Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Great Dublin bike Ride 2016

• Registered Users Posts: 851 ✭✭✭TonyStark

Met TonyStark at the start and spent the first bout of non-Competitive Sportive jockeying for position like it mattered fever chatting with hm at a gentle pace.

Great meeting you and chatting for the first few km's.

Footage of the first bit here down to the point here. Only recorded the first part of the ride. Bet you didn't see the camera! :-) :

• Registered Users Posts: 48 zarker

It was my first 'race' event and it was fantastic. Highlights for me:

- The route was great. Been to places I've never been in Dublin
    - Great work from Garda and volunteers blocking roads, etc
    - Great to see people out cheering to complete strangers (anyone see the ladies swinging their bras somewhere in Malahide? :-D)
    - The pasta at the end was a great touch

Will definitely be back next year.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

morana wrote: »
    very nice day in the saddle. Felt like I met half of dublin racing community on it. Lovely going up the hills and looking back over the city and then up snowtown and the view out to sea. The only thing I would say is to have the first feeding station more spread out . have the big one alrite but up the road a table with the resfreshments etc just to ease the congestion at the gaa club.

Was talking to a big man on a mountain bike fair play to him for doing the 100.

great day out.

Great to see, you're keeping up the cycling.
    Well done.

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭Rambling Man

zarker wrote: »
    (anyone see the ladies swinging their bras somewhere in Malahide? :-D)

Probably nothing to do with the GDBR, just the last few revellers out of Tomangos

On one of the last climbs we passed a lady that decided to hop off and have a smoke. That got a few chuckles.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,277 ✭✭✭MB Lacey

Extremely well marshalled, a free reign at every junction to just glide through - lovely feeling.
    Didn't need to check my downloaded gpx route once.
    That dangerous left turn off a descent which was flagged by posters on this forum had 3 marshalls telling cyclists to slow down and one marshall waving a red flag.
    Only had to stop at a junction once over the 100km and that was at the lights at Hanlon's corner.
    Some of the views were stunning esp coast road at Portmarnock and at the top of some of the climbs. Ideally would have liked to have taken in Howth head views and go onto Skerries, but you're organising a whole other route doing this.
    Some of the route in Meath got a little samey after a while.
    Hills really weren't that bad.

Food stops were basic (t/c, sandwiches, water and bananas) but good. Pit stop at 88km was welcome after that headwind.
    Though it should be moved to 70 or 75km for next year.
    Overall a good experience, mostly due to the great organisation, people and personal achievement for myself and my commuter bike over the 100km.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Short video taken just before the summit of the Snowtown climb:

https://www.facebook.com/THEAlanKelly/videos/1162132853809670/

• Registered Users Posts: 4,263 ✭✭✭robyntmorton

I'm after going into my tracking data to see what was there, and it appears that it did track me, though it stopped updating the screen. Gave me 4:35:20, 21.6 km/h for the course, though it did track my movements at the food stops too, which when removed would put it to about 4:30. So, I wasn't wildly off with my 4:40 estimate.

As I was saying I would be impressed with a 4 hour spin I can't be too disappointed, especially as I have never done a spin of this magnitude before.

It does give me something to aim for on the next one though, and there very probably will be a next one!

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

anyone looking to capitalise on all of their hard work done on the GDBR why wait?

Next weekend Blanch Wheelies (the crew who fed you at the last stop) are having their Annual Charity Spin in aid of St Francis Hospice..

A friendly 100K that anyone who managed GDBR would be well able for,

It's pay what you can

details on their FB page

Did this last year and it was a great day out

https://www.facebook.com/events/532176126976131/

**sorry this probably should have it's own post - just thought it might be nice for some who did the GDBR to keep the ball rolling..

Saw a couple of strong female cyclists riding with racks still in place.

New sports bra from M&S doing its job nicely then.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

MB Lacey wrote: »

New sports bra from M&S doing its job nicely then.

Post deleted because I thought I'd said something offensive.

*Pannier racks - indicating a commuter
    :(

Post deleted because I thought I'd said something offensive.

*Pannier racks - indicating a commuter
    :(

ah no - taken as a joke!!

I also saw those cyclists with pannier 'racks' :pac: very impressed, but not a chance I'd cycle with one for 100km.
    I'm no Nameless Phil :P

• Registered Users Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭Eponymous

In two minds about how today went.

First 65km or so were grand. Didn't stop at the first food stop as I felt it was ridiculously early. Had my banana about 20k in. Someone behind me may have been hit by the flying Nutrigrain that accidentally got dislodged from my pocket (soz). That flying Nutrigrain meant I had no more food, and I started to suffer coming into Garristown. Stopped, had a can of Coke and most of a packet of Jaffa cakes, and went on my way again. That kept me going for about 10km, but the last 25km (and the 10km or so home from Smithfield) were very tough. Finished in 4:20, had been aiming for sub 4, so a little disappointed.

