Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Roma beggars in Maynooth

• 05-06-2016 10:20pm
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭

What's the story with these guys? I see there are three of them now. Can't be easy for restaurants trying to attract business with these guys around?

I see them up in Kingsbury, there's a house load of them there. Also seenone of them on the train on his mobile. Not so sure these guys are homeless.

• Registered Users Posts: 902 ✭✭✭twinklerunner

What's the story with these guys? I see there are three of them now. Can't be easy for restaurants trying to attract business with these guys around?

I see them up in Kingsbury, there's a house load of them there. Also seenone of them on the train on his mobile. Not so sure these guys are homeless.

Why don't the Garda deal with them?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 843 ✭✭✭HandsomeDan

Why don't the Garda deal with them?

I was kind I wondering that too. It was just the one lad a year ago. Instead of nipping it the bud it's been allowed get worse. Shame as the town is starting to get a name for itself with the restaurants etc...

The business community should sue the gardai for loss of earnings.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,982 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

The business community should sue the guards for loss of earnings.

That's a bit of an overreaction

• Registered Users Posts: 11,220 ✭✭✭✭Lex Luthor

Few in Naas now aswell. One woman parked up across from Il Fico every day

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,205 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

If nobody gives them anything they will move on.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,236 ✭✭✭mattser

I was kind I wondering that too. It was just the one lad a year ago. Instead of nipping it the bud it's been allowed get worse. Shame as the town is starting to get a name for itself with the restaurants etc...

The business community should sue the gardai for loss of earnings.

They'd want to have a look at the law of recent years before heading for court.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,807 ✭✭✭✭Orion

My problem is not the begging so much - it's the false illusion that they're homeless. I've seen two of them go into their apartment block. And I have seen them arrive to set up their stall, so to speak, at the Tidy Towns office at 7am. There were a number of us doing some work in the square at the time so they dropped their bags in the doorway and went off for a couple of hours until we were finished.

Orion wrote: »
    My problem is not the begging so much - it's the false illusion that they're homeless. I've seen two of them go into their apartment block. And I have seen them arrive to set up their stall, so to speak, at the Tidy Towns office at 7am. There were a number of us doing some work in the square at the time so they dropped their bags in the doorway and went off for a couple of hours until we were finished.

The whole thing is sickening. Why is the town putting up with this? Why are the gardai not moving them on?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,436 ✭✭✭ixus

Gardai don't have the powers required accorsing to councillors (in local papers). Has to be a complaint made in the the form that the party begging is intimidating person making complaint. Not verbatim but something to that effect. And, they know it.

Councillor's have tried to find the men who sleep rough a place to stay but, they just return.

They do it because they make good money from it.

• Registered Users Posts: 806 ✭✭✭Tango One

If they were genuine homeless I would help them out but its nothing but a con job which really pisses me off(spotted one of the women yapping on her iphone) . They are becoming more aggressive and it only seems to be getting worse.

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭SQ2

A facebook page to spread awareness perhaps? Not to raise anger, but just to make people aware of what is happening so they don't keep encouraging them by giving

SQ2 wrote: »
    A facebook page to spread awareness perhaps? Not to raise anger, but just to make people aware of what is happening so they don't keep encouraging them by giving

There has been discussion on Maynooth Past Present & Future about it. I think a targeted facebook page runs big risks against the page owners. How they would be perceived or portrayed by media if national media got a sniff. There's a fine line between trying to resolve said issue and being labelled for doing something about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭HonalD

SQ2 wrote: »

Why not:
    1. never ever give money to a beggar;
    2. Inform local homeless charity about a destitute; and
    3. Donate any financial offerings directly to the charity.

Legitimate homeless benefit and con-artists lose.

If you feel you cannot do 1 then give them a cup of coffee or some food instead of money.

By doing this, any con artists are out of the loop, Roma, African or Irish.

• Registered Users Posts: 82,674 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

It's a commercial operation and only exists because idiots give them money.

