Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"Run like you left the immersion on!" - Sexism?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Without clicking into the article, did Una Mullaly write this tripe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,455 ✭✭✭maudgonner

I'm worried that I left the gas on. I'm also now worried that means I'm anti-Semetic. :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

maudgonner wrote: »
    I'm worried that I left the gas on. I'm also now worried that means I'm anti-Semetic. :confused:

very inappropriate but also very hilarious!

Tombo2001 wrote: »
    Yes like in the Olympics....where there are also women only races....
    No, specifically men only ones. Bhaa advertise that some are as well
    I don't think they tend to get a lot of interest anyway though and there's no bar to setting up another one

Does seem a fair point against the article though, it's not a great one

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

Duggy747 wrote:
    Or do you think the author is onto something?

No I just think the author is 'on' something.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

This is the kind of irrelevant sh!te feminists who care about equality need to take an active stand against and publicly call out in counter-articles. When it goes publicly unopposed, that's when people not unreasonably come to conflate it with feminism in general.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭quainy

It's not sexist. People of both genders have immersions and they all panic if they've left it on.

The one about the N11 never looking so good is a compliment, take it that way. I do MMA, after a very messy fight, I was being treated by a nurse that told me she's never been happier to clean blood off someone. Gf wasn't happy but it's a compliment all in the same.

The comment about hair is banter. It's what people with a sense of humor do. I appreciate that this reporter has an opinion and I respect her opinion enough to say that I entirely disagree with everything she said.

Then again, I am male.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,457 ✭✭✭livedadream

quainy wrote: »
    It's not sexist. People of both genders have immersions and they all panic if they've left it on.

The one about the N11 never looking so good is a compliment, take it that way. I do MMA, after a very messy fight, I was being treated by a nurse that told me she's never been happier to clean blood off someone. Gf wasn't happy but it's a compliment all in the same.

The comment about hair is banter. It's what people with a sense of humor do. I appreciate that this reporter has an opinion and I respect her opinion enough to say that I entirely disagree with everything she said.

Then again, I am male.

+1 I am a female

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

quainy wrote: »

Funny you should say that, someone in the comments of the article said this:
    Oh my goodness, it's almost like some women in this country are still able to enjoy banter, and do not have a deeply ingrained persecution complex that requires them to treat every comment as a deliberate and personal slight against them. How dare they! Thank you for shaming them, Ms. Cleary.

To which she replied and cleverly did a switch-a-roo on the word :pac:
    Interestingly enough, the word 'banter' seems to be used as an umbrella for bullying in other contexts. You often hear it among groups of young men in particular, who will 'slag each off' in the name of 'banter'; in fact, it can be an indirect form of bullying.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,797 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

There are two kinds of equality - liberal equality and authoritarian equality. Liberal equality means that free speech applies to everyone and that everyone is a fair target for humour. Authoritarian equality means that nobody should be, or that everyone's behaviour should be equally repressed. So I suppose feminists like this author could be regarded as caring about "equality", but it's certainly not the type of equality most liberal people want to see. In other words, even if this article also called out jokes targeted at men, I'd still be vehemently opposed to what she's saying and I'm pretty sure most people - or to be fairer perhaps, most young people - would be as well.

The kind of world these people want to create would be like how Canada is parodied in Ben Stiller movies, overly obsequious and pre-apologising for any comment which might have the slightest potential to annoy somebody.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 68,317 ✭✭✭✭seamus

There is instituionalised sexism, no doubt about it.

But by fnck did she choose the wrong springboard to even begin talking about it.

I've done a large number of athletic events over the last five years. At every single one of them there are various people - marshalls, ambulance crews and spectators shouting encouragement to the participants. Usually along the lines of, "You're doing great", You're looking strong", "You look fresh", etc etc. Funnily enough teenage girls are more likely than teenage boys to shout jokey things about legs and bodies.

It shouldn't really be any surprise that in a gender-restricted event that shouts of encouragement are similarly gendered. To link it to some inherent institutionalised sexism is just bizarre. A bit like wearing a massive neon purple wig to work and glaring at anyone who dares make a comment on it.

If there was a men-only event along the same lines (say a run for testicular cancer), you can guarantee the encouragement would be similarly gendered like, "Run like there's a fresh pint waiting for you", or "You're not even sweating". And nobody would care or complain about sexism.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,934 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

The kind of world these people want to create would be like how Canada is parodied in Ben Stiller movies, overly obsequious and pre-apologising for any comment which might have the slightest potential to annoy somebody.

Give me death, tbh...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 133 ✭✭quainy

Duggy747 wrote: »
    To which she replied and cleverly did a switch-a-roo on the word :pac:
    Interestingly enough, the word 'banter' seems to be used as an umbrella for bullying in other contexts. You often hear it among groups of young men in particular, who will 'slag each off' in the name of 'banter'; in fact, it can be an indirect form of bullying.

