Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Manchester United Team Talk/Gossip/Rumours Thread 2016

• Closed Accounts Posts: 372 ✭✭Juan8

Jose playing defensive boring football (apart from the biggest games) is a myth

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,317 ✭✭✭HigginsJ

jayo26 wrote: »

Missed it so bloody much want to see loads of fist pumps and beating chests

Results will come eventually but i want passion straight away.

Throw the bloody clip board in the bin and scream at them.

"Bit of fackin passun" Should have hired Sherwood or Harry really!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,625 ✭✭✭✭Johner

Yes but hard for the home fans to come to isnt what he was ment to do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Liam O wrote: »
    Slight difference between winning the CL and failing to qualify for it?

Sorry i meant happy if he qualified for it not win it! Id be happy to play roy hodgson brand of football if it meant winning the champions league

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Utd just sacked a manager who won a trophy playing negative football yet are about to appoint a manager who's whole career is built on negative football, I am confused about why ye are so happy with this when a huge part of the reason ye wanted LVG gone was because of the football being played.

Will ye accept Jose's brand of defensive football if it gets Champions League? If so I presume ye would have been happy to keep LVG had he delivered Champions league football?

Mourinho is as defensive as Sir Alex was. If you only watched handful of big games that Utd played you'd be convinced that SAF was the most negative coach of all time. He let loose against minnows as did Mourinho's teams but he was never about kamikazee Keegan type caution to the wind forget about defending we'll score more than them.

A lot of the allegations of Mourinho being dull and negative started with Utd fans because he kept beating us and it had to be because he parked the bus, not because his teams were better, no chance we would be admitting that. He was a dislikeable cnut after all. ;)

I remember being depressed about the news of his retirement back in 1997! The coolest footballer ever!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,519 ✭✭✭Flint Fredstone

I was waiting for jpboard to crack. Subtelty over the last few days wasn't working for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,301 ✭✭✭dave_o_brien

Korat wrote: »
    What have you been watching for the last two years? You like watching 150 side ways passes and zero shots?

I've said before that some fans like yourself while objecting to Jose based on a dislike of his character are completely hyopcritical. You've no problem with people like Matt Busby after how he treated Frank O'Farrell and tried to screw him out a fifth of his wages, Sir Alex after the Rock of Gibraltar scandal which brought the Glazers and their £1bn debt on the club, Giggs having an affair with his brother's wife, Cantona assaulting a fan during a game.

If you're going to be superficial then at least be consistent with it. It seems you're more intested in who gives the best media soundbytes than what they produce on the pitch, certainly comparing LVG and Mourinho.
    Not much of a fan if you ask me.

I don't know enough about Busby to comment. He was before my time.

I found the Rock of Gibraltar scandal disgraceful and it has hugely undermined my respect for AF, as have numerous books he has written.

Giggs is detestable.

Cantona acted stupidly. He's a complicated character with a lot to admire and a lot to loathe.

It seems like you just row in behind whatever will bring titles to the club. That's grand. Your choice. Doesn't make you any more or less of a fan than anyone else who claims to be a fan.

I claim to be a fan. If you think that my opinions make me a hypocrite, that has absolutely no effect on my support of the club. My love for UTD is mine, and there's nothing that you and your patronising, snotty, glory-hunting attitude can do about that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,638 ✭✭✭✭bangkok

Beat you to it haha it is funny tho.

yea, players doing it is one thing, for a manager to come on a live tv interview wearing a t shirt after what suarez did was laughable and a disgrace all at the same time

Usually when a manager is sacked,the club will state why,in the statement! Did I miss it or was there a reason given? The world and his dog knows why he was sacked but was there an official declaration?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

You know things are going well when opposition fans are falling over themselves trying to run a decision down.
    zorro2566 wrote: »
    Usually when a manager is sacked,the club will state why,in the statement! Did I miss it or was there a reason given? The world and his dog knows why he was sacked but was there an official declaration?

I noticed this last night too, but I guess they decided to be "classy" and not give the reason, since everyone knows what it was. They opted to thank him for his time, and not use the statement to take shots at him or outline his failures.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,750 ✭✭✭redzerdrog

Massive difference between the football Fergie's Utd teams and Jose's teams. Not even on the same planet in terms of style of play.

