Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2016 - Round of 16 - France vs Ireland, 2 pm, RTE, ITV

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

We look tired.

Our lot might get the odd day or two in August when they are close to peak fitness and well rested playing in this type heat... having said that we looked knackered after 70 mins in each game so far...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Walters still looks injured :(

Yeah, hard to see how he would recover from an Achilles injury that quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

I'd love if we could make one more sub just to bring Whelan on to do Griezmann.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,030 ✭✭✭pavb2

Think we punched above our weight first half and they were poor but we certainly haven't been embarrassed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,736 ✭✭✭Bleating Lamb

Even though we haven't had any decent possession lately we will get another chance...just need likes of Walters to get it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Losing the plot with the ball

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Walters still looks injured :(

playing with 9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,019 ✭✭✭✭adox

This is torture. Damage limitation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,664 ✭✭✭dirkmeister

Walters looks as injured as he did against Sweden.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

We are giving the ball away with pretty much every kick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

Luckily for us, Gignac is as selfish with the ball as he is with his food.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Could well be a long last 15 minutes. Can't see Ireland holding them to two.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Have our guys given up? C'MON!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 958 ✭✭✭funtime93

If we can just hold till the last 5 minutes then throw everyone forward. We'r still in this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Strumms wrote: »
    Our lot might get the odd day or two in August when they are close to peak fitness and well rested playing in this type heat... having said that we looked knackered after 70 mins in each game so far...

This is where the conditions murder the smaller nations and our lack of depth on the bench.

Walters shouldn't be on. Didn't look right in the first match and has been injured since.

• Registered Users Posts: 548 ✭✭✭leavingirl

Looks a bit like rugby and we can't get out of our 22

• Registered Users Posts: 671 ✭✭✭Benteke

Playing like we're 4 down it's only one

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Can't hold the ball at all now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,629 ✭✭✭✭Sand

The team seem out on their feet - so many mistakes down to just pure tiredness.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

My nerves were shot at 1 nil up but now they're on an unhealthy level. They're out on their feet and don't deserve a 3-1 scoreline.

Fingers crossed we somehow nick a goal to take it to ET and then park the bus for penalties.

It's 23 degrees there today with a 16km/h breeze. The weather is no excuse. It wasn't a problem for Wales, NI or England for any of their fixtures.

Why when we get in a good position and have the ball in space and no pressure do we manage to fųck it up every time... decision making is so poor...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Benteke wrote: »
    Playing like we're 4 down it's only one

Yep, 1 goal and we take this to penos.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Very poor decision to bring on Walters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

vienne86 wrote: »
    Have our guys given up? C'MON!

Just dead on their feet. Gave absolutely everything in the first half and have tired badly in the second.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,367 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

We look shattered.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,522 ✭✭✭tigger123

Berserker wrote: »
    It's 23 degrees there today with a 16km/h breeze. The weather is no excuse. It wasn't a problem for Wales, NI or England for any of their fixtures.

France have had three more days rest than us.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Did the 2nd French goal come from the same sequence of play when we didn't get the obvious corner for the deflection on Ward's shot?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

This is like being invited back to a beautiful woman's apartment and thinking it's your lucky day, only for her big French kickboxing husband to come home at the last minute.

I really hope we don't get battered here. A 4-1 scoreline would be cruel.

Guys are just wrecked. Heat is a killer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,395 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Why when we get in a good position and have the ball in space and no pressure do we manage to fųck it up every time... decision making is so poor...

Pure tiredness now. You get tired you start making mental errors.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

Paully D wrote: »
    Did the 2nd French goal come from the same sequence of play when we didn't get the obvious corner for the deflection on Ward's shot?

No. About 3 minutes later

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

That was close.

Phew. But Randolf was on to it.

Yep, 1 goal and we take this to penos.

If we'r to take it to penos we basically have to win the next 40 minutes 1-0. Chances of that happening?

Itssoeasy wrote: »
    We look shattered.
    Perhaps they should lay off the beer between games

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,187 ✭✭✭mosstin

Jesus, serious negativity here. Game is planning out exactly as it probably should. Ireland played their best 45 minutes under O'Neill, are justifiably shagged and are - for now - within a goal of the tournament hosts.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,672 ✭✭✭ScummyMan

The amount of negative fcukers in this thread sickens me. We're one bloody goal down how about getting behind the lads!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

France are unreal against ten

leavingirl wrote: »

Ah stop would ya.

I agree it isn't an excuse but I'd be asking questions.

On a side note I doubt that 16 kmh breeze is being felt at pitch level.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,265 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Less than that. There was 3 minutes between the goals, with that appalling corner call in between

Randolph has shown himself to be a very good keeper. Some nice saves.
    tigger123 wrote: »
    France have had three more days rest than us.

Thanks for that. Playing two games in seven days shouldn't be an issue. They do it at club level.

Hoolahan showing how to hold the ball up, Should of been on earlier...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Bull**** comparison. Did you seriously watch that Wales/Ni game?

adox wrote: »
    leavingirl wrote: »

Ah stop would ya.
    My opinion is as good as anyone's here. Why don't you fcuk right off?

I rate hoolahan but Jaysus I've never seen a more one footed player in my life.

One of the problems for us is the amount of running we have to do because we don't keep the ball well enough or have enough of it especially against the better sides..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,501 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Randolph has shown himself to be a very good keeper. Some nice saves.

Thanks for that. Playing two games in seven days shouldn't be an issue. They do it at club level.

Actually most of them have had 7 days more rest than us, they rested all the stars against Switzerland, the same players who are tearing us apart now.