Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

2016 Giro d'Italia - Stage 14: Farra d'Alpago–Corvara 210 km – Saturday 21st May

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,386 ✭✭✭✭DDC1990

Andre 3000 wrote: »
    Kruijswijk looks brilliant.
    I was going to say that, but I spent the last 2 mins googling how to spell his name! :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Andrey Amador
    Cmon Chaves!

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,232 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

A lot of attacks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Nibs dropped

Go Chavez!

Dropping Nibali

Chaves and Kruizwigigigi are 25 seconds ahead of Nibali and 30 seconds behind Atapuma

Andrey Amador
    If Amador hung on until the summit you'd have to feel all that group are struggling

As for the favourites….seems still to be a fight between Nibali & Valverde for me

When will I ever learn....I am crap at predictions

Monsterous hard stage

MPFGLB wrote: »
    When will I ever learn....I am crap at predictions

Monsterous hard stage
    Brilliant watching though.

Best stage race i've watched in a long time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

oh cat man, you didn't land on your feet there

Andrey Amador
    Nibbles coming back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Nibbles coming back?

Yeah he's saving his giro. Between Kruiswjik, Chavez, and himself now.

Andrey Amador
    That's cruel!

Wooooo!

Great win Chaves!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,071 ✭✭✭✭neris

Rafal Majka
    Backstage pass is gona be a good un. Good man chaves

Andrey Amador
    Delighted for Chaves, such a nice fella

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,232 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Had to hit the road. How is it going?

Andrey Amador
    1 Chaves
    2 Kruijswijk
    3 Preidler

4 Atapuma +6

5 Nibali +37
    6 Siutsou +37

7 Zakarin +2:29
    8 Majka +2:29

9 Uran +2:50

10 Pozzovivo +3:00

godtabh wrote: »
    Had to hit the road. How is it going?
    Chaves won in a sprint from Kreijzwjig (I'm getting closer) with Preidler and Atapuma behind.

Nibali lost 37'.

The rest lost 2'30+

Kruijswijk is in the driving seat ...great climber and better TTer than Chaves

Andrey Amador
    This is an absolute gem. This is after yesterday's stage speculating on today's stage. Look at Chaves from 3:25 or so :pac:

His eyes when Whitey is talking about the profile of stage 14 are brilliant.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,762 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Rafal Majka
    Can Chaves take time on the uphill TT? they don't happen very often and it's hard to figure how the balance tips between a stronger TT'er and a stronger climber. You'd have to think Nibali may well suffer tomorrow he had to give everything he had in the tank today to rescue his Giro, hard to see how that doesn't impact him the same way it did Dumoulin prior to the flat TT.

Love to see Chaves win it he's such a likable chap, but the lack of much of a team could trouble him and Kruiswijk in the final week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,799 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

It's gonna be very interesting. Kruijswjik has Roglic and Battaglin to help in the mountains. Chaves probably has a stronger team, with Plaza, Txurruka, and Howson in particular looking strong. Astana and Movistar are good on paper but only Scarponi really impressed today. Valverde won't get close again I don't think. Top 3 now will be the top 3 at the end i suspect.

Andrey Amador
    Shame on those who vote after the race is done :P

guLfMw5.jpg

Rafal Majka
    I just vote for the winner, if I haven't voted already, when I go to the thread to get the stupidly big Poll out of the way, not like we are winning prizes here.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

stecleary wrote: »
    oh cat man, you didn't land on your feet there

That dope was there last year when I did the Maratona, and was fecking blind drunk!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,881 ✭✭✭terrydel

JK.BMC wrote: »
    'Strava is nice, it's grand, but it destroys a club run.'

Sean Kelly sums up one the great first world cycling problems of the day.
    I couldn't agree more with him. Spot on.

Well said that man.

Rafal Majka
    terrydel wrote: »
    Well said that man.

Our club runs are no different than they were before Strava existed, not sure how / why Strava would ruin one?

• Registered Users Posts: 528 ✭✭✭All My Stars Aligned

Rafal Majka
    Shame on those who vote after the race is done :P

guLfMw5.jpg

Wow, that's a first for me, actually getting a prediction right :eek:

Must say, that was a fantastic stage. I was worried that it would turn into one of those where everybody was watching everybody else with nothing actually happening. Couldn't of been further from that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭stecleary

terrydel wrote: »
    That dope was there last year when I did the Maratona, and was fecking blind drunk!!

So i bet you were glad to see him nearly get run over by the moto today......so close :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭pelevin

Esteban Chaves
    Just watched the Eurosport highlights show without knowing how it went. Fabulous stage & great for the race that it is very much up for grabs between Kruijswijck, Nibali & Chaves.

• Registered Users Posts: 191 ✭✭bbolger

Watched the 90 min highlights late last night, had no idea, fantastic stage! Dolomites is one to add to the bucket list... Loved the "Gates of Cat Hell" banner, similar to the Zoncolan's one. Not exactly welcome for the riders with 200km+ in the legs.

https://twitter.com/dociclismo/status/734038811638915073

I think yesterday was a harder stage than the Zoncolon...The Zoncolon is steep but yesterday went on and on and on and on

They climbed over 5,590 M ...far higher by about 2000m than any climb in the Tour
    (or so I heard).

Yesterday stage was brutal...Lots of riders saying that it was so so hard