Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Hah, cheers to whoever was running the FF league. Forgot I entered but just 765 points off the winner.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,369 ✭✭✭Rossi IRL

Rashford wont have a break during the summer anyway.

Wont he be away with the Eng youth team at another tournament.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,200 ✭✭✭superfurry1

Have to say England look very light weight in the midfield no enforcer and no leaders looks like they will struggle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

Have to say England look very light weight in the midfield no enforcer and no leaders looks like they will struggle.

Maybe Roy will drop Rooney back into midfield now that he was Kane and Vardy in better goalscoring form.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,137 ✭✭✭✭TheDoc

Yeah feel it's weird how for the first time in ages they have a lethal strike force, yet it's now the midfield and defence that look suspect.

Surprising Jagielka was omitted. I think there are some blinkers there with Stones. Has had a horrible season that has begged questions about his actual ability. Know last year very much felt the predictions on his potential were WAY left field and totally ridiculous.

He is a defender, that is terrible at defending. The furore over the fact he can play a pass is incredible. Daley Blind has been a far superior CB then Stones this year, in all categories, and I don't hear in Holland them claiming he will be the best CB in Dutch history....

English people are weird..

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

TheDoc wrote: »
    Yeah feel it's weird how for the first time in ages they have a lethal strike force, yet it's now the midfield and defence that look suspect.

Surprising Jagielka was omitted. I think there are some blinkers there with Stones. Has had a horrible season that has begged questions about his actual ability. Know last year very much felt the predictions on his potential were WAY left field and totally ridiculous.

He is a defender, that is terrible at defending. The furore over the fact he can play a pass is incredible. Daley Blind has been a far superior CB then Stones this year, in all categories, and I don't hear in Holland them claiming he will be the best CB in Dutch history....

English people are weird..

Stones has shown he can defend. The defence as a unit for Everton has been so bad this season. Baines is a shadow of himself, Jagielka is no world beater but he was always solid and dependable. Coleman has been awful.
    Stones may be overhyped but I think he will have a very good career as a CB and will end up at a big club. Martinez has that defence destroyed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

bangkok wrote: »
    The private company that did the security check, sniffer dogs etc on wednesday are professionals. It was their job to plant bombs all over old trafford, they probably had a few hours to set up alone before the sniffer dogs were sent in.

the old trafford security team would have done a basic security check during the week and on match day would have done a proper one. they found the "bomb" and cleared the stadium quickly. A good job from all involved, no panic around the stadium and everyone got out safely.

The"bomb" was found when the stadium was over half full, probably less than 30 minutes before kick off. Are you suggesting that Utd do their match day security sweep with the gates open???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

RasTa wrote: »
    Hah, cheers to whoever was running the FF league. Forgot I entered but just 765 points off the winner.

I finished 11th 120 behind the winner!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,362 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

adox wrote: »
    The"bomb" was found when the stadium was over half full, probably less than 30 minutes before kick off. Are you suggesting that Utd do their match day security sweep with the gates open???

They should do one (or more) prior to gates opening - and a continual one once it is open - given there are over 75,000 people with the potential to bring something dangerous in, arriving.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

TheDoc wrote: »
    Worth noting though that Rooney had **** all involvement with england under age setups. I see today a lot of commentary from people, pundits and journalists mentioning Rashfords lack of underage involvement as some form of barrier to entry.

I doubt Rashford will go, very much one of the three to get cut from the final squad (Feel Drinkwater and Delph will get cut) but as mentioned elsewhere good exposure for him and a reward for a great arrival into the game. Regardless of age or situation, he came into the Manchester United team and scored goals, and has very much resided Rooney upon his arrival, to being shoehorned into midfield.

rooney was a regular in the england underage set up. had caps at both u15 and u17 level before bursting onto the senior international level

adox wrote: »

well considering there is not much security around on non match days and there was probably a full security check before the gates were open and the bomb was missed by first security sweep

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,587 ✭✭✭weisses

Koeman brothers at United next year could it be a possibility ?

He plays positive attacking football and would be a breath of fresh air after LVG.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,504 ✭✭✭Polo_Mint

I wonder if Jose will take the Portuguese Team next

Fernando Santos contract runs out on 31.07.2016

I really hope not.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭Antibac

MrMac84 wrote: »
    I finished 11th 120 behind the winner!

It was yermandan that organised it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

Over the weekend, A Bola had a full page article saying that Sanches was José Mourinho’s priority for the next season. The newspaper are said to have learned that he is an admirer of the midfielder and now has missed out on his number one target.

The article gives a few details from the negotiations for Sanches, saying that Manchester United had offered nearly the same amount as Bayern Munich, but the Red Devils’ indecision had led to the player signing for the German side instead. That was also covered last week in Portugal.

According to A Bola, the deal between José Mourinho and Manchester United is getting closer to being sealed and announced. Only a 'big surprise' would leave the Portuguese manager away from the club in the next season.

Unlike so many articles from the European press, A Bola’s story doesn’t say that Mourinho has demanded Sanches’ signing for Manchester United. The newspaper only claims that the midfielder was a target for both of them, without that kind of 'sign him and then I sign for you' speculation.

