Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2016 - Group E - Belgium vs Ireland, 2 pm, RTE & ITV

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

I don't see Keane or ONeil on sidelines asking WTF
    Clearly a game plan to restrict the space and get men behind the ball.
    This is tactical .
    Need to improve it when we have it though. Wishful thinking passes need to be turned into precise passes, if its not on why play it. Need to be certain of those final balls.

Exactly. Even looking at how long we were taking over throw-ins and goal kicks it looks like the tactic is not to concede and hope the Belgians lose belief as the game goes on. If we are 0-0 at 70 mins and i think we have a chance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Boskowski wrote: »
    Anyone on the bench that could come on for that Hendricks fella?

They need to change something anyway. We are far too tepid on the ball if we ever go beyond our half. Need some aggression and McClean would offer that. Sadly Hoolahan doesnt suit this type of game and can see him lasting merely 60 minutes.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭AdolfEngland

briany wrote: »
    Not looking forward to another 45 minutes of this. You have to figure there's a goal here for Belgium.

They've been impressive going forward but haven't actually troubled our goal too much.

Hopefully they start to lose belief and our lads get a good rollicking at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,453 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

This is the promised land of tournament football.
    It would be better to fast forward to full time than to watch us get taken apart in the second half.
    All the talk of Belgium being a bunch of individuals who can't play together has to be consigned to the bin at this stage, we're making them look a good side here. They should be at least two up, like euro 2012 all over again, just a matter of time before the goals start going in for Belgium.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

madcabbage wrote: »
    Mc Clean

Not with this ref McClean would not last 10 mins

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,043 ✭✭✭remoteboy

McClean on for Hoolahan in the second half.

Don't think McClean would last 5 minutes. Can't see that ref approving of his 'robust' style of play.

It was stupid and unneccesary.

He hadnt heard the whistle and was out of position due to the 2nd ball being on the pitch when Belgium took the throw, it gave Belgium an advantage so ref messed up

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,324 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

We did not play great there lets hope the the second half is better. I do have to say the Belgium do seem to be quite a good team but they are not perfect either. I think second half we need to come out attack quick and score quick. Would or should M.O.N make some changes?

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I thought McCarthy did fine. It's a bit silly to bemoan the fact that the central midfielders aren't having a lot of the ball when the full-backs have been instructed to play it long every chance they get. Coleman has been poor with his passes. Ward has been better.

We need Hoolahan to link the play better with Long as he didn't make the most of the knock-ons that Long provided.

The gameplan is to hang in there and try to nick a goal on the counter, or set-piece.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

64% Ball Possession 36%
    9 Goal Attempts 2
    2 Shots on Goal 1
    5 Shots off Goal 1
    2 Blocked Shots 0
    9 Free Kicks 7
    5 Corner Kicks 2
    3 Offsides 1
    14 Throw-in 8
    1 Goalkeeper Saves 2
    4 Fouls 9
    0 Yellow Cards 1
    236 Total Passes 102
    216 Completed Passes 70

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

The ref hasn't been that bad.

He set his stall out early. The players have not copped that he does not tolerate attackers challenging defenders. He is not biased, that is just the way it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,932 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

It would take an incredibly stupid player to think this, but you could even argue how was Hendrick supposed to know which ball was in play

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,012 ✭✭✭✭Alfred Borden

The earlier Benteke comes on for Lukaku, the better for Belgium.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,938 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Giles sums it up.

"I'd be worried about the situation"

Corholio wrote: »
    The booking by Hendricks was idiotic, fair enough if there was another ball on the field but refs use their discretion with that if it can be cleared quickly. The linesman ran on and took a ball off the field in yesterdays match. What did Hendrick expect to happen after he kicked another ball into where play was going on? He could get booked later for another tackle and be sent off absolutely needlessly. I wish players would think for a split second sometimes.

Whatever about Hendricks fair enough but dembele made a brutal challenge and gave lip into the bargain...no yellow :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,658 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

Hendrick, despite his stupid booking is one of the few that has been looking to put his foot on the ball rather than thump it up the pitch.

Stupid hoofing of the ball because most of the time there clearly hasn't been anyone close enough to Long to support him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

That ref is awful. I watched him ref a prior game in the tournament already and he made a balls of that too. That tackle on Hoolahan in particular - (a) tackle from behind, (b) caught his heel with studs, (c) lunging. Yellow if not red, definitely required giving the player a talking too with a yellow.

On the game otherwise, its dissapointing to see Ireland retreat so much when Belgium have the ball, it gives them all the possesion and isolates long. We need to press more to have a chance.

Ward has played well, Brady has looked a bit lost having played (brilliantly) in LB for a year and being settled. I would like McClean to come on at one point.

Hoolahan only doing defensive duties but we havent kept the ball long enough for hik to be effective.

Belgium with overlaps on the wings.

McCarthy playing well.

Stupid from Hendrick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,361 ✭✭✭Boskowski

They need to change something anyway. We are far too tepid on the ball if we ever go beyond our half. Need some aggression and McClean would offer that. Sadly Hoolahan doesnt suit this type of game and can see him lasting merely 60 minutes.

That would be replacing a fella who doesn't know what to do with the ball with a fella who doesn't get his head up. Same thing although he has more aggression alright.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 15,694 Mod ✭✭✭✭dfx-

the ref has been alright. He's known to be a bit particular...

if Long could stop pushing the man in front of him before the centre halves clatter him, that would be good.

