Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Soccer Aid 2016 - England vs Rest of the World - June 5th, ITV, 8pm Kick Off

• 03-06-2016 6:36pm
    Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭

Live from Old Trafford, it's Soccer Aid! These matches are usually good fun, as a mix of celebrities, "celebrities" and legends face off in a charity match for UNICEF. Team news as follows so far.
    Cj4lZ8yWUAADI5x.jpg:large

More information should people want to donate money: http://socceraid.unicef.org.uk/

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,854 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

Since when was Jose English?

wasn't there talk he had pulled out so his first match managing at Old Trafford woulda been with Utd... shoulda just made him the ref and had Big Sam vs Claudio.

Bit weird that England have two managers (and 2 celeb managers) actually but I guess I really am thinking too much about this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

It's like there's almost no other 'celebrities' that play football. More or less the same groups every year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Danny Jones won't be taking part anyway as he broke his elbow training for the game!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Damien Lewis is one of the best celeb footballers I've seen - and I've seen a few of these :D

Probably not on UTV Ireland :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Legends - Ronaldinho vs....Kieron Dyer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,128 ✭✭✭✭Oranage2

Legends - Ronaldinho vs....Kieron Dyer.
    HAHAHA that made me laugh, brilliant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I'll never forget Romario's "performance" a couple of years ago. A part of me died the day.
    Corholio wrote: »
    It's like there's almost no other 'celebrities' that play football. More or less the same groups every year.

Jonathan Wilkes is pretty much just famous for playing celebrity football games at this stage. That, and being Robbie Williams mate.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 42,606 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lord TSC

https://twitter.com/ollyofficial/status/739442277421043712

Olly Murs saying Jose IS managing the team tonight. At a guess, I'd say Sam will be the "Manager" who does all the press stuff, and Jose will be on the touchline with him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,943 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

Niall Horan retired already?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,056 ✭✭✭Too Tough To Die

Not the most exotic rest of the world line up is it. 2 of them are English.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,943 ✭✭✭✭ShaneU

UTV Ireland not showing it continues their quest to be the most pointless channel ever created.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

I wonder will Jonathan Wilkes make a muppet of himself again this year?

Lol Carragher getting booed, and then Olly getting high pitched cheers.

• Registered Users Posts: 33,754 ✭✭✭✭RobertKK

The sideways passing at the very beginning by the rest of the world was like a tribute to LVG. :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,977 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

ShaneU wrote: »
    UTV Ireland not showing it continues their quest to be the most pointless channel ever created.
    Would they get an audience for it? I'm not watching it and I don't know anybody who is.

Olly Murs is handy enough. Brilliantly timed run and knew where he wanted the ball to be put. Not a great finish though!

Olly Murs reminds me of a young Danny Welbeck in front of an open goal.

What's with the booing of Carra? :D

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Olly Murs is handy enough. Brilliantly timed run and knew where he wanted the ball to be put. Not a great finish though!

Playing for a contract. Making some good runs, just needs to work on that finishing.

What's with the booing of Carra? :D

What makes me laugh is that Fowler isn't getting any of it :pac:

I'd imagine yer man Evans would be handy, seems to be decent at what ever he turns his hand too, international rugby player, plays golf close to scratch and went out with Kelly Brook

Murs would cause a manager to turn to drink.

Savage pass from Fowler but that first touch was utterly criminal from whoever that guy is.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

England are well on top tbh. Loving the boo-ing of carragher also I think I fancy Jose's daughter, have too get onto the lads in the United thread about the 5 a side team and see is there room

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,595 ✭✭✭✭Trigger

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Savage pass from Fowler but that first touch was utterly criminal from whoever that guy is.

I've been informed by my niece that he is a member of a group called Jealous or something like that.

Robbiw Williams, another player who could have played for Ireland :p

His grandfather is from Kilkenny.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Murs would cause a manager to turn to drink.

A bit like the effect watching Memphis had on me...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,294 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Lord TSC wrote: »
    What makes me laugh is that Fowler isn't getting any of it :pac:

I say the majority in the crowd don't know who Fowler is

Ronaldinho just slightly off :p

Murs again! :mad:

LOLly Murs

I stick by my earlier comment about Olly Murs :p

The left back, Fletcher looks like he doesn't know what to do with a ball.

Murs could be a drinking game by now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,521 ✭✭✭✭mansize

Can't believe this is a thread in soccer not celebrity lolz

That was some challenge by Ben Shephard on Edgar Davids.

Not quite friendly.

Murs could be a drinking game by now.

*takes a drink*

There's always one have a go idiot who gets stuck into a legend.

MEGS.

RobertKK wrote: »
    That was some challenge by Ben Shephard on Edgar Davids.

Not quite friendly.

You could say Ben has reached his... Tipping Point 😎
    (Tipping Point is an awful daytime tv game show hosted by Sheppard)

mansize wrote: »
    You could say Ben has reached his... Tipping Point 😎
    (Tipping Point is an awful daytime tv game show hosted by Sheppard)

Row 4 please Ben...looks like it is going to ride, hard luck Edgar...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

The English lads are taking this hilariously seriously.

Row 4 please Ben...looks like it is going to ride, hard luck Edgar...

Any lateral movement???

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,158 ✭✭✭✭hufpc8w3adnk65

Edgar Davids is been kicked all over the pitch

mansize wrote: »
    Any lateral movement???

No, but Edgar the star counter was nearly taken out again.

Oh Robbie.

England should be at least two up.

Niall Horan will win this for us...

schmeichel justifiably pîssed with Shepard

No, but Edgar the star counter was nearly taken out again.

A little bit bigger- but a whole lot letter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,363 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

Having Defoe in this England attack makes this a bit of a farce.