Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Europa League Final: Liverpool vs Sevilla; Wednesday 19:45; Setanta Ireland / TV3 /BT

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

I hope the occasion doesn't get to some of the players. It obviously isn't the CL final, but it is the biggest cup final most of our players have been in (Moreno was in it before). Hopefully they can just play the game they want to play.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,144 ✭✭✭Augme

5starpool wrote: »
    I hope the occasion doesn't get to some of the players. It obviously isn't the CL final, but it is the biggest cup final most of our players have been in (Moreno was in it before). Hopefully they can just play the game they want to play.

While obviously not on the same scale, it was great that they had the Carling Cup final this season so that might hopefully make the occasion a bit easier for them. Just need a different outcome this time!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,294 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

8-10 wrote: »
    First 2 are definitely out I thought? Knee injuries?

From the UEFA Website

Possible lineups
    Liverpool: Mignolet; Clyne, Lovren, Touré, Moreno; Lallana, Can, Milner; Firmino, Sturridge, Coutinho.
    Out: Rossiter (hamstring), Gomez (knee), Sakho (suspended)
    Doubtful: Origi (ankle/foot)

Sevilla: David Soria; Mariano, Rami, Carriço, Escudero; Krychowiak, N'Zonzi; Coke, Banega, Vitolo; Gameiro.
    Out: Krohn-Dehli (knee), Trémoulinas (knee)

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

As a lifelong supporter of FC Seville and their great ground, Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan Stadium, I hope my team win this game.

Liverpool fans, our star striker Gameiro will score two goals and our left midfielder, Vitolo, will also get a goal. Your centre backs, when not getting banned, will be very fearful.

Your feeble strikers are no match for Carrico and Rami.

I expect a 4-0 win for Sevillistas, that's their nickname, as any Seville fan would know.

Screw you Liverpool spectators and eat my asshole!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,366 ✭✭✭✭8-10

From the UEFA Website

Possible lineups
    Liverpool: Mignolet; Clyne, Lovren, Touré, Moreno; Lallana, Can, Milner; Firmino, Sturridge, Coutinho.
    Out: Rossiter (hamstring), Gomez (knee), Sakho (suspended)
    Doubtful: Origi (ankle/foot)

Sevilla: David Soria; Mariano, Rami, Carriço, Escudero; Krychowiak, N'Zonzi; Coke, Banega, Vitolo; Gameiro.
    Out: Krohn-Dehli (knee), Trémoulinas (knee)

Yeah Krohn-Dehli is even a doubt for the start of next season I'd heard. Konoplyanka isn't listed there and he did have a set back in training a couple of weeks ago but he played at the weekend so presumably he's fit and just missing by error from the above.

Though in bigger games he's been starting on the bench so could be that he's genuinely not in their first XI. AIG can probably tell us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,775 ✭✭✭✭Slattsy

Lets win it for Kolo !!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

FutureGuy wrote: »
    As a lifelong supporter of FC Seville and their great ground, Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan Stadium, I hope my team win this game.

Liverpool fans, our star striker Gameiro will score two goals and our left midfielder, Vitolo, will also get a goal. Your centre backs, when not getting banned, will be very fearful.

Your feeble strikers are no match for Carrico and Rami.

I expect a 4-0 win for Sevillistas, that's their nickname, as any Seville fan would know.

Screw you Liverpool spectators and eat my asshole!!!

I sense a trap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,294 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Something is going to give for one of the teams tonight

Neither side have lost a UEFA Cup/UEFA Europa League final, though it took penalties to settle two of Sevilla's deciders.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

mansize wrote: »
    Ha ha Setanta Go set up on my Macbook, Hopefully will work this evening.

(Im a setanta subscriber!)

It's generally fine for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

I'm guessing Liverpool will win - they've had luck on their side in this competition so that will probably continue. However, UEFA should put an asterisk next to their win after fielding a player who failed a drugs test earlier in the competition. But they won't because they rarely do the proper thing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,404 ✭✭✭✭LuckyLloyd

FatherTed wrote: »
    I'm guessing Liverpool will win - they've had luck on their side in this competition so that will probably continue. However, UEFA should put an asterisk next to their win after fielding a player who failed a drugs test earlier in the competition. But they won't because they rarely do the proper thing.