Had a couple of sketchy moments. One fool came past me on the right and then immediately cut in front of me on one of the hills, nearly had to put the foot down. Someone else came past me, saw his mate stopped 50m ahead at the side of the road, and went to turn across me to meet him. If it weren't for his mate saying "don't stop, I'll catch up", I'd probably have been knocked down.

Oh, and I saw one Boardsie. Long sleeves, Cannondale Synapse and a big beard if I recall correctly

Edit: Also, highlight of the day was seeing what looked like a British Airways 747 landing at DUB around 12:30 ( sorry, aviation geek :))

My fly by was the Emirates A330. 😀

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,722 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tabnabs

Mine was the Delta A330 :o #avgeek

• Registered Users Posts: 358 ✭✭Rambling Man

07Lapierre wrote: »
    Short video taken just before the summit of the Snowtown climb:

https://www.facebook.com/THEAlanKelly/videos/1162132853809670/

My spent carcass passes your camera at 46 seconds. I'm sporting the odd choice of long blue gloves because it was cold at 6.45 and I'm a short term thinker.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,067 ✭✭✭✭fryup

btw - there was some guy rant & raving on a street corner at the start..anyone know what was it about? just a looney?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,387 ✭✭✭cunavalos

Did anyone see the the guy in full tt mode (skinsuit, aero helmet, tt/tri bike and disc wheel) who was given his own lead car and escort for the 100km route

• Registered Users Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

cunavalos wrote: »
    Did anyone see the the guy in full tt mode (skinsuit, aero helmet, tt/tri bike and disc wheel) who was given his own lead car and escort for the 100km route

Well he must have the Strava KOM then :cool:

• Registered Users Posts: 8,248 ✭✭✭07Lapierre

Yeah...I was right at the front of the first wave. Once we started, myself and one of the Garda riders were at the front. As we neared the convention centre he came up to me and asked if he had to stay behind us until the end of the quays. when i said no, he took off up the road!

I assume the lead car had no option but to stay in front of him, as long as he was the lead/first rider.

I was chatting to him before the start (he was waiting next to me)

He planned to do the 100km in 2.5 hours, then go home to Mullingar (another 100km) in 2.5 hours.

Total lunatic, but fair play to him!

• Registered Users Posts: 14,681 ✭✭✭✭P_1

There he is at 02:40 https://www.facebook.com/greatdublinbikeride/videos/832756843526176/

I'd wager he was glad of the car going down Kilbride.

I was chatting to him before the start (he was waiting next to me)

He planned to do the 100km in 2.5 hours, then go home to Mullingar (another 100km) in 2.5 hours.

Total lunatic, but fair play to him!

@robynmorton, you and I must have started very close to each other. I think that guy was just behind me at the start. I was on the extreme right, two or three riders from the front.

Eamonnator wrote: »
    @robynmorton, you and I must have started very close to each other. I think that guy was just behind me at the start. I was on the extreme right, two or three riders from the front.

And I was just behind him!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,124 ✭✭✭Unknown Soldier

Wave 2 Start using a Drift Stealth Cam 2

It has a 1080p setting, somewhere, on Viewtoob.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,572 ✭✭✭DominoDub

Found this on You Tube ..Full 100k from a rear mount Fly 6 Cam .

Still yet to find myself ..but I see lots of people I passed, or maybe they passed me :o

DominoDub wrote: »

Found this on You Tube ..Full 100k from a rear mount Fly 6 Cam .

Still yet to find myself ..but I see lots of people I passed, or maybe they passed me :o

Fair play to him: 2hrs 18 mins. is good going.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭easygoing39

I dont think he done it in 2.14 hrs,the video is speeded up a little.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,477 ✭✭✭rollingscone

Just wondering what gearing ratio you have?

(Mine is 48/16 (i.e. 3:1) - I'd don't think I'd manage the steep part of Snowtown on it!).

46x16

I'm only a puny mortal

• Registered Users Posts: 1,375 ✭✭✭easygoing39

https://www.strava.com/activities/708196939

This is the guy who belted off at the convention center,he says he got caught at the 55km point.Looking at the Flyby's it looks like 2 riders caught him and they rode together to the finish.

I dont think he done it in 2.14 hrs,the video is speeded up a little.

The video is done at 1.5 speed, making his time approx. 3:30.

(He passes me at 57:02 - as I am pulled over at the side of the road, suffering a bit of a sandwich cramp)