Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin City Marathon 2016 *NO NUMBER SWAPS/SALES/TRANSFERS*

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

tang1 wrote: »
    chickey2 3.58.42
    diegob 3.57.34

I'm wrecked but happy! :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

3:11:58 for me, not my A goal but delighted with that time

• Registered Users Posts: 1,839 ✭✭✭hot buttered scones

3:21:44. Halfway in 1:41:28. Felt strong enough most of the way. Last mile and a half was tough out. 17 minute PB. In McGrattans now on me 2nd pint. Thrilled. Had a great race. Whoop whoop!!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Many in mcgrattans now??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,253 ✭✭✭donnacha

3:29:51. Hit the A goal. Delighted as its a 27 minute PB. Did the usual of going out too fast and was on target for 3:25 but the wheels came off at 22 miles.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

donnacha wrote: »
    3:29:51. Hit the A goal. Delighted as its a 27 minute PB. Did the usual of going out too fast and was on target for 3:25 but the wheels came off at 22 miles.

Very well done D, missed you out on the course, but delighted you hit your target.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,125 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

chickey2 wrote: »
    I'm wrecked but happy! :)

Exzcellent! Delighted to see this result, very well deserved!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

4:27 or so. I'm delighted with that as my goal time at the start of training was 4:30 and that's near 20 mins faster than last. It could have been better. I was flying it with the 4:20 pacers but got horrible cramp around mile 20. My calf went concave!!!! I hobbled for the rest but still kept an easy run pace on average.

Absolutely fantastic support though. Amazing, amazing, amazing

kit3 wrote: »
    2.43.03 for Myles - great run

Great stuff, no need for the lottery for Berlin next year!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

tunguska wrote: »
    That was the best weather ive ever seen for DCM. Y'all got very lucky today. First time as a spectator standing at the finish and the amount of bandits dragged off the course 200m from the finish was hilarious. Must be devastating though to run the whole way and then to be nabbed by security just as you get there........the crowds on the course were amazing. Kind of heartwarming to see so many people come out to cheer. Reaffirms your faith in humanity i guess. The bandits are box office though

What do you mean by bandits?

3:33:57 for me, pb and 21 mins faster than last year. 1:45 at half way so delighted than I didn't struggle as much as last year in the last 10k or so. Weather was as close to perfect as you can get.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭nhunter100

TheBazman wrote:
    What do you mean by bandits?

Unregistered runners.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Just a mention about former regular poster here beeduybe who ran 3.03.43 today. His splits were impressive:

0-10k 7.12 min/mile
    10k-Half 7.07 min/mile
    Half-30k 6.58 min/mile
    30k-Finish 6.48 min/mile

• Registered Users Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭ooter

Almost an hour slower than my PB but I still loved it, crossed the 25 mile marker bang on 4 hours and sub 4:10 looked an impossible task but I found a 7:30 mile from somewhere and the amazing crowds on the home straight carried me the rest of the way.
    Thank you Dublin, amazing as always.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,098 ✭✭✭Mech1

Just spectating at Bushy park but great show from all you guys and girls, we brought and gave away 10 Bananas... Should have brought a sack full !!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,186 ✭✭✭ooter

Don't know why it made me laugh so much but highlight of the day for me was the 2 girls at dolphins barn with trump and Clinton masks on, brilliant. Loads of trump running signs all over the course. :)
    How did that lad with the Eiffel tower get around, total respect to him?

• Registered Users Posts: 301 ✭✭glacial_pace71

4:11:02, a PB, but about 12-15 mins over what I'd hoped. I might've over-trained since the half marathon in Sept. (Did that in sub 1:45).

I struggled to Castleknock 10k in 55:24 (barely sub-9 pace).
    13.1 mile mark in 1:56:56 (still barely hanging onto sub-9 min pace).
    All weeping/gnashing of teeth for the last few miles.
    2:49:12 for 30k, ouch!
    4:11:02 finish suggests a few 11-min miles at the end.

Still though, great conditions, fantastic atmosphere, plenty of free food and very well organised baggage drop/collection. Top class event.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,623 ✭✭✭dna_leri

2:58:58
    2s inside A goal. Happy out.
    Big shout out to the 3hr pacers especially main man Frank and the ninja sweeper.
    Could not have done it without them.
    Went to McGrattans to thank them but did not see the lads.
    Had a great pint of Guinness though.
    Feet up now before round 2 later.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Absolutely busted after that... 3:47.... head went few meters after half way... hit half way at 1:40 bang on and said to myself no way can I keep it up... once I said it the body caved. ....