Correct me if I'm wrong guys but didn't classy Liverpool sack Dalglish after finishing the season with a domestic cup? The scoundrels.

Lord TSC wrote: »
    You know things are going well when opposition fans are falling over themselves trying to run a decision down.

If you are implying that I am an opposition fan then you are wrong,been following United since 1977! Apologies if I misinterpreted!

If you are implying that I am an opposition fan then you are wrong,been following United since 1977!

Sorry, not you. Other posts. Sorry for the confusion :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

I remember being depressed about the news of his retirement back in 1997! The coolest footballer ever!

Yeah me too, I was just a kid and I was so devastated. He was my always my favourite. I had Cantona 7 on the back of every Utd jersey I had too. I'm glad he retired as I couldn't have stomached him playing for a PL rival. He's still cool now with his epic beard!

It's a pity we didn't win Champions League with him.

our 2nd bit of transfer news after zlatan, jose wants to replace fellaini with Nainggolan

Sorry, not you. Other posts. Sorry for the confusion :o

No problem!

I don't know enough about Busby to comment. He was before my time.

I found the Rock of Gibraltar scandal disgraceful and it has hugely undermined my respect for AF, as have numerous books he has written.

Giggs is detestable.

Cantona acted stupidly. He's a complicated character with a lot to admire and a lot to loathe.

It seems like you just row in behind whatever will bring titles to the club. That's grand. Your choice. Doesn't make you any more or less of a fan than anyone else who claims to be a fan.

I claim to be a fan. If you think that my opinions make me a hypocrite, that has absolutely no effect on my support of the club. My love for UTD is mine, and there's nothing that you and your patronising, snotty, glory-hunting attitude can do about that.

It's a football club not a boyband. Most of the arguments I'm hearing against Mourinho are petty and superficial. To then say the brand of football would be uninspiring while lamenting the departure of LVG well that doesn't make any sense from a football perspective. LVG was rock bottom as far as entertain goes and Mourinho's teams have always scored lots of goals.

For me it's symptomatic of the commercialisation of the club where a phony public image that sells shirts and gets likes on facebook is more important than what happens on the pitch. The football team is treated like a promotional tool of the Manchester United advertising sales business. Appointing Mourinho is firmly putting the team before image for once and I'm very relieved the club have finally taken a step in that direction again.

Sorry but anyone more concerned about negative publicity Mourinho might generate rather than the results and style of football he'll bring well they really would be better off supporting a boyband in my opinion.

• Time to get my Photoshop on this evening
    New tractor incoming

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,291 ✭✭✭fatherted1969

Have to say I was on the fence with Mourinho. Couldn't stand his attitude at Chelsea so I'm not going to start liking him now cos he's about to be appointed. I have to say though that all these opposition fans coming on here hating are certainly making me warm a little towards him. Kinda reminds me of the fergie hate.

Going to be a mental couple of weeks before the Euros. Can see us getting all our business done before then

Yeah me too, I was just a kid and I was so devastated. He was my always my favourite. I had Cantona 7 on the back of every Utd jersey I had too. I'm glad he retired as I couldn't have stomached him playing for a PL rival. He's still cool now with his epic beard!

It's a pity we didn't win Champions League with him.

I watched an interview with him after the Cup Final on Saturday when MUTV was free to view,and he is still a cool dude.He doesnt have many regrets,particularly about the kung fu attack at Selhurst!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,820 ✭✭✭grames_bond

I still haven't seen a picture of the cup with the lid back on it! it seems lost for the ages!

M!Ck^ wrote: »
    Time to get my Photoshop on this evening
    New tractor incoming

386772.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,389 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

They could at least safeguard against it with punitive non-disclosure clauses.

I'll miss LVG. The football mightn't have been vintage, but he has put his faith in the youth (by thinning the squad of unnecessary numbers; I know people quibble about whether this was design or luck and I believe it was design), he brought us to an FA Cup and has been totally likeable. Jose's not even announced and I dislike the fact that he's going to be in charge. He's an impossible character to admire, for whom I have zero respect despite his achievements.

