Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2016 - The TV Coverage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

"Be interesting to see how many shots they've had....West Germany".

- Ronnie Whelan, 26th June, 2016.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,283 ✭✭✭gucci

namloc1980 wrote: »
    "Be interesting to see how many shots they've had....West Germany".

- Ronnie Whelan, 26th June, 2016.

Hopefully he does it on the double and calls the other team Czechoslovakia before the game is over :D

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭holy guacamole

For how many more tournaments are we going to have to endure jokers like Ger Canning, Steven Alkin and Peter Collins commentating on a sport they clearly have zero knowledge of?

They get wheeled out every two years without fail, and despite commentating on the sport for years appear to have picked up nothing; although that's probably down to the fact none of them watch the sport unless they're commentating on a game.

About time RTÉ invested in a few specialist commentators and sent these spoofers back to motorsports, GAA, making the tea or whatever it is they do for their day jobs.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

For how many more tournaments are we going to have to endure jokers like Ger Canning, Steven Alkin and Peter Collins commentating on a sport they clearly have zero knowledge of?

They get wheeled out every two years without fail, and despite commentating on the sport for years appear to have picked up nothing; although that's probably down to the fact none of them watch the sport unless they're commentating on a game.

About time RTÉ invested in a few specialist commentators and sent these spoofers back to motorsports, GAA, making the tea or whatever it is they do for their day jobs.

Steven Alkin commentates on the Belgian Pro League on Setanta so he should have more knowledge on the sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

Not tv as such, but RTE have John Murray anchoring the sports shows on the weekend and I know they really have to give him a role somewhere, but why that one? He clearly isn't knowledgeable about sport and sounds horribly awkward when talking to the analysts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 648 ✭✭✭Mec27

Steven Alkin commentates on the Belgian Pro League on Setanta so he should have more knowledge on the sport.

Does he really? That is bizarre.

• Registered Users Posts: 348 ✭✭holy guacamole

Jesus, really? Hard to believe someone else would pay for his services.

Maybe his knowledge of Belgian football is unrivalled but he's spent the majority of this game mumbling his way through the cliches and stating the obvious. Seems completely unsure of himself.

When you think of all the talented football journalists in the Irish media it's amazing that we're still listening to the same, tired old line-up of commentators.

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

Don't know what you guys are talking about, Alkin was able to inform me on numerous occasions during the game that Germany are efficient. The man knows his stuff.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Shearer talking about Long winning the penalty, while sat beside Henry; "They deserved that, they've had some rotten luck with decisions in the past"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

enzo roco wrote: »
    But Germany have been very good since 2006. In the 4 tournaments he managed them, they have been first, second or third. So that is pretty successful.

I suppose Id equate success in this context with winning, rather than being runner up. I don't dispute the fact he's done well, just that the criteria for the most successful ever should probably consist of having won more than one trophy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Martin Keown - "he had acres and acres of time"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

LiamoSail wrote: »
    Shearer talking about Long winning the penalty, while sat beside Henry; "They deserved that, they've had some rotten luck with decisions in the past"

then Linekar says to Henry..."you got to hand it to them" :pac:

hope its youtubed

Anyone feel RTE has lost its magic? They don't allow any sort of tension anymore seeing as Cunningham nor Sadlier are ever on the same panel as Dunphy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,665 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Mec27 wrote: »
    Anyone feel RTE has lost its magic? They don't allow any sort of tension anymore seeing as Cunningham nor Sadlier are ever on the same panel as Dunphy.

I think they are treating the old guard with kid gloves this tournament.

Giles, as much as I love the man, is best his best. People often overlook it but, I still think he brings genuine insight about the game, even if it's obvious that he does damn all research and will never give up on some of his tired opinions. But that's always been his way. What is shocking is how much his heart doesn't seem in it this year. Go and watch clips of him from back in 2010, the difference is dramatic; he's far less animated, less interested now.

Dunphy was brutalised by Cunningham during 2014. Dunphy can't stand anyone challenging his status, don't expect the two of them to be sitting side by side anytime soon.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 664 ✭✭✭price690

It's pretty disgraceful how Dunphy is given Carte blanche to spout sh*te without ever being challenged on his opinion. Is it in their contracts that they cannot be questioned on their opinions or what?

Dunphy sets his stall out early every game about what decision he finds outrageous and clings on for dear life. Giles and Dunphy clearly chat before games and have the same opinion on everything, there's very little disagreement.

