Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Euro 2016 - Group E - Belgium vs Ireland, 2 pm, RTE & ITV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Peist2007 wrote: »
    Lads this is the second ranked team in the world full of stars who are seriously smarting from their shock defeat to Italy in the first game. We were always going to face a backlash. And we are 0-0 at ht. Honestly wonder at what some of ye expect.

Very black and white way to look at it. It's more what may come in the second half unless we tweak the way we are playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

People want Hendrick to be taken off when he is one of our few players with any ability

I dont want him to be taken off but with the way our team is structured him or Wes may be the only alternatives to take off to bring someeone like McClean on and run at them. We need a back 4 and two defensive mids,

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Our best chance is to try an manufacture a few frees/throw ins to keep Belgium pinned back in their own half for a least a small time.We need someone to stay a bit closer to Long and help him out a little aswell.

They're miles better than us in midfield and we have't a hope of outplaying them there.

I'll be delighted if we get a 0-0 out of this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,012 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I'd say Roy even now with that beard could still do a job for us in midfield against this Belgium team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 528 ✭✭✭Godot.

Hold out for another 45 and then go balls out against an Italian reserve XI (who will top the group if this ends in a draw) :)

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Expect an honest effort. Not getting it so far

I think you've been drinking.

The lads slating Lukaku. He's gonna score now isn't he!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

Lads this is the second ranked team in the world full of stars who are seriously smarting from their shock defeat to Italy in the first game. We were always going to face a backlash. And we are 0-0 at ht. Honestly wonder at what some of ye expect.

Lets be honest the rankings are aload of balls. We have no belief in ourselves and are playing negative turd football, Belgium are totally average and will not go far

Any side time wasting 10 minutes in at 0-0 deserve to lose

Jesus. People aren't long turning on him.

I don't think he is 100% fit and given our lack of attacking in the first half they've been able to keep him and Long quiet.

Fair point but some games suit him and others don't. I'll gladly be proved wrong if he scores or assists

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭AdolfEngland

vidor wrote: »
    Hendrick.

Is Dunphy still calling him Hendricks? Andy Townsend is calling him Kendrick!

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

Ranking doesn't mean ****. Look at their last few result's

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 22,890 Mod ✭✭✭✭Bounty Hunter

biggest problem for me here is that the lads on the bench aren't really that great so when the legs start tiring in the second half we are either going to bring on inferior players or perhaps start to leave gaps. Hopefully one of them prove me wrong now as even though I don't expect it I wouldn't half mind Robbie or McGeady to roll back the years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

I think you've been drinking.

Not yet. I'll have a skinful later on though

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,257 ✭✭✭Peist2007

Ally Dick wrote: »
    Expect an honest effort. Not getting it so far

What a stupid comment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,035 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

Dunphy still sayings Hendricks.

Ye Gods.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,359 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

The shadow behind Randolph's goal in the first half is retreating. I hope it's a problem for Courtois in this half if it retreats quick enough.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Dries Mertens warming up at half time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,211 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

A little less hoofball in the second half would be nice.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,050 ✭✭✭✭The Talking Bread

Jesus. People aren't long turning on him.

I don't think he is 100% fit and given our lack of attacking in the first half they've been able to keep him and Long quiet.

Its ok to criticise a player no matter how brilliant he has been for us. Truth is, its not the sort of game Hoolahan will shine in and we need an impact player to pressure them

EDIT: CUE masterclass second half by WES!

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

And the first thing they do in the second half is hoof it forward, bloody hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,716 ✭✭✭✭Ally Dick

Every time we have the ball, we're panicking and giving it away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,653 ✭✭✭caviardreams

This looks better already tbh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 417 ✭✭Green Fella

awec wrote: »
    Ambition.

It's tournament football. Have a go or go home.

Agree

Look how NI approached Ukraine. Night and day

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭derm0j073

Tournaments like this and the Champions League should have the top ranked refs in the world.

This lad stinks up both competitions. He's dreadful.

Lets be honest the rankings are aload of balls. We have no belief in ourselves and are playing negative turd football, Belgium are totally average and will not go far

Any side time wasting 10 minutes in at 0-0 deserve to lose

I agree the rankings are a load of balls but there are no crap teams in the top 5. And you don't get to second from where Belgium were without having a very good team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,984 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

Dembele can't be far off a booking

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Who's the hendricks chap that eamon mentions

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

He nearly killed him FFFFFFFS!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,061 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

GOAL!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Feck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Inevitable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,653 ✭✭✭caviardreams

This looks better already tbh.

Maybe not :(:(:(

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Music Moderators, Regional Midlands Moderators Posts: 24,126 Mod ✭✭✭✭Angron

Bollocks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,328 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Should have been a pen for high boot feck off ref

RoboKlopp wrote: »
    The lads slating Lukaku. He's gonna score now isn't he!

Yep

• Administrators Posts: 54,184 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Been coming

****e

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,458 ✭✭✭✭gandalf

Bugger!

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

vidor wrote: »
    To be fair to the latter, he hasn't been given any decent ball when they were in threatening areas.

And there you go.

To think Giles was slating this guy at half time, ridiculous.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,593 ✭✭✭theteal

Decent finish in fairness. We shut off but it should have been a foul on Long

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,446 ✭✭✭glued

Pathetic challenge from Whelan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,359 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Well we're ******. Dreadful start. 2 minutes is all it took.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,860 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

This is all Gilesy's fault :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Lukaku's useless , a pure waster.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 51 ✭✭AdolfEngland

I think we might start competing now.. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,827 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Terrible tackle from Mccarthy left us wide open there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,424 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Could see that coming as soon as the Irish player went for the slide tackle and missed.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Great goal. Woeful defending.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,984 ✭✭✭✭Osmosis Jones

I'd like to see what happened with Long, shouldn't the ref have ay least stopped for a head injury?