I realise that for most people, that doesn't matter a damn. They want trophies. Fine. I'm sure he'll deliver. But it won't be pretty, it won't be swashbuckling, it won't be sustainable and it won't be admirable. I think that we are about to enter a period where I won't like the team I've supported since I was 4.

Most people here seem to disagree with me, but I think this is such a shame.

I think he lost the run of himself a bit at Chelsea last season, took his deflection of the team's performances too far but I think at heart he isn't as bad as people make out. I think his time in Madrid messed with him. Not winning for someone like him can seem to drive him nuts but he is very good at getting the players on his side and playing as a unit. Something that's not really happened since the Keane days.

I wouldn't be Jose's biggest fan, but he is a winner. Top sports teams need winning coaches. Greg Popovich, Bill Belichick, Fergie himself, hardly all bastions of good morality but will use everything in their power to win. That's what Jose is. A lot of people are very melodramatic about things in football just to find something to be offended by and a lot of why people have turned on Jose is that imo. Managers of big businesses are abrasive and act like brats a lot of the time. It is how it is, Pep has done a lot of things as bad as Jose and doesn't get half of the heat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

I still haven't seen a picture of the cup with the lid back on it! it seems lost for the ages!

It went for a hop when Rooney and Carrick lifted it. I saw Rojo pick it up on the way back down the steps, somebody earlier in the thread posted a pic of it in Martial's hand when celebrating afterwards on the pitch.

I'd say it was fairly banged up after the fall so it's probably being repaired so it can be displayed at OT.

I wonder if his last season with Chelsea might be a good thing for us, in a way. The man is going to be very motivated to prove that was a once-off blip, not a new norm. He's going to want to win again, and win quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,710 ✭✭✭54and56

Liam O wrote: »
    Pep has done a lot of things as bad as Jose and doesn't get half of the heat.

Like what? Anything close to the way he treated Eva Carneiro or when he poked Tito Vilanova in the eye?

Can you substantiate what you have asserted?

I think Mourinho is a talented and driven manager but I think his charisma and leadership style has become cynical and domineering over the last few years resulting in an increasing number of alienated players and staff which eventually gets to the point where he either sees the writing on the wall and walks out or is fired.

It will be interesting to see if he can work his magic for a year or two before it implodes again. It's hardly co-incidence that he never seems to stay anywhere for very long.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

I'm so torn. Despite how much disdain I have for Mourinho, I am finding it immensely satisfying how riled up opposition fans are getting before he's even put pen to paper.

It's hardly co-incidence that he never seems to stay anywhere for very long.

Yeah, unlike all those other Real Madrid and Chelsea managers :P

Anyway, update via Sky, taken from Reddit.

MOURINHO NOT CONCERNED WITH MONEY
    Here's the latest from Sky Sports News HQ's Andy Burton...

It was expected that Mourinho’s agent Jorge Mendes and Ed Woodward would meet in London today to discuss a deal in person, but Sky sources have confirmed the pair are already close to reaching an agreement after negotiations via phone and email last night extended into this morning.

Manchester United’s lawyers have now been instructed to draw up a draft contract, meaning today’s scheduled talks between Woodward and Mendes in London may not be needed after all. Sources close to the deal have told us the negotiations were “easy”, mainly due to Mourinho’s overwhelming desire to become Manchester United manager, and they expect a deal to be signed in the next 48 hours.

Sky Sports News HQ has been told that the financial elements of the deal are not something Mourinho is overly concerned with, and that his motivation is the challenge of restoring Manchester United to the position of Europe’s top club.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46,382 ✭✭✭✭Mitch Connor

On the Eva Carneiro thing..... I have always wondered if he had called a male member of staff a 'son of a b1tch', would it have caused anywhere near the amount of problems calling her 'daughter of a whore' - is there a massive difference in the meaning of the two curses? We see footballers call other footballers, and the refs, similar every week and it isn't used as a reason to never play them again.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

redzerdrog wrote: »
    Utd just sacked a manager who won a trophy playing negative football yet are about to appoint a manager who's whole career is built on negative football, I am confused about why ye are so happy with this when a huge part of the reason ye wanted LVG gone was because of the football being played.

