Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭yellowcandle

I think it's going to be hilarious to see Trump win. He'll have no real power & will show the world exactly what the majority of Americans are like. I enjoy his potty mouth & blatant ignorance. I also enjoy reading the Lefty panic and outrage posts. I must be a bit of a freak.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,806 ✭✭✭take everything

Fleawuss wrote: »
    I see questions about Trump's mental health are surfacing even among Repiblicans. "Unhinged" seems the most charitable description. Personally I think he's barking.

I can only imagine what the likes of McCain is thinking when he comes out with the stuff about the Khans and their son. McCain has endorsed him (reluctantly) but it must be excruciating cognitive dissonance

• Registered Users Posts: 11,146 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

I think it's going to be hilarious to see Trump win. He'll have no real power & will show the world exactly what the majority of Americans are like. I enjoy his potty mouth & blatant ignorance. I also enjoy reading the Lefty panic and outrage posts. I must be a bit of a freak.

Ironic that you mock his ignorance when you come out with an incredibly ignorant statement that you believe that as President he'd have no real power.

• Registered Users Posts: 98 ✭✭yellowcandle

Foxtrol wrote: »
    Ironic that you mock his ignorance when you come out with an incredibly ignorant statement that you believe that as President he'd have no real power.

You think he's going to push the button?

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

The laws of physics, time and space mean his stupid wall won't be built.
    His banning Muslims idea is unworkable and against the US constitution.
    His killing the wives and children of terrorists idea is also illegal.

Lots of his main claims of what he will do are clearly impossible and lies. Or maybe he believes he can do them and doesn't understand the issues.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

You reckon Obama - a man making 400 thousand a year - holds much sway over people who make 400 million? :D

You think he's going to push the button?

It’s not just about the button (though I wouldn’t rule that out), the US has a massive influence on world politics and the global economy. Both of those rely on some sense of stability which Trump is the opposite of, something he actually sees as a positive trait.

A Trump election alone would cause markets to tank in a way that would dwarf post-Brexit, and that’s before his first day.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Is or is not the US up sh*t creek though?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭LorMal

Very interesting US political analyst on Marion Finicaines show recently. When he was allowed to speak (she is beyond useless as an interviewer) he made the point that Hillary is failing to get her policies across because they are too complex and too nuanced.

I cannot tell you one Hillary policy and I read a lot on US politics. Trump is a madman but at least we know his policies ( in soundbites) - build a wall, stop the trade deals, stop China, destroy ISIS, forget the environment, support the coal industry, bring back jobs to the US, deport all illegals etc.

She needs to start communicating her position - what is it? Steady as it goes won't cut it.
    I am worried.

Credit goes to a travelling acquaintance of mine..
    https://www.facebook.com/libtardmedia/videos/1680371675513516/

• Registered Users Posts: 8,939 ✭✭✭20Cent

Credit goes to a travelling acquaintance of mine..
    https://www.facebook.com/libtardmedia/videos/1680371675513516/

Jaysus those videos wreak my head. Reasons not to vote for Hillary and then list a whole load of things that trump is for!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

There's not enough stupid people in America to see him over the line....especially if he alienates minoritys (surly???)

I wouldn't be so sure. Firstly, American voters are very loyal. Republican voters will vote for him or anyone Republican candidate ahead of most Democrats, including Hillary. In agreement with LorMal's post, Hillary has failed to provide people with a clear picture regarding her policies. Republicans have decided that she is some ultra-liberal nut, who wants to carry on implementing the dangerous socialist policies that Obama has introduced, as a result. Where does she stand on Obamacare, for example? Whilst we might not agree with Trump's opinions and vision, we all know where he stands on health, the military etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,972 ✭✭✭captbarnacles

20Cent wrote: »
    Jaysus those videos wreak my head. Reasons not to vote for Hillary and then list a whole load of things that trump is for!

The imbeciles in the comments are worse

• Registered Users Posts: 6,894 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Sometimes when you tell people they are stupid then they don't vote the way that you want them to....

Just watching another condescending speech from Obama there.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,137 ✭✭✭323

Yawn. Anything to say about his competency for the role? This is a guy who started a mortgage company in 2006.

True.
    But the reelected of the present guy, showed that competence for the role is irrelevant.

