Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2016 - Round of 16 - France vs Ireland, 2 pm, RTE, ITV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Wardy, ryl Murphy, Coleman, Duffy and McCarthy are giving me awful optimism. Very proud so far.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    Count yourself lucky to not have to listen to George "danger here" Hamilton and Jim "I've one negative bollocks" beglin. I envy you actually.

I'm watching in the UK and am actually missing them too. Makes the occasion!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Longest 45 minutes ever. It feels like I've gone 12 rounds with Mike Tyson.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,660 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

It's the hope that kills you...

Dunphy can shove that up his boll*x. Brilliant performance

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Great first half from Ireland.

We've competed very well against them .

McCarthy is having a very good game and McLean looks dangerous every time he's on the ball.

Keep it up lads.

Hopefully the stupid yellow card Hendrick got doesn't end up costing him later in the match and doesn't restrain him.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Right. Fifteen minutes to get the heart rate down.

What's that track that plays on the rte coverage (when the highlights are being shown)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,330 ✭✭✭✭AMKC
    Ms

That was a great 1st half by Ireland yes a little tense at times but otherwise a very exciting match we look much better than the French lets hope we can keep it up for the 2nd half. I really hope our boys win this now. Come on the boys in Green :)

Live long and Prosper

Peace and long life.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭derm0j073

Better team go in one up. Great display, I'm feckin thrilled, hands are shaking typing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Will be hard going to defend a one goal lead in that heat. Thankfully France are not a great side.

I feel oddly calm about all tnis.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,396 ✭✭✭sjb25

Oh Jesus I don't think my heart can take another half!!!!! Same again now lads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,243 ✭✭✭✭briany

This is mental. This is amazing. Ireland are one up on the French. Never thought this would be happening. Great display, overall, but my heart can't take it.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭leavingirl

It's the hope that kills you...

Dunphy can shove that up his boll*x. Brilliant performance
    in a foreign land here. What's Dunphy take on this? His HT analysis please

I can't think of a better man in that dressing room to rid any inferiority complex from the boys as Keano.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 817 ✭✭✭shar01

vienne86 wrote: »
    Jacks will be flushing all over Ireland.

Speaking of which... should we be organising a roster for later :P

• Registered Users Posts: 5,325 ✭✭✭RoryMac

Unbelievable stuff from Ireland against the pre tournament favourites in their own patch. Need a good solid start to the 2nd half and we could see this through

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Jimbob1977

Their Back Four can be hurt.

Hoping to withhold the storm that will come

Best performance in a long long time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,522 ✭✭✭tigger123

if we get through, when is the next game?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,644 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

Hope this is our come back to that knock out from the hand ball.

Come on the boyz in green come on you boyz in green

Delighted Ireland

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 820 ✭✭✭BunkMoreland

fae35fef-10ac-4324-ad9a-668d30157452.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭sonic85

Good half France looked dangerous at times but we really came into it as the half wore on. If we can start the second half fast and just smother them then we have a great chance. There's definitely another goal there for us too. Can we take the chance when we get it though is the question.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

No doubt about it we are the best team this half.

We're not though.

They have had more of the ball. At times we have had to defend desperately. Theyve created more chances too.

We as underdogs are doing very well though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,777 ✭✭✭highgiant1985

Paully D wrote: »
    Longest 45 minutes ever. It feels like I've gone 12 rounds with Mike Tyson.

"and still alive baby" as Dunphy would say!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Get to 60 minutes and that French crowd will turn viciously.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Quick prediction for number of "Karma" at HT? 7

• Registered Users Posts: 487 ✭✭Strong Life in Dublin

tigger123 wrote: »
    if we get through, when is the next game?

Sat or sun

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,660 ✭✭✭✭Alf Veedersane

leavingirl wrote: »

He was giving out about team selection beforehand. Sheasy and Wesnot playing were huge mistakes.

Haven't heard HT analysis

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

F*<k off beglin. You'd swear he wants Ireland to lose

I think he's trying to be neutral and because we're all so partisan it seems like he's against us.

• Registered Users Posts: 114 ✭✭Alpha Romeo

What's that track that plays on the rte coverage (when the highlights are being shown)

https://youtu.be/KPMHfvj9tG0

• Registered Users Posts: 1,452 ✭✭✭ads20101

Fecking panic stations in the French dressing room right now.

Beware folks, they're going to be angry and focused when they get out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Mr. Farage

That French side will leak another goal or two if we go at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,954 ✭✭✭garra

I'll tell you something lads. If we beat these today, it'll be the finest moment in Irish football history bar none for me.

The craic has been ninety and everyone's off their heads but our boys on the pitch aren't there to take part. They are here to TAKE OVER!!!!

Fantastic performances all round, now somehow keep it for another 45. We have been pressing when we had, defending when we had to, PASSING the ball when we can, it's great to see and a much more balanced team then France.

(And thanks PP for the 15 euro freebet which I plonked on Ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Very pleased with the way our guys are playing. Really up for it. Putting in huge effort. We're playing the better football IMO.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 344 ✭✭Kobe248

Brady taking trolling lessons from Wes

Sure Ill hit the post lads, give it a bit of suspense

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

leavingirl wrote: »

"Best performance in a game of this magnitude"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,341 ✭✭✭El Horseboxo

Kante on a yellow hopefully keeps him a bit quiet. They could easily finish with less than 11.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

enzo roco wrote: »
    Iceland, keep up

No need to be nasty. Not everyone has stopped their life for football matches.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,611 ✭✭✭✭ERG89

enzo roco wrote: »
    We're not though.

They have had more of the ball. At times we have had to defend desperately. Theyve created more chances too.

We as underdogs are doing very well though

France have been very poor so far. Little short glimpses of quality from them.
    Hopefully we just compose ourselves. :eek: Dunphy just said as much.
    Pity Hendricks was booked

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭El Chapo

It's been a while since I played football but what Ireland need to do now is say they have to go in for their dinner.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

No need to be nasty. Not everyone has stopped their life for football matches.

Haha, it was a joke. Relax ya nutter

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,955 ✭✭✭Sunflower 27

ERG89 wrote: »
    France have been very poor so far. Little short glimpses of quality from them.
    Hopefully we just compose ourselves. :eek: Dunphy just said as much.
    Pity Hendricks was booked

I'll miss his greasy head.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 190 ✭✭Mr. Farage

It's like playing against 10 with Evra in that French team.

I hats nerves. That feeling that lasts the moment you're told it's your turn to do that presentation, until it's over. I have to sit with that type of feeling for an hour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,354 ✭✭✭gebbel

We are playing great but I don't believe France will not score. So we need another goal to win this game imo. We can do this!!!! Believe!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,139 ✭✭✭westernfrenzy

Need to keep playing the same way for the second half

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,136 ✭✭✭✭Rayne Wooney

If we can hold out just a bit longer the French will start to implode

If

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,949 ✭✭✭A Primal Nut

I feel like we'll have to score again to win this, but there is a good chance of that! Come on Ireland!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭funtime93

Darude- sandstorm

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,796 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

McClean maybe lacking a little bit in quality, but he is making up for it 10 times over with work rate.