Three new lads this evening. A gang of women on the bench eating food. Had to laugh, a woman on crutches with tidy towns was going passed the women picking up rubbish. Came back half hour later, the roma women had just fcked their food wrappers on the ground -why do we bother?

El Dorado, I'm just passing on the info I have. I would have some strong thoughts on it myself.

Regarding Maynooth and crime, you're incorrect. It has one of the highest burglary rates in the country. Stats have shown that recently. Maynooth, Celbridge, Kilcullen way up. Note how they are all beside but not served by a 24hr station. A mate, who is a member of Gardai and works in a very active part of Dublin, says the burglary and attempted burglary rates in Maynooth outstrip his area.

Edit: Article from back in November. KFM site.

16 NOVEMBER, 2015 - 11:50
    Maynooth Has 9th Highest Crime Rate In Ireland: Study.

A Neighbour Crime Survey has found that the Maynooth area has the 9th highest crime rate in Ireland.
    The study was conducted by The Times, Ireland and examined recorded instances of crime in 563 Garda Stations, nationwide, in the 12 months to the end of June.
    4.9 crimes per 100 people were recorded in Maynooth during that period.
    The highest in Ireland was Carlow town, at 5.8 crimes per 100 residents.
    The lowest crime rate in Kildare, according to the survey, was in Robertstown, at 1.9 crimes per 100 people.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭Joe Public

Cool_CM wrote: »
    That's a bit .....

"The business community should sue the guards for loss of earnings"

My thumbs up to the suggestion

Businesses are all paying high rates for what you may say, I know the money goes to the County Council but they are the authority that are getting the money and should be able to link up with the Garda and get the beggars who are also benefiting from welfare off the streets. Many are here purely because of our welfare system and lack of law enforcement.

• Registered Users Posts: 273 ✭✭Rathkenny

I see there are now 3 large planters in the doorway of the tidy towns building (the old discount shop beside Ulster bank) on the Main Street. I'm sure it is to try to address this very issue.

Rathkenny wrote: »
    I see there are now 3 large planters in the doorway of the tidy towns building (the old discount shop beside Ulster bank) on the Main Street. I'm sure it is to try to address this very issue.

Yep. They look great. Really brighten up the area.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Lepidoptera

I saw the flowers this morning and thought they looked lovely.

On the way home tonight, one of them has camped out right next to them again with a sign, so it didn't really achieve much.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭HonalD

On the way home tonight, one of them has camped out right next to them again with a sign, so it didn't really achieve much.

Need to put some nice fresh silage as fertiliser, that might work!

Still, a step in the right direction. They were getting a bit too comfortable in that doorway. Bistro 53 must be fuming with their outdoor diners only feet away from these fckers.

• Registered Users Posts: 48 washburn73

Actually counted SEVEN individuals on Main Street this evening - 5 outside the Tidy Towns office, one across the road beside Floods/Cathedral, and one further down the street....

Doesn't look great, particularly for a town which is trying to develop a reputation for restaurants and good socialising.

Not sure what can be done about it unless they are being particularly aggressive - as one poster previously stated, they will stay there as long as it's 'commercially viable' for them.

But if I was a local business owner, I wouldn't be happy.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 bolektrolek

two youg women seen today at the doors to Aldi, then near church gate.

what I saw the Aldi staff meber made them to go.

they are not poor people,
    this is working class but nor taxed ;)

Cheeky fckers moved one of the tidy town plants and are back in the doorway. We need to put down spike strips.

• Registered Users Posts: 146 ✭✭Lepidoptera

I noticed this morning that there is a big pile of black rubbish sacks in front of the door and a few more rubbish sacks down the street. It looks like dumping, though I suppose maybe it is something to do with tidy towns.

• Registered Users Posts: 12 bolektrolek

I noticed this morning that there is a big pile of black rubbish sacks in front of the door and a few more rubbish sacks down the street. It looks like dumping, though I suppose maybe it is something to do with tidy towns.

Not sure if this should be in this thread...