Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Euro 2016 - Round of 16 - France vs Ireland, 2 pm, RTE, ITV

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

**** here comes Dunphy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,796 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

out you go .

Au Revoir ,

Flights home for the boys in green , Flights home for the boys in green

This clown was banned from the rugby forum, can we follow suit here?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭irishguitarlad

If girouds push was called it could have been so so different.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

ricero wrote: »
    We **** the bed lads

No we didn't.

they're a better team than us.

We played well in the first half and were overrun in the second half.

Nothing to be ashamed about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭JJJJNR

Such an amazing achievement to first qualify but to get to the last 16, just wow... We can really build on this experience.

Faugheen wrote: »
    We've had four in the whole game so you can stop lying.

No your wrong once again, Two shots on target at full time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,159 ✭✭✭bigroad

The Credit unions are lucky.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,907 ✭✭✭✭Kristopherus

Very disappointing to lose after such a good first half. But then we got further than any other Irish team in the Euros. And everyone should be proud of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,449 ✭✭✭Call Me Jimmy

Players should be proud of that ye cant ask for more

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,591 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Immensely proud of Ireland today and throughout the tournament. Went out playing good football and total commitment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,240 ✭✭✭✭briany

France put Ireland to the sword in the second half. France just had too much quality in the end, really. It wasn't really a retreat because France just upped the tempo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,076 ✭✭✭✭vienne86

Right. C'mon Icelend!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭FixitFelix

Kobe248 wrote: »
    Houlihan came on to control the game

And gave away the ball at every turn

Keano should have been thrown on

His final hurrah

If you think he was sent in to control a game in which we were losing, down to ten men and being over run all over the pitch I'm afraid you're wrong .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Oops!

Oh **** off dunphy, easy talk now, he was'nt saying that about the defence at half time....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,848 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

No shame about being beaten by the better team and France are certainly that. They were my pick to win the competition and even though they haven't set it alight so far I haven't change that view..

Our lads gave it everything and did us proud...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

A few of those Irish lads should get a good move to PL clubs after there showings this summer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,246 ✭✭✭Esse85

El Chapo wrote: »
    Your man Coman is truly terrible.

Dunphy was right, a brainless runner.

He reminds me of Raheem Sterling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,500 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Pudsy33 wrote: »

It's not just those two forums, his bs has tainted much more than that. A siteban seems appropriate to me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,453 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

Disappointing, but at least we weren't f*cked over by a dopey Ref, they gave it everything and just ran out of steam in the end.

The French fans cheering every pass at the end, when just over half an hour ago, they were spitting blood at them.

French fans are fickle cvnts, only turn up if there's a chance of victory and are nowhere to be seen in qualifying games or when things are going badly.

Glazers Out!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

Oops! wrote: »
    Oh **** off dunphy, easy talk now, he was'nt saying that about the defence at half time....

He said it at the start of the match

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

Here comes Captain Hindsight .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,666 ✭✭✭Howjoe1

Have they forgot the same type of goals were conceded against Belgium with O'Shea on the pitch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,012 ✭✭✭✭titan18

Only thing that annoyed me about that performance was the time wasting, in particular out of Hendrick and Randolph. Was always likely the French would score and we'd need another to get through, so to see it, especially so early was annoying.

Good performance from the team outside of that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 712 ✭✭✭gazzamc

One thing I can say is there were a good amount of players who showed promise.. If we can get a few more in we have potential for future tournaments.. Great performance from them, unfortunate how it ended..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,969 ✭✭✭✭alchemist33

Winding people up any time is bad enough. Doing it when people are hurting is the act of a sneaky coward.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,294 ✭✭✭LiamoSail

****ing France. Home advantage wasn't enough for them that they had to give themselves every other advantages; the easy group, the week off before the game, all the tickets.

We were brilliant in the first half and unfortunately didn't have the legs to keep going in the second. It's indisputable though that the best side have gone through, but credit to how we played, we put up a great fight.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 15,237 Mod ✭✭✭✭FutureGuy

Lads don't take the bait and get yourselves a yellow!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

FutureGuy wrote: »
    A great performance but bringing on a clearly unfit Walters, who could not jump, was an awful decision.

He did more than Hoolahan at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

The first 45 minutes today were the best I've seen an Irish team play in a long long time.

Well done lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,767 ✭✭✭Ben Gadot

A few of those Irish lads should get a good move to PL clubs after there showings this summer.

Brady and Hendrick probably the winners of the tournament from the team. Both should go on to better things.

Fair play to the lads, undone by the class of arguably the best player in Europe in the season just gone.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,047 ✭✭✭Clonmel1000

Very disappointing to lose after such a good first half. But then we got further than any other Irish team in the Euros. And everyone should be proud of them.

Is that not stretching it a bit though. In practice you of course are right but come on it was harder not to get out of the group than get eliminated. The team did as well as we could expect. We are limited strip away the patriotism and bandwagonism we are a limited team.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,684 ✭✭✭FatherTed

Not impressed by the French fans. First booing their team when everything is not rosy for them, then Ole'ing against a 10 man team. Bunch of glory hunters.

