Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Giggsy11 wrote: »

All the tweets.....

So is this possibly just the result of a failed extortion attempt against DDG and then the convenient "leak" of his link to the story on the eve of the Euros?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭Coat22

Billy86 wrote: »
    Coat22 wrote: »
    Not keeps asking me - asks me about once every 6 weeks - whats do you find so unbelievable about that???? 8 year olds do know players from other clubs! Have you ever heard of Match Attax and the school yard?

Obviously no kids yourself there mate
    Have to agree with you there, doesn't sound off at all. With all the rumours on a schoolyard, in the mid 90s I was convinced the players on Wolves literally were unable to kick a football straight and that an NHL player called Pavel Bure (remember when ice hockey got kind of, sort of, big in the mid 90s on Channel 4, if I recall? :pac: ) who I had been convinced was playing in the NHL since he was 11 years old.

Basically, your young lad has probably heard 37,485 stories as to why Adam Johnson was arrested. Hopefully the real one isn't one of them, or simply flew over his head (which seems to be the case if he is still asking).

You're spot on - flying over his head but like all 8 year olds he won't admit that to his mates so then asks me.

8 year olds who are into football know more about players than most adults - he knew who Bailly was last week when the next broke about United - I'd never heard of him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,473 ✭✭✭Adamcp898

Well it would - the clamour for De Gea last year was on the basis of him having one year left on his contract and no sign of him signing a new one hence the presumption that United would have to sell him or risk him walking away for nothing this summer.

Then he signed a new contract. All of a sudden its no so easy to force Uniteds hand. Hence there's nowhere near the presumption this year that United will have to sell him as there was last year

But there has been extremely little talk......

A little bit strange for arguably the best goalkeeper in the world who's playing for a team nowhere challenging for anything and not in the CL.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

You're spot on - flying over his head but like all 8 year olds he won't admit that to his mates so then asks me.

8 year olds who are into football know more about players than most adults - he knew who Bailly was last week when the next broke about United - I'd never heard of him
    'Tis that FIFA and that PES, infecting their young brains.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,460 ✭✭✭✭DrPhilG

bangkok wrote: »
    cheating on his girlfriend how? by looking at a video?

Anyone else, I'd dignify that with an explanation.

For you, who seems to be of the opinion that it's the girls fault anyway, I won't bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

RobertKK wrote: »
    So no proof, seems another case of being guilty with no evidence to back up why the person is guilty.

NEver understand the clamour to try untangle an allegation or something like this, the minute it transpires.

Within an hour of the story breaking, it could already be debunked as nothing.

Lets all take a breather...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

DrPhilG wrote: »
    Anyone else, I'd dignify that with an explanation.

For you, who seems to be of the opinion that it's the girls fault anyway, I won't bother.

no explain please. he looked at a video, how does that make him a cheater??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Pyjamarama wrote: »
    I hate this argument so much. Sure Adam Johnson is a millionaire... rape is rape. (Not saying that's what ddg did). There is no grey area.

No it's not, case by case. The logic works in this case because De Gea hasn't been proven to be a sick individual, the texts showing Johnson knew well she was underage threw that defence out the window.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

cheating on his girlfriend how? by looking at a video?

Ill be divorced tomorrow so fuk fuk fuk.

• Registered Users Posts: 476 ✭✭twinex

"Just read through the last few hours posts".........Now, where did I leave my 10 foot pole again?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,521 ✭✭✭Giggsy11

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 689 ✭✭✭Straight Edge Punk

no explain please. he looked at a video, how does that make him a cheater??

I am only here for the duration of the Euros but I have to ask, are you a real genuine human being?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,503 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

While nothing has been confirmed, I think it's ridiculous that some of ye United fans just dismiss it out of hand because it hasn't been backed up by the bigger journalists yet. Sounds like there's some substance to it, but innocent until proven guilty of course.

This thread ran away with itself over past two hours. Hopefully this is a nothing story but i have to say some of the guys that post in here have some fairly fuked up logic about things in life.

If a player even slightly knew of what was going on here or encoraged it in anyway shape or form i dont care who he is i wouldnt want him near the club.

