Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Narcissism, selfies, steroids, social media...

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,117 ✭✭✭✭Junkyard Tom

Candie wrote: »
    Phone box, how quaint. :P

Did they have cars when you were young, JT?

Yes but they were held together with rust and sticky tape!

I was born in the early half of the 70's so I'm of the generation that straddles the pre-internet-to-Facebucket era, interesting times indeed. I love all this communication technology fwiw. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

It's all about validation,people are afraid that they're not living their life according to what others might want.they want to be seen to be part of the good life.
    You never see narcissitic people post pictures of the bad or mundane parts of life.It's like they live in a vacuum.who they think they're fooling I don't know.It's always funny watching them interact in a real life event.like a picnic or something.they are not really there experiencing it or interacting with others, merely recording.it's all one box ticking exercise.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,172 ✭✭✭FizzleSticks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

Frankly scary to think of teenagers growing up in the social media age. Must be head wrecking to think you have to compete with all these smiley happy people online, everyone knowing everything about you and your comings and goings, people commenting (and what that entails for kids with bullying etc)
    Very glad I grew up in the last age of innocence!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Agricola wrote: »
    Frankly scary to think of teenagers growing up in the social media age. Must be head wrecking to think you have to compete with all these smiley happy people online, everyone knowing everything about you and your comings and goings, people commenting (and what that entails for kids with bullying etc)
    Very glad I grew up in the last age of innocence!

The thing is to raise children to have a titter of wit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

I think in time the coming to prominence of social networking will be seen as one of the pivotal moments in human development.

Fūck me that's a lousy thought.

If it was in some kind of William Gibson cyberpunk way then ok. But it's duck face, went for a walk, new me, hangtag, guns out, inspirational quote, juice plus, here's me avocados, pain is weakness leaving the body, I need attention right now.

Every fücker over 5 and under 65 is on it posting photos for likes. 'lovely pic, stunning hun, so gorgeous, looking well Pat'.

It's a ßhitty mess.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,100 ✭✭✭Autonomous Cowherd

Fūck me that's a lousy thought.

If it was in some kind of William Gibson cyberpunk way then ok. But it's duck face, went for a walk, new me, hangtag, guns out, inspirational quote, juice plus, here's me avocados, pain is weakness leaving the body, I need attention right now.

Every fücker over 5 and under 65 is on it posting photos for likes. 'lovely pic, stunning hun, so gorgeous, looking well Pat'.

It's a ßhitty mess.

Hahaha :D

(Plus I had to google hangtag....I still don't know if avocados means healthy lunch or a Kim-K-esque bum...or neither...how embarrassing)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭Dog Man Star

Some things remain the same. Awkward teenagers for example.

Saw a young lad on the train this morning listening to Hatful of Follow on his iphone.

Felt like hugging him. Gave him a nod instead, he gave me a massive smile.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 410 ✭✭Dog Man Star

Some things remain the same. Awkward teenagers for example.

Saw a young lad on the train this morning listening to Hatful of Hollow on his iphone.

Felt like hugging him. Gave him a nod instead, he gave me a massive smile.

In 1993 I was blaring Just Like Heaven from my bedroom in the afternoon, and a paper boy stopped and sang every word up to my room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

What's wrong with being narcissistic though

Those who are narcissistic can tend to be very fit, have good diets, dress well and groom well. Generally stress free without the want of relationships but have a very close bond to family and a few friends.

Nothing wrong with that once it's not in everyone's face IMO. We can't all be charity workers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,409 ✭✭✭✭endacl

I have elected not to take part. I observe from a distance. And feel superior. Obviously.

I utterly despise this era, particularly since about 2012/2013.

Also, does anyone else actually just feel sad that the pre-social media world is gone forever? I doubt people are overall happier following its coming into existence.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,217 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Irish_rat wrote: »
    Those who are narcissistic can tend to be very fit, have good diets, dress well and groom well. Generally stress free without the want of relationships but have a very close bond to family and a few friends.

Nothing wrong with that once it's not in everyone's face IMO. We can't all be charity workers
    Actual narcissists are malignant individuals to be around. I'm not talking about some yahoo or yahooess gurning in selfies, or going to the max in gyms, whatever floats your boat. But narcissistic personalities you really don't want to around. Even narcissistic personalities avoid one another.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,516 ✭✭✭✭briany

Also, does anyone else actually just feel sad that the pre-social media world is gone forever? I doubt people are overall happier following its coming into existence.

Who knows? It would be pretty easy to look at someone taking a snap of themselves and think this person is unfilled, unhappy, insecure, full of themselves and looking for attention, but is this more a reflection of ourselves? To make ourselves appear superior, i.e. "Look at that eejit pouting into their phone. Wouldn't catch me doing that, for I am a person of character, substance and deep thought. That person is vacuous and shallow and they're in for a rude awakening when their looks go."

