Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Place(s) you would never go back to?

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 283 ✭✭Crazyivan 1979

Shannon, absolutley nothing in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,368 ✭✭✭✭JCX BXC

Shannon, absolutley nothing in it.

Except an airport, so you can get as far away from it as you can.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,706 ✭✭✭sadie06

I found Copenhagen to the be the biggest let down. A very dull (but safe) city where people stare in shock if your child makes a loud noise. I enjoyed my stay to an extent but I wouldn't go back.

Would never go back to Newcastle. Perhaps it has improved in the last decade, but I have never seen so many drunk people behave the way they did in Newcastle, and I haven't lead a sheltered life!

Roscommon town. Got a voucher for a hotel as a gift. Couldn't wait to get out of there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

Someone above hit the nail on the head about going to gaffs that aren't going to suit what they're looking for i.e. a ribald drunken stag night probably isn't going to have the best of times in some outskirt of Paris or someone looking for a pleasant family holiday with small kids isn't going to enjoy the Red Light District in Amsterdam.

That having been said, if leaving Europe people need to be aware that life and the conditions in which it is lived is very, very different from what we're used to. Culture shock is a real thing but it needn't colour you entirely off a place. A place like Morocco often gets a bad rap because people land in Marrakech for two days and expect it to be like an extension of what they're used to because they got a short, cheap flight there. It's a very poor country with unemployment through the roof, and outside the major cities you'll find people who are desperately, living-in-a-shack-on-a-mountain poor. Throwing a load of extremely wealthy tourists (and you are extremely wealthy compared to them) into that mix creates a certain dynamic that you'll have to deal with in any poor country. It isn't nice being viewed as a walking cash machine but from what I've learned in a few countries, most people aren't like this and it's possible to have good experiences as well as bad. I've been shown great kindness and help in many countries, and I've been blackguarded as well. It's a mix.

As for Morocco "not being good for nightlife" - Jesus Christ it's a poor Islamic country in Muslim North Africa so expecting bar crawls akin to Prague or somewhere is just plain thick to be honest. It has a wealth of history, a fascinating story of Jews and Muslims and Berbers, stunning scenery encompassing desert and mountain and the coast and amazing food if you go about it right.

Some people are impossible to please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,092 ✭✭✭catbear

Catbear, probably agree about Rome but I could easily relax there as long as I'm not trying to do anything in particular. Set yourself up for a long few hours on a terrace of a restaurant eating sea food and drinking wine, watching people a lot better looking than you walk by. Not a bother.
    How can anyone with the slightest interest in history relax in Rome?

To quote Byron...
    OH Rome! my country! city of the soul!
    The orphans of the heart must turn to thee,
    Lone mother of dead empires! and control
    In their shut breasts their petty misery.
    What are our woes and sufferance? Come and see
    The cypress, hear the owl, and plod your way
    O’er steps of broken thrones and temples, ye!
    Whose agonies are evils of a day—
    A world is at our feet as fragile as our clay.

To relax in Rome is to be tired of life.

I'll take my beach holiday to relax!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,388 ✭✭✭Cina

Los Angeles was truly awful.

Disneyland was great though.

Moral of the story, go to Disneyland, but avoid driving through L.A. to do so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,576 ✭✭✭Keane2baMused

Puerto Rico, Gran Canaria.

Out of interest, why Nashville? Aside from overpriced accommodation, I thought it was a great city

I'd be interested to know too, I've never been but its a place I really want to go to (the fact I listen to country music etc being one of the reasons).
    Cina wrote: »
    Los Angeles was truly awful.

I hear this a lot about LA and I actually quite liked it for a visit, not a placed I'd like to live but I spent a week in downtown LA attending a conference and quite liked the feel of the place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭conorhal

I'd be interested to know too, I've never been but its a place I really want to go to (the fact I listen to country music etc being one of the reasons).

I hear this a lot about LA and I actually quite liked it for a visit, not a placed I'd like to live but I spent a week in downtown LA attending a conference and quite liked the feel of the place.