Hopefully as i said its a nothing story and the media is wrong again.

jayo26 wrote: »
    This thread ran away with itself over past two hours. Hopefully this is a nothing story but i have to say some of the guys that post in here have some fairly fuked up logic about things in life.

If a player even slightly knew of what was going on here or encoraged it in anyway shape or form i dont care who he is i wouldnt want him near the club.

Hopefully as i said its a nothing story and the media is wrong again.

The timing would certainly lead me to believe that De Gea isn't involved and someone is just trying to stir the pot a little bit.

martyos121 wrote: »
    While nothing has been confirmed, I think it's ridiculous that some of ye United fans just dismiss it out of hand because it hasn't been backed up by the bigger journalists yet. Sounds like there's some substance to it, but innocent until proven guilty of course.

Police investigation found nothing against the players, apparently.

I am only here for the duration of the Euros but I have to ask, are you a real genuine human being?

yes.

de gea organised an escort for 2 players. asked them to send him a video of it to him (allegedly)

non story for de gea.

other guy is the real story if he is human trafficking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,308 ✭✭✭Pyjamarama

No it's not, case by case. The logic works in this case because De Gea hasn't been proven to be a sick individual, the texts showing Johnson knew well she was underage threw that defence out the window.

My argument is nothing to do with ddg. My argument is the idea that because someone is a millionaire they wouldn't need to rape someone is completely flawed. Look at Mike TysoN. There may be nothing to this in the end but that's not the reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

martyos121 wrote: »

Ah seriously, there is one! And let's be honest here there is usually one in every thread.

In all instances of serious crimes like those that are alleged, 99.9999% of fans will wash there hands of filth players like that.

Some people have been suspicious of the timing in this leak but due process will take his course and I along with the vast vast majority of fans will let justice take its course.

My argument is nothing to do with ddg. My argument is the idea that because someone is a millionaire they wouldn't need to rape someone is completely flawed. Look at Mike TysoN. There may be nothing to this in the end but that's not the reason.

de gea never even met the girl!!!

yes.

de gea organised an escort for 2 players. asked them to send him a video of it to him (allegedly)

non story for de gea.

other guy is the real story if he is human trafficking

My goodness, you have completely missed the story

Always thought Romero was an underated keeper ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,383 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Why are you bringing rape into what he accused of? It's bad enough without overblowing it.

He usually does to be fair.

Meet bangkok.

Liam O wrote: »
    Why are you bringing rape into what he accused of? It's bad enough without overblowing it.

The word "forced" was used was it not?

Please bear in mind that I don't believe these allegations are true for a second.

I'm not. The op said that the girl was hardly forced to have sex since it was a bunch of millionaire footballers and why would they neEd to.

There are plenty of instances of millionaires raping people. I'm not saying this was one of them but the argument is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

Well you accused me of using it on DDG so it is

Millionaires can rape, woman can lie. It's a case by case

You don't to meet a person to be a part of a criminal activity. There are numerous connotations which could have happened which have resulted in De Gea committing a crime without every having met the girl.

There is no point speculating without the full facts just like there is no point in taking a defensive position without all the facts.

Did you read the first line of my post?

Benzema was a big story, adam johnston was a big story. i dont think this is a big story or will be a big story for de gea or the other 2 players

• Closed Accounts Posts: 972 ✭✭✭WarZ

It has been absolutely disgusting reading through the victim blaming and abundance of posts downplaying the crimes DDG was alleged to have committed.

There's nothing in it? Really? Threatening to physically hurt an underage trafficked girl unless she had sex with his mates is something that is nothing?

If the alleged is true then DDG is an absolutely toxic individual. I had to laugh at the poster claiming that DDG doesn't seem like the type! As if anyone here knows what any professional footballer is like.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,414 ✭✭✭Toobz

Benzema was a big story, adam johnston was a big story. i dont think this is a big story or will be a big story for de gea or the other 2 players

It came out 2 hours ago...it will be a huge story.

