Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

wicklow 200

• Registered Users Posts: 23,538 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Didn't spot a single Boards.ie jersey.

I guess I spotted Smacl fixing his puncture at the entrance to a field .

Also spotted the tandem on SE and again in rathdrum, I didn't feel to bad when they blew past Me in the team Ireland kit,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 603 ✭✭✭shamrock2004

First wicklow 200 today. This was my day. I should have sensed some sort of omen when I saw people fixing punctures on their way into greystones for the registration. We set off at 7.30 and at 8km mark one of our riders got the first puncture. 2 of us stopped to help him. 3 punctures in total before we could get the tube to stay up (we couldnt find the cause). Same lad got another puncture at 70km. 500 metres on 3 women stopped us asking could we help them with another puncture (gatorskin tube punctured) and we gladly obliged. By 14km one of the girls in our group derailleur snapped off while she was going up a hill. At around 30km a fella at the side of the road flagged us down by shaking his foot at us and pointing at his foot. It was only when we stopped that we noticed his crank and pedal had come off and were still attached to his shoe. We did a quick fix to allow him to get down to hollywood and we rang for assistance to come and help him there - so we escorted him down. At 120km we reached the top of slieve maan and there was no water or food left :( ridiculous considering the heat and effort people were expending to get up it (some people dismounted and were walking) and we had no water left before our descent. On the descent down from slieve maan at 128km one of our lads came off his bike and broke his collarbone so his day was over. Had to use my arm warmers to make a sling for him. 400m further down the road a girl had taken a very nasty spill and was in a neck brace and was semi conscious. They had to get the air ambulance helicopter to air lift her to hospital (I really hope she is ok). Were there marshalls on the slieve mann descent? I didnt see any until they flagged us down because of the ambulances and injured girl. Highlight of my day was seeing that fella completing the 200km on a dublin bike! Lol. I saw 1 boardsie "skrynesaver" on the slieve maan climb.

Finished it in a moving time of 8 hours which I suppose wasn't all that bad considering how often I was cooling down having to stop off due to the days unforseen events

• Registered Users Posts: 23,538 ✭✭✭✭ted1

Mad Benny wrote: »
    I completed the Wicklow 200. Where was the water on Slieve Maan? It was hot, a very tough climb and lots of people asked an ambulance if they had water. They didn't.

From the FAQ..

There were no sandwiches at the last checkpoint.

Q What food and drink will be available along the route?
    A At each checkpoint each rider will get,Tea, coffee and a Sandwich. Water will also be available. There will also be water point the top of Slieve Maan.
    It was there. I got my water topped up . Same setup as the Wicklow gap

• Registered Users Posts: 24,995 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

....and the other boards.ie called Philip?...
    Fillup I think! (Large black beard?)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Yep, was chatting to him at the end, in the hall :)

ted1 wrote: »
    It was there. I got my water topped up . Same setup as the Wicklow gap

There was no food or water there when I arrived and there were a lot of people there looking for water at a minimum.

I'm going to have to confess to putting the foot down on Shay Elliott...
    I read that to mean you suddenly accelerated and was wondering why you 'confessed'!

Then the penny dropped! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

Almost didn't do it. 4 beers night before, did not help with the 5:30am start. Was also really drowsy from an anti histamine. The sun came out at laragh so went for the 200, first time. Stupid took my gabba and paid the price on SM & SE, had to stop right off to my undervest. Sorry if I hurt your eyes. Got in 8hrs rolling. Huge admiration for the vets in my club, big engines who drove us home. Really glad I bit the bullet today

Inquitus wrote: »
    ... while I was standing in Rathdrum...
    BTW , apologies for not recognising you straight away when you gave me a shout the first time I passed you in Rathdrum. You look utterly different without helmet and Lycra.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 11,667 Mod ✭✭✭✭RobFowl

I offered her a couple of Tor gels and and a bar, and while I was digging them out of my back pockets, she stopped to get them.

What could I do? I had to stop! She was over the moon though, which was cool!

Smooth operator, pulling birds on the W200 😎 Never heard it called giving her a few tor gels before though (but am not up with how you young fellas talk these days....

• Registered Users Posts: 214 ✭✭Euro Fred

ted1 wrote: »
    I finished it in just under 9 hours. Rain, sun, rain then sun again.
    I was the guy who went up half the Wicklow gap in 10th gear and walked the steeper part as my rear gear cable snapped. I made it to baltinglass with only 10 and 20 available, then got sorted there.
    I was shot leading Rathdrum and the hills after Avoca severely broke my spirt. But all in all it was a good day

https://www.strava.com/activities/607377640

Brilliant time all the same.