One habit does not define the character of a person, though. I'd be more worried about how a person treats others on a day to day basis. Social media can hurt us here because it's so easy now to surreptitiously take a photograph of someone looking odd or doing an odd thing and upload it the web for a judgement fest. We don't need the government spying on us, because we've become a Stasi for ourselves in some cases, and for the worst of reasons, not even under the pretense of security.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,902 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

It's a load of sh*te. Watching lads in work scroll down through their falsebook pages, liking every post without even looking at it or reading it.

The "me, Me, ME" generation. Look at ME...I need your likes. I need to post a pic of my dinner, of the sky, of my new runners. Who gives a fcuk....you're not famous, nobody cares what you are doing.

Checking in....who gives 2 shiny sh*tes that you checked into a bar, club, airport or gym. No one needs to know where you are...no one gives a fcuk where you are...except you are a dick head who thinks that the world will stop if you don't tell all and sundry that you are at a place. Big fcuking deal.

Social media my arse...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,516 ✭✭✭✭briany

The uncomfortable truth is that we're talking here about social media on social media. We even have a 'like' system, and I don't think many here can truly say that they don't get a little endorphin rush from when they see a post has garnered a big load of thanks. Indeed, we see it on After Hours where many subjects will be met with witty remarks or attempts at them to get that one where it's like 150 thanks or whatever, so there's obviously people chasing that, and I don't think that's a whole lot different to scrolling through FB, so maybe it's a case of picking your poison if you're on the Internet at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭Mister Vain

It has gotten to the stage where looking good for facebook photos is even more important than getting the ride.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,547 ✭✭✭Agricola

briany wrote: »
    The uncomfortable truth is that we're talking here about social media on social media. We even have a 'like' system, and I don't think many here can truly say that they don't get a little endorphin rush from when they see a post has garnered a big load of thanks. Indeed, we see it on After Hours where many subjects will be met with witty remarks or attempts at them to get that one where it's like 150 thanks or whatever, so there's obviously people chasing that, and I don't think that's a whole lot different to scrolling through FB, so maybe it's a case of picking your poison if you're on the Internet at all.

Similar but not the same. We're all anonymous here and for a huge number of posters it's just a way to speak openly/truthfully without inhibitions about a variety of topics that affect us all. I personally pay no attention to the profile page I filled in yonks ago, or keep account of friends on here etc.

Social media with your mugshot in the corner and your real name emblazoned across the top of the page is a different animal altogether. In essence, if the likes of facebook and instagram is about embellishing your life, anonymous forums like Boards are often about being brutally honest about how shít your life actually is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,310 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Similar but not the same. We're all anonymous here and for a huge number of posters it's just a way to speak openly/truthfully without inhibitions about a variety of topics that affect us all. I personally pay no attention to the profile page I filled in yonks ago, or keep account of friends on here etc.

Social media with your mugshot in the corner and your real name emblazoned across the top of the page is a different animal altogether. In essence, if the likes of facebook and instagram is about embellishing your life, anonymous forums like Boards are often about being brutally honest about how shít your life actually is.

You have explained the difference perfectly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,789 ✭✭✭PowerToWait

It has gotten to the stage where looking good for facebook photos is even more important than getting the ride.

If this is indeed true, then the situation is even more dire than I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

It'll be interesting to see how it develops. Most of us here are Old or Getting-Old Farts in fairness. I think most young people now would naturally grow out of the phase. ye do more things for attention when you're younger in general, (hopefully) you mellow out as ye mature and find your place in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Exactly and more it's more a democracy of thought than Facebook.what I mean by that is,for the most part our perception of someone's comments here is not clouded by how they look.however someone more or less retarded can say something more or less retarded or banal or bloody obvious on Facebook and get a million likes.they get extra weight added to their opinion because they've their tits hanging out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 260 ✭✭Stig Inge

Anybody who takes a selfie is a **** of the highest order

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,185 ✭✭✭screamer

Stig Inge wrote: »
    Anybody who takes a selfie is a **** of the highest order

Nah taking a selfie is OK. Expecting everyone else to take an interest in it when you plaster it up for the world to see is the problem I have with it.

More than narcissism Fakebook is full of very insecure people creating a world of dillusion to inhabit where their sustainance is other people's approval and envy of them. Such a sad way to waste your life.

in a few years social media will wane as people just get fed up of being instantly contactable having zero privacy and being caught on the hamster wheel of posting a perfect existence. The narcissists may pay for the platform then to keep it going!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,568 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

This is a funny one. I'm moving into a new house soon and the estate has a building progress Facebook page. Some actually tag themselves on the picture before they have even moved in, haha!

Handy for the thieves to call when they post up a status of their holiday in Spain in the future. Idiots!

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 13,102 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

I think social media selfies reflect a deeper malaise in society. Deeply rooted insecurity and the constant need to have the "perfect" pic for others to "like" - admittedly I've been guilty of "liking" other people's selfies and I really must check myself for continuing to do that.