And Mourinho won’t 'cry over spilt milk' for Renato Sanches. What’s done is done, and A Bola believe he's still looking forward to 'an ambitious project' at Old Trafford.

http://sportwitness.ning.com/forum/topics/from-portugal-mourinho-to-man-united-closer-to-sealed-and-announc

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,838 ✭✭✭✭3hn2givr7mx1sc

With regards to people saying that the security team should have done a full sweep much earlier than when the device was found, you're not thinking properly. I've even seen people claim the main one should be done days in advance. Jesus Christ.

The chances of a device being found multiply hugely as the time to kick-off draws closer. How many non-staff members would be in Old Trafford two hours before a game, realistically? Whereas from 30 minutes prior to kick-off you have thousands upon thousands of people streaming in.

I would reckon that from 2:00 to 3:00 is the perfect time for a security team to do a full sweep before a game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Juan8

Since Real Madrid seem to be dying to get rid of James Rodriguez to anyone who'll pay a decent fee for him, with us being one of only a handful of teams able to pay a fee that big, with Woodward loving a big name, with Mendes being his agent and Mourinho coming (IMO) and the fact that I doubt other teams who could pay the fee are interested I think we're going to be signing him

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,362 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

baz2009 wrote: »
    With regards to people saying that the security team should have done a full sweep much earlier than when the device was found, you're not thinking properly. I've even seen people claim the main one should be done days in advance. Jesus Christ.

The chances of a device being found multiply hugely as the time to kick-off draws closer. How many non-staff members would be in Old Trafford two hours before a game, realistically? Whereas from 30 minutes prior to kick-off you have thousands upon thousands of people streaming in.

I would reckon that from 2:00 to 3:00 is the perfect time for a security team to do a full sweep before a game.
    I agree - but would also think a suspect device should be found within 4 days at a well used stadium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,026 ✭✭✭duffman13

Juan8 wrote: »
    Since Real Madrid seem to be dying to get rid of James Rodriguez to anyone who'll pay a decent fee for him, with us being one of only a handful of teams able to pay a fee that big, with Woodward loving a big name, with Mendes being his agent and Mourinho coming (IMO) and the fact that I doubt other teams who could pay the fee are interested I think we're going to be signing him

People won't pay the fee Madrid are looking for because he's not worth it. Not against signing James but even if Real took 40 million for him they'd still be making a loss and hes not even worth that. (Apparemtly we are offering 60 million pounds)

Gotze could be sold for half that if the German press are to be believed, we don't want to do a Di Maria again and buy a Madrid cast off unless it's good value. I couldn't see anyone paying above 30 million for him besides ourselves.

I agree - but would also think a suspect device should be found within 4 days at a well used stadium.

that toilet the device was found in is probably only ever used on a match day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

Another di Maria?

duffman13 wrote: »
    People won't pay the fee Madrid are looking for because he's not worth it. Not against signing James but even if Real took 40 million for him they'd still be making a loss and hes not even worth that. (Apparemtly we are offering 60 million pounds)

Gotze could be sold for half that if the German press are to be believed, we don't want to do a Di Maria again and buy a Madrid cast off unless it's good value. I couldn't see anyone paying above 30 million for him besides ourselves.

I think he's a good player but I don't think he's worth £60m, I'm not saying I agree with it I just think that's what will happen

CL still in our hands lads, let's do it.

that toilet the device was found in is probably only ever used on a match day

Which is exactly where someone wanting to plant it would leave it, it was sloppy for the stadium not to be fully checked within that time when a bombing only happened in a big European stadium 6 months ago,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Those of ye that are arguing about the bloody bomb still who are to you wanting held responsible?? United outsourcing security to outside companies so obviously they are gonna be held accountable what more can they do?

The major plus in it all is that the stadium and fans were looked after and it was an organized evacuation. People that go over regularly have claimed that this season the security checks going in are alot more frequent then before. I don't know what more can be said about it at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,506 ✭✭✭✭Xenji

Sheffield United's academy director Nick Cox has joined United's academy staff, looks like Cox will be below Butt.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,779 ✭✭✭✭jayo26

Xenji wrote: »
    Sheffield United's academy director Nick Cox has joined United's academy staff, looks like Cox will be below Butt.

Why did I lol at this......

Another transfer target of our Andre Gomes is joining Juventus.

I really liked the look of him, could end up being a top player :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,510 ✭✭✭tinpib

Xenji wrote: »

I'm a pretty flexible guy so I'd prefer to see it as Butt and Cox are at the same level.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

I dont think rashford will go to the euros but its good experience being in the squad and even if he took him i dont think it would damage him.

Im just glad they didnt take shaw he just needs to work on his fitness.

Which is exactly where someone wanting to plant it would leave it, it was sloppy for the stadium not to be fully checked within that time when a bombing only happened in a big European stadium 6 months ago,

which stadium? Stade de France was outside the ground.

