Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

moving to edinburgh in october?

• 09-06-2016 11:57pm
    Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭

hey,

im looking to move over to edinburgh in october and wondered if this is an ok month to do so? e.g festivals on busy/quiet month?
    for anyone living there atm would you recommend edinburgh as a place to settle down? i did search through previous threads and found some useful info but also wanted to create a new one. so what are the pros and cons to living in edinburgh?:) guessing gumtree is best for accom as it takes the auctioneers out of the equation and may be less expensive. Also guessing october is a fairly rainy/windy month there?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,810 ✭✭✭✭jimmii

It's a great place to live but is obviously one of the more expensive places to live in the UK. October is as good a month as any to move you've missed all the bigger festivals so it's easier to get around. Every month is wet and windy! October is the rainiest month of the year but Edinburgh gets a lot less rain than New York and you don't hear people talk about how much it rains there so much so it's not that rainy the wind though brrrr the wind!

In Scotland agents aren't allowed to charge tenants fees so you don't pay those stupid admin fees that are out of control in some areas.

• Registered Users Posts: 136 ✭✭dingdangdoo22

yeah, no more expensive than dublin though? and prob nowhere near london!
    hopefully when i get over there in oct it wont be as hard to find a house/flat compared to nothing being available in dublin.

any idea is the i.t market busy over there in edinburgh?

while i think of it does anyone know any GOOD recruitment agencies there for i.t roles?

yeah, no more expensive than dublin though? and prob nowhere near london!
    hopefully when i get over there in oct it wont be as hard to find a house/flat compared to nothing being available in dublin.

any idea is the i.t market busy over there in edinburgh?

while i think of it does anyone know any GOOD recruitment agencies there for i.t roles?

Definitely not on the London scale but you can certainly live a more expensive lifestyle in Edinburgh than Dublin if you wish but its a lot easier to live cheaper here too. There's plenty of old money swilling round here and lots of the big financials have HQs there's a whole load of high end places for them to go spending!

There's so many tech companies here I am sure there are plenty of jobs floating around if you like games Rockstar North and FanDuel could be fun places to work FanDuel especially looks like a good place to work. You hear about Dundee having a tech boom right now might be worth considering there too possibly obviously a good bit smaller than Edinburgh but I know someone who lives there and says its good. Can't help on agencies I haven't had a proper job in years!

thanks jimmii, one more quick one :-) in terms of geting a mortgage there. 2 people earning approx 30-40k do you think there would be a chance of geting on the first time buyers market over there? how long would we need to be saving with a bank over there to get approval? obviously this is way off but we are both thinking long term when we make the move and want to make a real go of it. is there a best bank to setup with for when we arrive?

We were lucky enough to not need a mortgage so not really sure what it's like. Going by the adverts banks are desperate for mortgage customers and Edinburgh is very much a safe haven so probably a bit easier. I would have thought with that sort of income it wouldn't be a bother getting a mortgage once you've been here a while. You can even get 100% mortgages here now so you don't even need a deposit guessing the terms on that are pretty tight though.

I bank with clydesdale and Natwest and would recommend both. It was Natwest that dealt with the funds when we bought our place and it was super efficient.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,891 ✭✭✭prinzeugen

You may want to consider Fife also (Dunfermline/ Inverkeithing/Dalgety Bay area). Lots of quality, cheap places but its a 30min train trip and up to a hour by car from Edinburgh.

• Registered Users Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Recruitment side try ECS, HEAD or Core Asset.

jimmii wrote: »
    We were lucky enough to not need a mortgage so not really sure what it's like. Going by the adverts banks are desperate for mortgage customers and Edinburgh is very much a safe haven so probably a bit easier. I would have thought with that sort of income it wouldn't be a bother getting a mortgage once you've been here a while. You can even get 100% mortgages here now so you don't even need a deposit guessing the terms on that are pretty tight though.

I bank with clydesdale and Natwest and would recommend both. It was Natwest that dealt with the funds when we bought our place and it was super efficient.

thanks everyone! jimmi do you know offhand if an account with either natwest or clydesdale can be opened before arriving in edinburgh?
    im guessing not but wanted to ask the question in the off chance!

thanks everyone! jimmi do you know offhand if an account with either natwest or clydesdale can be opened before arriving in edinburgh?
    im guessing not but wanted to ask the question in the off chance!