And to make matters worse, Firedance and crew blanked me ☺☺

YOLO.... No, you reap what you sow 😊

:eek: I was looking and looking cause I could see you were on your way on the tracker - how the F I missed you I don't know, sorry!!!! Missed youganne too :( this spectating lark is hard work :D

Well done to all today, perfect running conditions, was very jealous of you all :)

• Registered Users Posts: 129 ✭✭Classic21

3:37:40
    First marathon so happy with that. Walked a lot from 20 miles but that's the inexperience

• Registered Users Posts: 95 ✭✭wookiesleep

3.24:46

46 Seconds off the Goal but couldn't be happier. My first negative split and keep pace every km except one where the cramp was knocking at the door. Garmin was out of action for a couple of kms from castleknock but didn't have too much bearing on the pacing overall.

Award for best supporters has to go to Dolphins Barn residents. It was like the tour de france with the amount of spectators there :)

Great to hear so many people having a good race. Enjoy the recovery and the pints.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,044 ✭✭✭chickey2

Time for results!

Bib No.| Username | PB | Predicted Time | Actual Time
    2710|echancrure|2:59:17|2:49:59|
    11815|diego_b|4:12:54|3:59:59|
    |schqually|4:09:50|3:49:59|
    519|Singer|3:32:04|3:09:59|
    10938|Derco|4:22:53|4:12:59|
    836|hot buttered scones|3:38:39|3:21:59|
    5051|Run and Jump|3:26:14|3:19:59|
    |glacial_pace71|4:16:37|3:53:53|
    |ooter|3:14:xx|3:59:59|
    |CR 7|3:08:45|2:58:27|
    938|Paddybarry|2:55:28|2:58:XX|
    |Myles Splitz|2:59:25|2:39:59|
    |dna_leri|n/a|2:59:00|
    |chrislad|4:46:09|4:19:59|
    3099|Sandwell|n/a|2:57:30|
    1023|Murph_D|3:29:16|3:19:59|
    |Averagejoe123|3:18:20|3:09:59|
    4807|Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|
    1711|Healy1835|3:39:52|3:19:59|
    |boydkev|n/a|3:39:59|
    |Spaceylou|n/a|4:29:59|
    16111|Budhistmonk|5:07:45|4:29:59|
    |Fieldsman|4:48:XX|4:29:59|
    8375|younganne|3:55:25|3:50:00|
    |pink11|4:04:00|5:00:00|
    4602|donnacha|3:57:11|3:29:59|
    18577|wookiesleep|3:33:00|3:29:30|
    1538|jake1970|3:18:30|3:09:59|
    |Classic21|N/A|3:29:59|
    |overthebridge|3:50:43|3:29:59|
    2459|Djemba Djemba|N/A|2:59:59|
    |psalm69|3:33:14|3:15:59|
    |gucci|3:16:XX|3:09:59|
    |BeepBeep67|2:55:51|3:19:29|Pacing
    |Healium|3:50:10|6:59:59|
    |Johnners1878|3:29:04|3:40:00|
    |Clearlier|3:24:00|DNS|
    |FBOT01|3:00:59|3:29:30|Pacing
    |Airtel31|4:20:59|4:45:00|
    |hawkwing|3:58:30|4:59:59|
    1414|Ed Mc Groarty|2:54:26|2:54:25
    4310|Martyboy48|3:19??|3:19:59|Praying
    9523|Chickey2|4:33:5x|3:59:59|3:58:42
    11283|Wubble Wubble|4:18:52|3:39:59|

• Registered Users Posts: 976 ✭✭✭supremenovice

Congrats to everyone who crossed the line today. I 'ran' it in 2014 and hoped to do it last two years but for a bloody foot injury. Ive got to get there next year somehow!

I was halfway down Fosters Avenue handing out Jaffa Cakes and Fruit Pastilles.
    Hope some of you here got some - I brought 4 boxes of Jaffas and 12 tubes of pastilles and they were gone in 20mins (the 3h40 - 4h00 group mainly).;)
    I should have setup a Jaffa Cake Station, maybe next year!!

