Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2016 - Group E - Italy vs Sweden, 2pm, RTE & ITV

• 17-06-2016 12:11am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭

italy-sweden-badge-graphic-euros-euro-2016_3483763.jpg?20160614111626

Italy vs Sweden

2:00pm Friday 17th June
    Stadium Municipal, Toulouse

This should be interesting viewing for ourselves as Zlatan and co. look to bounce back from a poor showing against us when they take on arguably the best performing team of the tournament so far.

Italy haven't lost in 11 competitive games under Conte (8 wins, 3 draws) while this Sweden team couldn't muster a single shot on target against Ireland. On paper, the Italians look likely winners; but Ibrahimovic may have other ideas.

I'm thinking this one will end in a draw because I fancy the Swedes to put up a better showing than Belgium.

From an Irish point of view, are we hoping for an Italy win here so that they're already qualified by the time they play us?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Wonder are there odds on Sweden not to have a shot on target again?

I guess best result is Italy win, then they ease up on Wednesday.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,224 ✭✭✭✭SantryRed

Forza Italia!!!

Edit: just heard on a podcast that Italy have not won their second group game in the past 7 tournaments....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

media_xll_1454935.jpg

It is about the only match i have an interest in beforehand (Pelle vs Guidetti, if that useless Berg is benched) during the groups stages and it is played at 1400 on a friday afternoon.

Grrrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,573 ✭✭✭pajor

inforfun wrote: »
    It is about the only match i have an interest in beforehand (Pelle vs Guidetti, if that useless Berg is benched) during the groups stages and it is played at 1400 on a friday afternoon.

Grrrr.

Jammer joh. :D

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭derm0j073

Fingers crossed for an Italian win this afternoon. Would suit us down to the ground if they go into the final group game with the top spot in the bag. Sweden need to up their game big time to get any sort of result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,111 ✭✭✭happyoutscan

Best interests is for an Italian job on the Swedes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Italy to win, but with plentiful yellow cards (Bonucci and Chiellini would be nice)

pajor wrote: »
    Jammer joh. :D

Ja, volkomen kut.

Hehe... swear filter doesnt work for Dutch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭jones

I hope Italy thump them and pick up 7 yellow cards thereby resting most of the first team for the meaningless last game against the paddy's :-)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

if Italy win do they top the group regardless if Belgium win there remaining games ?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,948 ✭✭✭Banjaxed82

Jesus, imagine if Sweden won. That makes a complete mickey of our well thought out plan of getting out of this group.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,787 ✭✭✭Benimar

ricero wrote: »
    if Italy win do they top the group regardless if Belgium win there remaining games ?

Not if we win our last 2 :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

ricero wrote: »

Yes. Head to head is the first tiebreaker.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

I think there are twists and turns left in this group, it wouldn't surprise me to see Belgium top

Italy to lose, a draw tomorrow and everything going down to the last games would be interesting

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Italy at a canter. This Sweden side is pure mackerel and potatoes (if Swedes eat mackerel and potatoes)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,382 ✭✭✭✭greendom

Italy at a canter. This Sweden side is pure mackerel and potatoes (if Swedes eat mackerel and potatoes)

herring isn't it ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Sounds more like it - oily fish makes Zlatans hair shine.

ClJs1BdWIAAVuWD.jpg:large

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Dunphy showing his extensive knowledge on Belgium football lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,123 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

1-1 is my prediction

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,119 ✭✭✭Colemania

inforfun wrote: »
    ClJs1BdWIAAVuWD.jpg:large

That Juventus back 4 (Buffon included) is absolutely critical if Italy are to go far in the Euros. Massive experience between the 4 of them and De Rossi in front of them also is crucial. You'd have to think if they had a better strikeforce they'd be big contenders.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,385 ✭✭✭Nerdlingr

C'mon Italy, do us a favour!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Sweden much more into this game than they were against us. Playing with much more intensity and pressing Italy very high up the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,831 ✭✭✭✭Nalz

Anyone listening to the commentary on fotmob app? Jesus its awful.

It's the only english language radio option available and working.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,536 ✭✭✭Dolph Starbeam

Nalz wrote: »
    Anyone listening to the commentary on fotmob app? Jesus its awful.

It's the only english language radio option available and working.

Listening to it on Radio 5 Live, commentary is fine.

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Tomagotchye

Enjoyable game this. Good tempo, nice passing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

Sweden on top at the moment I would say, come on italy!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭AdolfEngland

It's so predicatable that Sweden are so much better today.. Hopefully Belgium buck the trend!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,017 ✭✭✭sReq | uTeK

Enjoyable game this. Good tempo, nice passing.

Its been awful two teams who can't pass the ball.

• Registered Users Posts: 486 ✭✭DUBACC

Shocker of a game. Not helped by an overly-fussy referee.

Italy were brilliant on the break against Belgium but look completely lost when having to take the initiative.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 613 ✭✭✭rodge68

Not a great game alright..think I'll go and get something done and look at Croatia and Czechs later..should be better..I hope..

• Registered Users Posts: 1,307 ✭✭✭DarraghF197

It would be great if the commentators could stop talking about how bad the game is. I'm enjoying it at least, but the commentators are only bringing negativity.

Belgium must be really bad looking at how Italy are doing in this game

Typical 2nd group match. Both know a draw isnt so bad.

Based on this game Ireland will beat Italy if we play like we did against Sweden. We will also beat Belgium if we play like we did against Sweden. I just hope we don't show them too much respect

Ibra not having a great tournament so far

• Registered Users Posts: 568 ✭✭✭Tomagotchye

Its been awful two teams who can't pass the ball.

Really? I like it. Nicely poised, both teams looking to get forward. Not too many chances yet but that's plenty of time to go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

Mushy wrote: »
    Wonder are there odds on Sweden not to have a shot on target again?

I guess best result is Italy win, then they ease up on Wednesday.

Hope you found some place for that bet.

Neither team with a shot on target!!!! Awful awful game

Ibra not having a great tournament so far

The supply to him though....it's just utter shocking.

He made two classes little movements there to lose De Rossi but OLSEN just ran by him. Clueless

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Based on this game Ireland will beat Italy if we play like we did against Sweden. We will also beat Belgium if we play like we did against Sweden. I just hope we don't show them too much respect

We need to be more positive and not be happy just to take draws. But I fear that's a bridge too far for this team. Mentality is that a draw is a grand result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Worst game of the tournament by a long way.

The worst game I very seen. Pele can't hold onto the ball his passing is horrific.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,546 ✭✭✭✭murpho999

Surely we need Italy to win this.

Mean their last game could be already through and keep Sweden down?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Pelle has been muck, loses the plot when he's presented with passing opportunities and just gives the ball away. Needs to be subbed off at halftime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,824 ✭✭✭ShooterSF

That_Guy wrote: »
    Worst game of the tournament by a long way.

I know it might be but I seriously see this post in every match thread :D

Edit- Not from you just to be clear

ShooterSF wrote: »
    I know it might be but I seriously see this post in every match thread :D

Edit- Not from you just to be clear

Usually there's a bit of flow and excitement in these games but there's been absolutely nothing happening here.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,784 ✭✭✭KungPao

I really want Sweden Toulouse, ahem.

We're up against it otherwise.

No free or a yellow for that? Ref is complete shíte.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,844 ✭✭✭py2006

How are they playing lads?

Whats the best result for us? 1-1 or a loss for Sweden? :confused: