Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2016 - Round of 16 - France vs Ireland, 2 pm, RTE, ITV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Wes Hoolahan has been absolutely dire since he came on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,544 ✭✭✭dublinman1990

Come on Ireland. One more shot at getting a goal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

I said I wasn't sure about Randolph before the tournament but he's been better than I expected.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,689 ✭✭✭sky88

wes has been shocking since coming on

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,182 ✭✭✭nehe milner skudder

out you go .

Au Revoir ,

Flights home for the boys in green , Flights home for the boys in green

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭DeadHand

Not sure what there is to complain or be negative about: Ireland played their hearts out but simply met a vastly superior team in conditions that were torturous for them.

The players did their level best. The management did the absolute maximum with the comparatively modest talent available. Neither have anything to be ashamed of.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,478 ✭✭✭eeguy

Ah Hoolahan...lost it twice.

He's should be shot as soon as the plane lands in Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Ah well. Great while it lasted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

That's it.

Nice while it lasted. Thanks lads. Ye did your best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,628 ✭✭✭✭Sand

Oh well - real shame but the team went for it. They can say they gave it 100%.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,564 ✭✭✭✭whiskeyman

Super super performance.
    Going to 10 killed it for us.
    We showed we can create a lot of chances and play smart football.
    Hold your heads up lads.
    You were FANTASTIC!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,392 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

out you go .

Au Revoir ,

Thought you were banned yesterday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,500 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Well done lads, got us further than I imagined ye could. Definitely exceeded expectations this time around from such a tough group.

Roll on the WC qualifiers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45,630 ✭✭✭✭Mr.Nice Guy

Ah well, it was a nice ride. And the lads worked their arses off. Thanks and fair play.

Congrats to France.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,046 ✭✭✭Berserker

Tournament over for the boys in green. England and Wales left to fly the flag for the home nations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Ugh, still very proud but just like the Sweden game we ended in need of a sense of urgency... and the final whistle went because we kept passing it back to our GK.

Still, hats, shoes and all the rest off to the boys in green!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Brave display, no shame in that defeat.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 68,370 Mod ✭✭✭✭Grid.

Unlucky....put up a good fight!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,798 ✭✭✭✭DrumSteve

Well done lads and thanks for everything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,900 ✭✭✭InTheTrees

Oh f**k

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,309 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

They gave it their all. Fair play.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭El Chapo

out you go .

Au Revoir ,

It's a pity we can't fly you out to a desert island and leave you there.

Fcuking troll.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,240 ✭✭✭✭briany

Ah, well. :(

I'm still proud of the team. Hope going into the WC qualifiers. Have to hand it to Griezman, he changed the game.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,075 ✭✭✭IamtheWalrus

Well done the boys. A good representation of the nation after the last debacle. Can't ask for more.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,306 ✭✭✭sonic85

Well done lads! No complaints with that - we gave it a lash but just didn't have enough in the end. Fair play to em

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,206 ✭✭✭✭Scorpion Sting

It started off so promising but the lads were absolutely shattered at the end. They gave it their all but it just wasn't enough. I'm proud of our little nation and we showed we can mix it with the big boys, the Belgium game aside.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,943 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

Amazing campaign they done us proud

Roll on serbia in September

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Disappointed but well done to the team. Left everything on the field and no shame going out to a team like France with some top class players in their line up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,118 ✭✭✭Lackey

France can never say they bet us fair...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Berserker wrote: »
    Tournament over for the boys in green. England and Wales left to fly the flag for the home nations.

Not calling England 'home nation' any more!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,240 ✭✭✭✭briany

Ah, well. Still proud.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭CptMackey

They did us proud. Pity.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 344 ✭✭Kobe248

Houlihan came on to control the game

And gave away the ball at every turn

Keano should have been thrown on

His final hurrah

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

out you go .

Au Revoir ,

What the fcuk is your issue? :-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

Berserker wrote: »

Nobody gives a **** about the home nations particularly seeing as we aren't one of them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

El Chapo wrote: »
    Your man Coman is truly terrible.

Dunphy was right, a brainless runner.

You clearly watch as must of Bayern as Dunphy himself. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 367 ✭✭sneakyST

Disappointed we didn't put it up to them more after getting the early goal.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,719 ✭✭✭JaMarcusHustle

I'd like to have the class to wish France good luck, but I hope they lose in the most heartbreaking way possible while being beaten unconscious with their own dicks.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 11,348 ✭✭✭✭ricero

We **** the bed lads

• Registered Users Posts: 7,056 ✭✭✭darced

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭backspacer

out you go .

Au Revoir ,

Wanted

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭El Chapo

Well done to all the players, mighty effort. We got out of the toughest group in it and scared the sh1te out of France.

I was at the Italy game on Wednesday and I will never forget it as long as I'll live. Amazing.

Thank you.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

A great performance but bringing on a clearly unfit Walters, who could not jump, was an awful decision.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Oops!

I said I wasn't sure about Randolph before the tournament but he's been better than I expected.

He's been our best keeper since he joined the squad by a mile, infact i'd go as far as saying in a very long time. Unbelievable solid and cool under pressure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,962 ✭✭✭✭dark crystal

Randolph was great - could have ended 4-1 easily.

We can end the tournament proud of both players and fans.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Shame but they put it all out there. Some sloppy defending and a bit of French class was the difference.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 555 ✭✭✭backspacer

out you go .

Au Revoir ,

Wanker

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,238 ✭✭✭✭Diabhal Beag

Fair play to the lads. Gutting to go out like that second half but hope for the future. Football united the country in the last two weeks in ways we haven't seen in a long time.

When it's not happening for Hoolohan you know it's not our day.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,805 Mod ✭✭✭✭Say Your Number

Disappointing, but at least we weren't f*cked over by a dopey Ref, they gave it everything and just ran out of steam in the end.

The French fans cheering every pass at the end, when just over half an hour ago, they were spitting blood at them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,453 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Hopefully Iceland hammer them in the next round.
    Extra time off definitely made a difference in the second half.
    Would have been lovely to get revenge for Henry, but life isn't that kind, especially when your Irish sadly.

Glazers Out!