Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cycling While Pregnant

Options
  • 11-05-2016 2:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 25

Hi there,

I'm a complete newbie to posting on Boards. I've been reading this forum for ages but never posted on it and I'm hoping for some advise please.

I've been cycling a round trip of 30KM for the past 3 years and it's the only form of exercise that I actually enjoy. I cycle regardless of the weather, so all year round, and I don't think I could ever drive into work again as I just find it too depressing.

It takes me approx 40 minutes on a average day to get into work through Dublin City Centre (15KM) and on a good day 35 minutes. But if needs be I could take it easier and maybe stretch it out to 50 minutes.

I have a 4 year old son and just found out today that I'm pregnant with our second (6 weeks - YAY!!).

I really don't want to stop cycling and would be absolutely heart broken if I had to stop. i know eventually I'll get too big and I'll have to stop but I would like to cycle upto about 7 months. I absolutely hate the thought of people staring at me judging me - most motorists dislike cyclists anyway, but I think if they seen a pregnant cyclist they would think I was being irresponsible - am I being irresponsible??

Has anyone any advise that they can tell me about this. I've done a lot of reading about this and its not advisable to cycle while pregnant. Some of the articles really scared me but I thought that I would be fine since I have been doing this for so long now... but now I don't know. Can anyone please help?