Man Utd statement

Executive vice-chairman, Ed Woodward said: “The safety of the fans is our number one aim at every event we host at Old Trafford. Overall, I'm proud of how our staff responded.The facts are:
    • On the discovery of a suspect package, the police and the club worked quickly and closely to identify the threat, make people safe and evacuate the ground calmly and efficiently.
    • Fans of both clubs behaved impeccably and the evacuation – the first of its type in the UK – was a complete success.
    • Following investigation, the device proved to have been left in error following the training of dog handlers by a sub contractor.
    • The contractor had signed the device as having been recovered along with the 13 other devices at the end of the exercise.
    • That device could not have been detected by sniffer dogs on the routine matchday search of the 100 Club, as it contained no explosives and was used in an exercise training handlers not dogs.
    “Once a live situation was identified, the club and police had no option but to treat the matter as a potential terror threat; we could not have assumed it was a training exercise error. Presented with the same situation in the future, we would take the same action.
    “We have worked very closely with the police and counter terrorism specialists for many years now and enjoy their support on a daily basis.
    “For tomorrow’s (Tuesday) rearranged match against Bournemouth, we are working closely with Greater Manchester Police to ensure that robust security measures continue to be of the highest priority.
    “We are conducting a detailed evaluation with the help of the police and will share our findings across the rest of the game. Valuable lessons will have been learned from yesterday’s events and it is important that those are shared with other stadium operators to ensure that the safety of the public remains the first duty of us all.”

Man Utd statement

Fair enough statement. If these are the facts then 95% of the blame should be placed on whoever signed off on them being collected. The other 5% being placed on whoever did a check in there (if any) before matchday.

That club did what had to be done and i would hope that they take these threats as seriously as they did in the future.

stankratz wrote: »
    CL still in our hands lads, let's do it.

19-0 we'll be grand :D Knowing the way our season is going we will in by 17 goals and still miss out on goal difference! I think I saw a tweet via MEN this morning, it took us 13 games to score 19 goals this season..:o

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

The fact that we are going to miss out on CL due to our low GD pretty much sums up our season.

You can't make progress by doing the bare minimum. Most recently we should be disappointed with a 1-0 win vs Norwich but nope - LVG is over the moon with it I reckon and shows that by putting on defensive players.

I hope we either buy a 20 goal + per season striker this summer or Martial/Rashford transform into one but the latter is a big ask me thinks, especially at such young ages.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,223 ✭✭✭Michael D Not Higgins

19-0 we'll be grand :D Knowing the way our season is going we will in by 17 goals and still miss out on goal difference! I think I saw a tweet via MEN this morning, it took us 13 games to score 19 goals this season..:o

18 hours of Fergie time, be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

The fact that we are going to miss out on CL due to our low GD pretty much sums up our season.

I'd still bet on United missing out on CL due to having a lower points tally, rather than it coming down to goal difference tbh.

You can't make progress by doing the bare minimum. Most recently we should be disappointed with a 1-0 win vs Norwich but nope - LVG is over the moon with it I reckon and shows that by putting on defensive players.

I hope we either buy a 20 goal + per season striker this summer or Martial/Rashford transform into one but the latter is a big ask me thinks, especially at such young ages.

It's ridiculous alright but according to Louis it's all about the win and scoring one more than your opponent. Also we've only scored 2 more goals than Newcastle this season :eek:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

It's ridiculous alright but according to Louis it's all about the win and scoring one more than your opponent. Also we've only scored 2 more goals than Newcastle this season :eek:

Theres 9 teams who have scored more then united this year which is really considering sunderland have scored more and have been fighting relegation the entire season.

Another damning stat. Thing is, none of this goal difference would have mattered if we managed to save just one more point from the horror show that was December. CL would realistically be in the club's hands and a win tomorrow night would mean something. As it is though, United could score three or four tomorrow night and have a comprehensive win, but it would be far too little too late.

Is Ander leaving? Better ****ing not be

https://twitter.com/anderherrera/status/732252942749843456

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Is Ander leaving? Better ****ing not be

https://twitter.com/anderherrera/status/732252942749843456

Was so terrible at West Ham last week that I will be glad to see the back of him. Doesn't impact or control games, bit of a nothing player so be happy for him to move on now.

HigginsJ wrote: »
    Was so terrible at West Ham last week that I will be glad to see the back of him. Doesn't impact or control games, bit of a nothing player so be happy for him to move on now.

Yeah cause he's gotten a fair chance at the club since he arrived, plus he is the only player under-performing in LVG's United.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,999 ✭✭✭Backstreet Moyes

May as well get rid of everyone bar De Gea if that's what your using as an excuse to get rid of a player.

Get rid of 80% of the squad so. Better solution would be to judge these players under a different manager.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,380 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Rossi IRL wrote: »
    Get rid of 80% of the squad so. Better solution would be to judge these players under a different manager.

Don't thinl I'd be totally against that 80% approach tbh.

Liam O wrote: »
    Don't thinl I'd be totally against that 80% approach tbh.

Same but they all cant be replaced in one window and Herrera would be along way from the top of the to go list.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,648 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

ugh cant even watch sky new, ssn or bbc news.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

The biggest problem with offloading players is that Woodward doesn't have the skills to replace them with quality. I think it's safer to secure the replacements before offloading anyone from now on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

Headshot wrote: »
    ugh cant even watch sky new, ssn or bbc news.

What?