Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Hairdressing & Breaks -Help!

Options
  • 11-06-2016 12:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 44

Hi everyone,

I'm a trainee hair dresser, and I need some advice.

I usually work 9-5, 5 days a week. Often I stay an extra hour, without extra pay. We don't get breaks really - I get 5/10 to shove my lunch into my face but that's it. Yesterday I was told that hours would be changing, that it would be 8-5 or 9-6 every day (usually 8s for me) but we would be getting an hour lunch break now to make up for the extra hour worked. Sounded great. Time to eat and sit. i rang my husband to meet me for lunch. However, when I went to go to lunch I was told it was too busy that day, and when it's busy I won't get the full hour or maybe none at all. Also, I have to be around in case clients come in or something needs doing. So basically my hours increased and I get some kind of imaginary lunch break now.

I'm told it's that way because that's just how salons are. Hairdressers work 9-12 hours a day without breaks, and that's just how it is everywhere. Too bad, that's the job I've picked. It doesn't seem right to me though - surely you can't not apply employment laws simply because nobody else is doing it!!