Not sure. When we first moved here Clydesdale were the easiest to set up an account with everywhere we tried HSBC and they wouldn't let us open a regular current account because we had just moved but Clydesdale were like Yeh sure just pop in and we'll sort it out.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

There's a fair amount going on in IT in Edinburgh - if you're on the support side of things then job availability and salary range will depends on your experience/specialisation, but if you're in development or project management there always seem to be roles available. There are also roles in Glasgow which is an hour or less away by train, so feasibly commutable if you decide to go that way (though tbh if you're going to work in Glasgow I'd say you may as well live there too, it's not like the city doesn't have plenty to recommend it as welll).

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

prinzeugen wrote: »
    You may want to consider Fife also (Dunfermline/ Inverkeithing/Dalgety Bay area). Lots of quality, cheap places but its a 30min train trip and up to a hour by car from Edinburgh.

Not exactly the most fun spot for a newcomer to the area though. If you're trying to get to know new people you'll find it a lot easier in Edinburgh than in a smallish town in Fife.

yip, want to enjoy edinburgh also.

The one thing to be sure to make you not enjoy Edinburgh as much is being the other side of the bridge!

what are the summers like in edinburgh in general?
    im guessing non existant like ireland? :)

There's actually been some decent sun knocking around this year. On average its about the same the big difference though is the wind. It can be brutal here at times.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭NoCrackHaving

Depending on where you're coming from in Ireland but generally speaking a lot drier but cooler as it is a good bit further north. Definitely less sunny days and lower temperatures (1-2 degrees lower on average I'd guess) but a good bit less rainfall so it means you can get out and about a lot more. That's been my experience anyway and the climate statistics back it up. Bascially Edinburgh is a little bit drier than Dublin but a lot drier than the West of Ireland say.

Head down the road to Glasgow though and you'll find yourself in the wettest city in Europe!

• Registered Users Posts: 35,524 ✭✭✭✭Gordon

Glasgow is wetter but warmer, Edinburgh dryer but colder.

In the latest sunny spell, we were noticeably warmer in Glasgow, at one point 26 degrees, when Edinburgh centre was probably 20.

One thing that puts me off Edinburgh is the wind, it really is annoying. But the city is so beautiful.

lads is there a boards equivalant for edinburgh? or a smaller forum where people discuss renting, accom etc? :)

There's not really a UK equivalent of boards at all unfortunately! Mostly its specialist sites like Mumsnet or Money Saving Expert that have a general section as well or attached to media like the Daily Mail forum and are full of the UK equivalent of the people who get banned from AH here!

hey folks, how did ye find the move over in general? did ye find it easy? Any tips for things I should do before I head over?

Grand. Once you have an address everything else fails into line with bank accounts and utilities etc!

what do ya reckon lads with the brexit! still an ok move with all that's going on?

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 976 ✭✭✭beach_walker

what do ya reckon lads with the brexit! still an ok move with all that's going on?

Sure. I see no reason why not. Best hold off on any mortgage plans until the dust settles anyway :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 3,674 ✭✭✭Faith+1

It won't effect Irish nationals. We're part of the CTA since 1927 and Irish people have settled staus in the UK.

Yeh it'll be grand. I'd hold off a year on buying a house though should save yourself a few quid!

Faith+1 wrote: »
    It won't effect Irish nationals. We're part of the CTA since 1927 and Irish people have settled staus in the UK.

I'm guessing they mean if it makes sense due to how volatile the economy is likely to be in the shorter term I don't think anyone thinks there will be difficulties between UK and Ireland for travelling and residents.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,822 ✭✭✭✭First Up

Faith+1 wrote:

CTA won't survive intact after Brexit but very unlikely there will be a problem for Irish citizens residing in UK.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Regional Abroad Moderators Posts: 11,054 Mod ✭✭✭✭Fysh

We made the move just before the (first) Independence Referendum and it was mostly grand. The main thing I noticed was that there had obviously been a freeze in hiring amongst a lot of companies in the IT sector while they waited to see what happened. By October things should have settled down as companies figure out what, if anything, they need to change for future plans.

Fysh wrote: »
    We made the move just before the (first) Independence Referendum and it was mostly grand. The main thing I noticed was that there had obviously been a freeze in hiring amongst a lot of companies in the IT sector while they waited to see what happened. By October things should have settled down as companies figure out what, if anything, they need to change for future plans.

yeah thats what i am mainly concerned about, jobs in edinburgh will be ok do you think? i.t jobs specifically? :-)

I was looking at Rockstar earlier and they had the best part of 20 jobs going that were almost all IT of some sort. I can't see the growing companies stopping hiring due to this. After a week or so people will stop freaking out and get back to normal.