Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2016-17 UEFA Champions League

• Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 23,231 Mod ✭✭✭✭GLaDOS

It's like a game of heads and volleys

Cake, and grief counseling, will be available at the conclusion of the test

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 53,262 ✭✭✭✭GavRedKing

Brilliant again

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,502 ✭✭✭spock.

4 assists and a goal for Neymar.

Wow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,150 ✭✭✭✭LuckyGent88

some finish by Suarez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,024 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

Amazing how much Cavani has regressed since he left Napoli. He was an absolutely lethal finisher for them.

It's just the finishing though...as a player I think he looks as good, if not better than he was then. More involved in the game, makes countless excellent runs - just lacking that lethal finishing from before. Hopefully a few weeks playing centre forward himself rather than supporting Ibra, and he'll get that killer instinct back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,510 ✭✭✭hadepsx

Great technique by Suarez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

How many goals will Celtic let in in this group?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,977 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Ita getting embarassing now. I said 5 or 6 it could be closer to 10.
    Yeah I fancied it to be very high too. The fact that Barca lost the weekend always meant this was going to be a bad night for Celtic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Arsenal equaliser. Unbelievable. Sanchez scores.

That's what all those misses do to you.

All those missed chances by psg coming back to bite them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,948 ✭✭✭✭Mars Bar

Cavani will be kicking himself. They should be out of sight

Mars Bar wrote: »
    Cavani will be kicking himself.

He'd probably miss :o

If they cop on, there's still time enough for them to keep doing the same things and get the win. Just need to keep their heads.

<edit> just as i say that, they create another excellent chance, and another miss :-/
    Bloody great save to be fair enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

If he tried he'd probably miss though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,495 ✭✭✭✭Mushy

Ah Cavani now

This is why PSG won't be in the mix for the Champions League. They have the players in other areas, but not up front.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

GLaDOS wrote: »
    He'd probably miss :o

You stole my bit.

Do it again and you'll end up like the original Alfalfa.

Finishing cost PSG against City last year, should have won the first leg by 3 or 4.

Huge save there from Areola, thought that was gonna nestle in the bottom corner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭5star02707

Was that so hard Wenger? Sanchez winger Giroud St!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,298 ✭✭✭✭A Dub in Glasgo

Too many

Yikes

Sweet jaysus Celtic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

Suarez again
    This is painful

PSG losing the plot a bit...keep playing in high balls when that's been their least effective outlet. Keep it on the ground and you'll get chances!

Giroud and Verratti sent off.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Good lad Giroud, back to back.

Another chance from PSG. Marquinhos misses this time.

Full-Time. Amazing that Arsenal have come away with a result. PSG will be kicking themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,735 ✭✭✭Vincent Vega

Yep happened me too

What a load of ****e.
    Been down since 15min into the match and still down. Gonna miss the highlights show now :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,582 ✭✭✭NoviGlitzko

3player isn't working for me. Anyone else have this issue?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭764dak

GavRedKing wrote: »
    Did Celtic even kick off there...I mean how did barca score so quick again...:o

Rodgers and defending rarely go hand in hand.

Although at this level, celtic havent a hope, 3rd in the group is the best they can hope for IMO and scores like this wont help the goal difference.
    There is no goal difference in the Champions League.

764dak wrote: »

If it comes down to it, and they manage to have an equal head to head with someone theyre fighting with for 3rd/4th, its GD, highly unlikely.

I dont think they'll pick up enough points to catch Gladbach for 3rd down the line anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,322 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Does it not come into play if 2 teams are level on points & head to head?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Man City game will be moved to tomorrow 19.45, just confirmed by them.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,849 ✭✭✭764dak

RoryMac wrote: »

Does it not come into play if 2 teams are level on points & head to head?
    They would also have to have equal away goals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Just seen the highlights of the PSG v Arsenal match. Cavani is some donkey, if you didn't know any better you'd say some of those misses were deliberate. He could and should have easily had a hat trick and then some. Arsenal were very lucky.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 601 ✭✭✭Charizard

Some class goals by Barcelona tonight, MSN on form

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,862 ✭✭✭✭inforfun

Could be breaking Bate's record of 24.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,050 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

There is a good chance they will lose all 6 games, based on what they showed last night.

They were shockingly poor. I don't even think Barca were playing at full tilt.

Shows you just how bad Rangers really are.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

NIMAN wrote: »
    There is a good chance they will lose all 6 games, based on what they showed last night.

Messi covering his mouth having a good laugh at one stage was the funniest moment of the game

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,221 ✭✭✭A_Sober_Paddy

NIMAN wrote: »

Celtic will lose all their games and will concede a mountain of goals

I dont think Barca trouncing Celtic was needed to show everyone how bad Rangers and by extension, the Scottish league is.

If Celtic qualify for the UCL year on year they'll steadily improve and be able to attract better players, although truth be told, the Europa League is probably their best hope of getting out of a European group stage.

Had they got lucky and been drawn in Leicesters group (the easiest in the UCL) they might have fancied their chances for 2nd and had a shot at 3rd too, they're on a hiding to nothing with the group they're currently in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,289 ✭✭✭✭rob316

If Celtic can manage 3rd in the group they will have done well, they could make a good fist at the EL.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

rob316 wrote: »
    If Celtic can manage 3rd in the group they will have done well, they could make a good fist at the EL.

Can't really see it , Gladbach are leagues ahead of Celtic. Would take something pretty special, lots of good home results at least.

Celtic are the weakest team in the group, they have to face Messi, Suarez, Neymar and Aguero and they have Bredan Rogers, the man famous for being clueless about defending, as their manager. It's not going to be pretty at all and the Bate record is certainly on.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭GreNoLi

Spurs monaco should be interesting, hoping leicester can get a result.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,925 ✭✭✭pudzey101

what be pick of the games to watch tonight people :D ?

pudzey101 wrote: »
    If it doesn't have to include an English side then Juventus/Sevilla would be the pick of the night imo.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,658 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

pudzey101 wrote: »

I've been looking forward to Spurs-Monaco all week. Monaco have been great so far this season and I fancied they could beat Spurs. Then I saw the Monaco line-up:
    Subašić, Fabinho, Jemerson, Dirar, João Moutinho, Falcao, Bernardo Silva, Bakayoko, Sidibé, Raggi, Glik.

Yep, Falcao starts. I'm quite concerned this could be another Cavani situation (but without the goal). Supposedly he's looked good in training. We'll find out if there's anything in the tank left.

Bakayoko and Fabinho have been excellent so far and Glik and Jemerson have done well in defence so I'm keen to see how they get on.

I'll go for 1-1 just because that Falcao selection has thrown me.