Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Responsive wordpress question

Options
  • 11-05-2016 6:58pm
    Registered Users Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭

Hi guys, looking for a little help, a friend has asked me to take a look at a site that was built for him 3 or 4 years ago, It was built with wordpress and the actual site itself is decent enough, however its not responsive and thats started to cause one or two issues for him.
    He wants to keep content and layout as it is but wants it responsive, is it better to recreate the whole site from scratch with a responsive theme or use one of the many plugins (which I have zero experience with) I see advertised.
    Any opinions most welcome!

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 7,739 ✭✭✭mneylon

I'm not aware of any plugins that would make a theme "responsive", though there are plugins that can render a "mobile friendly" version of a site when accessed from a mobile device.

You might be better off finding a more current theme that is responsive and rebuilding the site's layout using it.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,451 ✭✭✭wonga77

Thanks for the reply, I was thinking of something like jetpack or WPtouch Mobile Plugin but as you say they will only make it mobile friendly and not actually fully responsive which is what he's after. Rebuilding it from scratch is probably the best option moving forward I guess

If it was built on something like a themeforest theme, it may be that you can just update the theme and add responsive functionality that way.