossip and hearsay.

My own opinion, de Gea doesn't strike me as having the personality for that kind of thing.

in fairness, you wouldnt know what millionaire young lads in groups are getting up too...

Was only a few years ago (when fergie was in charge and later went mental about) the players organised a xmas party but no wives or girlfriends were allowed in and 100 girls were hand picked from all over england to attend. They were not going there for the company....

was the same night johnny evans was accused of rape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

Well he'd been sent home so there may be something to it.

I'd hope anyone who says anything along the lines of "they're famous footballers she was asking for it" get perma banned.

Page seems to have been pulled already so yeah bullsh1t

Joe aren't the source so them pulling the article means nothing. The accusations are real but thats all they are for now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

Calling either of Valdes or Powell first team players is a complete stretch tbf :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 467 ✭✭DaveSuarez

De Gea goes from dreaming of playing with Ronaldo to Adam Johnson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,613 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

What exactly did the page say. I never got to read it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

http://www.marca.com/en/football/national-teams/2016/06/10/575ac480ca4741b4688b4581.html

Spanish national team footballers David de Gea and Iker Muniain have both been implicated in the ongoing case against pornography entrepreneur Ignacio Allende Fernandez, better known as Torbe.

A witness in the case - in which Torbe is accused of human trafficking for purposes of sexual exploitation, sexual assault, child pornography, prostitution, extortion and money laundering - has testified that she was abused by the two players.

Muniain is alleged to have had sex with the woman in 2012, while De Gea is alleged to have arranged the meeting.

According to eldiario.es, the arm of the national police force tasked with such matters has attributed a "high degree of credibility" to the women's testimony, and to those of two other women.

They have also ruled out the possibility of "motives existing to discredit those denounced for economic or personal reasons".

This is going to get very, very messy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,561 ✭✭✭Umaro

It's only The Sun that is reporting that he's gone home - so, I'd say that part of the story is 100% lies.

also says it happened 4 years ago...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

I really hope it's bullsh!t and he hasn't been sent home. If the story is lies it won't be going much good for his prep for the Euros.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 732 ✭✭✭Mister Robinson

What time does the Premier League announce the list of released players today?

https://uk.sports.yahoo.com/news/david-gea-implicated-spanish-rape-132754276.html

Irrelevant when it happened. If it's true then he deserves to spend a long time behind bars.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

I really hope it's bullsh!t and he hasn't been sent home. If the story is lies it won't be going much good for his prep for the Euros.

Many outlets reporting the story, none of which mention him being sent home.

Somewhat obscure timing...

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    https://uk.sports.yahoo.com/news/david-gea-implicated-spanish-rape-132754276.html

Irrelevant when it happened. If it's true then he deserves to spend a long time behind bars.

"IF" being key word.

Innocent till proven guilty though, and I hope we dont get people jumping on the guilty bandwagon in the first hour of the story breaking...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

What kind of personality profile goes with that sort of thing ?

This story seems to be growing. Multiple reports now that he's been sent home from the Euros. If this story has truth to it he may have ruined his career.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

The timing of this story would raise an eyebrow, who leaked it on the first day of the euros when it would get most publicity?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,631 ✭✭✭✭Hank Scorpio

Horrible story if true.. Hopefully it turns out De Dea is somehow innocent in all of this

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

Rumors isco is also involved

This has an air of "where were you when you first heard about Saipan" about it

Hope not but it seems to be growing legs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,703 ✭✭✭allybhoy

any official or credible sources confirmed yet whether he's been sent home or not?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

This story seems to be growing. Multiple reports now that he's been sent home from the Euros. If this story has truth to it he may have ruined his career.

False reports that he's been sent home. Including one with a false goalkeeper being added to the squad.

The timing of this story would raise an eyebrow, who leaked it on the first day of the euros when it would get most publicity?

I blame Casillas

guillem balague...

De Gea has not been sent home. He is in the hotel with the national team. There is a court case on the way. Innocent till proven guilty

False reports that he's been sent home. Including one with a false goalkeeper being added to the squad.

I certainly hope they're false! I know how mental Twitter can be with crap like this. Daily Mail were the ones that reported he'd been sent home I think.

for what looking at a video?

Lord TSC wrote: »
    "IF" being key word.

Innocent till proven guilty though, and I hope we dont get people jumping on the guilty bandwagon in the first hour of the story breaking...

That's why I said if.

I hope he's innocent as it's completely horrific stuff tbh. Regardless of his involvement the details of the case are heart wrenching.

for what looking at a video?

Are you serious???

inforfun wrote: »
    We are a bit done with Depay in The Netherlands for a while already.

Started with showing up like this for a couple of matches with the Dutch team

8f92126081de45b7ec58adfbe863b72c.png

Now 1 of these 2 is dressed appropriately for august 31st 2015.

redcoatsmile.jpg

Memphis is obviously a fan of the fourth Doctor!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,369 ✭✭✭UnitedIrishman

If, and it's a major if, the allegations of what I've read online are true then no one on here can defend what he's done.

But until then it's probably best not to jump to conclusions either way. Apparently there's a statement from De Gea this evening.

Edit: now he's not speaking this evening and is instead with his lawyers at present.

Are you serious???

"The women is a protected witness for the Torbe case, a police investigation to find out whether the famous Spanish porn director Torbe recorded some of his videos with minors. She was not a minor in 2012, El Diario says.

According to this early reports, De Gea did not assault the women but told her to have sex with his teammates and used physical threats to convince her."

nothing in it as far as de gea is concerned

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,225 ✭✭✭✭J. Marston

If, and it's a major if, the allegations of what I've read online are true then no one on here can defend what he's done.

But until then it's probably best not to jump to conclusions either way. Apparently there's a statement from De Gea this evening.

Wanna bet?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭RedemptionZ

"The women is a protected witness for the Torbe case, a police investigation to find out whether the famous Spanish porn director Torbe recorded some of his videos with minors. She was not a minor in 2012, El Diario says.

According to this early reports, De Gea did not assault the women but told her to have sex with his teammates and used physical threats to convince her."

nothing in it as far as de gea is concerned

You can't use physical threats to make someone have sex with you or your friends. I think/hope maybe you're not reading this properly?

Anyway, it is a nothing story at the moment BECAUSE it's not in court and none of us have a notion about it. When it's done and dusted then people should speak about it, the accused deserves anonymity until proven guilty imo, these witchhunts are disgusting and trial by Twitter just isn't fair.

IF he's guilty of using physical threats to force a girl to have sex then he deserves to be punished accordingly and I don't think anyone would defend him for it.