Dunphy was outraged about John O'Shea being left out once again, we'd have kept a clean sheet if he'd played apparently. Now was I the only one crying out for Maloney to mention his performance in shutting the Belgians out?

Giles has had his day too, clearly a very nice man but the games has changed. Anyone with knowledge is treated with alot of suspicion by him, presumed to be a spoofer, football is full of pundits who know every player name and little else but there are also pundits who know every name and a whole lot more.

There insistence that Ireland are simply not allowed to play football by MON is a very basic misunderstanding about modern football. Limited players lack the technical ability, personality and imagination to impose their will on a game to a level that will exceed that of more capable opposition (with deeper squads). You might manage 1 or 2 times out of 10 but these will be exceptions to the norm (catching opposition on a bad day).

That's the most pertinent principle when discussing ireland games. The quality of analysis is shocking and so very basic. Like it's a case of getting Wes Holohan on the ball (who is only capable of 60 minutes) and we will open up any side.

There's a nastiness to Dunphy, the coverage is crying out for an analyst to tackle them, someone with a set of balls to pick apart their guff and not be afraid of bring ganged up on, as would happen by Giles and Dunphy.

The analysis is the same old tired sh*te where the only reference for a great player is Liam or John. And any manager no matter who he is, is simply a clown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,676 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

price690 wrote: »
    It's pretty disgraceful how Dunphy is given Carte blanche to spout sh*te without ever being challenged on his opinion. Is it in their contracts that they cannot be questioned on their opinions or what?

Dunphy sets his stall out early every game about what decision he finds outrageous and clings on for dear life. Giles and Dunphy clearly chat before games and have the same opinion on everything, there's very little disagreement.

Dunphy was outraged about John O'Shea being left out once again, we'd have kept a clean sheet if he'd played apparently. Now was I the only one crying out for Maloney to mention his performance in shutting the Belgians out?

Giles has had his day too, clearly a very nice man but the games has changed. Anyone with knowledge is treated with alot of suspicion by him, presumed to be a spoofer, football is full of pundits who know every player name and little else but there are also pundits who know every name and a whole lot more.

There insistence that Ireland are simply not allowed to play football by MON is a very basic misunderstanding about modern football. Limited players lack the technical ability, personality and imagination to impose their will on a game to a level that will exceed that of more capable opposition (with deeper squads). You might manage 1 or 2 times out of 10 but these will be exceptions to the norm (catching opposition on a bad day).

That's the most pertinent principle when discussing ireland games. The quality of analysis is shocking and so very basic. Like it's a case of getting Wes Holohan on the ball (who is only capable of 60 minutes) and we will open up any side.

There's a nastiness to Dunphy, the coverage is crying out for an analyst to tackle them, someone with a set of balls to pick apart their guff and not be afraid of bring ganged up on, as would happen by Giles and Dunphy.

The analysis is the same old tired sh*te where the only reference for a great player is Liam or John. And any manager no matter who he is, is simply a clown.

I agree with most of this.

I think Giles is still great, even if there is a strong feeling of deja vu to most of what he says.

Eammon, though, gets away with murder. It really winds me up when he calls other people spoofers. I don't know why he's isn't challenged on most of the unfounded rubbish he talks.

When Darragh Maloney does he scoffs at it and dismisses Maloney as an idiot. That suited Bill because Bill played up to it, but Maloney genuinely seems like he is trying to force Dunphy to rethink his previous assertions. Dunphy will just go with the whole ''we're the football people here darragh, we know what we are talking about'' line.

price690 wrote: »

That used to be Brady's job, but it seems somewhere along the line Brady just became part of the club himself and seems happy to toe the line now or at least keep any dissenting opinions to himself. Note how almost apologetic he seemed when he had to point out Dunphy's horrendous Charlton Athletic faux pas after one of the Iceland games.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭surripere

Ol' Donie wrote: »
    I agree with most of this.

I think Giles is still great, even if there is a strong feeling of deja vu to most of what he says.

Eammon, though, gets away with murder. It really winds me up when he calls other people spoofers. I don't know why he's isn't challenged on most of the unfounded rubbish he talks.

