Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2016 - Group E - Belgium vs Ireland, 2 pm, RTE & ITV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Debil

Any chance they had to play a through ball today, they didn't take it. Really poor in the final 3rd.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

Sand wrote: »
    In fairness, there is not 11 world beaters sitting on the bench that he could pick.

I dont think the RTE promos help. All this dream big, emotive sh1te with that girly-boy voiced tool from the Three ads.

On the face of it 1-1 v Sweden was a pretty good result, and 0-3 against Belgium is probably about where we are in reality.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

You won't win much with championship and fringe premiership players

George Hamilton hasnt a clue whats going on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,657 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

PTH2009 wrote: »
    Cud we be out of it by the time we play Italy ?

Beating Italy would almost certainly see us through.

But that's unlikely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Benteke coming on :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

Ally Dick wrote: »
    The best fans in the world will burst their guts singing now, and show no signs of disappointment whatsover. It's baffling

Well go support ****ing England so, you can run riot around a small French town when you get beaten instead

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Any ref can miss a high foot and make a mistake.

Two simultaneous high feet from two different players in two different positions being missed by 5 officials. That's something special.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,342 ✭✭✭Bobby Baccala

Clark shouldn't play another game in this tournament. Not close to good enough for this level.

Jayop wrote: »
    Comments like his don't warrant a reply.

And yet you did...good man off you go now for yourself

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,616 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Belgium take off Lukaku and bring on Benteke - that is the gulf in class between the two sides.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,072 ✭✭✭Dan Chipowski

He's absolutely clueless, going on as if all third place teams qualify.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

Should we pull a load of barca players from our arse?

Go back to moaning about the fans. It's all you have

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,322 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

IT ain,t that bad at least its Belgium they are losing to and not Turkey or Russia we are losing too. Belgium has had a **** year this year there country with terrorist bombings in it so its nice there football team can bring some positivity back to there country.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,358 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

I spoke too soon about Whelan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,793 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

SlickRic wrote: »
    For all the flak he normally gets, Whelan has been excellent again.
    Bleh, I think he did ok, excellent overstretching it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 17,388 ✭✭✭✭Jayop

And yet you did...good man off you go now for yourself

I wasn't having a go at you. I was agreeing with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,170 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Masala wrote: »
    A striker for a striker... That's some magical substitution. We 3-0 down and we take off a striker. Does O'Neill know what he's at??

This game is toast. We need Long for the final game. No point going for it and conceding more. If we do somehow beat Italy, goal difference could be crucial.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

awec wrote: »
    LOL.

3 down, brings striker off for striker. Why?!

Go two up top. Give Long something to work with.

Its pathetic to see. O'Neill is the most negative manager Ive seen, time wasting 10 minutes in. Northern Ireland are a better side despite the difference in resources. He has no clue, and already has a new contract

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Thank fck Belgium havent been too arsed since the third went in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,984 ✭✭✭ebbsy

Randolph should have saved the first 2.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 199 ✭✭Debil

Doesn't seem to be a problem for other teams.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The best fans in the world will burst their guts singing now, and show no signs of disappointment whatsover. It's baffling

Bit of a boring narrative at this stage. We always went into this tournament as fans with little more then hope. We know how limited our squad is compared to Belgium and Italy our only hope was always beating Sweden. We didn't.

So given that do you expect fans who have paid good money travel to France to sit in their hotel rooms watching TV or go out have a few pints and drown their sorrows.. bit of a sing song whatever. We are all dissapointed to say otherwise is rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,247 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

FutureGuy wrote: »
    Any ref can miss a high foot and make a mistake.

Two simultaneous high feet from two different players in two different positions being missed by 5 officials. That's something special.

Our defenders have missed all their runners coming in to the box when they attack, so plenty of it going around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,043 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

P4DDY2K11 wrote: »
    Clark shouldn't play another game in this tournament. Not close to good enough for this level.

It's a team game, hardly fair to pick out just one scapegoat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

He's absolutely clueless, going on as if all third place teams qualify.
    Yep, the plan now should be to beat Italy. You never know, we might try and attack

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

sligeach wrote: »
    This game is toast. We need Long for the final game. No point going for it and conceding more. If we do somehow beat Italy, goal difference could be crucial.

Goal difference doesn't matter for Ireland. You need to beat Italy. 4 points will be enough.

Only teams finishing on three points need to worry about goal difference, an impossible total for Ireland now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,047 ✭✭✭Unearthly

I know we would have lost even if he wasn't the ref, but I Fecking hate that man. Even just his face makes me want to hit him

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

Much like the Irish management so

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

ebbsy wrote: »
    Randolph should have saved the first 2.

Not really. He's been good for us.

Its pathetic to see. O'Neill is the most negative manager Ive seen, time wasting 10 minutes in. Northern Ireland are a better side despite the difference in resources. He has no clue, and already has a new contract

You can't make a silk purse from a sows ear. There is no doubt the lads do their very best but it will only get you so far

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,322 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

ScummyMan wrote: »
    Woke up at 6am for this :(

You were 8 hours to early and 7 if you wanted to hear the talking beforehand.

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Strumms wrote: »
    Bit of a boring narrative at this stage. We always went into this tournament as fans with little more then hope. We know how limited our squad is compared to Belgium and Italy our only hope was always beating Sweden. We didn't.

So given that do you expect fans who have paid good money travel to France to sit in their hotel rooms watching TV or go out have a few pints and drown their sorrows.. bit of a sing song whatever. We are all dissapointed to say otherwise is rubbish.
    I don't think all of us are disappointed tbf. Some people seem to revel in misery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Pathetic the amount of fair weather fans in this thread. As soon as the team has a bad day they crawl out of the woodwork to spew their bitterness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

McCarthy utterly hopeless today and really let himself down for the second goal. He's three-yards ahead of Witsel all the way but suddenly stops paying attention to him as soon as the cross is hit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Jayop wrote: »
    Should we pull a load of barca players from our arse?

Go back to moaning about the fans. It's all you have

We need to look for more plastics, from all over Europe, and not just the UK

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,681 ✭✭✭JustTheOne

We do need to realise we haven't got the players.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

and there it is....

who had 88 minutes?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

low lie the fiellllllldddsss

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

Belgium take off Lukaku and bring on Benteke - that is the gulf in class between the two sides.
    Bentekes a donkey

• Closed Accounts Posts: 141 ✭✭Clear Hearts

Sweden to beat Belgium and Ireland beat Italy would be just perfect

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

I don't think we're a better side but we have a better manager.

Martin O'Neill is yesterday's man. He will struggle to land a job at a high level after his current gig.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 386 ✭✭radiata

Bentekes a donkey

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,930 ✭✭✭PeterTheEighth

The singing just annoys me, it's not being great fans, it's "better living through denial".

ScummyMan wrote: »
    Woke up at 6am for this :(

6am ? What country are you living in ? Kickoff wasn't till 2pm :confused::confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Irish fans singing. FFS.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 105 ✭✭redandwhite

And the envy of virtually every other country there.

Don't let inadequacy on the pitch detract from Irish soccer's biggest positive-the fans.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

No, and most wern't expecting us to either. It's those who support big clubs, clubs that have the big players, that dominate games, that challenge for titles etc that can't adjust to following a side that don't.

Getting hammered is part of life when you're an Ireland fan. Deal with it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,834 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

I don't think all of us are disappointed tbf. Some people seem to revel in misery

Would you be one of them perhaps ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

the fields of athenry is a now a verbal white flag