I made use of the tracker too and put in some random bib numbers I seen coming towards me. When the name popped up on screen, I just shouted their name like I knew them...e.g "lets see, whos bib 1815... thats James Barry, "Go on James, lookin good!!". Oh the startled looks I got was funny. I hope they took encouragement from it anyway.

|ooter|3:14:xx|3:59:59|
    |CR 7|3:08:45|2:58:27|
    938|Paddybarry|2:55:28|2:58:XX|
    |Myles Splitz|2:59:25|2:39:59|
    |dna_leri|n/a|2:59:00|
    |chrislad|4:46:09|4:19:59|
    3099|Sandwell|n/a|2:57:30|
    1023|Murph_D|3:29:16|3:19:59|
    |Averagejoe123|3:18:20|3:09:59|
    4807|Trampas|3:28:57|3:19:59|
    1711|Healy1835|3:39:52|3:19:59|
    |boydkev|n/a|3:39:59|
    |Spaceylou|n/a|4:29:59|
    16111|Budhistmonk|5:07:45|4:29:59|
    |Fieldsman|4:48:XX|4:29:59|
    8375|younganne|3:55:25|3:50:00|
    |pink11|4:04:00|5:00:00|
    4602|donnacha|3:57:11|3:29:59|
    18577|wookiesleep|3:33:00|3:29:30|
    1538|jake1970|3:18:30|3:09:59|
    |Classic21|N/A|3:29:59|3:37:40|
    |overthebridge|3:50:43|3:29:59|
    2459|Djemba Djemba|N/A|2:59:59|
    |psalm69|3:33:14|3:15:59|
    |gucci|3:16:XX|3:09:59|
    |BeepBeep67|2:55:51|3:19:29|Pacing
    |Healium|3:50:10|6:59:59|
    |Johnners1878|3:29:04|3:40:00|
    |Clearlier|3:24:00|DNS|
    |FBOT01|3:00:59|3:29:30|Pacing
    |Airtel31|4:20:59|4:45:00|
    |hawkwing|3:58:30|4:59:59|
    1414|Ed Mc Groarty|2:54:26|2:54:25
    4310|Martyboy48|3:19??|3:19:59|Praying
    9523|Chickey2|4:33:5x|3:59:59|3:58:42
    11283|Wubble Wubble|4:18:52|3:39:59|

• Registered Users Posts: 957 ✭✭✭MonsterCookie

ok, so didn't manage sub 4 but to be honest I knew by the time I got to Clonskeagh that it has slipped away. I just enjoyed from there. was so happy to see the finish line as the legs were failing me at the stage and not too despondent with 4:05. Training and diet will need to improve next year if I'm to get better.

Great day - love the crowd...such positivity!

highlight was spotting some friendly faces in the crowd - big thanks to Redrunner for the shout out!

• Registered Users Posts: 738 ✭✭✭Sandwell

2:57:37. Absolutely delighted with that. I stuck with the 3 hour pacers, who were amazing and provided so much useful advice, until after Roebuck and then I pushed on a bit. I had Tunguska's "course notes" memorised and I paced it exactly as he suggested, dropping well back from the balloons on the inclines, so many thanks for that. I'd recommend it as a guide for anyone tackling DCM. The support along the way was just astounding. There were times when I was almost overwhelmed by it. It makes such a difference.

Delighted to hit my target and to do so feeling relatively comfortable. Big thanks to the Boards A/R hivemind too. I've learned so much on here during this training cycle, from reading others logs to the goldmine of knowledge that is the Sub 3 Support Thread. Now, time for more Prosecco...

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Absolutely busted after that... 3:47.... head went few meters after half way... hit half way at 1:40 bang on and said to myself no way can I keep it up... once I said it the body caved. ....

And to make matters worse, Firedance and crew blanked me ☺☺

YOLO.... No, you reap what you sow 😊

Marty I passed you around mile 17 I think (another Galway man here) I died a couple of miles later and came in just under 3:38

• Registered Users Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Classic21 wrote: »
    3:37:40
    First marathon so happy with that. Walked a lot from 20 miles but that's the inexperience

That's a great time give its your first and walked a bit..
    You'll gain experience(or you should do) with every one you do. Well done ☺

• Registered Users Posts: 194 ✭✭Derco

4:16:04.

PB by almost 7 minutes. A couple of minutes outside what I thought I'd get but I'm still happy out. 4 minute positive split which I'm even happier with since the last miles of my previous two marathons were complete disasters. I think I'm getting the hang of pacing myself.

Just saw on Twitter that the guy with the Eiffel Tower on his head managed to finish. Fair play to him!! I wonder how the Stormtrooper got on?

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Airtel31

I wonder did anybody see the young soldier with his mother I stopped and helped him a bit with his mother I was going try get in under 4:20 which is a pb probably would of got it but I couldn't leave him got in 4:30:41 which was great after my injury woes will definitely try to get under 4 next time with injury free training but as it my 1st DCM it a fantastic experience crowds were brilliant heat was definitely a factor

• Registered Users Posts: 126 ✭✭Airtel31

Classic21 wrote: »