Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

osarusan wrote: »
    Not that I have much sympathy for them, but republicans who know how an election campaign should be run must be tearing their hair out.

The books should be entertaining at least.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,588 ✭✭✭✭Sand

This reshuffle is surely last chance saloon for Trump. He needs to run a flawless campaign for the next 3 months. Stick solidly to a centrist/right message from the teleprompter with no gaffes.

Personally I don't think he's capable of the above for more than 2 or 3 days but we'll see.

Apparently Bannon is an abrasive hothead so i'm expecting fireworks at some point.

Trump has made it very clear he has no intention of 'pivoting' away from his circus act that won him the Republican primaries. He's quoted recently as as saying he is not going to 'pivot'.

There is definitely a struggle going on in the Trump campaign between the Republicans who know how to win an election, and Trump himself, who clearly does not. The things that do not make sense to us or seem inexplicable, are perfectly understandable if we allow for Trumps world view which is that of a narcissistic crazy person.

His appointment of more crazy people to 'advise' him is likely him rejecting the 'pivot' and doubling down on crazy. From his perspective he tried to pivot, and his polling collapsed. He doesn't see or recognise the crazy and despicable things he did or said as the cause. That would require a level of perspective and self criticism a narcissist simply does not possess. He has to blame someone else, and hes blaming the Republicans who tried to moderate him and failed. From his perspective its not encouragement of foreign hackers, the sneering at the families of dead US soldiers or the 'Will someone not rid me of this troublesome Clinton?' public queries, its the attempt to pivot in the first place.

The Republicans really, really, really need to learn lessons from this whole debacle. They have posed as the party of guerilla anti-government for at least the past decade. They have to recognise that playing with lunatics and lunacy does not serve them - they are merely playing at it for short term advantage, whilst lunatics like Trump will always beat them on those terms because they genuinely believe in the lunacy. Hopefully the Republicans begin to reform and excise the cancer from their base and primaries, because they have selected the only human being less popular than Hilary Clinton as their nominee. That is a primary process not fit for purpose. It requires root and branch reform because whilst Trump will be finished after November, his vocal, fanatical base will not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Sand wrote: »
    Trump has made it very clear he has no intention of 'pivoting' away from his circus act that won him the Republican primaries. He's quoted recently as as saying he is not going to 'pivot'.

There is definitely a struggle going on in the Trump campaign between the Republicans who know how to win an election, and Trump himself, who clearly does not. The things that do not make sense to us or seem inexplicable, are perfectly understandable if we allow for Trumps world view which is that of a narcissistic crazy person.

His appointment of more crazy people to 'advise' him is likely him rejecting the 'pivot' and doubling down on crazy. From his perspective he tried to pivot, and his polling collapsed. He doesn't see or recognise the crazy and despicable things he did or said as the cause. That would require a level of perspective and self criticism a narcissist simply does not possess. He has to blame someone else, and hes blaming the Republicans who tried to moderate him and failed. From his perspective its not encouragement of foreign hackers, the sneering at the families of dead US soldiers or the 'Will someone not rid me of this troublesome Clinton?' public queries, its the attempt to pivot in the first place.

The Republicans really, really, really need to learn lessons from this whole debacle. They have posed as the party of guerilla anti-government for at least the past decade. They have to recognise that playing with lunatics and lunacy does not serve them - they are merely playing at it for short term advantage, whilst lunatics like Trump will always beat them on those terms because they genuinely believe in the lunacy. Hopefully the Republicans begin to reform and excise the cancer from their base and primaries, because they have selected the only human being less popular than Hilary Clinton as their nominee. That is a primary process not fit for purpose. It requires root and branch reform because whilst Trump will be finished after November, his vocal, fanatical base will not.

Lets hope Hillary will distance herself from vile Jihadists.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,747 ✭✭✭✭wes

KingBrian2 wrote: »

At least she isn't using there propaganda like, when Trump uses stuff from his biggest fan, Former KKK Grand Wizard David Duke............

• Registered Users Posts: 3,430 ✭✭✭lee_baby_simms

Billy86 wrote: »
    Trump doesn't want to be elected but is there to sow the seeds of discontent as much as possible. Anyone want to think why that might be?

Trump News - Telling it like it is 24/7

More to the point, lets hope those who support Trump through choice rather than desperation gain enough perspective to grasp that Clinton is not in league with 'vile Jihadists'.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

So now that we've established that Trump's team is littered with Putin's buddies, that he has called for Russia to hack the US government, that he has been funded by the Saudi's, and that he is currently for raping a child, as well as being set to go to trial (later this year I believe) for defrauding thousands of member of the American public of millions and millions of dollars... what does anyone reckon the next accusation of Clinton will be?

Because they've given up on defending him almost entirely at this point, and even when they try it's just complaining how mean the media are for repeating what Trump said. It's clear we're pretty much exclusively in reflexive, defensive attempts and deflecting attention away from anything Trump. Because even they know they cannot defend someone openly calling for treason, accepting the Saudi money they claim to hate so much, who may well have raped an innocent child and threatened to kill them if they told, and who may well have defrauded innocent American public of millions of dollars with his Trump University scam.

Let's just change the campaign slogan... Make America Russian Again!

wes wrote: »
    At least she isn't using there propaganda like, when Trump uses stuff from his biggest fan, Former KKK Grand Wizard David Duke............
    Nah don't worry, Brian knows full well that Trump has taken money from the Saudi's. Brian just doesn't care because Donald Trump.

Many of the flagrantly biased posters on here are thrilled that Clinton will get elected so that America can resume a very positive and profitable relationship with Saudi Arabia a country that treats it's citizens far worse than a GOP Presidential Candidate can do.

That reply is exactly what Sand is on about!

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

https://twitter.com/Alwaleed_Talal/status/692790423010566144?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw

Something the bitter Trump fans among us would do well to remember.

Many of the flagrantly biased posters on here are thrilled that Clinton will get elected so that America can resume a very positive and profitable relationship with Saudi Arabia a country that treats it's citizens far worse than a GOP Presidential Candidate can do.

Trump's foreign policy is that he'll have to do deals with countries America doesn't really like.

Like a lot of Trump supporters you aren't really for Donald, you just hate Clinton, the left, socialists etc.

K-9 wrote: »
    Trump's foreign policy is that he'll have to do deals with countries America doesn't really like.

Like a lot of Trump supporters you aren't really for Donald, you just hate Clinton, the left, socialists etc.

Yep, I think Trump draws support from two deep wells. One are the desperate people and communities who had their sense of themselves cut away by the flight of low skilled manufacturing from small and middling US towns and cities in the dismissively titled 'flyover states'. I support free trade as a concept, but there is no denying that there are losers and they have to be accounted for. I have a lot of sympathy for these people - neither the evangelical/pro rich Republicans nor the the coastal elite/hashtag activist Democrats address their primary concern. Trump does - who else are they supposed to vote for as rational people? The market for these people is they do express discomfort and discontent at Trumps character and his outbursts. These people can be reasoned with - either the Democrats or the Republicans could shift their positions to represent their concerns and reap the electoral rewards.

The other batch of Trump supporters are simply those who want to watch the world burn. They loathe Clinton and everything she represents. They actually come from the right and the left in the US - the one thing they share is an alienation from the very concept of compromise, and the 'establishment' which represents it. They would rather the US be turned into a post-nuclear wasteland than be ruled for a single hour by President Hilary Clinton. The love Trump and his outbursts, not because they agree with him (Trump is actually fairly centrist on most of his positions - he has tacked right on social issues in a failed attempt to win over evangelical Republicans) but because he is a hostile force to a nation they despise. These people cannot be reasoned with. The Republicans need to expel the 5th column in their ranks, and the Democrats cant get too complacent given the Bernie Sanders showboating at their convention. Sure, it was small time and controllable, but the Republicans thought the same 20 years ago and look at the monster they have on their hands now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,284 ✭✭✭Decent Skin

Do you always jump to conclusions that people who don't ignore facts and who don't agree with you are biased and easily thrilled ?

As things currently stand Trump is set to lose "big league" but he can walk away relatively unscathed. Yes his reputation or brand has taken a hammering but the day after the election he can go back to building gaudy monstrosities with slave labour.

I'm intrigued to know how Paul Ryan will behave. How he manages the next 90 days or so will determine his political future. I think he'll need to distance himself from Trump before the election to have any chance of holding onto a shred of integrity when the dust settles.

Trump is planning to go out kamikaze style given his reshuffle yesterday. His campaign is far too volatile to just fizzle out.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,804 ✭✭✭✭Penn

I'd say the vast majority of us aren't biased towards Clinton, we're biased against Trump. If Clinton had been beaten by Sanders or anyone else, we'd likely be supporting them too, not Trump.

I'd vote for pretty much anyone over Trump. I'd vote for you over Trump. I'd vote for Grumpy Cat over Trump. I'd vote for JFK's corpse over Trump.

Anti-Trump does not mean Pro-Clinton.

The most impressive thing Trump has achieved during this entire campaign is make Hilary look electable.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,087 ✭✭✭Pro Hoc Vice

It could be Donald's moto "says who"

http://www.dailyedge.ie/cnn-newsreader-2934485-Aug2016/?utm_source=twitter_self

The worst thing is that guy is Trumps lawyer.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,451 ✭✭✭✭ohnonotgmail

The most impressive thing Trump has achieved during this entire campaign is make Hilary look electable.

I'm still not convinced that he isnt in the clintons pocket and this has all been a setup to get hilary elected.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,010 ✭✭✭Christy42

It could be Donald's moto "says who"

http://www.dailyedge.ie/cnn-newsreader-2934485-Aug2016/?utm_source=twitter_self

The worst thing is that guy is Trumps lawyer.

Is this entire campaign one incredible troll?

