Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"No blacks allowed"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Is this accusation verifiable in any way whatsoever?
    I'd say Joe was tearing the wire off himself over this.
    Joe wasn't on today. He's on his third two week holiday this year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

We discriminat against our too unfortunately. I'm betting some that posted outrage here wouldn't be so upset it the bouncer said no travellers. It's all wrong

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,786 ✭✭✭wakka12

Just off averages Id say that bouncer alone has let in dozens of black people into the pub before. Irelands population is nearly 2% black I think, probably higher in Dublin. We get plenty of black tourists from USA , Canada, Britain , France and some african nations such as SA. They would all go to temple bar and probably lots visited that bar and were let in.
    If there was a popular tourist bar in dublin city centre operating with a no blacks policy we most certainly would have heard about it by now

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

Never seen anything like this. I know you get some nice bouncers and some other ones who love to throw their weight around. But if this was true, it wouldn't be a non-story.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

The story appears HERE

I'm actually lost for words, sickened.

Of course there's only one side of this story being told, and I'd love to hear the premises justify this policy or at least the policy of the security company supplying the door staff (if its contracted out).

"No black people allowed" ~ if I was witness to something like this I think I'd punch someone in the mouth.

This story can't be true. Not because the Irish are such anti-racist darlings, they're not but I can't envisage any bouncer, no matter how thick, saying something like that. I just can't.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,252 ✭✭✭FTA69

The story appears HERE

I'm actually lost for words, sickened.

Of course there's only one side of this story being told, and I'd love to hear the premises justify this policy or at least the policy of the security company supplying the door staff (if its contracted out).

"No black people allowed" ~ if I was witness to something like this I think I'd punch someone in the mouth.

You've been a doorman for yonks, these sort of racist entry policies are common across a variety of pubs but obviously never as explicit. I've lost count of the amount of places I've heard complaints about the crowd not being "regulated" tightly enough e.g too many Eastern Europeans, too many Africans etc. Maybe that's a less common attitude in Dublin than it is Cork though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Frynge wrote: »
    I assume there was already one black on the premises. John black, from Gort.

I'd ban that yoke myself.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,570 ✭✭✭HensVassal

Here's where I'm conflicted.

I always go by 'Believe half of what you see and none of what you hear' ~ Bruce Lee.

But then why would the lady (she was on Joe Duffy earlier today) make up a story which could easily be disproved (I'd imagine).

My gut instinct is rage.

Seems your gut instinct is smashing your fist into someone's face.

Bruce wouldn't be impressed, Grasshopper.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

I always doubt people who run to the papers with some gripe or other. Personally I doubt this happened and reckon they were refused entry for some other reason but chose to interpret it as racist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,903 ✭✭✭frozenfrozen

sorry lads you aren't getting in

IS IT COZ WE ARE BLAK

[sarcasm] yes, it's because you're black [/sarcasm]

and the story was born

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,275 ✭✭✭Your Face

Sleeper12 wrote: »
    We discriminat against our too unfortunately. I'm betting some that posted outrage here wouldn't be so upset it the bouncer said no travellers. It's all wrong

That's always an interesting comparsion in to make in threads like these.
    Probably not as fashionable a cause as other ones.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,597 ✭✭✭Richard tea

sorry lads you aren't getting in

IS IT COZ WE ARE BLAK

[sarcasm] yes, it's because you're black [/sarcasm]

and the story was born

This is exactly what I was thinking.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

I don't go into premises that have bouncers on the door as a rule. Anyone who does deserves what they get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,195 ✭✭✭✭jimgoose

4ensic15 wrote: »
    I don't go into premises that have bouncers on the door as a rule. Anyone who does deserves what they get.

No, sir. No they don't.

I find it a little difficult to believe that a professional doorman, in Ireland, in 2016, actually did that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 291 ✭✭Bigbok

How can people not think this
    Possibly happened??without starting a huge argument some of the most racist people I know
    Are Irish?im not saying all Irish are racist just saying that I know
    Quiet a few

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,190 ✭✭✭✭Sleeper12

Bigbok wrote:
    How can people not think this Possibly happened??without starting a huge argument some of the most racist people I know Are Irish?im not saying all Irish are racist just saying that I know Quiet a few

I can see possibly a racist doorman but I just find it difficult to believe that he told them why they weren't getting in. It's policy not to give a reason.
    I agree lots of Irish are racist

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,160 ✭✭✭Felix Jones is God

Bigbok wrote: »
    Possibly happened??without starting a huge argument some of the most racist people I know
    Quiet a few

Says the guy who doesn't count the black population of South Africa when quoting rugby playing numbers :rolleyes:

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,430 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I'm betting some that posted outrage here wouldn't be so upset it the bouncer said no travellers. It's all wrong

Who posted outrage? Most people have said they don't believe the story. Even the OP has taken a more sceptical view since the start of the thread.