“Follow the trend lines, not the headlines,”

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,768 ✭✭✭✭tomwaterford

Berserker wrote: »
    I wouldn't be so sure. Firstly, American voters are very loyal. Republican voters will vote for him or anyone Republican candidate ahead of most Democrats, including Hillary. In agreement with LorMal's post, Hillary has failed to provide people with a clear picture regarding her policies. Republicans have decided that she is some ultra-liberal nut, who wants to carry on implementing the dangerous socialist policies that Obama has introduced, as a result. Where does she stand on Obamacare, for example? Whilst we might not agree with Trump's opinions and vision, we all know where he stands on health, the military etc.

But is there enough of a conservative vote for him to win
    .if he keeps alienating minoritys and military families...
    What kinda votes deos he get among young.....though I couldn't imagine Clinton doing well either

She's just deosnt seem likable and very kinda forced craic/atmosphere from her speeches.

...I dont mean to sound sexist.....but bill Clinton was twice the politian/comes across more genuine than she is

• Registered Users Posts: 23,736 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

I'm impressed with Trump in recent days. Yes he threw a woman out with a baby at his latest rally BUT he has not called for a single protester to be beaten or killed in his recent rallies.

This is progress.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Trump is self destructing. The Republican convention was a failure, he hardly gained any support from it.
    And he just continues to make a fool of himself every day. Today he further alienated party leadership by refusing to endorse Paul Ryan (leader of house republicans) in his reelection bid. He also lost more female votes (if he had any left) by suggesting women who experience workplace harassment should just quit.
    And he still hasn't backed down from his comments about the dead soldiers parents. That's turning off voters fast. Its also raising questions about how he managed to avoid serving during Vietnam. The state of Georgia has gone from safe republican to being a swing state.
    Two of his top campaign staff quit today, and the new campaign manager is close to quitting. His campaign organisation is floundering.
    There's also more and more talk of trump and narcissistic personality disorder. There can be no denying he exhibits the symptoms. He's only released one medical report which claimed he might be the healthiest candidate to ever run for president. There's talk that he may have written it himself though.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

In terms of Trump's supporters, I am unsure which group actually alarms me more in large numbers.

A) Those that absolutely believe what he says. The guy changes his mind whenever it suits him, creates his own reality whenever it suits him, makes straw men to fight, and spews venomous bile at not only his opponents, but anyone that doesn't worship at the Shrine of Trump. He's also a lousy public speaker and his off-the-cuff comments come across as mostly off-the-wall. He also alienates people faster than the Borg. Not to mention, I've rarely seen anyone manage to so consistently not only say it how it isn't, but brazenly attempt to make reality as he goes along.

B) The ones that want him in to prevent Clinton getting in. These ones I can understand the most. But on thinking about it more, I realised that I'd -heard- an awful lot about how terrible and demonic Clinton is, but I'd actually not seen a great deal of evidence for it. I'd seen some evidence of foolish mistakes (emails), but not criminal ones, and the much-vaunted voted-for-illegal-war, well, so did a lot of other people. On the urging of a Republican president with some very misguided (to put it nicely) information. I'm not exactly on the side of her being squeaky clean and a misrepresented paragon of virtue, but I definitely feel the need to do some more reading about her, because I'm deeply suspicious that the version we're all hearing ad nauseum isn't exactly coming from the best source.

C) The ones that want Trump to get in because he "upsets liberals" and would be entertaining.

No, it's C. Of these people, I can only ask, -are they fcuking insane-?

• Registered Users Posts: 20,325 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

We need to see how his polls go over the next few weeks. All this talk of the military families costing him votes is just speculation. It could dip his polls by a couple if percent for a week and then back to normal.

He polls surprisingly well with married women near 50% when I last read a few weeks ago. Single women support is low though

• Registered Users Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭Potatoeman

We need to see how his polskis go over the next few weeks. All this talk of the military families costing him votes is just speculation. It could dip his polls by a couple if percent for a week and then back to normal.