Disappointed in Houlahan, he gave the ball away a few times when in promising positions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Oops!

enzo roco wrote: »
    He said it at the start of the match

I know that but he was very quiet about it at half time, but i suppose this is Eamonn Dunphy we're talking about here....

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,631 ✭✭✭Dirty Dingus McGee

If Hendrick doesn't get a move to the Premier League after this he should get his agent looking for clubs across Europe.

He looks like a player that could really develop if he gets the right club.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 565 ✭✭✭enzo roco

He did more than Hoolahan at least.

Nonsense, Wes did well. He got the ball a few times in particular and tried to play football, pass it to a team mate, and tried to attack the french in a constructive way.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 267 ✭✭El Chapo

We probably won't see Robbie Keane in a green shirt again so it's a very sad day overall.

Wonder will Wes and O'Shea hang them up as well.

• Registered Users Posts: 509 ✭✭✭Not G.R

A million miles away from the dross we saw in Poland. Nothing to be ashamed of over the last 2 weeks. Well done to all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,427 ✭✭✭✭Rikand

3 days rest versus 6 days rest and some of those with 6 days rest had 12 days.

We burst our bollocks for the first 45 and were wrecked afterwards.

Dead proud of the lads. They played great throughout the tournament. The country should be well proud of every single one of them.

As a team we're well set for the future now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,453 ✭✭✭✭nullzero
    °°°°°

LiamoSail wrote: »
    ****ing France. Home advantage wasn't enough for them that they had to give themselves every other advantages; the easy group, the week off before the game, all the tickets.

We were brilliant in the first half and unfortunately didn't have the legs to keep going in the second. It's indisputable though that the best side have gone through, but credit to how we played, we put up a great fight.

Would have been nice to have had the same amount of time off as them. I think a fully rested Irish side would have pushed extra time at least.
    Having all the tickets is a symptom of the tournament being in France but we showed them up in our qualifier in the Stade de France years ago by virtually filling the stadium with Irish fans, maybe that was on their minds.

Glazers Out!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,725 ✭✭✭✭blueser

Pudsy33 wrote: »
    Well; I've seen terms like "mong" and "wanker" used on here today and, to the best of my knowledge, the posters who used those terms haven't been banned. The post you're referring to is one of an imbecile, not sure it's worthy of a ban though.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭DeadHand

LiamoSail wrote: »
    ****ing France. Home advantage wasn't enough for them that they had to give themselves every other advantages; the easy group, the week off before the game, all the tickets

France didn't choose their group, devise the schedule and it's ridiculous to complain about being outnumbered by French fans in France.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,330 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Ireland conceded poor defensive goals against Belgium with O'Shea on the pitch. Not buying this crap from Dunphy at all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,673 ✭✭✭AllGunsBlazing

FatherTed wrote: »
    Not impressed by the French fans. First booing their team when everything is not rosy for them, then Ole'ing against a 10 man team. Bunch of glory hunters.

That's nothing new. They barely got behind the 98 team until the latter stages. Fickle doesn't even begin to describe them.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,858 ✭✭✭Manutd_4life

Very proud of the squad!!!

I think we had a pretty good tournament with beating Italy and giving France a tough game.

What's annoying is how we can't compose ourselves after conceding. Same thing that happened with Belgium happened today. Instead of the third goal though, there was the red card

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

enzo roco wrote: »
    Nonsense, Wes did well. He got the ball a few times in particular and tried to play football, pass it to a team mate, and tried to attack the french in a constructive way.

Nah, he was poor when he came on. Tidy player but not today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,388 ✭✭✭✭TitianGerm

Ben Gadot wrote: »
    Brady and Hendrick probably the winners of the tournament from the team. Both should go on to better things.

Fair play to the lads, undone by the class of arguably the best player in Europe in the season just gone.

Pogba really upped his performance in the second and grabbed the midfield by the neck.

• Registered Users Posts: 661 ✭✭✭derm0j073

Can't fault the players for effort, they gave it absolutely everything. We should have made changes earlier in the second half, O Neil was chancing his arm hoping we could hold out but the French had a tired Ireland on the back foot , I feel fresh legs in midfield could have made a difference.

• Registered Users Posts: 677 ✭✭✭vidor

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Ireland conceded poor defensive goals against Belgium with O'Shea on the pitch. Not buying this crap from Dunphy at all.

He's just reading off his script he had prepared for Wednesday night's game.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,628 ✭✭✭✭Sand

El Chapo wrote: »
    We probably won't see Robbie Keane in a green shirt again so it's a very sad day overall.

Wonder will Wes and O'Shea hang them up as well.

Dont think Robbie Keane will quit until the manager drops him. Cant see Hoolahan quitting either - he will want to catch up on lost time. O'Shea might though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 60,928 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Ben Gadot wrote: »

Randolph in goal as well.