My own Facebook self pic is over 2 years old so I definitely can't be accused of posting up selfies all the time lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭chrissb8

No one lives life anymore. How can anyone exist in the present when their sitting in front of a gorgeous sunset and think "if I put this on Facebook it will get so many likes". It's like these "experiences" are just commodities. Did you enjoy Thailand? Was that concert unreal? How can you know when you can't even be present and enjoy it. All their doing is going through the rig and roll of these "experiences" and adding value to themselves as a person in a fake manner.

How does anyone living live like that from post to post like to like. I find it ruins things I'm trying to enjoy or take part in. Trying to talk to someone...."yeah, yeah......" is all you get from them as they post some dumb crap on Facebook or instagram. If you do this you are the most unoriginal desperate person. How about trying to be more secure in yourself without the need of strangers vindicating your deep picture of a sunset. Because really you don't care about that sunset and it doesn't say anything about you as a person. That picture of a sunset doesn't mean you're an appreciator of the fine things in life infact you ruin that appreciation by tainting it with such utter nonsense. Pathetic.

Wibbs wrote: »
    Actual narcissists are malignant individuals to be around. I'm not talking about some yahoo or yahooess gurning in selfies, or going to the max in gyms, whatever floats your boat. But narcissistic personalities you really don't want to around. Even narcissistic personalities avoid one another.

Most of the time I hear people refer to narcissism like it's just extreme selfishness or arrogance, but if you've ever been involved with a real narcissist, you know that it is a real and true disorder of the personality.
    It involves a shocking lack of conscience and marked departure from rational thought. The person really appears to be crazy, and they hide this from most of the world most of the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 798 ✭✭✭LightsStillOn

chrissb8 wrote: »
    No one lives life anymore. How can anyone exist in the present when their sitting in front of a gorgeous sunset and think "if I put this on Facebook it will get so many likes". It's like these "experiences" are just commodities. Did you enjoy Thailand? Was that concert unreal? How can you know when you can't even be present and enjoy it. All their doing is going through the rig and roll of these "experiences" and adding value to themselves as a person in a fake manner.

How does anyone living live like that from post to post like to like. I find it ruins things I'm trying to enjoy or take part in. Trying to talk to someone...."yeah, yeah......" is all you get from them as they post some dumb crap on Facebook or instagram. If you do this you are the most unoriginal desperate person. How about trying to be more secure in yourself without the need of strangers vindicating your deep picture of a sunset. Because really you don't care about that sunset and it doesn't say anything about you as a person. That picture of a sunset doesn't mean you're an appreciator of the fine things in life infact you ruin that appreciation by tainting it with such utter nonsense. Pathetic.

Or, you know, maybe it was just a really nice sunset and they wanted to take a picture of it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,684 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Where people not taking photos of sunsets long before we had camera phones?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

NIMAN wrote: »
    Where people not taking photos of sunsets long before we had camera phones?

We were. But jaysis it was a pain in the arse to be getting 20 copies made of the picture, from negatives, and then posting each one to 20 friends and having to wait a week or so for the Thankyou cards.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

Bunch of dry bastards.

chrissb8 wrote: »
    No one lives life anymore. How can anyone exist in the present when their sitting in front of a gorgeous sunset and think "if I put this on Facebook it will get so many likes". It's like these "experiences" are just commodities.

I appreciate what up you say, but I kinda like the sunset type ones, or indeed just about any of them compared to the unadulterated selfie.

In your example it may just be someone saying "this is what I see, this is beautiful, do you think it's beautiful?" Which is different IMO to "this is me, I am beautiful, please confirm I am beautiful".

It's needy, self indulgent, and IMO has much more of a whiff of low self esteem and a cry for validation than other photos.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,660 ✭✭✭armaghlad

I appreciate what up you say, but I kinda like the sunset type ones, or indeed just about any of them compared to the unadulterated selfie.

In your example it may just be someone saying "this is what I see, this is beautiful, do you think it's beautiful?" Which is different IMO to "this is me, I am beautiful, please confirm I am beautiful".

It's needy, self indulgent, and IMO has much more of a whiff of low self esteem and a cry for validation than other photos.
    I really love when people capture a nice sunset or a really idllyic scenic photo and share it online. Some of the snapchats and instagram pictures posted by some of my friends over the last few days have been magnificent

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Texas Jack

This thread may as well be running commentary for the Forbidden Fruit festival this weekend

Never seen as many c*ntnuggets

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

In fairness to the good weather, a little sun kiss has made a lot of us look a lot healthier and better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 231 ✭✭prizefighter

Your Face wrote: »
    A lot of out of shape sweat hogs share similar opinions.

After a few ultra marathons, I wouldn't class myself as an out of shape sweat hog. I'd be fit, and pretty used to a gym...hence I can discern the difference between the power lifting types and those whose achievement is reaching around to injection steroids into their backside and take selfies of themselves at the gym.

But even people who take steroids have to work out, no? It's not just an immediTe muscle building formula and they inject while sitting around on a couch. I'm not condoning it, but surely you must see exercise is still very much a fundamental aspect of body building whether with steroids or not?!!