Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Bunch of lads heading to Krakow

• 21-06-2016 9:55pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭

Hi

There's about 10 of us going to Krakow for a week in July after the exams.

We're staying fairly close to the city centre and we're looking for recommendations for pubs, clubs, and activities within walking distance of the main square or maybe outside the city but with good bus/shuttle access etc.

Any recommendations appreciated!

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,271 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Go to Lost Souls Alley.

Just off the main square 6 Florianska Street (the one with McDonalds on it), though Lost Souls is down the square end.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭masterK

If there's any sport on during the day check out the sports bar at the Sheraton Hotel, it's class.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Leaving certs?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭BrownTrout

bigpink wrote:
    Leaving certs?

Yeah

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,271 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

bigpink wrote: »
    Leaving certs?
    BrownTrout wrote: »
    Yeah

If you plan on drinking, pay heed to the quasi-security guys in black t shirts that operate in the square (Rynek). They are not official police but they are employed by the bars and restaurants to keep the atmosphere pleasant for all. If they ask you to keep down the noise (if there is any), they mean it and don't tend to give second chances.

Watch how the locals behave and follow their lead.

spurious wrote:
    Watch how the locals behave and follow their lead.

Nice one, will do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 890 ✭✭✭rejkin

There is a bar called "Bania Luka" which sells shots and pints for €1. Great place, its just off the main square.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,552 ✭✭✭bigpink

Not sure its a spot for leavibg certs

bigpink wrote:
    Not sure its a spot for leavibg certs

Me and one or two others from the group have been there before and I thought it was a savage spot, dirt cheap also.

rejkin wrote:
    There is a bar called "Bania Luka" which sells shots and pints for €1. Great place, its just off the main square.

Nice one thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,860 ✭✭✭Ragnar Lothbrok

Was in Krakow a couple of years ago and loved it. Lots of good pubs and places to eat. Was lucky enough to catch a Wisla Krakow home game and the atmosphere was fantastic - if any of ye are interested in football it's definitely worth going to a game there, either Wisla or Cracovia. Make sure to get to the ground in plenty of time though, you can only get a match ticket if you sign up to the supporters club so you need your passport too. Only costs about 10 zloty so it's grand.

Maybe this is a bit too serious for a Leaving Cert holiday, but Auschwitz camp is nearby - it's a trip that you should experience while you're so nearby though, but obviously has to be undertaken with the utmost respect, so maybe it's not ideal if this is just a lads and booze trip :D

Hope ye enjoy it as much as I did :)