I slowed down to see if you needed a hand, but when you told me what it was I didn't know how to fix it / help you, so I kept going.

Sorry about that!

RobFowl wrote: »
    Smooth operator, pulling birds on the W200 😎 Never heard it called giving her a few tor gels before though (but am not up with how you young fellas talk these days....
    A girl close to me was having difficulty removing a banana from her centre rear pocket. She asked me for help. I don't know what was going on but that bloody banana wouldn't budge and both of us nearly had a spill trying. It felt as if someone was holding on to it at the other end. I was looking around for Mike Murphy!

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭lissard

Second W200 today and despite the unpromising start (weather) I really enjoyed it. Sliamh Maan is still one tough b*stard to get up though. Learned my lesson this time round and didn't go too hard early on, had plenty in the legs at the end. Spotted smacl a few times, figured you must have been pretty warm once the rain disappeared! We had a 'support crew' in Glenmalure with a fresh base layer and a clean set of socks. Was able to ditch all my wet weather gear which was really handy. Remember seeing an Orwell guy doing this in Rathdrum 2 years and I was green with envy. I thought the marshals were very good and good humoured but to my mind the were way too few of them. None on Sliamh Maan descent, one or two at the very bottom of the Elliott. Several junctions with nobody (e.g. Deputies pass onto the main road). Having done the Orwell Randonnee, I must say that the difference was very noticeable. Having said that the signage was great and it's a huge area to cover. I live in Wicklow and know these roads but for newcomers it should be better and it was the last time I did the W200.

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭fillup

....and the other boards.ie called Philip?...
    Yup that was me alright.

Good to meet you Unknown.

Checked my times on strava when I got home - way slower than last year.
    Couldn't get the legs going- gave it a fair bit of wellie for last 20k only to get puncture with 5k to go. Major pain in an already painful hoop.

Rode a lot of it solo which wasn't ideal - couldn't latch onto any decent trains.

Glad to have completed it - good vibe and organisation.

Just disappointed with performance. Oh well, I guess I'll have to do it again.

• Registered Users Posts: 1 Leot79

In response to queries about Dublin bike and fold-up guys..... Paul done the 200 in 9 hrs 43 (Dublin bike) and I done the 100 in 4 hr 58 (fold-up).

• Registered Users Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭Mercian Pro

First experience of the W200 but my second 200 in two weeks! Very impressed with the number of marshals spread over the course and with the number of water stops (all functioning when we were there). Not so impressed with the queues at Baltinglass so we skipped the school and found a welcoming cafe. Also pulled into the hotel at Glenmalure and had a "civilised" lunch sitting outside in the sunshine. Rathdrum food was okay but the soup at the finish was great.
    Not a bad route but the MB200 beats it both as a challenge and the interesting places it brings you.
    Got around in 8:01' for an average of 25kph.
    Nice to meet Skrynesaver and to talk to David R again.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭Alek

A girl close to me was having difficulty removing a banana from her centre rear pocket.

Excuse me?

• Registered Users Posts: 3,308 ✭✭✭quozl

Shamrock2004 - those two crashes were on the Slieve Maan descent. I didn't see any marshals. I was the guy standing at the corner before the crash shouting warnings about it. We were in the Scott Orwell Van and found her in the middle of the road with two people already with her. One of our passengers phoned the ambulance as the people at the scene already, had no coverage.

We gave your poor collar bone breaking friend a lift to Greystones, along with 3 others and 5 bikes. Mental day. We were only meant to be doing mechanical support for Orwell but we barely did anything for Orwell in the end.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

cajonlardo wrote: »
    smacl - think you passed me on road to baltinglass, you were in a group with 3 others? Some kind of Gilet over that boards jersey?

Not myself, I wan't doing too much passing of anyone. Maybe Fillup.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 15,754 Mod ✭✭✭✭smacl

quozl wrote: »
    Mental day. We were only meant to be doing mechanical support for Orwell but we barely did anything for Orwell in the end.

Fair play to you sir! Also saw/heard a tumble behind me on the road to Baltinglass, with the faller's mates going back to assist.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 663 ✭✭✭laraghrider

Have to say I had a mixed bag yesterday. I always enjoy the achievement of the 200 but a few things for some reason just got to me. They normally wouldn't. Even the rain at the start didn't bother me at all.

The Hollywood crash happened just before we got there. One of them was warning people to slow down which is fine but standing on a bend, in the middle of the lane is NOT the way to do it. He moved right out in front of me roaring at me to slow down. I almost had to come to a stop to move around him!!!. I hear the guy who crashed is ok and it was nothing serious which is great news.