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

Kinda felt Liverpool's name has been on the trophy since the Dortmund tie, would be surprised if they didn't win it tbh.

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,662 ✭✭✭Luckycharms_74

Really luck :rolleyes:

Hammered UTD
    Hammered Villareal
    Showed character vs Dortmund

Oh yeah we had lots of luck :p

As per UEFA rules
    "More than two members of a team must test positive for a prohibited substance before the team are sanctioned"

Sorry to burst your bubble we are not gonna get banned.

Oh btw enjoy Coronation Street tonight :D

**********LIVERPOOL LIVERPOOL****************

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

you cant go throwing asterisks about whilly nilly. There would be chaos and turmoil

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,910 ✭✭✭✭whatawaster

I hope they put an asterix on each of the 50 million pounds we will earn if we do win tonight.

That'll teach us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

Konoplyanka is not a regular this season from some reason. Destroyed Real & Danilo earlier in the season. Vitolo will start & Coke who is a RB will start in RM. N'Zonzi hasn't been great at Sevilla either when I saw him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,126 ✭✭✭Psychedelic

martyos121 wrote: »
    3-3, Liverpool to win on penalties.

Its nights like these you'd wish for Djimi Traore back, the loveable little fecker.
    Djimi Traore @Djimi_Traore19 1h1 hour ago
    Game day!!! Good luck @LFC and all fans of the red around world.come on lads bring back home europa cup #EuropaLeagueFinal #YNWA

• Registered Users Posts: 2,406 ✭✭✭Korat

Just because one player tested positive for a performance enhancing drug during the campaign it doesn't mean winning the trophy would be forever tainted as being a cheat's victory. Football fans have short memories and that little episode will never be brought up again...and again...and again.

Good luck Liverpool hope you win. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

It's generally fine for me.

I wasn't aware of it before today!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,053 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

YlCkWK1.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,042 ✭✭✭✭chopperbyrne

They only brought it out about two months ago and didn't announce it. Only saw it when I was renewing my sub on their site.

It was because of the complaints of no web player for BT Sports without BT Broadband.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,902 ✭✭✭MagicIRL

I hope it's end to end like the Dortmund game. You just know the two Madrid's will be a dull 1-0 affair next week so a bit of spice would be very welcome!

• Subscribers Posts: 32,855 ✭✭✭✭5starpool

Is it something that is available to setanta pack subscribers on sky? If so, details please? Not for tonight, just in general, ta.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Is it something that is available to setanta pack subscribers on sky? If so, details please? Not for tonight, just in general, ta.

Yes, just go and put in details to reset password

https://www.setantago.com

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

It is just go to Setantago and fill out details to log in.

https://www.setantago.com/subscribe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,390 ✭✭✭Bowlardo

Yes, just go and put in details to reset password

https://www.setantago.com

it is on TV3

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,419 ✭✭✭cowboyBuilder

Liverpool will win, for sure, ever since they beat Dortmund their name is on the cup.

Fair play.

Enjoy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

do you know what's annoyed me today?

I've heard loads of news reports today leading with 'Liverpool have the opportunity to get into the Champions League tonight', and the Europa League trophy barely gets a mention.

Don't get me wrong, qualification for the Champions League is a great carrot, but I want the fúcking trophy.

It has equal billing at the very least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Gaillimh1976

Ings not in the EL squad so won't be on the bench. That would be too many attackers anyhow. I reckon our bench will be:

Ward (if fit) or Bogdan
    Skrtel
    Lucas
    Allen
    Benteke
    Origi
    Henderson

Still pretty strong.

Bogdan not in squad either - youth team keeper if Ward not fit ?

Even If winning the EL didn't have the CL place bonus. I would still rather win the EL than finish 4th & not win the EL if I was given a choice.
    I don't care about the CL getting the club more money its about winning trophies.
    This EL run has been better than quite a few of our CL campaigns.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,872 ✭✭✭Dickerty

Bogdan not in squad either - youth team keeper if Ward not fit ?

If you lose keepers, I think you might be able to replace within the named squad, as a specialist position...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

Sevilla have only won once in their last 10 league games or something like that, beat Real and Barca though but that was at home.

It's Liverpool, it's European finals, there'll be drama, a win on penalties then.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Hopefully the lads are on a rake of PEDs, and Liverpool annihilate them out of the blocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,977 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

It's a big final for sure with Klopp looking to win a European title in his first season at Liverpool. All the consequences of a win make it so much bigger for them.

Emery on the other side is trying to lead Sevilla to an unprecedented third Europa league title in a row. This hasn't happened in the history of the Uefa Cup/Europa league. If memory serves Sevilla and Real Madrid are the only two to win it twice in a row(not including the current two in a row).

I think if Emery wins this again them bigger clubs have to have a serious look at hiring him.

I'm finding it very hard to predict. The one prediction I'll make is a high scoring game because both sides have shown they know how to score in recent games. I know finals have a habit of having less goals in them but with the two managers of these teams I'd expect to see four or five goals tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,501 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

In 2005 against Milan, we played awful and won the cup. In 2007 against Milan, we played well and lost.

Is it too much to ask for to play well AND win? Just to save us the fecking heart attacks like?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

Really luck :rolleyes:

Hammered UTD
    Hammered Villareal
    Showed character vs Dortmund

SeY1LQ8.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,640 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

I fancy Liverpool big time to win this.

martyos121 wrote: »
    In 2005 against Milan, we played awful and won the cup. In 2007 against Milan, we played well and lost.

Is it too much to ask for to play well AND win? Just to save us the fecking heart attacks like?
    Hard to believe that Jermaine Pennant was our best player on the night as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,248 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

Anyone else feeling that tingly nervous feeling yet?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Moreno nailed on to score the winning goal and get sent off against his hometown team.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,746 ✭✭✭BullBlackNova

Anyone else feeling that tingly nervous feeling yet?

Tingly nerves? I feel like I'm about to vomit I'm so nervous.

Moreno nailed on to score the winning goal and get sent off against his hometown team.

Moreno to make history be doing those things in reverse order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,688 ✭✭✭✭Muahahaha

The Liverpool Square in Basel pre-match. Sami Hyypia is here mixing with the fans

https://m.facebook.com/photo.php?fbid=10153638564732045&id=666322044&set=rpd.666322044&source=49&ref=bookmarks

photo.php?fbid=10153638564732045&id=666322044&set=rpd.666322044&source=49&ref=bookmarks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,859 ✭✭✭ionadnapokot

Great article on Monchi at Sevilla. The club identifies potential diamonds in the rough. If successful they have to then sell to survive.
    https://www.theguardian.com/football/2016/may/17/sevilla-monchi-liverpool-europa-league-final

The list of players signed for relative peanuts and sold on for big money is staggering.

Did a quick tot up of the cost of their starting XI. Approx €40m. The cost of Firminio.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Knex. wrote: »
    Hopefully the lads are on a rake of PEDs, and Liverpool annihilate them out of the blocks.

Ja ja ja ja. Very funny spectator.

I will tell you a funny sentence also. I finished the FIFA game also Seville against Liverpool and it say 5-0 Seville! Ja ja ja ja!

Wait and see. You will have the PED and so will Milner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,039 ✭✭✭Moist Bread

jajajajajajaja CYKA BLYAT.

I'm pure ****ing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,847 ✭✭✭Armchair Andy

Sevilla to win 3-2 having been 2 down.

https://twitter.com/LFC/status/732986472454889472

Confirmed #LFC starting XI to face @SevillaFC: Mignolet, Clyne, Toure, Lovren, Moreno, Can, Milner, Lallana, Firmino, Coutinho, Sturridge.

Divock is on the bench! :D