Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Question About Round Limit

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭BrownTrout

Winchester Westerns. Used to love them. haven't seen them for donkies years

I still have about 15 of them in the cabinet. Cracking yokes. Gonna hang on to the few I have.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,558 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

BrownTrout wrote: »
    Out of curiosity, how do ye "dispose" of used cartridges/ bullet casings?
    Bring them to a range or any depot/refuse centre that is authorised to take them. Range is usually handier, plus they normally don't mind people coming in to dispose of brass/cases.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 294 ✭✭Bad_alibi

Cass wrote: »
    Bring them to a range or any depot/refuse centre that is authorised to take them. Range is usually handier, plus they normally don't mind people coming in to dispose of brass/cases.

And how do the range dispose of them

I don't know. Why don't you ring each range and ask them? Here is a list of the various ranges. Give some of them a call and ask. Let us know what they say.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 251 ✭✭Rimfire Shooter

Bad_alibi wrote: »
    And how do the range dispose of them

Sell em to a scrap metal dealer I'd say.

I don't know. Why don't you ring each range and ask them? Here is a list of the various ranges. Give some of them a call and ask. Let us know what they say.

Wasn't trying to be smart but you'll find even the ranges don't have a defined policy on how to dispose of them. Even the FPU won't give you an answer.

Wasn't trying to be smart ..........
    I didn't think you were.

Not directed at you, but just a general comment. We all need to take a deep breath. An air of "what did you say" has crept back into the forum when 99% of the time nothing is intended and i've noticed an increase in "no offence" type posts.

The written word has no context. If i'm speaking to someone face to face you can tell by my tone what way i mean what i say. As there is no way to get this tone across in writing it can sometimes read completely opposite to what is meant.

When i said ring them i was serious. I really don't know what they do with the brass. All i know is the range has magic bins tat take all my unwanted brass and they are emptied whenever they get full. However what one range does may not be what another does. Hence my idea to call a few/all of them and ask.

I'd imagine with the quantity a range would see that they have some scrap place to bring them that would be vetted/authorised by the local Super because as i said earlier spent cases are live rounds in law so any scrap yard would need some sort of license/authoriation to take the brass/casings from any person or range.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 216 ✭✭BrownTrout

I think under the exemptions from the firearm certs are people who's job it is to carry/ move guns and/or ammunition so maybe scrap dealers have this kind of authorisation for spent ammo?

When i said ring them i was serious. I really don't know what they do with the brass. All i know is the range has magic bins tat take all my unwanted brass and they are emptied whenever they get full. However what one range does may not be what another does. Hence my idea to call a few/all of them and ask.

I'd imagine with the quantity a range would see that they have some scrap place to bring them that would be vetted/authorised by the local Super because as i said earlier spent cases are live rounds in law so any scrap yard would need some sort of license/authoriation to take the brass/casings from any person or range.

We discussed this at length one day on the range and there are no such authorized scrap yards and no one vetted by the gardai/Supt to accept the shells.
    While the legislation allows the range to have an unlimited amount of ammo on site it doesn't allow for a member of the range to remove the brass off site while been delivered to a scrap yard. I would assume the brass could be escorted by a Garda off site to be destroyed.
    If it was brought to a scrap yard once it was all crushed it would cease been ammunition.

Yet more nonsense from our firearms act.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,038 ✭✭✭✭Sparks

We discussed this at length one day on the range and there are no such authorized scrap yards
    Nor any legal means made available to authorise them, except by "borrowing" other sections from 2(3) and 2(4).
    and no one vetted by the gardai/Supt to accept the shells.
    And given that there's no mechanism to authorise them seperately from 2(3) and 2(4), you don't want there to be such a vetting mechanism (or it would apply to all shooters as well).
    While the legislation allows the range to have an unlimited amount of ammo on site it doesn't allow for a member of the range to remove the brass off site while been delivered to a scrap yard. I would assume the brass could be escorted by a Garda off site to be destroyed.
    Yup, though I'm not sure anyone's ever done that; historically, the main concern was whether or not the scrap merchants involved were able to handle the toxic components involved (unburnt primer/propellant, the arsenic and antimony in the lead, that sort of thing).
    If it was brought to a scrap yard once it was all crushed it would cease been ammunition.
    Would it?
    Find the section in the firearms act that talks about destroying ammunition and read the definition there of what has to be done for it to stop being ammunition, it's quite interesting.
    Yet more nonsense from our firearms act.
    Yup. Barely readable, not terribly coherent, flat-out wrong (and borderline illegal) in places, and not possible to comply with in the real world...

...and yet, somehow, still the law.

/sigh

The real kicker is that the original act in 1923* wasn't all that bad. It wasn't until we started fiddling with something that had been polished over a century or so that we made a dogs breakfast out of it.

*yes, 1923 - I'm counting the 1924 and 1925 acts as the start of the fiddling because that's when we went from licencing the person to licencing the firearm for no reason other than to have something different from British law.