Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Computer for Music Production Needed - Help, Please.

Options
  • 23-06-2016 10:07pm
    Registered Users Posts: 22

Hi everyone,

So, I need to build a PC for music production (specifically for using a number of sound libraries--a number which will increase as the years go by). The basic essentials that I'm sure I have to have are an i7 processor, 16GB of RAM with space to upgrade to 32GB, and a soundcard / audio interface that supports ASIO drivers.

Budget is probably between €1000 and €1500 at the very most.

I'm quite new to all of this, so any help in layman's terms would be helpful.

Some further things I'm wondering about:

I was told that it would be preferable to have a 250 GB SSD to hold the OS and programs
    and 2 TB magnetic HDD for the sound libraries? Would you agree? A video card with two DVI to allow me to run two video monitors has also been suggested.

I'm a little out of my depth with the lingo and what is necessary and (maybe equally as important for the budget) what is not necessary to have.

Any help you might have would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,

Meek.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 2 RustyGtr

Hey man, this build is very similar build that a friend of mine is using as a studio PC.

CPU: Intel Core i7-5820K 3.3GHz 6-Core Processor (€387.76 @ Mindfactory)
    CPU Cooler: Noctua NH-D15 82.5 CFM CPU Cooler (€87.99 @ Aquatuning)
    Motherboard: Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI ATX LGA2011-3 Motherboard (€241.74 @ Mindfactory)
    Memory: Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB (4 x 4GB) DDR4-2666 Memory (€82.56 @ Amazon Deutschland)