Independent Newspapers, particularly in its Sunday variant, is by far the most awful in-bred rag in the 400-year-old history of Irish newspapers. No competition at all here. Think of those names: Harris, Fanning, Harris, Fanning, Cruise O'Brien, Kevin Myers, Dudley Edwards, Brendan O'Connor, John Drennan, Jody Corcoran, Harris, Fanning, Shane Ross, O'Hanlon - all sycophantic, unprincipled toerags (who are now mostly related to each other in some way thanks to the nepotism of the rags) doing the bidding for the agenda of whatever tax-dodging oligarch is currently paying their salaries.

This dredging the bottom of the pile story was published in aforesaid rag. If the OP could exercise his evidently considerable grá for the fight in aforesaid newsroom Ireland would immediately become a nicer, more honourable place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

was the doorman irish?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,896 ✭✭✭sabat

I can think of one establishment on the fringes of Temple Bar where this might have happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

I can see possibly a racist doorman but I just find it difficult to believe that he told them why they weren't getting in. It's policy not to give a reason.
    I agree lots of Irish are racist

When the were on Liveline today they said that the manager of the establishment was called to the door and he agreed with the bouncer that indeed no blacks were allowed in

Now unless there is a new club opened in Temple Bar run by the Ku Klux Klan I don't believe a word of this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,222 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I'd be very suspicious of this story. Any establishment in Temple Bar want's money in the till. Pure and simple. greed holes.

They wont risk their reputation by way of having a racist door policy. They care about the color of money not skin.

If there was a racist door policy they would be more clever then to admit it on the door.

Without the naming of the establishment I call bull**** on this story. Why not name them ? Hardly libelous if there were witness as the article suggests.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,857 ✭✭✭TheQuietFella

They were probably refused service probably due to having one too
    many and played the 'is it because I'm black' card.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,806 ✭✭✭taytobreath

I'd say Joe was tearing the wire off himself over this.

hahahhaha brilliant, heaavent heard that one in yeaRS

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,933 ✭✭✭smurgen

Did they name the place? If not it's bull****

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,492 ✭✭✭stoplooklisten

from the indo article

He came told us about the admissions policy, and said they have a right to not disclose the reasons why they deny access to people,” she said.

if they didn't disclose the reasons...?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 662 ✭✭✭Maireadio

My gut instinct is rage.

Not a particularly healthy emotion to have as an instinctual one.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,691 ✭✭✭4ensic15

from the indo article

He came told us about the admissions policy, and said they have a right to not disclose the reasons why they deny access to people,” she said.

if they didn't disclose the reasons...?

The manager didn't disclose the reasons, the bouncer did.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

When the were on Liveline today they said that the manager of the establishment was called to the door and he agreed with the bouncer that indeed no blacks were allowed in

Now unless there is a new club opened in Temple Bar run by the Ku Klux Klan I don't believe a word of this

I only heard parts of the story but from they were saying the manager did not spell out a no blacks policy, he just said that the bouncer is there 13 years and his word is the policy, without going into any detail.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,363 ✭✭✭KingBrian2

Don't know which is worse that a blatantly racist act took place in the middle of a cosmopolitan city or tabloid journalism is replacing actual facts & storytelling as real news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,533 ✭✭✭Jester252

“Last night we got calls saying it’s pointless, there’s nothing we can do because it’s not a criminal offence,”
    Issue 1: It is a criminal offence
    Issue 2: They got a call back for a Garda

KingBrian2 wrote: »
    Don't know which is worse that a blatantly racist act took place in the middle of a cosmopolitan city or tabloid journalism is replacing actual facts & storytelling as real news.

Gaining traction it seems. On the Irish Times website since 20.30.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/social-affairs/student-alleges-pub-refused-entry-saying-no-black-people-allowed-1.2676014

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,878 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

Back from training, aaaaaaaaaaaaaaand that's the last time I try to be a left-wing cry baby getting his knickers in a twist over a non story like this.

[training always makes me feel better]

Back to my old self again :pac: ~ I still like punching people, but usually they're training partners and they're trying to punch me back :o

Apologizes, carry on people :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,565 ✭✭✭K.Flyer

Being, Errr...discussed on FM104 now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

K.Flyer wrote: »
    Being, Errr...discussed on FM104 now.

'discussed'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,339 ✭✭✭The One Doctor

My gut instinct is rage.

You don't actually need to hit people to be recognised as a man nowadays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,386 ✭✭✭✭rubadub

Article said this
    They immediately headed to the Garda station, and were asked to return on Tuesday to make a statement.

“Last night we got calls saying it’s pointless, there’s nothing we can do because it’s not a criminal offence,” Ezile said.