Definition of bullying is the repeated actions of one individual to target another to cause them duress and/or to intimidate them.

It was said once, she should learn the definitions of these words before using them because of the far reaching consequences they can have.

She is most definitely entitled to feel annoyed by it, hell, I've been annoyed at things said when I compete in events. You should never post your opinion like it is fact though, then it may become misleading and the truth becomes mixed emotion.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 29 elastics

Sexism my hole, this same woman would probably blatantly defend Saudi Arabia sticking women in black sacks and banning them from driving ..

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

Reads like a daft gobsh!te tbh.

Ah brilliant, check out the comments. She's in there fighting her corner and playing the victim card like a Las Vegas dealer.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,297 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

Actually as a northsider I agree with the writer of the article.

I'm routinely subjected to biased comments along the lines of 'ride like you stole it; 'drive like you stole it' etc

Not everyone from DNS is a car thief, junky or corrupt Taoiseach......

......oh, hang on, I've something yer wan clearly doesn't have.....a sense of humour :D

She really had to work hard to be offended by those slogans!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

I'm really getting sick of people getting offended. The signs clearly aren't sexist and the comment by the guy was also clearly just an auld lad trying to have a laugh.

The people who constantly get offended by stuff like this or jokes people make must be awful boring to hang around with. I've never actually meet anyone like this, I think that's because they are all same people that write the articles or blogs just to get clicks and get people talking about them or the article.

Often people who are getting offended are called liberals or leftys as if we are living in American. I'm a very liberal person and left leaning and as such i believe in freedom of speech where people can say what they want and if i don't like it i ignore it.

I can see a future were comedy is extremely bland and no attempt is made at any humour.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

elastics wrote: »
    Sexism my hole, this same woman would probably blatantly defend Saudi Arabia sticking women in black sacks and banning them from driving ..
    Highly unlikely. :)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

I'm really getting sick of people getting offended. The signs clearly aren't sexist and the comment by the guy was also clearly just an auld lad trying to have a laugh.

The people who constantly get offended by stuff like this or jokes people make must be awful boring to hang around with. I've never actually meet anyone like this, I think that's because they are all same people that write the articles or blogs just to get clicks and get people talking about them or the article.

Often people who are getting offended are called liberals or leftys as if we are living in American. I'm a very liberal person and left leaning and as such i believe in freedom of speech where people can say what they want and if i don't like it i ignore it.

I can see a future were comedy is extremely bland and no attempt is made at any humour.
    To be fair though, not one person here is defending her - many are being highly critical of her, so I would consider when these incidents occur whether they are reflective of a broad trend or just a lone whinge-bag. The latter would appear to be the case here.

Sometimes these lone incidents can be treated as chicken lickeny as the mild stuff which causes offence.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

Chuck Lorre is already seeing to this, one identikit sitcom at a time.

/canned laughter

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,874 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

Finding the immersion banner sexist is completely bizarre. Absolutely ridiculous. The thing about the hair could be considered very, very mildly sexist, but clearly there is no intent to offend and telling someone they look well is not offensive.

I was in the Dublin Marathon and saw a woman holding a sign saying 'Great stamina, call me later', technically I could consider that sexist, a gay man could even call it homophobic as it implied the men reading it were all straight. Now you'd have to be a bit cracked to take offence to it, but it seems there are such people out there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭shaunr68

Always thought the fear of the immersion/radiators being left on was a "dad" thing.

Reminded me of a quote from Jim Royle.

Antony: Where were you when Kennedy was shot? Because everyone's supposed to remember where they were.

Jim: I don't know where the bloody hell I was, but wherever I was - there's a bloody good chance our immersion was on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,724 ✭✭✭seenitall

Not sexist.

However, the reaction of someone who immediately links an immersion joke to "domesticity - therefore this is about women - raaaawr"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Has anyone asked why it was Women's only event anyway?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,289 ✭✭✭Howard the Duck

Two Tone wrote: »
    To be fair though, not one person here is defending her - many are being highly critical of her, so I would consider when these incidents occur whether they are reflective of a broad trend or just a lone whinge-bag. The latter would appear to be the case here.

Sometimes these lone incidents can be treated as chicken lickeny as the mild stuff which causes offence.

But i think that is the problem this is broad trend, in this case the "journalist" got it wrong and few people seem to be agreeing with her, but there are too many cases of mobs of people getting offended on twitter and fb over comments or jokes. Lots of comedians in America now won't do stand up in college campuses because of the over-reaction of the crowds to things they think might be offensive.