Is that because he's a United player and you are trying to play it all down?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭KaiserGunner

Eh if the De Gea and the other two Spanish players story is true, then it will be as big as the Benzema story.....

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

De Gea couldn't even force a move to Real Madrid with Jorge Mendes as his agent.

WarZ wrote: »
    It has been absolutely disgusting reading through the victim blaming and abundance of posts downplaying the crimes DDG was alleged to have committed.

There's nothing in it? Really? Threatening to physically hurt an underage trafficked girl unless she had sex with his mates is something that is nothing?

If the alleged is true then DDG is an absolutely toxic individual. I had to laugh at the poster claiming that DDG doesn't seem like the type! As if anyone here knows what any professional footballer is like.

It is disgusting and happens all across this site when topics like this come up. I would also point to the police report which said there was no corroborating evidence as to implicit either the two footballers accused of the rape or De Gea in apparently organising this.

Nobody (maybe one) has said that if this true that he is not a toxic individual, with what's in front of us at the moment is there is no evidence to suggest he has committed these wrongs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

duffman13 wrote: »
    It is disgusting and happens all across this site when topics like this come up. I would also point to the police report which said there was no corroborating evidence as to implicit either the two footballers accused of the rape or De Gea in apparently organising this.

Nobody (maybe one) has said that if this true that he is not a toxic individual, with what's in front of us at the moment is there is no evidence to suggest he has committed these wrongs.

It only took about 80 posts to get something sensible.

Fair play D-man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

So conclusion... Spanish media took a leaf out of the book of the English media and planted a bomb in the Spanish preparation?

duffman13 wrote: »

This is what people need to realise, innocent until proven guilty. The accusations are disgusting and if true, De Gea is in serious trouble but at the moment he is an innocent man.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Hopefully this is one massive misunderstanding and a empty cry for attention. Hate to see such talented lads piss their career away over something so idiotic. Seems to be a growing trend in the game though which is sad.

Andre 3000 wrote: »
    Hopefully this is one massive misunderstanding and a empty cry for attention. Hate to see such talented lads piss their career away over something so idiotic. Seems to be a growing trend in the game though which is sad.

Young lads who get too much too young.

WarZ wrote: »

Look, if he forced a girl to have sex with his teammates by threatening her with violence then yeah, fine, call him a toxic individual and I'll agree.

It just all sounds a bit weird. How would she have been physically threatened by someone who had never met her?

If his involvement was corroborating with that awful man who is on trial then his character would have to take a hit regardless though from what I'm reading about the guy but there is a big difference between someone making a few disgusting messages and physically threatening someone with rape.

De Gea has never shown any real aggression from what I've seen of him so in that way it would be odd for him to physically threaten someone.

Unlike everyone in here I will wait until the facts come out before being partisan and trying to get digs in either way.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,570 ✭✭✭Ulysses Gaze

De Gea has never shown any real aggression from what I've seen of him so in that way it would be odd for him to physically threaten someone.

You've only seen him on a football pitch. Not in his personal life.

Should I have put that disclaimer in? Should that much not be obvious? Fwiw I've also seen him in a bunch of those player videos. Like this one from earlier :pac:

https://www.facebook.com/manchesterunited/videos/10153804018062746/

Should I have put that disclaimer in? Should that much not be obvious? Fwiw I've also seen him in a bunch of those player videos. Like this one from earlier :pac:

https://www.facebook.com/manchesterunited/videos/10153804018062746/

Did Adam Johnson strike you as that kind of man?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

People really need to stop rolling out this line. It's utterly irrelevant. I have no idea whether he is guilty of anything or not....nobody on here has, but I'm sure Graham Dwyer appeared like a nice quiet chap to his workmates too - it's utterly irrelevant.

Police found no evidence against any player, so not sure why there is so much discussion and name callings.

No smoke...........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,612 ✭✭✭eigrod

How do you know ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,370 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

eigrod wrote: »
    How do you know ?

The police have stated this is the case. They said, today, they investigated De Gea and Munir and found no proof of any crimes.

It also doesn't mean that he is actually innocent - but in the eyes of the law he has no crime to answer for (at the moment - things may change)