Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro Irish banter are you bored of it yet?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

evil_seed wrote: »
    I much prefer seeing this than the drunk irish antics
    Take a look at @SundayChants's Tweet: https://twitter.com/SundayChants/status/744159923911667712?s=09

now THAT is how proper fans act.

Do you class rugby fans in the same category as football fans?

When you think of them singing and shouting, does it... excite you?

When you picture plastic hammers and novelty-oversized Guinness hats, do you feel the blood rise to your face?

Do you close your eyes and hear The Fields of Athenry and Ireland's Call, your blood racing in a confused mix of anger and... that other feeling you can't quite name but it's always there!

no

Jayop wrote: »
    But sadly not you.

no

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,489 ✭✭✭Yamanoto

the rugby and footy boys gone quiet.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Nehe_Milner-Skudder

• Closed Accounts Posts: 625 ✭✭✭130Kph

Take a look at @SundayChants's Tweet: https://twitter.com/SundayChants/status/744159923911667712?s=09

Looks more like the Hungarian Sturmabteilung than football fans :D

• Registered Users Posts: 33,709 ✭✭✭✭Cantona's Collars

now THAT is how proper fans act.

And somewhere in Hungary there is a Hungarian version of you going "Look at the eejits disgracing the country with their synchronised chanting and clapping".

Before the advent of Facebook,Twitter etc. Irish fans at tournaments carried on the same way.At Italia '90 a group of Irish fans were bored due to the pubs being on Lockdown (thanks England) so they built a wall that a local builder had started and ended up going on the lash with said locals.You and others weren't outraged because it wasn't recorded,maybe you should stay offline for a while and leave those enjoying themselves to it and stop being petty and bitter about it.

zerks wrote: »
    And somewhere in Hungary there is a Hungarian version of you going "Look at the eejits disgracing the country with their synchronised chanting and clapping".

Before the advent of Facebook,Twitter etc. Irish fans at tournaments carried on the same way.At Italia '90 a group of Irish fans were bored due to the pubs being on Lockdown (thanks England) so they built a wall that a local builder had started and ended up going on the lash with said locals.You and others weren't outraged because it wasn't recorded,maybe you should stay offline for a while and leave those enjoying themselves to it and stop being petty and bitter about it.

no

no

Down to one word answers as you have run out of anything intelligent to counter any of us who might actually enjoy ourselves?

no .it was just the word that summed up my response. efficient, unlike the soccer and rugby team today.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

We're much sounder than them!! :mad:

Let's get our lads in Bordeaux to find a woman in labour who needs a lift to the hospital. They could pressure her into naming the child Bantzmeister.

no .it was just the word that summed up my response. efficient, unlike the soccer and rugby team today.

I'm sure you must be delighted that your "real fans" were fighting in the stadium this evening.
    I take it you are familiar with the term Schadenfreude - revelling in other's misfortune,you seem to prefer that people don't have a bit of term and would prefer they were miserable.

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2016/06/18/16/356E33A800000578-0-image-a-113_1466265578934.jpg

http://i.dailymail.co.uk/i/pix/2016/06/18/17/356E33E100000578-0-image-a-114_1466265604178.jpg

I'm sure you must be delighted that your "real fans" were fighting in the stadium this evening.
    I take it you are familiar with the term Schadenfreude - revelling in other's misfortune,you seem to prefer that people don't have a bit of term and would prefer they were miserable.

my favourite german word.spent a lot of time there. did it for leaving cert also.

Fair play,so did I. Do you want a medal or would that seem too celebratory for you?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

Folks, why are ye feeding?!

Two Tone wrote: »
    Folks, why are ye feeding?!

To get likes,sure isn't that why 100,000 Irish people went to France.:p

rory missed the cut in us open

• Registered Users Posts: 6,028 ✭✭✭gladrags

If ever there was an article supposedly written aboutg the boys in green,that begins with nothing is about nothing,and ends with nothing,other than the author has his head firmly shoved up his own a***,this is it.

Unbelievable garbage.

http://m.independent.ie/opinion/why-the-myth-of-men-in-green-white-and-gold-capes-is-true-34812121.html

Fair play,so did I. Do you want a medal or would that seem too celebratory for you?

no thanks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

It's harmless enough. Just a load of people having fun.

Here's Mick Wallace with the Garda who arrested him at Shannon Airport...

https://twitter.com/wallacemick/status/744214396939943937

RayM wrote: »
    It's harmless enough. Just a load of people having fun.

Here's Mick Wallace with the Garda who arrested him at Shannon Airport...

https://twitter.com/wallacemick/status/744214396939943937

embarrassing.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,421 ✭✭✭weemcd

I'm infinitely more bored of people using the word banter

wow those portuguese fans are amazing. very impressive.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,078 ✭✭✭Muff Richardson

rory missed the cut in us open

Norn iron are still in with a good shout tho

• Registered Users Posts: 1,792 ✭✭✭BalcombeSt4

Two Tone wrote: »
    Is it the humidity or something? Some of ye need to calm TF down this evening.

Whether you like it or not, republicanism affected Ireland's reputation - I am not anti nationalist at all (even if I am anti violent republicanism) but you know the crowd I am talking about - cannot get through the day without "shinnerbot something something" numerous times, always acting ashamed and apologetic about Ireland/Irish people (apart from themselves) and basically being self flagellating inferiority complex possessing grovellers.
    All I am saying is, surely they would be pleased about the positivity people feel internationally about the Ireland supporters, but no... whinge whinge "paddy" this, "paddy" that.

yes , it affects it well . Irish-Americans love SF, The UK's favorite Irish party is Sinn Fein, same in South Africa - SF campainged against Aparthied & the IRA even helped the ANC's armed wing in a operation, Palestinians love SF & plenty of other places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

It's a sad enditment of this place when such original hilarious wumming in so many threads goes unrewarded with a ban.

Honestly unless you make a tiny personal dig you can say what you like on here now.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,207 ✭✭✭The King of Moo

nehe milner skudder is a poor troll.

Let's all let this thread die by ignoring it.

After this post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 513 ✭✭✭Two Tone

yes , it affects it well . Irish-Americans love SF, The UK's favorite Irish party is Sinn Fein, same in South Africa - SF campainged against Aparthied & the IRA even helped the ANC's armed wing in a operation, Palestinians love SF & plenty of other places.
    And republicanism has not been good for Ireland's reputation either - whether right or wrong that it should affect our reputation like that.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 541 ✭✭✭poa

bigpink wrote: »
    We get it they are superfans

I don't socialise with working class people that watch working class sports, and use the word banter. So I can't say it has bored me yet.
    Is Ireland competing in something other than rugby at the moment?