Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Teaching cert

Options
  • 10-05-2016 11:37am
    Registered Users Posts: 8

Hi All,

Quick question, I am currently thinking about applying to the Teachers Council of Ireland to register as a teacher. The reason I am doing this is so I can, hopefully, provide workshops to secondary schools on issues related to human rights and international development. I have a BSc in international development and LLM (masters) in international human rights law. I've been told it is good to have the cert? Can some teachers/educators advice on this? Do I even have the correct qualifications? I have taught evening classes in adult education at 3rd level, also tutored at 3rd level.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2,134 ✭✭✭mtoutlemonde

Howtodo? wrote: »
    Hi All,

Quick question, I am currently thinking about applying to the Teachers Council of Ireland to register as a teacher. The reason I am doing this is so I can, hopefully, provide workshops to secondary schools on issues related to human rights and international development. I have a BSc in international development and LLM (masters) in international human rights law. I've been told it is good to have the cert? Can some teachers/educators advice on this? Do I even have the correct qualifications? I have taught evening classes in adult education at 3rd level, also tutored at 3rd level.

You have to have a teaching qualification which is the PME.

Be aware that Garda Vetting has changed so you need to have that in order.

Is there much of a niche for your talks? Would students have to pay for them?