One of the problems with LA is that there is no downtown. It's just a dull urban sprawl, one of the few cities in which you could do nothing on new years eve because it has no real central gathering point and thus, as is often commented about the place, no real soul. There are some spots with character like Westwood or Venice, but otherwise it's a hole.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,004 ✭✭✭✭Realt Dearg Sec

catbear wrote: »
    How can anyone with the slightest interest in history relax in Rome?

To quote Byron...

To relax in Rome is to be tired of life.

I'll take my beach holiday to relax!

Remember there's as much history in the wine as there is in the Forum.

Yeah but I can reminisce Rome whenever pop a cork on a classico.

To echo others views Naples sure seemed intimidating although I was only briefly passing through. A lady from Rio told me she found Naples more intimidating than anything at home!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,043 ✭✭✭Wabbit Ears

Naples. dirty smelly kip.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,923 ✭✭✭To Elland Back

Longford. The town, not the county, which is lovely. Was there last week and found it very depressing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,779 ✭✭✭Carawaystick

Rockville.
    Won't waste another year.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,679 ✭✭✭hidinginthebush

Bratislava - Drab city with rude, unfriendly locals. I didn't feel safe anywhere there.There seems to be some sort of mobile phone signal lockout there also so we couldn't ring or text anyone home. There were no public phones anywhere either. Thank God there was Wi-Fi back in the apartment so we could contact someone back home.

Was there only 2 weeks ago and thought it was brilliant! Yes, the local men are quite unfriendly and aggressive, but once you get past that whole Eastern European thing they're grand (but by jaysus the women! :eek:). Probably wouldn't rush back myself as I think we saw it all, and it is certainly worn down in parts, but overall, would recommend it.

For myself, I would never go back to Vegas. Absolute hole of a place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,297 ✭✭✭Ri_Nollaig

Deathwish4 wrote: »
    Paris. Brussels. London. Istanbul. Cork.

So close to not having Cork mentioned on one of these threads by the end of the first page ...so close :(

For myself, I would never go back to Vegas. Absolute hole of a place.
    If you see it once, you'll never be the same again!

Always curious when people say they don't like a place, what places they did like, just to give a bit of context. Some people have listed so many places you'd wonder if they like anywhere beyond the end of their front garden.

The thread is called "place(s) you would never go back to". It's hardly going to get replies like "I loved (insert placename), it was great, people were so friendly, food was to die for, and the sites amazing...... but I would never go back again"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

To echo others views Naples sure seemed intimidating although I was only briefly passing through. A lady from Rio told me she found Naples more intimidating than anything at home!

I spent three days in Naples a couple of years ago and I really enjoyed it. Was pretty cautious having read the scare stories about being pickpocketed the minute you get off the train, but I had no trouble.

I didn't feel at ease there - the narrow, dark side streets, graffiti and scooters zooming up footpaths made me keep my wits about me. But I think that's part of the fun of the place - a bit edgier than Rome, a lot less 'theme park-y' than Florence. It's an experience!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,323 ✭✭✭davo2001

Ho Chi Minh City (Saigon) in Vietnam.

Not that it was a bad place, just really westernized compared to the rest of the beautiful country. If anyone is planning a try to Vietnam, skip this place and spend an extra couple of days somewhere else.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 919 ✭✭✭Joe prim

uch wrote: »
    Barcellona, smelly Kip

Is it anywhere near Barcelona? That's a lovely place, i hear.

The thread is called "place(s) you would never go back to". It's hardly going to get replies like "I loved (insert placename), it was great, people were so friendly, food was to die for, and the sites amazing...... but I would never go back again"

Jesus, sorry! I was just saying it'd be nice for some context to see what places people liked by comparison, no need to jump down my throat about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,059 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

San Francisco is gone downhill (ha ha with all the trams etc.)

Now don't get me wrong, I am delighted I could go there, but never again.

Seedy, lots of panhandlers,(not their fault I know), not much to see and do really apart from Pier whatever it is, and across the Golden Gate Bridge to Carmel and the rest.

OK, I might be wrong, but tell me where I went wrong!