It's not deja vu, he actually has been saying the same " stuff " for the last twenty years. I've always found Giles unbearable to listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,017 ✭✭✭Leslie91

Would 100% agree on Canning. Alkin is not the worst and Peter is into football but is just not a great anchor. He does Soccer Republic every Monday night for example.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,240 ✭✭✭✭briany

I don't know what it is but I really like like getting loaded up on Carlsberg, climbing into a Kia and ram-raiding a McDonald's right about now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

briany wrote: »
    I don't know what it is but I really like like getting loaded up on Carlsberg, climbing into a Kia and ram-raiding a McDonald's right about now.

I think of buying a Hisense TV aswell.

Apparently it's China's number 1 TV brand.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

Duff goes through the Iceland team, and has some interesting facts about players no body knows.

Dunphy laughing, "The standard of the panel is going up"

Duff looks scarlet haha.

Tv gold.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 496 ✭✭surripere

Dunphy now states that Italian players & the Italian game is " intellectual superior " than the English game. This comes after a decade of consistently running down & rubbishing Serie A. Hilarious stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,648 ✭✭✭RINO87

The music that RTE play at half time as they go to an ad break..... Is it Jon Hopkins??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,676 ✭✭✭✭Ol' Donie

I'll be consuming quite a lot of the various coverages tonight, lads. Yes, I will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Duff and Didi are top draw.

When Didi launched into his rant about English football Eamonn had a face on him like someone getting a killer back rub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,240 ✭✭✭✭briany

Arghus wrote: »
    When Didi launched into his rant about English football Eamonn had a face on him like someone getting a killer back rub.

That's 'cause he was thinking, "You're talkin' my language now, baby."

Thought Damien was a bit off tonight to be honest. "I'm here to offer my opinion...but I don't know what I can say. I'm gobsmacked" doesn't really cut it at this level. I think he's got some potential as an analyst but was a little overwhelmed by the scale of what happened. Didi was fantastic as usual.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,805 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

That Iceland commentater sounds mental.

I think he'll die if they go on to win the whole thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

Alan Shearer fairly ripped England to pieces on BBC

Fair play usually have no time for him but he clearly cares and cant disagree with anything hes said.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Some top quality analysis here. He should manage England someday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭JoeA3

Poor Schteve stars in yet another golden YouTube moment :D

As for SSN, WTF do they have him on for anyway with the stupid headphones?! That channel beggars belief at the best of times. Anyone with even the slightest interest in the match is not bloody watching Steve McClaren watch it for them, they're watching it for themselves live on ITV / RTE - the free to air channels!

murpho999 wrote: »

That is genuinely one of the funniest things I've ever seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Hamann is head and shoulders above anyone else on TV at the moment to be honest. I'm still not warming to Duff that much to be honest, he tends to throw in an extreme of an opinion now and again but in between it's by the numbers stuff.

Didi was pretty good tonight, he properly laid into England. What a night to be working on RTE.

I found it a bit strange how quiet Duff was on the panel tonight in the aftermath of the England defeat - he just sat there and let Didi and Dunphy go to town.

did Linekar say at one point "well done to Ireland" last night??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,450 ✭✭✭JoeA3

fryup wrote: »
    did Linekar say at one point "well done to Ireland" last night??

Yeah, immediately after they'd finished showing the highlights... just before Shearer went on his rant :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 14,193 ✭✭✭✭Kerrydude1981

Arghus wrote: »

Love to know what Didi thinks of the news this morning that Crystal Palace are going spending 31 million on a new striker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,293 ✭✭✭✭Mint Sauce

murpho999 wrote: »

Had to think for a moment what game is he watching.

"congratulations to Ireland" why thanks Gary...but what about Iceland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,516 ✭✭✭✭ArmaniJeanss

All 8pm kickoffs.

Thurs. Poland v Portugal. TV3/ITV.
    Fri. Wales v Belgium. TV3/BBC.
    Sat. Germany v Italy. RTE/BBC.
    Sun. Iceland v France. RTE/ITV.

Peter Crouch sounds like Tim Nice But Dim.

And his teeth are the whitest I have ever seen.

Ryan Giggs is joining ITV for the rest of the Euro's

http://www.mirror.co.uk/sport/football/news/ryan-giggs-joins-itv-punditry-8305851

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Texas Jack

Who's the blonde sloshpot on TV3, Scottish, bird, presents the show in the evening

Texas Jack wrote: »
    Who's the blonde sloshpot on TV3, Scottish, bird, presents the show in the evening

Kirsteen O Sullivan,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Texas Jack

Kirsteen O Sullivan,

She's class :pac: