Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Disappointing Performance Review

Options
  • 15-05-2016 10:07am
    Registered Users Posts: 9

Hi,
    I'm an computer programmer with 20 years experience. I've contracted and been permanent for various phases of my career. 3 years ago I started as an IT contractor with my current employer. A year and a half ago I was asked to take up a permanent role which after consideration I did.
    Last December I had a disappointing performance review. I was told that as I was no longer a contractor but a full time employee I needed to have more "visibility" and "presence" within the team.
    The general point I understand. However, the quality and quantity of my work, to my mind has been very good. Also, a lot of the time, to get projects over the line, I need to focus independently and communicate with other stakeholders when necessary. I've told my manager that I see "visibility" and "presence" as a part of getting the projects done anyway and these should grow as an effect. If I focus on just increasing my "visibility", aren't I taking my eye off the ball in terms of getting projects finished.
    In response to this I was thinking of setting up a technical forum which could meet every 1 or 2 months to discuss technical and project items. This would help improve both my visibility and my team mates and also boost team morale.
    The team is very busy and I really need my manager's backing on this.

Any Ideas?

I really enjoy the technical aspects of this job, but this review has disappointed me.
    Since December I believe my quality/quantity of work has got even better.