I was only there for three full days before going down South. But still, it really didn't live up to my expectations.

Now that could be me too, I get that!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

True, but I for one am always curious when people say they don't like places like Paris that are generally considered to be amazing (but they're perfectly entitled to their opinion).

I always ask in my head: "Well, where do you like then?" And I always imagine they're from a pokey little nondescript town that they love.

"Jaysus that Paris was no craic at all, that Louvre can't bate Lady's Night in Ringo's in Ballinasloe!" and so on.

True, but I for one am always curious when people say they don't like places like Paris that are generally considered to be amazing (but they're perfectly entitled to their opinion).

I always ask in my head: "Well, where do you like then?" And I always imagine they're from a pokey little nondescript town that they love.

"Jaysus that Paris was no craic at all, that Louvre can't bate Lady's Night in Ringo's in Ballinasloe!" and so on.

In Europe I always go off piste, and follow the natives!

I did this in Nice recently and found some absolutely great restaurants (two choices on the menu or else!) but marvellous grub. The proprietor was on site too, and since I had the cupla focal En Francais, a great night was had by all. Including a Riverdance and a Marsellais. Whoa!

Having a bit of the lingo really helps. Have to say so with a bit of Spanish, French, and smidgeon of German, can get by.

Paris is the same. Stay off the main drag at night. Go to the sights during the day. The architecture is amazing. But it can be a rip off around those areas to eat and drink. We mustn't forget that pub culture is not the same in Paris and other places, the same as it is here. So off piste again and you can find a mad spot!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

Benidorm - great to experience the madness once but never again. Total dump.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭Stig Inge

In Europe I always go off piste, and follow the natives!

I did this in Nice recently and found some absolutely great restaurants (two choices on the menu or else!) but marvellous grub. The proprietor was on site too, and since I had the cupla focal En Francais, a great night was had by all. Including a Riverdance and a Marsellais. Whoa!

Having a bit of the lingo really helps. Have to say so with a bit of Spanish, French, and smidgeon of German, can get by.

Paris is the same. Stay off the main drag at night. Go to the sights during the day. The architecture is amazing. But it can be a rip off around those areas to eat and drink. We mustn't forget that pub culture is not the same in Paris and other places, the same as it is here. So off piste again and you can find a mad spot!
    You so cultured brah

Stig Inge wrote: »
    You so cultured brah

Thank you so much :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

I've been wreaking my brains all day and night and I can't think of a single place where I wouldn't return, and that includes war zones I've served in.

I'm not a great traveler, and I don't get itchy feet often but when I do travel I've enjoyed everywhere.

ok, maybe (if I'm pushed for an answer) I'd say Finglas south/west and parts (most) of Coolock and all of Tallaght & Clondalkin :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

I love Rome don't like Paris. Mexico City is great, Rio leaves me cold. Berlin is cool Vienna is too perfect for me to really like it. Sometimes is just how place feels, in what mood you are there, who you are with and so on...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,397 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

FTA69 wrote: »
    Someone above hit the nail on the head about going to gaffs that aren't going to suit what they're looking for i.e. a ribald drunken stag night probably isn't going to have the best of times in some outskirt of Paris or someone looking for a pleasant family holiday with small kids isn't going to enjoy the Red Light District in Amsterdam.

That having been said, if leaving Europe people need to be aware that life and the conditions in which it is lived is very, very different from what we're used to. Culture shock is a real thing but it needn't colour you entirely off a place. A place like Morocco often gets a bad rap because people land in Marrakech for two days and expect it to be like an extension of what they're used to because they got a short, cheap flight there. It's a very poor country with unemployment through the roof, and outside the major cities you'll find people who are desperately, living-in-a-shack-on-a-mountain poor. Throwing a load of extremely wealthy tourists (and you are extremely wealthy compared to them) into that mix creates a certain dynamic that you'll have to deal with in any poor country. It isn't nice being viewed as a walking cash machine but from what I've learned in a few countries, most people aren't like this and it's possible to have good experiences as well as bad. I've been shown great kindness and help in many countries, and I've been blackguarded as well. It's a mix.