Dunphy hated when that McCarthy clip came up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Belgium haven't been that great, they waste an awful lot of ball. De Bruyne getting on the ball a lot but not effecting it near the box much. We, on the other hand, have just been inviting it all on us. It's 10 men + Long at the moment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,033 ✭✭✭✭Richard Hillman

Shane Long needs to summon his inner Jamie Vardy. Vardy chases and loses all day long but realises he only needs to win once.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

This is really shocking stuff, the inferiority complex is clearly alive and well with us. The hoof ball up to an isolated Long is awful to watch, Belgium really are no great shakes as we seen against Italy, there to be beaten.

Time wasting from us at 0-0 10 minutes in I mean really? We will concede and deservedly lose unless we change things soon

Very sad to see

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

De bruyne is the real difference I think. The ref is bad but we are doing a lot of it to ourselves. We are spending most of the game defending cause we are hoofing it long.

Dunphy praising McCarthy?!! :eek: pigs flying past the window next surely?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Fiskar

It would take an incredibly stupid player to think this, but you could even argue how was Hendrick supposed to know which ball was in play

I think it was rather clear from camera angle behind him, he just made an arshe of himself

Hendrick, despite his stupid booking is one of the few that has been looking to put his foot on the ball rather than thump it up the pitch.

Stupid hoofing of the ball because most of the time there clearly hasn't been anyone close enough to Long to support him.

People want Hendrick to be taken off when he is one of our few players with any ability

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

The earlier Benteke comes on for Lukaku, the better for Belgium.

To be fair to the latter, he hasn't been given any decent ball when they were in threatening areas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,240 ✭✭✭✭briany

That would be replacing a fella who doesn't know what to do with the ball with a fella who doesn't get his head up. Same thing although he has more aggression alright.

I haven't seen McClean offer much as a playmaker. The game's crying out for any Irish player to impose himself and steady things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,463 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

nullzero wrote: »
    This is the promised land of tournament football.
    It would be better to fast forward to full time than to watch us get taken apart in the second half.
    All the talk of Belgium being a bunch of individuals who can't play together has to be consigned to the bin at this stage, we're making them look a good side here. They should be at least two up, like euro 2012 all over again, just a matter of time before the goals start going in for Belgium.

We are conceding the space and ball. Anyone would look good in these conditions. We need to sit tight and continue to hope we nick it.
    PARKING THE BUS, JOSE STYLE.
    0-1 IRE !

Christie could be an option at RB and move Coleman to RMF, subbing Hendrick.

Hendrick has failed to put his head up most of the time it comes to him. He is putting in a shift but just a bit over enthusiastic. Even the yellow card shows he is acting before thinking at times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,919 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Belgium as a team with so many talented players a muck!

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭derm0j073

I don't see Keane or ONeil on sidelines asking WTF
    Clearly a game plan to restrict the space and get men behind the ball.
    This is tactical .
    I think you're spot on here, expect more of the same 2nd half,MON came looking for a point. It's disappointing because Belgium don't look great and as seen last game we can play a bit.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

Shane Long needs to summon his inner Jamie Vardy. Vardy chases and loses all day long but realises he only needs to win once.

Long has an impossible job up there on his own with the service hes had vs Sweden and so far today. If he could cut out the silly little pushes that would be good.

I fear Long will tire early in the 2nd half, as will the team

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Joshua J

We're not trying to impose ourselves in the game at all which is surprising with Roy in the dressing room. Same issue as under Trap, need to try and win the match not just lose slowly.

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

Hendrick.

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Ireland need to grow a set. This is like NI v Poland, toothless and offering nothing as an out for the defense.

Peist2007 wrote: »
    People want Hendrick to be taken off when he is one of our few players with any ability

Hendrick covering a lot of ground at least...I'd have Wes off tbh. A small child out there offering nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,657 ✭✭✭Doctor Jimbob

Belgian defence haven't been overly impressive, need to put some more pressure on them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

Hendrick is the last person you'd want to sub.

Tournaments like this and the Champions League should have the top ranked refs in the world.

This lad is rubbish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Hopefully Roy will give them a rollocking at half time

Lads this is the second ranked team in the world full of stars who are seriously smarting from their shock defeat to Italy in the first game. We were always going to face a backlash. And we are 0-0 at ht. Honestly wonder at what some of ye expect.

Hendrick covering a lot of ground at least...I'd have Wes off tbh. A small child out there offering nothing

Jesus. People aren't long turning on him.

I don't think he is 100% fit and given our lack of attacking in the first half they've been able to keep him and Long quiet.

Iosa Chriost

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,567 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

This a brutal game to watch, no ambition whatsoever. Hendrick was so poor on one counter, should have played long on much earlier. We really need to come out and play our own game 2nd half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,715 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

And we are 0-0 at ht. Honestly wonder at what some of ye expect.

Expect an honest effort. Not getting it so far

• Administrators Posts: 54,110 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Lads this is the second ranked team in the world full of stars who are seriously smarting from their shock defeat to Italy in the first game. We were always going to face a backlash. And we are 0-0 at ht. Honestly wonder at what some of ye expect.

Ambition.

It's tournament football. Have a go or go home.

Wes is being outnumbered as Whelan and McCarthy dont press when Belgium have the ball and sit when we have the ball. He's effectively playing the Belgium centre midfield on his own.