He polls surprisingly well with married women near 50% when I last read a few weeks ago. Single women support is low though

That's always the case with the Republican/Democrat parties. Democrats are in favour of expanding social benefits where Republicans want to cut them. It comes down to who is paying for these benefits. A married woman in a duel income household simply pays more taxes where a single mother is far more likely to be dependant on welfare. People are just voting in their own best interest.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,447 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

InTheTrees wrote: »
    Trump is self destructing. The Republican convention was a failure, he hardly gained any support from it.
    And he just continues to make a fool of himself every day. Today he further alienated party leadership by refusing to endorse Paul Ryan (leader of house republicans) in his reelection bid. He also lost more female votes (if he had any left) by suggesting women who experience workplace harassment should just quit.
    And he still hasn't backed down from his comments about the dead soldiers parents. That's turning off voters fast. Its also raising questions about how he managed to avoid serving during Vietnam. The state of Georgia has gone from safe republican to being a swing state.
    Two of his top campaign staff quit today, and the new campaign manager is close to quitting. His campaign organisation is floundering.
    There's also more and more talk of trump and narcissistic personality disorder. There can be no denying he exhibits the symptoms. He's only released one medical report which claimed he might be the healthiest candidate to ever run for president. There's talk that he may have written it himself though.

with those tiny little hands of his? i dont think so.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,339 ✭✭✭✭jimmycrackcorm

I watched a YouTube video of trump on politics over the years. I began to see the attraction to republicans for his views and what he was saying.

But then it came to a point where he was saying that 5 billion was spent on the Obamacare website that didn't work but he has thousands of websites and they only cost three dollars....

• Registered Users Posts: 20,325 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I might have been underestimating the impact of the things he has said in the last few days. Apparently a Republican donor has endorsed Hillary. Meg Whitman is her name. Story on BBC news.

Hillary might get to live her childhood dream of being elected as a Republican president!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Heard a prominent Republican politician jumped ship as well. Couldn't tell you who though, I saw it mentioned briefly in an article last night.

Samaris wrote: »
    In terms of Trump's supporters, I am unsure which group actually alarms me more in large numbers.

A) Those that absolutely believe what he says. The guy changes his mind whenever it suits him, creates his own reality whenever it suits him, makes straw men to fight, and spews venomous bile at not only his opponents, but anyone that doesn't worship at the Shrine of Trump. He's also a lousy public speaker and his off-the-cuff comments come across as mostly off-the-wall. He also alienates people faster than the Borg. Not to mention, I've rarely seen anyone manage to so consistently not only say it how it isn't, but brazenly attempt to make reality as he goes along.

B) The ones that want him in to prevent Clinton getting in. These ones I can understand the most. But on thinking about it more, I realised that I'd -heard- an awful lot about how terrible and demonic Clinton is, but I'd actually not seen a great deal of evidence for it. I'd seen some evidence of foolish mistakes (emails), but not criminal ones, and the much-vaunted voted-for-illegal-war, well, so did a lot of other people. On the urging of a Republican president with some very misguided (to put it nicely) information. I'm not exactly on the side of her being squeaky clean and a misrepresented paragon of virtue, but I definitely feel the need to do some more reading about her, because I'm deeply suspicious that the version we're all hearing ad nauseum isn't exactly coming from the best source.

C) The ones that want Trump to get in because he "upsets liberals" and would be entertaining.

No, it's C. Of these people, I can only ask, -are they fcuking insane-?

Garçon!

I'll take a lot of B with a reasonable side of C and a barest little sprinkling of A.

But mostly B, because there's ten times the shoite on the Clintons that there is on the big mouth. As for C, well the world is going to hell in a handbasket. Fractional Reserve Banking only gets you to the point where people want their money back, and brother those callers are on the line... Who am I not to laugh at people being perpetually offended on behalf of people who'd like to see them dead? :D

• Registered Users Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

with those tiny little hands of his? i dont think so.

It was probably "Meredith Mciver"

Potatoeman wrote: »
    That's always the case with the Republican/Democrat parties. Democrats are in favour of expanding social benefits where Republicans want to cut them. It comes down to who is paying for these benefits. A married woman in a duel income household simply pays more taxes where a single mother is far more likely to be dependant on welfare. People are just voting in their own best interest.

This might be true but you’re only looking at one of many issues that could play into those results.

Single women would care more about reproductive rights than married women so wouldn’t support Trump, married women are more likely to have families so his ‘law and order candidate’ message could appeal to them, single women would tend to have a higher percentage that are college educated who Trump is struggling with more than any republican candidate in recent history, and tend to have a higher percentage in black and, to a lesser extent, Hispanic communities who Trump has been attacking.

So apparently Trump had a briefing with a foreign affairs/military expert and in that hour period asked about nuclear weapons three times including the question ‘If we have them, why don’t we use them more often…’

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,875 ✭✭✭A Little Pony

Well it would have sorted the Syrian conflict.