Will ye accept Jose's brand of defensive football if it gets Champions League? If so I presume ye would have been happy to keep LVG had he delivered Champions league football?

This negative football narrative is wrong, purely and simply wrong.

From yesterdays article on the SS app.

In Jose's first season at Chelsea they scored 14 more goals than United scoring 4 or more against 6 different teams.

Similar in the second season.

His Porto team outscored everyone in the league in both years.

As did his Inter team in Serie A.

In his 3 years at Madrid, over all they scored 326 vs 324 goals over the greatest club team ever seen, with the greatest player ever seen.

121 goals in La Liga is also a record haul that AFAIK has yet to be beaten.

Yes, he parked the bus when the need dictated, as did Fergie, but that's what a good manager does, you alter the tactics as the opponent dictates.

People can dislike him because of his off field antics but to use his style of play as a stick to beat him with is just silly.

Yeah - its so annoying seeing people use that rationale, imo.

Should ahve gone for Pep - who has categorically stated he doesn't want to be at a club more than 3 years. Or we should have gone for Pochetino - who if we had got him this summer would have had a terrible track record for staying at clubs for any length of time.

Who was that Everton manager who was there an age - we should ask him to manage the club...:rolleyes: Is Dario Gradi interested in getting back into football? Could we tempt Wenger?

Longevity will only come from success, not from a track record of just sticking around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I can't wait. I think so many people have inaccurate views on Mourinho, on his style of play, on his character and on his potential to stay long term so I really hope he shows them all up.

Of course we could score 200 goals next year and the same people will still bleat on about defensive Mourinho, but that will always happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

Like what? Anything close to the way he treated Eva Carneiro or when he poked Tito Vilanova in the eye?

Being a drugs cheat would be up there?
    Publicly humiliating his medical staff and blaming them for his failings (to the point they all actually quit)

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,217 ✭✭✭✭StringerBell

I'm so torn. Despite how much disdain I have for Mourinho, I am finding it immensely satisfying how riled up opposition fans are getting before he's even put pen to paper.

I feel this way too, I come down on the Bobby Charlton side of things with Mourinho but the effect it is having on opposing fans is making it a lot easier for me to accept :)

"People say ‘go with the flow’ but do you know what goes with the flow? Dead fish."

T
    Yes, he parked the bus when the need dictated, as did Fergie, but that's what a good manager does, you alter the tactics as the opponent dictates.

People can dislike him because of his off field antics but to use his style of play as a stick to beat him with is just silly.

Read a good quote from Mourinho when asked about what his style is - his answer was basically its a stupid question.

Who are his players, where are they playing, who is available, who are they playing against, what is the context of the match etc.

I've no problem with defensive football when the situation calls for it - such as Barcelona in 08 (you'll never see as defensive a performance as United put in, and it was GREAT) - my problem with LVG was he played cautiously in basically every game.

Anyway, update via Sky, taken from Reddit.

MOURINHO NOT CONCERNED WITH MONEY
    Here's the latest from Sky Sports News HQ's Andy Burton...

It was expected that Mourinho’s agent Jorge Mendes and Ed Woodward would meet in London today to discuss a deal in person, but Sky sources have confirmed the pair are already close to reaching an agreement after negotiations via phone and email last night extended into this morning.

Manchester United’s lawyers have now been instructed to draw up a draft contract, meaning today’s scheduled talks between Woodward and Mendes in London may not be needed after all. Sources close to the deal have told us the negotiations were “easy”, mainly due to Mourinho’s overwhelming desire to become Manchester United manager, and they expect a deal to be signed in the next 48 hours.

Sky Sports News HQ has been told that the financial elements of the deal are not something Mourinho is overly concerned with, and that his motivation is the challenge of restoring Manchester United to the position of Europe’s top club.

i always find stuff like that funny, i mean there is talk he will earn £15m, per season, almost 300k per week, if he is not overly concerned with the money, why not offer him a £5m a year contract see how he feels then..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,389 ✭✭✭✭Liam O

Can you substantiate what you have asserted?