There are threads in AH all the time where someone has gotten offended by something. Before the internet people would read something in the paper and if they disagreed they would just move on, now a days people tweet and post about it and their self righteousness builds up the more support they get and things snowball.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,678 ✭✭✭lawlolawl

broad trend

That's incredibly sexist.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

The signs are cringeworthy for sure but not sexist.

We seem to have many humourless bores out there trying to find offence at every opportunity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,624 ✭✭✭✭meeeeh

They are a bit daft. I don't agree with the author but I do wish any stupid slogans wouldn't be classed just as a bit of a banter. That implies there is certain quality to them but they are only a step above bumper stickers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,500 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

There's a massive difference between a classical liberal (you) and a member of the regressive left.

I agree with your comment about comedy, just look at how many big comedians will no longer perform on college campuses.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

It's not remotely sexist in any way....I fail to understand why so many of my fellow women are so determined to be offended by every little thing.

Lighten up ladies, get a sense of humour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Out of the three of them, I'd only say the hair one was a bit dumb. Feck off with your going on about hair when there's a marathon to be run! I wouldn't particularly be offended by it though, just thing it was silly.

I read the N11 as looking good because it's not a mile-long tailback (I don't know if it tends to be, but that's what I got out of it).

The immersion one is...dare I say it, gender-neutral :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Its like a rush to the bottom of the barrel to be offended. She needs a good kick up the arse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭Walter H Price

ZZZZZZZZZZZZZZ ... Boring ... Jesus wept like how fragile do you have to be by the time your offended by a few slogans, banners etc at a mini marathon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,217 ✭✭✭✭B.A._Baracus

Honestly what is this world coming to?
    Because you can't say anything.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭Winterlong

Honestly what is this world coming to?
    Because you can't say anything.

Post reported.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,554 ✭✭✭valoren

That article would be the equivalent of me writing an outrage piece after running a marathon due to the inference that I was a thief because someone was holding a banner which read "Run like you stole something".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,379 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Lighten up ladies, get a sense of humour!

That's so sexist and fatist! :mad:

valoren wrote: »
    I was shut down when I raised the issue of the immersion slogan on social media. A male friend retorted: “That’s a fairly gender neutral motivational poster, men also worry over energy costs.”

She should have stopped writing after that.

Nah, sure he was mansplaining (or some sh!te).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,271 ✭✭✭Elemonator

Don't mean to be offensive OP but I think you are just looking to be offended.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,295 ✭✭✭✭Duggy747

Elemonator wrote: »
    Don't mean to be offensive OP but I think you are just looking to be offended.

Offended at what?

razorblunt wrote: »
    Has anyone asked why it was Women's only event anyway?

Does it matter?

I mean, really, does it matter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,733 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

saggart26 wrote: »
    There’s the journalist now appearing on the “womens” podcast.
    http://www.irishtimes.com/life-and-style/people/darina-allen-we-didn-t-used-to-be-frightened-of-our-food-but-now-people-are-terrified-1.2438859
    Surely appearing on a podcast that only interviews women sums up her attitude to men.
    I’m guessing she would get her knickers in a twist about most things
    Is it only me or does anyone else find the Irish feminist brigade extremely boring?
    By the way, I'm all for gender equality!
    That's a different Cleary.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 430 ✭✭scream

The real issue here is that a national newspaper is paying this vacuous woman to write non stories to fill column space. It's easy to take offence when you go looking for it and lets face it, there's a lot of people looking to be morally outraged about things these days, doesn't seem to matter what that thing is, just as long as they've got a platform and an audience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 85 ✭✭saggart26

osarusan wrote: »
    That's a different Cleary.

Oh my god, there's more than 1!!
    My bad.

scream wrote: »
    The real issue here is that a national newspaper is paying this vacuous woman to write non stories to fill column space. It's easy to take offence when you go looking for it and lets face it, there's a lot of people looking to be morally outraged about things these days, doesn't seem to matter what that thing is, just as long as they've got a platform and an audience.

looks like outrage is becoming their stock-in-trade......

Una Mullally: Why we can’t just “get over” Martin O’Neill’s queer joke

......wouldn't have happened in the Major's day :D

'creepy' is the new word in these type of tiresome articles, you see it ever where if you read that type of stuff.

'Creepy' has become an internet meme

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,552 ✭✭✭✭everlast75

you realise now that you are all bullies and the definition of what's wrong with 21st century men?
    she's now going to be offended that you're not offended!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

Dreadful article. It just gives ammunition to the kind of people who think sexism isn't an actual thing. I wonder if she pitched the article to the Irish Times before the event took place and then nothing sexist happened, so she had to make do with "run like you left the immersion on".

Either way, it's not sexist and you girls shouldn't worry your pretty little heads over it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Leaving the immersion on is a gender neutral issue.

People like this person give feminism a bad name.