The lack of the usual energy station at the top of SM was a downer. I was living for those jellies and a refill at the top. Anyone I spoke to said the same. That being said there was plenty of water when I got there so no big worries. Overall there seemed to be a serious lack of decent groups this year.

The group I was in for the final stretch was motoring. Back section where there is a tight right and immediate left. 3 of the lads in the group seemed to think this was closed roads racing and took the corner on the inside apex and frightened the crap out of the motorist who came upon the corner to see a few cyclists flying on the wrong side of the road. That could have ended very badly. On the left straight after where a group from a very prominent dublin club had a stop. Some of the lads stopped on the left side around the corner and spread out across the whole lane. We came around and almost buried into them. There was a few shouts of "get off the ******* road!"

Last thing that annoyed me. A club group who were sitting in Shorline beside where I parked my bike had their feed and went. I went back to get my bike and where they were sitting looks like they just up and left. They left all their tissues, empty and half drank bottles of coke, empty gel wrappers and a control card all over the ground. I appreciate everyone is tired after doing 200 but come on, there was a bin 4 meters away. It couldn't have been that much of an effort to put your rubbish in it so lads and ladies, please take your rubbish home or bin it.

Anyway rant over. Apart from that really enjoyed the day and as always will be back next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,454 ✭✭✭mloc123

fillup wrote: »
    Yup that was me alright.

Couldn't get the legs going- gave it a fair bit of wellie for last 20k only to get puncture with 5k to go. Major pain in an already painful hoop.

Rode a lot of it solo which wasn't ideal - couldn't latch onto any decent trains.

Was chatting to you briefly on the drags out of Avoca yesterday.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,109 ✭✭✭Skrynesaver

1st the excuses - This was my 1st day on the bike in 5 weeks, work sent me to India and I brought back a delightful case of Dehli belly which kept me from straying too far from a "facility". The volumes of sugar I consumed on the day seems to have fed whatever bacteria is responsible for the state of me, as a result I needed a little rest every ~10K for the last 40.

Nice to meet Mercian Pro and Shamrock2004 and I apologise if I have brought dishonour on the boards jersey by getting off the bike so often.

Despite the state of me I'm delighted to have done it and hopefully I'll have a bit more training done before the Rebel tour.

• Registered Users Posts: 579 ✭✭✭fillup

mloc123 wrote: »
    fillup wrote: »
    Yup that was me alright.

Was chatting to you briefly on the drags out of Avoca yesterday.
    Yeah - good to meet ya and thanks for the heads up on the mudguard!
    My back wheel was doing a great job of grinding it down!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,195 ✭✭✭PaulieC

Last thing that annoyed me. A club group who were sitting in Shorline beside where I parked my bike had their feed and went. I went back to get my bike and where they were sitting looks like they just up and left. They left all their tissues, empty and half drank bottles of coke, empty gel wrappers and a control card all over the ground. I appreciate everyone is tired after doing 200 but come on, there was a bin 4 meters away. It couldn't have been that much of an effort to put your rubbish in it so lads and ladies, please take your rubbish home or bin it.

I think that applies to more to the road than the centre. At least the centre was prepared for it and was going to be cleaned before turning it back over to the owners. The amount of wrappers thrown about the road yesterday was disgraceful. Why people see fit to discard their rubbish on the road, especially in one of the most beautiful parts of the country, is beyond me. If you have the space to carry the gel, then you have the space to store the packet until you get to a rest stop where there are bins.

quozl wrote: »
    Shamrock2004 - those two crashes were on the Slieve Maan descent. I didn't see any marshals. I was the guy standing at the corner before the crash shouting warnings about it. We were in the Scott Orwell Van and found her in the middle of the road with two people already with her. One of our passengers phoned the ambulance as the people at the scene already, had no coverage.

We gave your poor collar bone breaking friend a lift to Greystones, along with 3 others and 5 bikes. Mental day. We were only meant to be doing mechanical support for Orwell but we barely did anything for Orwell in the end.

Thanks so much for the digout lads. Was very much appreciated. Bad news for our buddy though - multipled breaks... but yous were a lifesaver getting him back safely. Well done & thanks again!

1st the excuses - This was my 1st day on the bike in 5 weeks, work sent me to India and I brought back a delightful case of Dehli belly which kept me from straying too far from a "facility". The volumes of sugar I consumed on the day seems to have fed whatever bacteria is responsible for the state of me, as a result I needed a little rest every ~10K for the last 40.

Nice to meet Mercian Pro and Shamrock2004 and I apologise if I have brought dishonour on the boards jersey by getting off the bike so often.

Despite the state of me I'm delighted to have done it and hopefully I'll have a bit more training done before the Rebel tour.

Fair play mate. That climb up SM in the heat was a killer and I can only imagine how bad it was with a dodgy belly. Such a pity there were no refreshments at the top... Well done on finishing! Nice chatting to you.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,455 ✭✭✭Macy0161

First Wicklow 200, and my first sportive (I was at the miners village wondering why the feck I hadn't done one before to know how things work). This has turned into a longer report/ post than I was planning...

Miserable start, and tbh if I'd got a puncture on the Farrankelly road, it would've been touch and go whether I would've just jacked it. Forgot all my food in the haze of leaving the house, but since we passed my house it worked out grand - stopped, comfort break, water top and dry socks and gloves! Just tagged along with groups until the Laragh - didn't seem to be much organisation at that point.

Wicklow Gap took at my own pace up to the top of the miners village, figured a head wind was coming on the exposed bit and caught an Orwell train. I may have gone a bit deep, but it felt a bit six of one, half a dozen of the other at that point. Didn't stop at the top, and took a handy enough descent. Hollywood to Balto was pretty good - got in a good group, which was well organised by a group of lads from Armagh, and we fairly motored without me feeling going too deep. Went a bit to pot when we came up behind another group and a merger took place, and then when we turned off the main road is pretty dicey with some going up the middle of lines, switching between lines etc. Was just about to leave them to it when we hit the food stop.

There was a bit of a queue, but moved reasonably fast, and plenty of food. Only took the one sandwich which I regretted. Those marshmallow biscuit bars are lovely though! Met up with a club mate there, so we headed off towards Slievemaan together. Did latch on with a massive Orwell group for a bit, but that broke up on the hills towards Slievemaan. Heard a few asking on some of the smaller climbs was this Slievemaan - I'd say they got a shock! Less said about Slievemaan the better - sufferfest. No feet down, but probably would've been quicker crawling. First cramps on the climb too, in the hammers. Stopped at the top for water - seemed like plenty at that stage. Looked like someone had come off on the descent, but they were up and moving and looked just road rash. Didn't break any personal records on Shay, but was better than SM. I'd know that descent fairly well, but it looked like some were taking it way to fast towards the bottom, but didn't see anyone in bother.

From there on in, it was pretty much my club spin regular roads. Plenty of food in Rathdrum, and no queues. As we headed off another massive Orwell group left (more peloton than group), so latched on to that for a bit towards Avoca, but it was too big and too much opening and closing of gaps. I'd like to say I bailed as it was too dangerous, but reality was that I was cramping every time I tried to push to close the gap so sat up to recover for what I knew was to come. Did my own thing over the climbs and descents up until Deputy's, and legs were in much better climbing shape by then. Tried to latch on a group at Deputy's, but cramped again (pb for the segment though!). Glenealy to Ashford a group came past and kinda just slotted in ahead of me, so I took the shelter until the descent into Ashford - again there seemed to be a few others who were taking the tow who didn't really seem to know group riding, so I decided I'd rather solo that bit with the ramps and road surface, as I knew the roads.

My initial target was to beat 10 hours. I knew at that stage I'd beat 9, so Ashford and the coast road I solo'd and didn't push on too much. Averaged 23.2, which I was delighted with. Also worked out my IT Band issues are actually probably (lack of) bike fit related rather than running related. Could feel my hips fairly early on, and at the end I had the IT Band pain on the knee - a quick sea dip seemed to sort it short term (definitely recommend that for future years). Really enjoyed it, and the atmosphere and chatting to people, especially in the group we had going from Hollywood. Although special mention to the fella that decided to have a go at me over my "dangerous" disc brakes on the Shay (they nearly were dangerous for him to have go at that pain point! :) ).

Didn't see any boards kits. Must get some shorts even, just so I can mix it with the club top for these sorts of events, or did I see casquettes on the order list? Ring of Kerry next - no fear over the distance and terrain but a little nervous of so many people on the road to be honest.

Thought the marshalling was pretty good for the most part - I guess the times they were sparse was on the roads I know. I've not got enough experience to comment too much on the marshalling of the descents, but I would've said they were well flagged beforehand? Plenty of food at all the stops, and plenty of water.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Macy0161 wrote: »

Heard a few asking on some of the smaller climbs was this Slievemaan - I'd say they got a shock!

Ha ha! Every Year! :)

Macy0161 wrote: »
    ...Ring of Kerry next - no fear over the distance and terrain but a little nervous of so many people on the road to be honest....
    At least most of the riders on the WW200 are fairly experienced. The ROK, on the other hand, has much greater numbers, many of whom are not experienced/regular cyclists and who do not have basic cycling etiquette.