Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Giro d'Italia 2016, May 24, Stage 16: Bressanone/Andalo *SPOILERS*

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,453 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

neris wrote: »
    3 min lead over chaves and 3:23 over valverde, its the dutch fellas to loose (im not even going to attempt to spell his 2nd name)

I have finally managed to spell it without having to look it up :cool:

Kruijswijk

Kruijswijk

Kruijswijk

velo.2010 wrote: »
    44.6km/hr! Must be the fastest mountain stage of any Grand Tour. A lot of downhill but still raced full gas all day.

As I mentioned a few pages ago, the time limit cut-off is going to be interesting. The boys on Eurosport estimated it would be 22-23 minutes if the average speed was ~36 km/h. Because today is only ranked as a 3-star stage (which is stupid), there wasn't much leeway given for the time limit!

General classification after stage 16

1 Steven Kruijswijk (Ned) Team LottoNl-Jumbo 63:40:10
    2 Esteban Chaves (Col) Orica-GreenEdge 0:03:00
    3 Alejandro Valverde (Spa) Movistar Team 0:03:23
    4 Vincenzo Nibali (Ita) Astana Pro Team 0:04:43
    5 Ilnur Zakarin (Rus) Team Katusha 0:04:50
    6 Rafal Majka (Pol) Tinkoff Team 0:05:34
    7 Bob Jungels (Lux) Etixx - Quick-Step 0:07:57
    8 Andrey Amador (CRc) Movistar Team 0:06:53
    9 Domenico Pozzovivo (Ita) AG2R La Mondiale 0:10:05
    10 Kanstantsin Siutsou (Blr) Dimension Data 0:11:03

Nico finished a very decent 12th place, 3'20" behind Valverde.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,795 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Nico finished a very decent 12th place, 3'20" behind Valverde.

Thursday is the day

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 23,224 Mod ✭✭✭✭godtabh

Looks like I missed a cracker of a stage

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭isitraining

And how short was that Giro extra? I missed the race and thought I'd get caught up! Stupid tennis!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,493 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Carlos obviously conserving all his energy to win the flat stage tomorrow by 20 mins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Itziger

3 min lead over chaves and 3:23 over valverde, its the dutch fellas to loose (im not even going to attempt to spell his 2nd name)

You could try to spell 'lose' though. 4 letters. English.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

Seriously wtf has happened to Betancur, his decline has been incredible. It's gone beyond a joke.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,064 ✭✭✭✭neris

Itziger wrote: »

who let the nazi in?

'loose' is also an English word :P

It is, just not the right one :p

who let the nazi in?

And so it goes. Inability to spell a simple English word - we're agreed it's simple, yeah? - makes you the good guy.

If I was being a Grammar Nazi I'd have pointed out the missing apostrophes too.

In the points classification, Diego Ulissi has managed to close the gap to Giacomo Nizzolo from 26 points to just 8. It's quite an interesting battle given that they are contrasting types of riders. Nizzolo should gain some points tomorrow, maybe Thursday, and on the final stage on Sunday while expect Ulissi to be in the break in the mountains on Friday and Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Nibbles has attacked and has a small gap.

I feel sorry for anyone not watching this live :pac: :D

Thanks that made me feel really great :D

Two riders riding very well in what is not really their terraine are Ullissi & Jungels

Kries_vac seems unstoppable ...Nibali has no form as I don;t think the level is super except from Kries_vac and Chaves.. and maybe Valverde also
    Nico is in the chasing group along with Chaves and Majka.
    Typical Vuelta stage today and Nico is always good on these ...If he had form he would have been up there but not probably beating Valverde

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,451 ✭✭✭TheBlaaMan

Just watched a replay to see the incident mentioned in this tweet....

https://twitter.com/ammattipyoraily/status/735142306710446080

The Russvelo guy, Firsanov, immediately backed off the pace (Nibali was in his wheel) when Zahkarin motioned at him to do so..... Seems there are 18 riders on one team....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,740 ✭✭✭Dr. Bre

Betancur was last today. Will he ever the see the real betancur again!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,087 ✭✭✭Doc07

Dr. Bre wrote: »

Good to see a beer belly amongst the skinny lads. Perhaps he was rested so he can help his evil boss Valverde on Friday and Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,256 ✭✭✭MPFGLB

Dr. Bre wrote: »

How do you know that is not the real Betencur

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,488 ✭✭✭Andre 3000

MPFGLB wrote: »
    How do you know that is not the real Betencur

Sadly, this might become the real Betancur if he keeps up this lack of professionalism. However his pedigree even as a young fella was incredibly promising. It's such a shame. I watched footage of him the year he won Paris Nice and there was such hunger to go with the talent and ability but in recent times it looks like he couldn't give a flying f*ck. I thought the move to Movistar would solve the problems but clearly not. At least Dayer Quintana is showing promise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

Was justing watching the sports news and saw this. Don't know if anyone saw yesterday.

CjPBtSMWsAA9saT.jpg?maxheight=460&maxwidth=629

I don't generally approve of mixing politics and sport, but this is just funny. :D
    "Erdogan is a goat f*cker."

• Closed Accounts Posts: 724 ✭✭✭JK.BMC

Meanwhile! Back on the CYCLING forum....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,653 ✭✭✭sy

Epic stage..fair play to Valverde after his disastrous stage last week. We are seeing a changing of the guard in cycling this week. Kruijswijk Jungels ( never saw Kelly so excited about a young rider and what an engine) Zakarin( love his attacking style) Doumoulin Chaves Quintana (seems like an auld fella at this stage!) all potential Grand Tour contenders over the next 5+ years