I think Mourinho is a talented and driven manager but I think his charisma and leadership style has become cynical and domineering over the last few years resulting in an increasing number of alienated players and staff which eventually gets to the point where he either sees the writing on the wall and walks out or is fired.

It will be interesting to see if he can work his magic for a year or two before it implodes again. It's hardly co-incidence that he never seems to stay anywhere for very long.

You're right, Pep has no history with doctors...

He throws tantrums when he loses which I don't hold against him as such but for all the talk about class in here the last few pages Pep's teams have shown very little class when they've lost.

Jose didn't stay at Inter longer because Madrid came in for him. No Manager lasts more than 3 years at Madrid. Same with Chelsea really. He won things during his time at those teams despite some great teams in his way. His contract at United is 3 years by all accounts but even now United's last 2 managers have lasted 1 and 2 years respectively. Not sticking around is something Pep has done too so not sure why it's a negative.

Jose is far from perfect but I think people make too much of his actions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

I'm not worried about Jose style of play the park the bus stuff is blown out of proportion. He really only does it aginist the bigger teams. I do hate when he criticises other managers who do it to him. United haven't had a good style of play in years.

I'd be more worried about him blowing up like at chelsea or his disgusting behaviour at madrid. then his treatment of players can be very like van gaal at times.

I think he actually very like van Gaal who resticted players going forward.

Being a drugs cheat would be up there?
    Publicly humiliating his medical staff and blaming them for his failings (to the point they all actually quit)

i think he is still on drugs..

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QIieXhN7aeg

bangkok wrote: »
    i always find stuff like that funny, i mean there is talk he will earn £15m, per season, almost 300k per week, if he is not overly concerned with the money, why not offer him a £5m a year contract see how he feels then..

It pretty obviously means that he'd rather just get the deal signed than sit down and negotiate for days to hammer out an extra few percent, not that he'd be happy to do the job for a bargain basement price.

When people tell you that Jose doesn't do long term just ask them how long their last 2 or 3 managers stuck around for.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭jpboard1

On the Eva Carneiro thing..... I have always wondered if he had called a male member of staff a 'son of a b1tch', would it have caused anywhere near the amount of problems calling her 'daughter of a whore' - is there a massive difference in the meaning of the two curses? We see footballers call other footballers, and the refs, similar every week and it isn't used as a reason to never play them again.

Wow. So it was her fault because she's a woman. Classy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,768 ✭✭✭raze_them_all_

bangkok wrote: »

The same reason we don't pay lads 30 k a week, you pay people what they are worth

I hope Mourinho avoids controversy at Utd but if it finds him them he needs to up his game, none of this childish or nasty stuff like poking people in the eye or shouting abuse at good looking physios. He needs to be aiming at higher standard of controversy like punching a pitch invader on tv or injuring one of your own players by kicking a boot across the dressing room stuff that appeals to the machismo of overweight coach potato football fans. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,710 ✭✭✭54and56

Longevity will only come from success, not from a track record of just sticking around.

Winning the League and CL double with Inter didn't seem to generate much longevity. What level of success will generate longevity for him at Utd?

Win the league and a cup every other year, progress to the late stages of the CL regularly, win it occasionally. You know, the usual United stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,844 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

I think Mourinho is smart enough to up his game at OT.

He know's this is the biggest club in England if not the world, and arguably a bigger name than Real Madrid. With Fergie being long at the reigns he'll know he'll need to be stern, PC and respectful with next to no antics or childish remarks or incidents. He know's his every move will be scrutinized and analyzed. The rival "fans" are already on the attack and he hasn't even began to discuss terms yet.

If it is him who will be the next United manager, he has a chance now at United to grow up even more and make a name for himself in a positive life in many regards.

Marca journalist:

https://twitter.com/marcoslopez/status/735042992814338049

Mourinho has just signed his contract with United. Rui Faria will be his assistant. Ryan Giggs' role is yet to be agreed.
    #
    Would imagine its jumping the gun to look in the know, but still. Exciting times.