As for Morocco "not being good for nightlife" - Jesus Christ it's a poor Islamic country in Muslim North Africa so expecting bar crawls akin to Prague or somewhere is just plain thick to be honest. It has a wealth of history, a fascinating story of Jews and Muslims and Berbers, stunning scenery encompassing desert and mountain and the coast and amazing food if you go about it right.

Some people are impossible to please.
    Cracking post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭Stephen15

maudgonner wrote: »
    I spent three days in Naples a couple of years ago and I really enjoyed it. Was pretty cautious having read the scare stories about being pickpocketed the minute you get off the train, but I had no trouble.

I didn't feel at ease there - the narrow, dark side streets, graffiti and scooters zooming up footpaths made me keep my wits about me. But I think that's part of the fun of the place - a bit edgier than Rome, a lot less 'theme park-y' than Florence. It's an experience!

I was in naples there about a month ago. I didn't feel unsafe there once. The pizzas there were exquisite. The metro had lovely artwork especially the toledo stop which surprised me as I was expecting something similar to the rome metro which a different kind of artwork ie graffiti. Even in the side streets I felt very safe. Eating out in italy is generally very cheap compared to ireland if you stay away from the tourist traps napoli was no exception but I had stock up on some lovely italian clothes which would cost hundreds in milan but was less than half that price in napoli. Personally I think that napoli is a nicer city than rome as it dosent have hoards of tourists and the place isint complete destroyed by graffiti yes there is some but it seems rome has an unacceptable level of it which destroys the beautiful architecture most of napoli only has about the same level of graffiti as dublin it the newer areas and you don't see graffiti on trains or vans there either only in the Spanish quarter which adds to the ambience in my opinion in italy in general I wouldnt judge an area as dangerous if it was covered in graffiti the it seem more to be done by teenagers who want to mark their love for their girlfriend rather than criminal gangs marking they're territory im pretty sure the camorra have better thing to be doing than spray painting 'ACAB' or whatever the italian equivalent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Again Morocco- felt intimidated , food not great, poor night life
    Manchester- too spread out , very little atmosphere
    Chicago- it's a good city, worth a 2/3 day visit but wouldn't bother returning
    Santa ponsa
    Magaluf-left after a day
    Paris -beautiful city but very unfriendly , very expensive & food not great. Far better cities in France
    Prague- scared me . Beautiful city, fab food I'm just easily freaked out!
    Sydney- no atmosphere, boring !

Chicago is a fantastic city ,mind you I was there mid summer

It's a great city in winter as well. Just need to wrap up, that's all.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

China. The place made my stomach churn multiple times every day that I was there. That was a long time ago though, perhaps it is better now.

When I was in the Forbidden city this family came up to me and motioned with their camera. I thought they wanted me to take a group picture of them. But actually what they wanted was to take a picture WITH me....they had not met too many westerners before. I was delighted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭endabob1

It's a great city in winter as well. Just need to wrap up, that's all.

Fabulous city, was there in November, was cold but not freezing although I know it does get Baltic temperatures.

Great Blues clubs and BBQ joints, a really fantastic art gallery I would go back in the summer to see the lake in sunshine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 147 ✭✭ginger_hammer

Killarney - 95% hammered blokes pissing in alleyways and ragging cars around
    [font=Open Sans, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Paris - got mugged shortly after landing, over in the train station. Overpriced, people view you with disdain.[/font]
    [font=Open Sans, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Cuba - didn't find it at all nostalgic or cool, just poor with very bad food then have Canada's spring break in the resorts, cockroaches everywhere.[/font]

[font=Open Sans, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif]Will never set foot in any of these places again.[/font]

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭JustAThought

Egypt.
    Limerick.
    For much the same reasons.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭Miss Demeanour

Jersey.....
    If I was offered an all expenses paid trip with 10 grand spending money in the back pocket I would refuse......
    Met some really obnoxious people there.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 62 ✭✭Riders Of Rohan

Tippeary if I could avoid it.....yawn