Is the team in the back egging each other on to say dumber and dumber things?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Mardy Bum

I'm still not convinced that he isnt in the clintons pocket and this has all been a setup to get hilary elected.

Trump doesn't want to win that is for certain

As things currently stand Trump is set to lose "big league" but he can walk away relatively unscathed. Yes his reputation or brand has taken a hammering but the day after the election he can go back to building gaudy monstrosities with slave labour.

I'm intrigued to know how Paul Ryan will behave. How he manages the next 90 days or so will determine his political future. I think he'll need to distance himself from Trump before the election to have any chance of holding onto a shred of integrity when the dust settles.

Trump is planning to go out kamikaze style given his reshuffle yesterday. His campaign is far too volatile to just fizzle out.
    I think Ryan will have the wherewithal to keep the f*** away, though he does have a kind of tricky one as the Congressional elections are also on Nov 8th. To be honest though, I doubt we'll see anyone from the GOP look to 'take on' Trump from this point on - he's not only so far behind that it would take an absurd amount for him to win, but he is doing nothing to help his purpose either. Added to that, his demeanour and (far more importantly) rhetoric means that I think quite a few who have aligned with him have jeoparised their entire political futures in doing so.

Paul Ryan is very smart though, and he's also quite pragmatic and shrewd. I think the 'second amendment guys' and asking Russia to hack the US government put Trump beyond the beyonds in terms of being salvageable, and I doubt anyone else wants to touch him. He's a cancer, at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,804 ✭✭✭✭Penn

https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/766246213079498752

Instant regret among most supporters
    Damaging to international relations
    Bad for the economy
    All-round omnishambles

For once, I don't disagree with him.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭CMOTDibbler

Penn wrote: »
    https://twitter.com/realDonaldTrump/status/766246213079498752

Instant regret among most supporters
    Damaging to international relations
    Bad for the economy
    All-round omnishambles

For once, I don't disagree with him.
    I suppose at a distance on a windy day, he could be mistaken for Boris Johnston. Or when he opens his mouth. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 11,945 ✭✭✭✭PopePalpatine

I suppose at a distance on a windy day, he could be mistaken for Boris Johnston. Or when he opens his mouth. :D

At least Boris doesn't have a reputation for being baited by Tweets. :pac:

K-9 wrote: »

On the contrary Trump is talking about inconvenient truths that Clinton and her supporters chose to ignore or else dismiss out of hand. When President Obama was elected into office he had to deal with debt that was massive long before Bush. Clinton contributed to the rise of that debt and now with the rise of Jihadist movement Hillary Clinton has no measures in dealing with fanatics who despise the LGBT community, executes infidels & smuggling themselves across international borders to carry out atrocities in major cities of the world.

Where do you get your information? Clinton left office with less public debt than when he took office. What policy of Trump will balance the books and reduce public debt?

I really can't take you seriously as you say nothing in your post except broad claims where many things you claim are incorrect. I'm not talking policy I'm talking easily verifiable facts.

http://zfacts.com/p/318.html

Where do you get your information? Clinton left office with less public debt than when he took office. What policy of Trump will balance the books and reduce public debt?

I really can't take you seriously as you say nothing in your post except broad claims where many things you claim are incorrect. I'm not talking policy I'm talking easily verifiable facts.

http://zfacts.com/p/318.html

Clinton should not get off the hook too easy here. Let the record be clear.
    http://www.factcheck.org/2008/02/the-budget-and-deficit-under-clinton/

Clinton should not get off the hook too easy here. Let the record be clear.
    http://www.factcheck.org/2008/02/the-budget-and-deficit-under-clinton/

What are you saying it is clear that during his time the budget was balanced.

"Clinton’s large budget surpluses also owe much to the Social Security tax on payrolls. Social Security taxes now bring in more than the cost of current benefits, and the "Social Security surplus" makes the total deficit or surplus figures look better than they would if Social Security wasn’t counted. But even if we remove Social Security from the equation, there was a surplus of $1.9 billion in fiscal 1999 and $86.4 billion in fiscal 2000. So any way you count it, the federal budget was balanced and the deficit was erased, if only for a while."

What are you saying it is clear that during his time the budget was balanced.

"Clinton’s large budget surpluses also owe much to the Social Security tax on payrolls. Social Security taxes now bring in more than the cost of current benefits, and the "Social Security surplus" makes the total deficit or surplus figures look better than they would if Social Security wasn’t counted. But even if we remove Social Security from the equation, there was a surplus of $1.9 billion in fiscal 1999 and $86.4 billion in fiscal 2000. So any way you count it, the federal budget was balanced and the deficit was erased, if only for a while."

The arguments of the Clinton camp is that she can return America to the years of Bill Clinton which is false. America is in a very different position since then and wisdom since then has been only a Democrat can sort out the economy. None of the Democrats are willing to tackle the big concerns in the country they prefer to sit back and hope the economy will improve. At the moment entire states are facing a growing unemployment crisis. The Dems did nothing for the homeless, nothing for the incoming immigrants and nothing for the disadvantaged areas.