Strange the gardai would say that.

http://www.irishtimes.com/news/man-refused-entry-to-pub-is-awarded-1-500-1.1091873
    A complaint by a non-national that he was refused admission to a Dublin pub on the grounds of race has been upheld by an equality officer.
    The complaint was made to the director of equality investigations under the Equal Status Act, 2000. The equality officer ordered that the owners of the pub, the Turk's Head on Parliament Street, pay Mr Sajjad Sajjadi €1,500 for the "distress, humiliation and loss of amenity suffered". Mr Sajjadi, from Azerbaijan, came to live in Ireland eight years ago. An Irish citizen, he is studying at Bolton Street College of Technology.
    He claimed that in September 2001 he was refused admission to the pub by a doorman, despite producing a student ID card showing that he was 33. He insisted that he had been refused admission because of his race.
    The pub's management rejected the claim that it operated a discriminatory policy against anyone. They claimed that it had a policy of only accepting Garda age cards or passports as proof of identification and that Mr Sajjadi was refused admission because he could produce neither.

and in that case the bouncers never even said they were refusing him because he was black. If they did utter those words in the recent case I would question if it was sarcastic, like an Ali G thing. Like if I asked "is it coz I's white"

It's a non story.. Like me starting a thread... I was punched by a bouncer outside a club last Wednesday.... what use is that to anyone ? if you want to be taken seriously.. and don't get me wrong if what was reported is true it is very serious indeed and should taken as so... but when you only give half the story its pointless... full facts or nothing it lacks credibility otherwise.. surprised the paper ran with it... or.. no wait im not actually

Strumms wrote: »
    It's a non story.. Like me starting a thread... I was punched by a bouncer outside a club last Wednesday.... what use is that to anyone ? if you want to be taken seriously.. and don't get me wrong if what was reported is true it is very serious indeed and should taken as so... but when you only give half the story its pointless... full facts or nothing it lacks credibility otherwise.. surprised the paper ran with it... or.. no wait im not actually

In fairness you can't win in such cases. Had they named the business it would be all about them ruining someone's business with allegations. I see it as a much more reasonable approach to withhold the name until there is some proof or reaction.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

Bigbok wrote: »
    Quiet a few
    Because the bouncer would very likely lose his job for this - moreso than for assaulting a patron I would wager.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

smurgen wrote: »
    Did they name the place? If not it's bull****
    Well not necessarily - while I agree it doesn't seem plausible, even if it were true, a newspaper risks being defamatory without giving the other side right of reply first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

mhge wrote: »
    In fairness you can't win in such cases. Had they named the business it would be all about them ruining someone's business with allegations. I see it as a much more reasonable approach to withhold the name until there is some proof or reaction.

They told the radio station the name of the business, and they contacted them to tell their side of the story, but refused, or were unavailable.

If there was 3 of them and that happened.. there are 3 witnesses vs one bouncer and one manager who didn't see initial conversation... It is a crime , the pub would be asked to provide evidence and cctv etc... Considering the nature of the issue I dont think the 'good name' of the premises would be the issue rather then for the majority the fair treatment of 3 people wanting a drink and who were prevented from getting one for the reason of the color of their skin...

It's a serious issue and if you are going to raise it I think you have to lay the full facts down or else people will doubt and not find it credible.. full account or none...

If there was 3 of them and that happened.. there are 3 witnesses vs one bouncer and one manager who didn't see initial conversation... It is a crime , the pub would be asked to provide evidence and cctv etc... Considering the nature of the issue I dont think the 'good name' of the premises would be the issue rather then for the majority the fair treatment of 3 people wanting a drink and who were prevented from getting one for the reason of the color of their skin...

It's a serious issue and if you are going to raise it I think you have to lay the full facts down or else people will doubt and not find it credible.. full account or none...

The poster above says that they gave the name of the business to the radio station, and presumably to the gardai, it was just not broadcasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,279 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

Here's where I'm conflicted.

I always go by 'Believe half of what you see and none of what you hear' ~ Bruce Lee.

But then why would the lady (she was on Joe Duffy earlier today) make up a story which could easily be disproved (I'd imagine).

My gut instinct is rage.

She was not "on Joe Duffy earlier today",she was on Liveline a radio programme whose main presenter is Joe Duffy.Philip Boucher-Hayes is presenting it at present.

The poster above says that they gave the name of the business to the radio station, and presumably to the gardai, it was just not broadcasted.

again unless full facts are known its pretty much just hearsay

I'm not sure what is that you'd like them to do?
    They were willing to name the business so they stood over their allegations (they could be sued for defamation if false I suppose).
    The business was not named in the end so its good name is protected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

I do not believe that this actually happened and I do not think that the indo believe it either, which is why they did not name the pub.

I'm not sure what is that you'd like them to do?
    They were willing to name the business so they stood over their allegations (they could be sued for defamation if false I suppose).
    The business was not named in the end so its good name is protected.

I think they should either tell the story with full facts or say nothing. They can still report it to the Guards... It's like someone reporting on a football match... giving the final score, what happened but not saying who was playing.... What benefit is there going to the media. If it went down like they say it did then they should have the courage of their convictions and name the pub